Explore the most popular trails near Mentone with hand-curated trail maps and driving directions as well as detailed reviews and photos from hikers, campers and nature lovers like you.

Mentone, California Map
VIEW FULL MAP
trail running
1 month ago

I started at the cul-de-sac and went to the right along a sinuous dirt road. The road stayed close to neighborhoods and I wasn't feeling too concerned about mountain lions on the trail without a dog, although it may have been a different story had I started out to the left. I did see two cottontail rabbits and two redtail hawks circling above. It was a nice open outdoor hike on soft trail good for running. I did not happen to see anyone else out on the trail this Wednesday morning. I think it would be fun to ride a bike on this trail, I could have kept going further down the trail along the outside of the neighborhoods. I only rate it a 4 out of 5 because there were not many shade trees and because I thought it would be moderately trafficked, but I was the only one on the trail.

There is a gate at the beginning. It starts from a cup-do-sac. You cannot drive this. Easy for bikes and hikers to get around the gate though.

The hike was not where the location stated. There was no foot trail anywhere nearby.

mountain biking
9 months ago

Great for mountain biking. Be careful and go prepared.

hiking
Wednesday, July 05, 2017

I hiked this after finding it on a dirt bike. Awesome trail.

hiking
Sunday, February 26, 2017

awesome views! footing a little tricky due to trail being pretty washed out, overall great experience, definitely a good steep hike.

hiking
Wednesday, December 28, 2016

Trailhead is at:
Latitude: 34.1266776
Longitude: -117.0972581

Friday, April 08, 2016

a good one!

Wednesday, July 04, 2012

If you are unfamiliar with the area, the easiest way to find the trails is to park in the Mill Creek Ranger Station parking lot. There is a trail that starts directly across route 38 from the entrance to the Ranger Station parking lot. It is not easy to see but it is sometimes marked by a rock pile. Once you are on that trail, just explore the different options to orient yourself. There is also a single track that starts where Madiera street dead-ends north of Mentone Elementary school. This single track can be ridden up to the Ranger Station, although it does get interrupted at parts and without a guide it might be tricky to navigate.
The Mentone single tracks can be combined with the Crafton Hills to make a longer ride. Cross over Route 38 and take the paved reservoir road into the hills. There are two marked single tracks that drop down onto this road. The two single tracks meet up for a nice loop and you can continue up to Zanja Peak from both.
In the hot summer months, ride very early or late. Unlike the Crafton Hills trails that are nice and smooth, the Mentone single tracks do have some rock gardens and challenging parts.

hiking
8 months ago

Sunday, June 11, 2017

hiking
Friday, May 19, 2017

hiking
Thursday, May 18, 2017

hiking
Friday, May 12, 2017

hiking
Friday, May 12, 2017

Saturday, April 29, 2017

Saturday, April 15, 2017

Tuesday, March 14, 2017

Tuesday, February 21, 2017

hiking
Sunday, January 08, 2017

Wednesday, June 08, 2016

on Mentone

hiking
Monday, February 08, 2016

Sunday, July 01, 2012