Turtle Island Trail

EASY 21 reviews

Turtle Island Trail is a 1.2 mile loop trail located near Huddleston, Virginia that features a river. The trail is good for all skill levels and primarily used for hiking. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
1.2 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
101 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

dogs on leash

kid friendly

hiking

forest

river

views

Directions from Roanoke, VA: Take Rt. 24 east for approximately 22 miles. Turn south (right) on Rt. 43 and travel 2 miles. Turn right (west) onto Rt. 626 and travel 11 miles to the park entrance. After passing the contact station, make a left onto Interpretive Trail Road. Follow until you reach trailhead parking. Signage is excellent.

hiking
2 months ago

Skip the hike and go to the beach across the way. $7 to get into the park. Worth it if you want to get in some nice lake beach time (extra $3).

walking
Sunday, August 13, 2017

Thursday, March 09, 2017

Nice view lake over flow side walk onto trial

hiking
Saturday, November 19, 2016

My favorite of the five trails that I hiked at Smith Mountain Lake State Park. It is a scenic loop through the woods that follows the shore in places, with occasional glimpses of the beautiful lake. The clear highlight however is when the trail makes its way over a narrow strip of land and a small bridge to the little island. The panoramic lake views were amazing on a spectacular fall day. I wish I had been able to linger there longer. It is easy to combine with other park trails, and there is parking at the trailhead.

hiking
2 days ago

hiking
3 months ago

hiking
4 months ago

hiking
4 months ago

6 months ago

hiking
9 months ago

11 months ago

hiking
11 months ago

hiking
Sunday, August 06, 2017

hiking
Monday, July 24, 2017

hiking
Friday, July 21, 2017

Sunday, July 09, 2017

hiking
Sunday, July 09, 2017

hiking
Tuesday, June 27, 2017

hiking
Saturday, June 17, 2017

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Saturday, March 26, 2016