Indian Heaven Trail to Lake Wapiki

DIFFICILE 33 avis
N°2 sur 16 randonnées à

Le sentier Indian Heaven menant au lac Wapiki est un sentier à faible trafic situé à proximité du lac Trout, dans l’État de Washington, qui comporte un lac et qui est considéré comme difficile. Le sentier est principalement utilisé pour la randonnée et le camping. Il est préférable de l’utiliser de juin à novembre. Les chiens peuvent également utiliser ce sentier mais doivent être tenus en laisse.

Distance: 8.3 miles Dénivelé: 2,440 feet Type d'itinéraire: Aller-retour

chiens en laisse

camping

randonnée

forêt

lac

vue panoramique

faune

L'une des meilleures randonnées dans le paradis des paradis indiens: des vues spectaculaires sur le mont Adams et des vues lointaines sur le mont Rainier, les rochers de chèvre et le mont St. Helens. Après avoir grimpé à travers une épaisse forêt, les premiers 1/2 mile, un plateau plein de champs d’arbousiers et des centaines de petits lacs qui méritent une exploration. Indian Heaven Wilderness est célèbre pour ses 150 lacs et ses alpages remplis de myrtilles. Les Amérindiens se rassemblaient chaque année pour chasser, pêcher, cueillir des baies et faire la course avec leurs chevaux jusqu’aux années 1920. Au nord et à l'ouest de la nature sauvage, la cueillette de l'airelles reste réservée aux membres de la tribu. Par temps clair, vous pourrez admirer de superbes vues sur le mont Adams, le mont Rainier, les rochers de chèvre et le mont St. Helens. En commençant par le camping Cultus Creek, la randonnée commence par une montée raide à travers une forêt de sapins de Douglas et longe le flanc du mont Bird. Le premier point de vue a un très gros avantage: des vues dégagées sur le mont Adams situé à proximité, avec Goat Rocks et le mont Rainier à proximité. Après le lac Cultus, empruntez le sentier Lemei à la jonction avec le rocher Lemei (prononcé lem-ee-eye) et une vue sur le lac Wapiki. Le sentier traverse des pâturages, des pâturages et des bruyères qui, à l’automne, sont remplis de couleurs vives, jaune et rouge, ainsi que de nombreuses baies à déguster. Lemei Rock est un ancien volcan et le lac Wapiki se tient dans son ancien cratère de cendres rouges.

randonnée
boueux
couvert de végétation
neige
1 day ago

Randonnée de Lemei TH au lac Wapiki en direction du sentier de Lemei et du point de vue sur le lac mercredi 10/9/19. Si vous utilisez les cartes Google pour vous rendre au début du sentier Lemei, les indications sont incorrectes, allez un peu plus loin sur la route jusqu'à ce que vous voyiez le panneau Lemei TH. Le stationnement est peut-être suffisant pour 4 véhicules juste après le panneau Lemei TH. Il n'y a pas de salle de bain ici ou poubelle. Vous devez remplir un permis d'autodétermination en pleine nature pour faire de la randonnée ici. Assurez-vous d'avoir un laissez-passer Northwest Forest, America The Beautiful Pass ou un laissez-passer à la journée, car il n'y a pas de borne de paiement à ce TH. Il y avait eu une tempête de neige la veille de mon déversement d'une quantité de 3 pouces de poudre fraîche sur la piste à certains endroits. La neige dans les basses altitudes du sentier a commencé à fondre au moment où je terminais ma randonnée. Le TH est en face du parking. Lemei Trail au lac Wapiki est une randonnée modérée. Il est 7,26 miles RT si vous faites le lac uniquement aller et retour. Je dirais bien pour les petits enfants. Pas accessible aux personnes handicapées. Il y a un emplacement de camping entre le lac et l'étang. Le sentier Lemei est une randonnée difficile. Montée abrupte et difficile à naviguer, assurez-vous d'avoir une carte avec vous. Je suis remonté le vieux sentier qui a un tas de débris sur le sentier et descendais le nouveau sentier (près du panneau de sentier n ° 34, il y a un arrêt). On aurait dit qu'il y avait quelques sorties sur piste, mais rien sur la piste de lemei pour autant que je suis allé (au champ de talus). Belle vue sur le lac sur ce sentier avec un saupoudrage de neige fraîche. Randonnée 1.48 miles sur le sentier lemei qui passe au-dessus du lac. 8,74 milles avec un gain d’altitude de 2174 pieds. La route qui entrait était une planche à laver et des nids-de-poule, mais lorsque je suis partie, elle a été repérée et comportait très peu de zones rugueuses. Vu 3 femmes et 3 chiens en sentier.

randonnée
2 months ago

Bonne randonnée. Vue imprenable sur le lac ... beaux sentiers tout autour. Beaucoup de moustiques, je vous conseillerais de pulvériser

Saturday, October 13, 2018

Grande randonnée. Meilleures couleurs d'automne.

randonnée
Thursday, September 06, 2018

Un de mes endroits préférés pour faire une randonnée août-octobre. La première partie est une ascension ennuyeuse, mais ensuite, vous aurez une vue magnifique sur les montagnes, les lacs et les myrtilles. Il restait encore pas mal de week-end de la fête du travail des myrtilles. Si vous voulez des vues, je vous recommande de suivre les instructions jusqu'au rocher de Lemei. Si vous préférez les lacs, continuez sur le sentier 33 jusqu'au PCT. Tournez à gauche sur environ 1,6 km, puis encore à gauche juste avant le lac Junction sur le sentier du lac Lemei et revenez sur 3 km pour compléter la boucle et retourner à la voiture. Vous passerez 6 lacs et beaucoup de prairies myrtilles sur cette jolie boucle plate. Un détour par Deep Lake n’est qu’à 0,2 kilomètre du lac Cultus et offre une belle vue sur Adams. Je ne sais pas pourquoi cela ne dit pas de chiens, mes deux laboratoires sont arrivés et se sont bien amusés à nager dans tous les lacs. Un arrêt à la brasserie Backwoods Brewery à Carson après une journée parfaite!

randonnée
Tuesday, May 29, 2018

J'ai essayé de faire de la randonnée ce week-end. Les routes sont encore couvertes de neige à plus de 4 miles du début du sentier.

randonnée
Friday, August 25, 2017

Nage épique dans le lac. Superbes vues. Pas de bugs. Journée parfaite sur le sentier.

randonnée
Saturday, July 15, 2017

Je ne me suis pas rendu au lac Wapiki car le sentier a finalement été recouvert de neige compacte et pâteuse. Oui, neige mi-juillet! Le premier kilomètre est tout à fait une séance d’entraînement mais s’installe par la suite. Les moustiques sont assez voraces autour du lac Deep et du lac Cultus. Je suis tellement contente d'avoir eu un insectifuge, mais ça ne suffisait pas. L’arrière-pays Indian Heaven est incroyablement beau et cette randonnée est facilement devenue l’un de mes 5 meilleurs.

randonnée sac-à-dos
Thursday, October 06, 2016

Le plus bel endroit à l'automne

randonnée
Monday, September 05, 2016

Incroyable tout le long !!!

Thursday, July 07, 2016

Spectaculaire

camping
Monday, September 28, 2015

Fantastique!

Tuesday, June 02, 2015

Magnifique comme toujours. Tant de neige encore. Mais c'était aussi avant les moustiques voraces. Des guêtres ou des raquettes auraient aidé

randonnée
Thursday, August 22, 2013

Peu importe que vous choisissiez le sentier 33 ou le sentier 108, vous gravirez des collines folles et traverserez un pays magnifique, le merveilleux Indian Heaven Wilderness. Vous passez plusieurs lacs, des points de vue impressionnants et un esprit purifié à mesure que la nature suit son cours. J'ai fait ce sentier avec un de mes amis mais je l'avais déjà fait quand j'étais enfant avec mon père. C’était un voyage hommage à mon père lors de son décès et les souvenirs qui m’avaient inondé étaient intenses mais pas accablants car je faisais quelque chose qui passionne mon père et moi. C'est vraiment un sentier génial.

randonnée
9 days ago

randonnée
20 days ago

randonnée
21 days ago

a enregistré Indian Heaven Trail to Lake Wapiki

randonnée
1 month ago

randonnée
1 month ago

randonnée
1 month ago

randonnée
1 month ago

randonnée
1 month ago

randonnée
1 month ago

randonnée
2 months ago

randonnée
2 months ago

randonnée
11 months ago

randonnée
11 months ago

randonnée
Saturday, October 06, 2018

randonnée
Tuesday, August 28, 2018

Charger plus

Randonnées populaires

Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Indian Heaven Trail to Lake Wapiki

hardYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray Star(36)
Indian Heaven Wilderness

Indian Heaven Trail to Lake Wapiki is a 8.3 mile lightly trafficked out and back trail located near Trout Lake, Washington that features a lake and is rated as difficult. The trail is primarily used for hiking and camping and is best used from June until November. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Distance: 8.3 miles Elevation Gain: 2,440 feet Route Type: Out & Back

dogs on leash

camping

hiking

forest

lake

views

wildlife

One of the best hikes in the Indian Heaven Wilderness: dramatic views of Mount Adams and distant views of Mount Rainier, Goat Rocks and Mount St. Helens. After ascending through thick forest the first 1-1/2 miles, a plateau full of huckleberry fields and hundreds of small lakes that beg exploring. Indian Heaven Wilderness is famous for its 150 + lakes and huckleberry-filled alpine meadows. The Native Americans used to gather each year to hunt, fish, collect berries and race their horses until the 1920s. On the northern and western side of the wilderness, huckleberry picking is still reserved for tribal members only. On clear days, there are great views of Mount Adams, Mount Rainier, Goat Rocks and Mount St. Helens. Starting at the Cultus Creek campground, the hike begins a steep ascent through a Douglas Fir forest and skirts along the side of Bird Mountain. The first viewpoint has a very big payoff: unobstructed views of nearby Mount Adams, with Goat Rocks and Mount Rainier in the not so far distance. After Cultus Lake, take the Lemei Trail at the junction to Lemei (pronounced lem-ee-eye) Rock and a view of Lake Wapiki. The trail passes through meadow after meadow of huckleberries and heather, which in the fall are full of bright yellow and red colors, and plenty of berries for sampling. Lemei Rock is an ancient volcano crag and Lake Wapiki is held in its old red cinder crater.

backpacking
snow
18 days ago

There is currently no day use fee for the trail, all the pay boxes are covered and no fee signs are displayed. Me and my love attempted to backpack to Lake Wapiki today, 6/16/20, but the trail was just too snowy. The road was completely melted out and in decent condition. About a mile into the hike the trail got covered in snow, ranging anywhere from 2 - 7 ft. deep. We kept hoping we would find a spot melted out enough to make a fire and pitch a tent, but after walking about a mile into the snow, we got to the first lake along the trail and realized that wasn't going to happen. We gave it a solid try but if you're not prepared for snow camping/hiking, give it atleast another month before you attempt this trail. I'm not sure if it is usually still this snowy mid-June, we have had a cool/wet spring this year so it could be due to that. But for future hikers reading this review, I would recommend waiting until July to try it, or to atleast have a lower elevation trail picked out as a back up plan if you want to try in June.

hiking
snow
8 months ago

Hiked on 11/2/19. Some patches of snow / ice from the start, then about 2 miles in when you start to reach the lakes it’s fully snow and ice covering the trail. Doable at this point with just hiking boots, poles and spikes couldn’t hurt but two of us plus pup made it fine without. Barely saw anyone else up there on a beautiful Saturday. Lakes were frozen over, gorgeous views.

hiking
muddy
over grown
snow
8 months ago

Hiked Lemei TH to Wapiki Lake to Lemei trail and the viewpoint above the lake Wednesday 10/9/19. If you are using Google maps to get to the Lemei trailhead the directions are wrong, go a little further up the road till you see the Lemei TH sign. Parking is maybe enough for 4 vehicles right after Lemei TH sign. There is no bathroom here or trash. You must fill out a self issue wilderness permit to hike here. Make sure you have a Northwest Forest pass, America The Beautiful Pass or have a day use pass as there is no pay station at this TH. There was a snow storm the day before I went dumping up to 3 inches of fresh powder on the trail in some places. Snow in the lower elevations of the trail started melting out as I was finishing my hike. The TH is across the road from parking area. Lemei Trail to Wapiki lake is a moderate hike. It's 7.26 miles RT if doing the lake only out and back. I would say good for small children. Not handicap accessible. There is a camp spot in between the lake and the pond. Lemei trail is a hard hike. Steep ascent and can be difficult to navigate, make sure you have a map with you. I went up the old trail which has a bunch of debris on trail and down the new trail (by the trail #34 sign there is a turn off). It looked like there was a couple turn offs on trail, but no signs on the lemei trail for as far as I went (to the talus field). Beautiful overlook of the lake on this trail with a dusting of fresh snow. Hiked 1.48 miles on the lemei trail going above the lake. 8.74 miles with 2174ft elevation gain. The road coming in was washboard and had potholes but when I left was re dirted and had very few rough areas. Saw 3 women and 3 dogs on trail.

hiking
10 months ago

Good hike up. Amazing view of the lake...nice trails all around . Lots of mosquitoes I’d suggest some off spray

Sat Oct 13 2018

Great hike. Best fall colors.

hiking
Thu Sep 06 2018

One of my favorite places to hike Aug-Oct. The first bit is a boring up hill climb, but then you get to great mountain views, lakes and huckleberries. There were still quite a few huckleberries labor day weekend. If you want views I'd recommend following the directions up to Lemei rock. If you prefer lakes, continue on trail 33 to the PCT. Take a left for about 1.6 miles, then left again just before Junction lake on the Lemei Lake trail for 2 miles back to complete the loop and head back to the car. You'll pass 6 lakes and lots of huckleberry meadows on this pretty flat loop. A side trip to Deep Lake is only 0.2miles from Cultus lake and has a nice view of Adams. Not sure why this says no dogs, my two labs came along and had a blast swimming in all the lakes. A stop at Backwoods Brewery in Carson after makes for a perfect day!

hiking
Tue May 29 2018

Tried to hike this weekend. Roads are still snow covered over 4 miles away from trailhead.

hiking
Fri Aug 25 2017

Epic swim in the lake. Great views. No bugs. Perfect day on the trail.

hiking
Sat Jul 15 2017

I did not get to Lake Wapiki because the trail eventually was covered in packed and mushy snow. Yes, snow mid-July! The first 0.7 miles is quite the workout but settles after that. The mosquitos are pretty voracious around Deep Lake and Cultus Lake. I'm so glad I had bug spray but that wasn't blood sucking bug proof enough. The Indian Heaven backcountry is amazingly beautiful and this hike easily has become one of my top 5.

backpacking
Thu Oct 06 2016

The most beautiful place in the fall

hiking
Mon Sep 05 2016

Amazing all along!!!

Thu Jul 07 2016

Spectacular

camping
Mon Sep 28 2015

Fantastic!

Tue Jun 02 2015

Beautiful as always. So much snow still. But it was before the ravenous Mosquitos too. Gaitors or snowshoes would have helped

hiking
Thu Aug 22 2013

It does not matter if you choose trail 33 or trail 108, you will go up some crazy hills and walk through some beautiful country of the wonderous Indian Heaven Wilderness. You pass several lakes, awesome viewpoints and a mind that becomes cleansed as the nature takes its course. I did this trail with a friend of mine but have done this trail in the past when I was a child with my Dad. This was a tribute trek to my Father as he passed away and the memories that flooded me were intense but not overwhelming because I was doing something my dad and I are passionate about. This is truly an awesome trail.

hiking
9 months ago

hiking
10 months ago

hiking
11 months ago

Showing results 1 - 28 of 36