White Rock Gap Trail

INTERMÉDIAIRE 25 avis
N°21 sur 120 randonnées à

White Rock Gap Trail is a 5.1 mile lightly trafficked out and back trail located near Lyndhurst, Virginia that features a lake and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, nature trips, and birding and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
5.1 miles
DÉNIVELÉ
695 pieds
TYPE D'ITINÉRAIRE
Aller-retour

chiens en laisse

convient aux enfants

randonnée

activités en pleine nature

balade

ornithologie

forêt

lac

rivière

vue panoramique

fleurs sauvages

faune

randonnée
8 months ago

L'eau était un peu basse aux chutes. Mais c'était une belle randonnée. C'est le plus long que j'ai pris mes 2 garçons, et ils se sont éclatés!

Friday, June 02, 2017

J'ai parcouru ce sentier en même temps que le sentier Slacks reliant le sentier Torry Ridge et le sentier du lac Sherando à environ 10,5 milles. Ma famille a commencé à Sherando Lake et a fait une randonnée à Torry Ridge, puis à Slacks, puis à White Rock. Vous traverserez plusieurs ruisseaux et je devais enlever mes chaussures pour 2. Mon mari avait des bottes imperméables et il allait bien. L'eau vive était belle et froide le 30 mai, lorsque nous avons marché.

randonnée
Saturday, June 18, 2016

Lorsque vous vous garez sur le parking et le repère de kilométrage 19,9, NE PAS SE RENDRE SUR LE SENTIER CÔTÉ DU PARKING, SE PASSER DANS LA ROUTE ET LE SENTIER. Si vous vous rendez au sentier de l'autre côté de la route, le sentier sera plus court de 3 milles ou plus. En outre, lorsque vous suivez le sentier qui traverse la rue, lorsque vous voyez deux traits de peinture jaunes, procédez ainsi, car c’est là que se trouve la cascade. Grand sentier souhaite juste que je nouveau où aller. La cascade est superbe et l’eau autour n’est pas profonde (peut-être deux mètres). Je recommande fortement d'apporter des chaussures d'eau afin que si vous marchez sur les rochers pour vous rendre à la cascade et que vous glissiez, ce ne sera pas un problème. Il vaut mieux s'en approcher!

Saturday, December 05, 2015

La tête haute. Ce sentier est au moins un mile et demi plus long que ce que dit le guide du sentier du service forestier. Cela dit, j'ai vraiment aimé ce sentier. C'est mon genre de sentier.

randonnée
Thursday, August 14, 2014

Depuis le début du lac Upper Sherando, ce sentier monte doucement jusqu'à la Blue Ridge Parkway et redescend doucement. La brochure du Service des forêts donne l’impression que vous marchez le long de la crique. Je suppose que vous pourriez soutenir que le sentier suit le long du ruisseau, mais vous n'en verrez pas beaucoup. La forêt est belle et le sentier est agréable.

randonnée
1 day ago

randonnée
25 days ago

randonnée
1 month ago

randonnée
3 months ago

randonnée
4 months ago

randonnée
5 months ago

randonnée
7 months ago

randonnée
9 months ago

Saturday, December 16, 2017

randonnée
Friday, October 13, 2017

a enregistré White Rock Gap Trail

randonnée
Thursday, August 17, 2017

randonnée
Wednesday, July 19, 2017

Saturday, July 01, 2017

Saturday, July 01, 2017

randonnée
Sunday, May 28, 2017

randonnée
Saturday, May 20, 2017

Saturday, October 15, 2016

Monday, September 26, 2016

randonnée
Monday, September 05, 2016

randonnée
Thursday, August 07, 2014

White Rock Gap Trail

MODERATE 7 reviews

White Rock Gap Trail is a 5.1 mile lightly trafficked out and back trail located near Lyndhurst, Virginia that features a lake and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, nature trips, and birding and is accessible year-round.

DISTANCE
5.1 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
764 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Out & Back

kid friendly

birding

hiking

nature trips

forest

lake

river

views

wild flowers

wildlife

20 days ago

I hiked this trail in conjunction with the Slacks trail connecting to Torry Ridge trail, and Sherando Lake trail to equal about 10.5 miles. My family started in Sherando Lake and hiked up to Torry Ridge over to Slacks, & then White Rock. There were multiple streams that you will cross and I had to take my shoes off for 2. My husband had waterproof boots and he was fine. The rushing water was beautiful and cold on May 30th, when we hiked.

hiking
24 days ago

8 months ago

hiking
9 months ago

hiking
Saturday, June 18, 2016

When you park in the parking lot and mile marker 19.9, DO NOT GO ON THE TRAIL NEXT TO THE PARKING LOT, GO ACROSS THE ROAD AND INTO THE TRAIL. If you go to the trail across the road, the trail will be 3+ miles shorter. Also, when you go down the trail that's across the street, when you see two yellow paint strokes, go that way because that's where the waterfall is. Great trail just wish I new where to go. The waterfall is great and the water around it isn't deep (2-3 feet maybe). I highly recommend bringing water shoes so if you walk on the rocks to get to the waterfall and you slip it won't be an issue. It's better to get close to it!

Saturday, December 05, 2015

Heads up. This trail is at least a mile and a half longer each way than what the forest service trail guide says. That said, I really loved this trail. It is my kind of trail.

hiking
Thursday, August 14, 2014

From the Upper Sherando Lake beginning this trail makes a gentle climb all the way up to the Blue Ridge Parkway and a gentle descent all the way back. The Forest Service brochure makes it sound like you are walking along the creek all the way. I guess you could argue that the trail does follow along the creek, but you will not actually see much of it. The forest is beautiful and the trail is nice.