Explore the most popular trails near Yankton with hand-curated trail maps and driving directions as well as detailed reviews and photos from hikers, campers and nature lovers like you.

Yankton, South Dakota Map
VIEW FULL MAP

Great trail but it is a bit difficult on long uphill climbs in some areas. The views are really awesome of the river. Beware as some paths stray from the trail.

We did the whole loop. It took us an hour and 40 minutes. Lots of big hills. Beautiful views of the lake. If you are camping near Gavin's Point Dam this is a great hike. I wouldn't do this with young children. We have an 8 and a 6 year old and we left them at the campsite with Grandma and Grandpa. It was the right decision. Great hike with beautiful views.

hiking
Monday, July 31, 2017

Great hike for families. Easy climb on a well-traveled path. Leads to a shelter with nice views. Enjoyable any time of year.

hiking
Thursday, June 29, 2017

Amazing views, Is good for dog too. Please bring your plastic bag to collect your dog feces. TY

Beautiful trail, very challenging hills.

hiking
Saturday, February 25, 2017

Great trail, brutal hills, take C loop and challenge yourself!!!

hiking
Sunday, February 05, 2017

First time on this trail. It was icy in some spots but doable. Coming down the icy hills a little bit tricky. Thanks to the footprints of the person before me I was able to see where the trail was. Can't wait to come back in the spring and summer but loved having the trail to myself and my dog Max.

hiking
Tuesday, August 16, 2016

We love this trail. The full loop is about 4 miles but you can do a 1 mile loop. You will see amazing native Bur Oak trees. Wear your hiking shoes for some steep hill climbs. You will get a great workout from this one. Pack a picnic and enjoy lunch from the bluffs overlooking Lewis & Clark Lake.

on Chalk Bluffs Multi-Use Trail

hiking
Tuesday, June 07, 2011

This is a great trail! It is a bit rough because it is also open to horses, especially the uphill portions. If you have trouble with steep inclines and declines on rough terrain I would definately recommend a walking stick. The trail is really beautiful and has some fantastic views. The best part is the trail is made up of a series of loops so teh distance can eaily be amended anywhere from 1 mile to the full 4.1 miles.

hiking
20 days ago

hiking
8 months ago

hiking
9 months ago

hiking
Sunday, July 23, 2017

hiking
Saturday, July 01, 2017

hiking
Monday, June 26, 2017

hiking
Saturday, June 17, 2017

Friday, April 21, 2017

Monday, April 17, 2017

Saturday, April 01, 2017

Wednesday, September 14, 2016

Sunday, May 22, 2016

Load More