Explore the most popular trails near Round Lake with hand-curated trail maps and driving directions as well as detailed reviews and photos from hikers, campers and nature lovers like you.

Round Lake, Illinois Map
VIEW FULL MAP

Great bike ride
Wildlife at dusk
Mildly hilly

hiking
3 months ago

a great trail for a walk. not great for trail for a hike. but awfully pretty. walking on gravel which is nice and the whole preserve is very well maintained. would be great for the whole family, storyboards along trail a treat to find.

While the trail itself was easy, I was surprised at how much there is to look at along the trail. Tons of variety of bees, dragonflies, butterflies, other insects and wildflowers. Minimal shade.

hiking
4 months ago

Well maintained gravel loop trails. Has a little of everything—lakes, prairie, woods. Plenty of foot traffic but it’s a gem that’s close to home.

4 months ago

Nice short trail for morning run or walk

hiking
Monday, August 01, 2016

very nice!

mountain biking
Sunday, July 10, 2016

Great trail to get a few miles in.

walking
Monday, July 13, 2015

Well I go there every week so it's great to do all kind of things like volleyball, parties, walks, and running!!!

mountain biking
Monday, June 22, 2015

This was a nice trail. The Marl Flat trail connects to the Millenium Trail in Ingelside/Volo area. We rode all the way to where the trail crosses over Gilmer road in Wauconda and then turned around. This was an intermediate trail. It's flat until you hit the Singing Hills portion of the trail. Then you've got some gradual ups and downs. Coming back we were exhausted going up those hills as we were riding against the wind.

mountain biking
1 month ago

road biking
4 months ago

hiking
Saturday, September 16, 2017

hiking
Monday, August 07, 2017

hiking
Monday, March 06, 2017

backpacking
Tuesday, February 28, 2017

Saturday, February 25, 2017

Friday, February 24, 2017

Sunday, October 23, 2016

Sunday, September 11, 2016

Wednesday, May 18, 2016

Sunday, April 03, 2016

mountain biking
Thursday, June 18, 2015

walking
Tuesday, March 17, 2015