Bighorn Pass Trail from Indian Creek Campground

INTERMÉDIAIRE 5 avis
N°135 sur 228 randonnées à

Le sentier du col Bighorn, à partir du camping Indian Creek, est un sentier de point à point à trafic modéré, situé près du parc national de Yellowstone, dans le Wyoming, qui présente une rivière et est qualifié de modéré. Le sentier offre un certain nombre d’activités et sa meilleure utilisation est de juillet à octobre.

Distance: 19.2 miles Dénivelé: 2,007 feet Type d'itinéraire: Point A à point B

randonnée sac-à-dos

camping

ski de fond

randonnée

raquettes

balade

forêt

rivière

faune

neige

chiens interdits

Il s’agit d’une superbe randonnée avec une partie en montée soutenue offrant une vue imprenable et de superbes fleurs sauvages au sommet. De part et d’autre du col, la randonnée est facile, à l’exception de deux traversées de cours d’eau. Il est préférable de faire une randonnée juste après la fonte des neiges car le sentier est en grande partie exposé et il peut faire très chaud. Super endroit pour observer la faune, y compris le wapiti, le cerf et le bison. Quelques beaux terrains de camping peuvent être trouvés sur la rivière aux eaux cristallines de la rivière Gallatin pour une nuit incroyable. Une boucle peut être faite en entrant sur le sentier du passage faon et en coupant le sentier du lien à l'arrière.

randonnée
Wed Jul 11 2018

Cette randonnée a-t-elle été faite comme un enfant il y a 26 ans. Et vient de terminer à nouveau hier. C'est toujours la randonnée la plus difficile que j'ai jamais faite en une journée, 17 milles de haut et en bas. Je suis allé à un bon clip, 3 miles par heure en moyenne en moyenne, le temps total de randonnée était juste à 6 heures, sans compter la pause au sommet pour profiter du paysage. Nous avons vu notre mère et nos petits grizzlis entrer dans le camping d'Indian Creek, mais il n'y a pas d'animaux sauvages, à l'exception des écureuils terrestres et des tamias rayés sur le sentier toute la journée. La randonnée est fatigante, traverse deux cours d’eau du côté d’Indian Creek et est généralement exposée tout au long du parcours. Je ne pense pas que les gens soient au rendez-vous cette saison sauf nous. Trail était envahi par la végétation, difficile à suivre et à repérer à de nombreuses reprises, et nous avons presque suivi les empreintes de wapitis et d’orignaux la plupart du temps. Les pattes de coyote étaient également imprimées à un moment donné. Au sommet, nous avons dû escalader un sac de neige, maintenant pratiquement une couche de glace, sur environ 50 mètres pour atteindre le repère de passage. Cela nous a permis de passer un moment vraiment amusant en revenant au retour. La vue est magnifique, il y a beaucoup de fleurs sauvages en cours de route et vous vous détendez dans les ruisseaux au retour. Cela a fait une journée merveilleuse, mais oui, vous allez avoir mal. Le terrain est rugueux presque tout le chemin. Et tellement de nombreux insectes, Deet a éloigné les moustiques, mais les mouches sont tenaces et persistantes.

randonnée
2 months ago

randonnée
3 months ago

randonnée
3 months ago

randonnée
Mon Jul 09 2018

Randonnées populaires

Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Bighorn Pass Trail from Indian Creek Campground

moderateYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray Star(6)
Yellowstone National Park

Bighorn Pass Trail from Indian Creek Campground is a 19.2 mile moderately trafficked point-to-point trail located near Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming that features a river and is rated as moderate. The trail offers a number of activity options and is best used from July until October.

Length 19.2 mi Elevation gain 2,007 ft Route type Point to Point

Backpacking

Camping

Cross country skiing

Hiking

Snowshoeing

Walking

Forest

River

Wildlife

Snow

No dogs

Description
Waypoints (0)
Contact
Getting There

This is a great hike with one sustained uphill section with amazing views and great wildflowers at the top. On either side of the pass the hiking is easy with the exception of two stream crossings. Best hiked just after the snow has melted as the trail is mostly exposed and it can get pretty hot. Great place to spot wildlife including elk, deer and bison. Some beautiful campgrounds can be had on the crystal clear Gallatin River for an amazing overnight. A loop can be made by coming in on the fawn pass trail and cutting over on the link trail on the backside.

Yellowstone national park, mammoth 307-344-7381

From mammoth hot springs drive south toward old faithful and the madison junction. About 6 miles south of mammoth park at the warming hut at indian creek campground. the trailhead is across the dirt road from the hut.

Weather
UV Index
Daylight
Reviews (6)
Photos (13)
Recordings (6)
Completed (10)
Simon Guérard
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarFri Sep 14 2018
Hiking

Start on the east side and walk the pass plus about 6 miles more (up to mile ~13-14). It was nice but a bit boring. Not much change of scenery other than the pass. The trail is relatively easy to walk and follow.

David McKinney
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarWed Jul 11 2018
Hiking

Did this hike as a kid 26 years ago. And just completed it again yesterday. It is still the hardest hike I have ever done in one day, 17 miles up and down. Went at a good clip, 3 miles per hour up and down average, total hike time was right at 6 hours, not counting the break at the top to enjoy the scenery. Saw grizzly bear mom and cubs as we pulled into Indian Creek Campground, but no wildlife except ground squirrels and chipmunks on the actual trail all day. The hike is strenuous, has two stream crossings on the Indian Creek side, and it is mostly exposed the whole way. I do not think any people have been up this season except us. Trail was overgrown, hard to keep up and spot many times, and we pretty much just followed elk and moose prints most of the way. Coyote paws were imprinted at one point, too. At the top, we had to scale a snow pack, now practically an ice sheet, for about 50 yards to reach the pass marker. It made for an absolutely fun time sliding back down it on the return. Views are gorgeous, lots of wildflowers along the way, and you cool off in the streams on the way back. It made for a wonderful day, but yes, you'll be sore. The terrain is rough nearly the entire way. And soooooo many bugs, Deet kept away the mosquitoes, but the flies are tenaciously persistent.

Dan A. User
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarWed Aug 28 2019
Hiking
View Dan A.'s Recording
Kurt Gerwitz
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarTue Jul 16 2019
Hiking
View Kurt's Recording
Kurt Gerwitz
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMon Jul 15 2019
Hiking
View Kurt's Recording
David McKinney
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMon Jul 09 2018
Hiking
View David's Recording