Big Sandy Trail to Temple Lake Trail

DIFFICILE 4 avis
N°9 sur 49 randonnées à

De Big Sandy Trail à Temple Lake Trail est une piste cyclable modérée de 30 km située près de Boulder, dans le Wyoming, qui comprend un lac et est considérée comme difficile. Le sentier offre un certain nombre d’activités et s’utilise de juin à octobre. Les chiens et les chevaux peuvent également utiliser ce sentier.

Distance: 19.0 miles Dénivelé: 2,253 feet Type d'itinéraire: Boucle

chiens bienvenus

randonnée sac-à-dos

camping

pêche

randonnée

randonnée à cheval

activités en pleine nature

ornithologie

forêt

lac

rivière

vue panoramique

Depuis Pinedale, prenez l'autoroute 191 en direction sud. À Boulder, tournez à gauche sur l'autoroute 353 et parcourez 18 km jusqu'au bout de la chaussée. Peu de temps après la fin du trottoir, traversez l'intersection et continuez en direction du sud en traversant la Big Sandy River (Buckskin Crossing). Au prochain croisement, tournez à gauche (est) et conduisez 7 miles. Tourner à gauche au point suivant et suivre la route principale jusqu'au camping Big Sandy et au début du sentier. Ce sentier est distant, alors assurez-vous d'avoir un plein d'essence.

randonnée
Tuesday, August 07, 2018

Nous avons manqué le sentier pour dégager le lac, mais c'était correct, car il y avait un sentier de liaison du sentier Black Joe au dégagement du lac. Beau paysage alpin, ce sentier a-t-il été conduit dans le sens des aiguilles d'une montre et nous avons été ravis de l'avoir fait descendre le ravin après le lac Miller, qui était très escarpé. Si vous souhaitez suivre le sentier menant à Clear Lake, vous devez le faire suivre après avoir traversé un ruisseau à la fin du lac Big Sandy. Belle région pour camp de base aussi.

randonnée sac-à-dos
Tuesday, August 20, 2013

Randonnée dans le cadre d'un voyage prolongé de Big Sandy Lake et fait du lac de Temple une partie d'une boucle. Entre Clear Lake et Deep Lake, le sentier passe sur du granit. Plusieurs cairns rocheux marquent plusieurs chemins, mais peu importe, car ils se trouvent au-dessus de la limite des arbres et il suffit de suivre le ruisseau ou le granit jusqu'au lac. En redescendant entre Rapid Lake et Big Sandy à cause de la multiplicité des pistes, nous avons perdu la piste correcte et campons sur une piste extrêmement escarpée qui n’était pas la piste correcte. Soyez donc prudent en choisissant votre chemin. Les services forestiers n'entretiennent pas le sentier du sentier du lac Temple-Miller-Rapid-Big Sandy. Le tracé n'apparaît pas sur certaines cartes mais sur Topo Maps.

randonnée
1 month ago

randonnée
2 months ago

Randonnées populaires

Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Big Sandy Trail to Temple Lake Trail is a 19 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near Boulder, Wyoming that features a lake and is rated as difficult. The trail offers a number of activity options and is best used from June until October. Dogs and horses are also able to use this trail.

Length 19.0 mi Elevation gain 2,253 ft Route type Loop

Dog friendly

Backpacking

Camping

Fishing

Hiking

Horseback riding

Nature trips

Bird watching

Forest

Lake

River

Views

Waypoints (0)
Facilities
Contact
Getting There

Parking, campground and vault toilets, no water

Pinedale Ranger District 29 East Fremont Lake Rd. P.O. Box 220 Pinedale, WY 82941 307-367-4326 Fax: 307-367-5750

From Pinedale, drive south on Hwy 191. At Boulder, turn left on Hwy 353 and drive 18 miles to the end of the pavement. Shorty after the pavement ends, go straight through the junction, and drive south crossing the Big Sandy River (Buckskin Crossing). At next junction, turn left (east) and drive 7 miles. Turn left at the following jct and follow the main road to the Big Sandy Campground and trailhead. This trailhead is remote, so be sure to have a full tank of gas.

Weather
UV Index
Daylight
Reviews (4)
Photos (135)
Recordings (3)
Completed (8)
Jeff Wesolowski
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarAugust 7, 2018
Hiking

We missed trail to clear lake but that was Ok cause there was a connector trail from Black Joe trail to clear lake. Beautiful alpine scenery, Did this trail clockwise and glad we did cause trail down ravine past Miller lake was very steep. If you want to follow trail to Clear Lake you must hug trail to stream after crossing stream at end of Big Sandy Lake. Nice area to base camp also.

Breck Tuttle
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarAugust 20, 2013
Backpacking
First to Review

Hiked this as part of an extended trip from Big Sandy Lake and made the Temple Lake part of a loop. Between Clear Lake and Deep Lake the trail goes over granite with multiple rock cairns marking several paths but it doesn't matter because its above timberline and you just follow the stream or granite up to the lake. Coming down between Rapid Lake and Big Sandy again because of multiple trails we lost the correct trail and camp down an extremely steep trail that wasn't the correct trail so be careful picking your way. The Forest service doesn't maintain the trail from Temple-Miller-Rapid-Big Sandy lake trail. The trail does not appear on some maps but does appear on Topo Maps.

Joseph Bravo
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSeptember 1, 2019
Hiking
View Joseph's Recording
Scott Ottesen
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarJuly 24, 2019
Hiking
View Scott's Recording