Explore the most popular birding trails near Petersburg with hand-curated trail maps and driving directions as well as detailed reviews and photos from hikers, campers and nature lovers like you.

Do trail in reverse for a good workout

hiking
3 months ago

The beginning of the trail is not easy to navigate because of overgrowth. We had to cross a small creek that was about a foot deep with no option but to get into the water. After this the trail was easy to find and full of laurel and rhododendrons however the uphill climb became rigorous. Overall the trail was pretty but required extra effort at the onset.

Cool afternoon perfect for a day hike.

hiking
Sunday, August 20, 2017

We definitely got a little mucky at the beginning of the trail and somehow our start and end spot wasn't the same place, however it's a beautiful trail and doable for someone who is not in the best shape.

walking
Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Easy trail, but make sure to go when the weather has been dry for a few days. It tends to get flooded and muddy when it has rained a lot.

hiking
Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Had my first encounter with a rattlesnake on this trail, but otherwise a great view by the power lines and a relatively easy hike

hiking
Saturday, June 24, 2017

This was an easy hike. The first 1/4 mile or so was wet and muddy. The sign at the trailhead says 3 miles which is fairly accurate.

Nice and beautiful trail
There are some rattlesnakes behind the rocks! But fortunately we didn't see them!

Rocky. Didn't bring my snake boots. So, I didn't finish going south. Ran into a rattlesnake. Maybe finish it in the future when I'm more prepared.

hiking
Friday, April 21, 2017

I hike this trail quite often. I never really do the full loop. I usually start at the trail entrance on the swimming side then go to the bridge on Beidler road then turn around. That half of the trail is prettier. The trail goes along a crick and you'll go over a couple wooden bridges. I always bring my dog and he loves it especially when I let him go swimming. The trail does get really muddy in some places.

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
3 months ago

hiking
4 months ago

hiking
5 months ago

hiking
Wednesday, October 04, 2017

hiking
Monday, September 04, 2017

backpacking
Saturday, August 26, 2017

hiking
Saturday, July 29, 2017

Thursday, July 20, 2017

Thursday, July 20, 2017

Saturday, June 10, 2017

hiking
Saturday, June 03, 2017

Monday, August 15, 2016

hiking
Sunday, February 28, 2016

hiking
Thursday, June 26, 2014

Load More