Explorez les sentiers les plus populaires près de Ripton avec des cartes de sentiers et des itinéraires choisis à la main, ainsi que des critiques détaillées et des photos de randonneurs, de campeurs et des amoureux de la nature comme vous.

randonnée

forêt

activités en pleine nature

chiens en laisse

vue panoramique

fleurs sauvages

faune

Ripton, Vermont Map
VOIR LA CARTE COMPLÈTE
randonnée
boueux
rocheux
22 days ago

Belle piste, assez difficile pour une randonnée «modérée». Mais ça vaut la peine pour la belle vue au sommet!

randonnée
rocheux
23 days ago

Je dirais que c'est le côté difficile de la randonnée modérée, mais là encore je viens de CT, en randonnée autour de la VT. Quelques passages d'eau et les feuilles / boue peuvent rendre le voyage un peu glissant. Globalement agréable randonnée avec une cabine fraîche au sommet!

randonnée
pont inutilisable
1 month ago

randonnée
boueux
2 months ago

Il nous a fallu plus de temps que prévu pour atteindre l'étang à cause des conditions glissantes / boueuses après les fortes pluies de la veille. L'étang est très joli. Pas d'autres randonneurs sur le chemin du retour, juste quelques-uns au moment de notre départ. Jolies fleurs sauvages dans l'aire de stationnement. Notre traqueur a mesuré notre aller-retour à un peu plus de 7 miles. Nous pensions que les pentes rocheuses pourraient être difficiles à naviguer pour les enfants

randonnée
boueux
rocheux
3 months ago

Beau petit sentier. Un peu anticlimatique au sommet. J'espérais avoir une vue un peu plus agréable de l'étang mais restait calme et paisible. J'ai vu quelques autres randonneurs mais pas vraiment. Cela nous a pris environ 2 heures et demie avec une petite pause au lodge. Était un peu mouillé et glissant lorsque nous sommes sortis, nous recommandons donc de bonnes chaussures.

randonnée
boueux
insectes
3 months ago

Belle piste pour la plupart, des pentes stables. Les seuls reproches seraient les insectes étaient insupportables et la piste était assez boueuse à cause de la pluie récente. Sinon, je reviendrais certainement. Il y a un accès à l'eau aussi!

randonnée
boueux
3 months ago

Belle petite randonnée à travers la forêt. Assez facile, joli lodge pour s'asseoir et déjeuner.

randonnée
couvert de végétation
3 months ago

randonnée
3 months ago

Randonnée de fossé de Middlebury à l’étang de puits de lumière et plus bas. Belle journée quoique un peu boueuse par endroits. Beaucoup de preuves sur l'orignal, mais nous n'en avons pas vu nous-mêmes.

randonnée
insectes
3 months ago

Seulement capable de faire la moitié. Au moins je pense que c'était la moitié. 20 minutes de la grande traversée du ruisseau (4 km). En raison de contraintes de temps ont dû faire demi-tour. devra faire un autre voyage et compléter la piste. beaucoup d'insectes lors de la randonnée. très bien dans l'ensemble.

Je n’appellerais pas cela l’une des randonnées les plus «touristiques» que j’ai faites. Je n'ai pas vu d'autre personne toute la journée, jusqu'à ce que je revienne près du parking et qu'ils s'imprègnent dans un ruisseau à proximité. Ils s'étaient demandé qui était le camion qui était là et depuis combien de temps j'étais sorti. J'ai fait Breadloaf et Wilson en 5 heures environ. Également visité Skylight Lodge, qui est un lodge très très cool donnant sur un lac de montagne vierge. Je vais certainement y rester un jour. Quant au commentaire pas "touristique". C'est la nature sauvage, vous allez dans la région sauvage de Breadloaf, et c'est isolé. Le sentier est assez facile à suivre et je n’ai eu aucun mal à voir les balises. Une partie de cette randonnée est Long Trail, et une partie est Skylight Pond. Encore une fois, c'est très isolé. J'ai vu plus de caca d'élan que de personnes, deux piles. La vue au sommet de Breadloaf n'est pas géniale et il n'y a pas de vue de Wilson. La meilleure chose ici, c'est Skylight Lodge.

randonnée
3 months ago

J'ai adoré ce sentier !! Randonnée assez modérée avec une montée progressive ... le sentier est tout en lacets sans montée directe intense. Excellent moyen d'avoir accès au Long Trail !! Dirigé peut-être. 2 miles au sud sur le Long Trail à Battel Mountain pour saisir une vue. Pond était magnifique et grouillant de vie !!

randonnée
5 months ago

Excellent sentier et retour à l'abri. Nous avons prolongé un peu le long sentier VT jusqu'au sommet de la montagne pour une vue magnifique. Sur le chemin du retour, un orignal est arrivé en dévalant le sentier, s’approchant mais heureusement nous évitant et descendant la colline. Nous avons également été accueillis par un boxeur errant près du parking et il a procédé à la totalité de la randonnée de 13 km avec nous. La seule fois où il est parti, c'était juste avant l'orignal, et bien sûr, il est venu pourchasser l'orignal le long du sentier. Nous pensons qu'il pourrait s'agir d'un chien appartenant à des personnes vivant dans une maison proche de la sortie de l'autoroute Rt201. Aussi, faites attention sur la route au début du sentier. Beaucoup d'ornières. Une voiture à profil bas ne serait pas idéale, mais faisable dans ma Mazda3

randonnée
5 months ago

GRAND sentier, pas difficile ... et belle vue de la loge. Il faisait froid, brumeux et venteux aujourd'hui, alors ce n'est pas un bon jour pour la randonnée, mais c'est quand même beau.

randonnée
5 months ago

Je suis arrivé à mi-chemin avant de faire demi-tour, car il se faisait tard. Il y a quelques passages de cours d'eau saisonniers, puis le plus grand passage de la rivière. Belle randonnée, beaucoup de bêtes sauvages (orignaux, la plupart du temps) Je suis sûr que le sentier devient plus difficile à mesure que vous vous rapprochez de la loge, mais la première partie était plutôt classique ... boueux / buggy / magnifique Idéal pour les chiens aussi.

Les sentiers étaient en bon état compte tenu de la période de l'année. Soyez prêt pour la boue. Le Skyline Lodge était super et le lever du soleil était incroyable. Ça vaut vraiment le détour du Maine. Pain de pain ensaché et Wilson.

sur-développé, sous-entretenu, mal flambé. autant que 1 mile entre flambeaux non plus rapprochés que d'un mile ensemble.

Sun Nov 11 2018

belle piste, il faisait froid et venteux menant à la montagne.

Cette piste a fait le week-end dernier le 22/09, c'était le premier jour de chute et me sentait vraiment bien avec la pluie et le vent raide au sommet assis à l'abri Emily Proctor. Le GPS l’a suivi à 6,9 milles vers le haut et l’arrière avec la première pente lente de 2,5 milles et le dernier kilomètre est une longue marche raide jusqu’à atteindre le long sentier. Je fais ce sentier au moins une fois par an car il est très paisible et peu fréquenté. Aucune vue.

Sentier de randonnée très facile. Nous avons lu tous les poèmes. Notre première randonnée de lecture de poèmes. Mon chien a apprécié aussi. Seulement vu 2 autres personnes sur la piste.

Un sentier agréable avec des baies sauvages et un ruisseau. Pour une expérience plus «modérée», assurez-vous de gravir la colline en empruntant les sentiers supérieurs (voir mes photos des sentiers «Afternoon Delight» et «Sundown» là-haut).

randonnée
Sun Aug 05 2018

Tonnerre pendant la randonnée, averse au pavillon, brouillard, éclaircies, éclairage magnifique!

Vraiment apprécié ce sentier. Surtout très facile, idéal pour les familles et les chiens.

Une belle promenade dans la nature agrémentée de la lecture de certains des plus grands poèmes de Frost dans un joli cadre.

randonnée
Fri Jul 20 2018

Magnifique promenade dans la nature avec en prime des poèmes de Robert Frost. Prenez tout le temps dont vous avez besoin pour lire les poèmes et y réfléchir. Bancs disponibles par certains poèmes. Sentier bien marqué et entretenu. Je referais ce choix

randonnée
Sat Jul 14 2018

Absolument magnifique, sentier paisible qui traverse le long sentier vers le haut. Un lodge agréable pour les randonneurs de passage à l'étang, qui est une belle vue. Terrain très accidenté, beaucoup de montées courtes mais raides et traversant des cours d’eau. Une randonnée amusante avec un travail décent. Recommande vraiment!

Sun Jun 03 2018

Raide sur le dernier kilomètre avant l'abri Emily Proctor. Quelques arbres abattus ont nui à l'expérience.

Charger plus

Explore the most popular trails near Ripton with hand-curated trail maps and driving directions as well as detailed reviews and photos from hikers, campers and nature lovers like you.

hiking

forest

nature trips

dogs on leash

views

wild flowers

wildlife

Ripton, Vermont Map
VIEW FULL MAP
hiking
muddy
rocky
14 days ago

Nice little trail. A little anticlimactic at the top. Was hoping for a slightly nicer view of the pond but was still peaceful and quiet. Saw a few other hikers but not very any. Took us about 2 1/2 hours up and down with a little break at the lodge. Was a little wet and slippery when we went out so definitely recommend good shoes.

hiking
bugs
muddy
15 days ago

Nice trail for the most part, steady inclines. The only complaints would be the bugs were unbearable and the trail was pretty muddy due to recent rain. Other then that I’d definitely come back. There is access to the water as well!

hiking
muddy
20 days ago

Lovely little hike through the forest. Fairly easy, nice lodge to sit and eat lunch at.

hiking
over grown
20 days ago

hiking
21 days ago

Hiked from Middlebury gap to skylight pond and down. Beautiful day though a bit muddy in places. Lots of moose evidence though we didn't see any ourselves.

hiking
bugs
28 days ago

Only able to do half. At least I think it was half. 20 mins out from the big stream crossing (4km). Due to time restrictions had to turn around. will have to make another trip and complete the trail. lots of bugs on the hike. very nice overall.

I would not call this one of the more “touristy” hikes I have done. I did not see another person all day, until I got back near the parking lot and they were just soaking their feet in a nearby stream. They had wondered who’s truck was there and how long I had been out. I did Breadloaf and Wilson in about 5 hours. Also visited Skylight Lodge, which is a very very cool lodge over looking a pristine mountain lake. I will definitely stay there someday. As for the not “touristy” comment. It’s wilderness, you are going into the Breadloaf Wilderness area, and it’s isolated. The trail is easy enough to follow, and I had no trouble seeing trail markers. Some of this hike is Long Trail, and some is Skylight pond. Again, it is very isolated. I saw more moose poop then people, two piles. The view at the top of Breadloaf is not great, and there is no view from Wilson. The best thing up here, is Skylight Lodge.

hiking
1 month ago

I loved this trail!! Rather moderate hike with a gradual climb....trail is all switchbacks with no intense straight up climb. Great way to get access to the Long Trail!! Headed maybe .2 miles south on the Long Trail to Battel Mountain to grab a view. Pond was beautiful and teeming with life!!

hiking
2 months ago

Excellent trail up and back to shelter. We extended a bit on VT Long Trail to summit of the mountain for great views. On the way back a moose came barreling down the path, coming close but thankfully avoiding us and veering down the hill of path. We were also greeted by a wandering boxer near the parking area and he proceeded to make the entire 8.5-mile hike with us. The only time he left was just prior to the moose, and of course he came chasing the moose down the trail. We believe he might be a dog owned by people in house near the turnoff to Rt201. Also, careful on road to trailhead. Lots of ruts. Low profile car would not be ideal, but doable in my Mazda3

hiking
2 months ago

GREAT trail, not difficult... and beautiful view from the lodge. It was cold, foggy and windy today- so not a great day for a hike, but beautiful nonetheless.

hiking
2 months ago

I got about halfway in before turning back- as it was getting late. There are a few seasonal stream crossings and then the bigger river crossing. Beautiful hike, lots of wild animal scat (moose, mostly) I’m sure the trail gets more difficult as you get closer to the lodge, but the first part was pretty standard... muddy/ buggy/ beautiful. Great for the dogs too.

The trails were in decent condition considering the time of year. Be prepared for mud. The Skyline lodge was great and the sunrise was incredible. Definitely worth the trip from Maine. Bagged Breadloaf and Wilson.

over grown, under maintained, poorly blazed. as far as 1 mile between blazes non closer than a quaryer mile together.

9 months ago

nice trail, it was cold and windy heading up the mountain.

Did this trail last weekend 9/22 it was first day of fall and definitely felt like it with rain and stiff wind at the top sitting at emily proctor shelter. GPS tracked it at 6.9 miles up and back with the first 2.5 miles slow incline and the last mile is a long steep walk until hitting the long trail. I do this trail at least once a year as it’s very peaceful and not heavily traveled. No views.

Very easy walking trail. We read all the poems. Our first poem reading hike. My dog enjoyed it too. Only saw 2 other people on the trail.

hiking
Monday, August 06, 2018

A pleasant trail with wild berries and a brook. For a more “moderate” experience, be sure to climb the hill to the upper trails (see my photos of the “Afternoon Delight” and “Sundown” trails up there).

hiking
Sunday, August 05, 2018

Thunder during the hike, downpour at the lodge, fog, clearing, wonderful lighting!

Saturday, August 04, 2018

Really enjoyed this trail. Mostly really easy, great for families and dogs.

walking
Sunday, July 29, 2018

A nice nature walk with the added nicety of reading some of Frost's greatest poems in a pretty setting.

hiking
Friday, July 20, 2018

Wonderful nature walk with added bonus of Robert Frost poems. Take as much time as you need to read the poems and reflect on them. Benches available by some poems. Well marked and maintained trail. Would do this again.

hiking
Saturday, July 14, 2018

Absolutely gorgeous, peaceful trail that crosses the Long Trail toward the top. A nice lodge for through hikers at the pond, which is a lovely vista. Very uneven ground, lots of short but steep increases and crossing over water ways. A fun hike with a decent work out. Definitely recommend!

Sunday, June 03, 2018

Steep over the last mile or so before Emily Proctor shelter. A few downed trees detracted from the experience.

hiking
Tuesday, May 29, 2018

Great day hike up to the Emily Proctor shelter and back down. We saw 3 people on the trail and 2 people at the shelter that were taking other trails onto continue the loop. Our GPS tracked this as 6.9 miles from the parking lot to the shelter and back. The last 1.25 miles are a steep climb. We saw lots and lots of moose poop but no actual animals. We also had our dog with us and she had bear bells on so that accounts for part of it. The beginning of the trail is very narrow and has lots of overgrowth. There are also a lot of creeks to cross (probably as many as 25 each way) so wear water proof boots and long pants. The shelter had a fire pit, wash pit, and was about 10 ft from a creek that we saw a backpacker pumping water out of. Also, the road in is a bit rough so I would definitely recommend having an AWD/higher clearance car to get in.

hiking
Thursday, May 17, 2018

Quick one mile loop with varied scenery and enjoyable stops to read poetry along the way.

Friday, November 03, 2017

Good hike for kiddos and the lodge and pond are beautiful!!

hiking
Sunday, October 22, 2017

Trail was well maintained. Very easy to hike. There were 2 other trails that went up the mountain for a longer hike if you have more time. The only disappointment was hearing the traffic because it's so close to the main road.

hiking
Thursday, October 12, 2017

Absolutely beautiful trail. Beautiful view at the pond. We enjoyed sitting on the porch of the cabin (lodge) looking at the view of the pond. I loved this hike... it probably tops out as my most favorite trail thus far (I've done many). It's not difficult and is a nice gradual ascent with what seems like many switchbacks. Beautiful brooks along the way. I wouldn't miss this one.

Load More