Spring Sale! Get a year of AllTrails Pro for only $14.99
Get Started

Story Book Trail is a 0.9 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Luray, Virginia that offers scenic views. The trail is good for all skill levels and primarily used for hiking and walking. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
0.9 miles
DÉNIVELÉ
65 pieds
TYPE D'ITINÉRAIRE
Aller-retour

chiens en laisse

convient aux enfants

randonnée

balade

voie partiellement aménagée

vue panoramique

1 month ago

Belle randonnée facile pour les enfants ou les personnes âgées. Mon enfant de 4 ans adore jouer sur les rochers et explorer les bois. Vue imprenable depuis le belvédère.

randonnée
rocheux
1 month ago

balade
2 months ago

vue incroyable mais ce n'est pas une randonnée. J'étais sur un long voyage en voiture sur l'I-81 et ce n'était pas très loin de l'autoroute. bon endroit pour sortir et se dégourdir les jambes. vue incroyable pour pas beaucoup de travail.

4 months ago

Très facile, sentier bien pavé à une plate-forme avec une superbe vue. Même si le sentier lui-même peut faire moins d’un kilomètre, il y a tellement de ramifications et d’endroits pour grimper et ramper sur les rochers afin de voir différentes perspectives qui vous permettront de faire une randonnée aussi longue que vous le souhaitez! Recommande fortement ce sentier - surtout si vous avez un groupe de personnes ayant des capacités / expériences différentes.

randonnée
5 months ago

Sentier mignon. Fait pour les familles et les grands-parents. Portez vos tongs.

randonnée
6 months ago

Grand sentier en douceur à moins d'un mile (aller et retour) avec forrest couvrir tout le chemin. Portez vos tongs ou amenez les grands-parents car ce chemin pavé n’a aucun gain d’altitude à proprement parler. La plate-forme d'observation à la fin ouvre une vue spectaculaire sur la vallée et les montagnes du parc national de Shenandoah. Le jour de notre séjour, nous avons assisté à un grand rassemblement de faucons chevauchant les thermiques devant nous. Nos enfants (4 et 2 ans et demi) ont adoré, en particulier les tas de rochers qui parsèment le sentier et constituent des montées faciles à parcourir. C'est un excellent sentier si vous aimez les vues ou si vous voulez que les jeunes enfants s'enthousiasment pour le plein air.

6 months ago

Grand sentier. Vue absolument incroyable.

Prenez votre appareil photo, pas besoin de bottes de randonnée. Sandales préférées. Belles vues!

randonnée
7 months ago

Très courte promenade, randonnée familiale facile avec une vue magnifique.

9 months ago

aimer ce sentier

10 months ago

Courte promenade facile vers une très belle vue avec beaucoup de grès, de calcaire, de schiste et de pins blancs. L'un des plus beaux endroits que nous avons visités

randonnée
Monday, November 06, 2017

Marche très tranquille qui aboutit à un superbe coup d'oeil sur les montagnes et la forêt voisines

balade
Sunday, October 22, 2017

Beau sentier court avec de belles vues.

randonnée
Thursday, October 19, 2017

Une telle randonnée rapide avec des vues magnifiques

Sunday, October 15, 2017

Facile, court et plat. Mais la vue est payante.

Sunday, October 08, 2017

Une vue magnifique

activités en pleine nature
Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Merveilleux sentier pour emmener mon bambin de 3 ans. La plus belle vue que j'ai vue depuis longtemps

Sunday, July 23, 2017

Grand sentier pour les tout-petits. J'ai emmené mes jumeaux de quatre ans et nous avons tous adoré!

balade
Sunday, July 09, 2017

C'est une promenade pavée facile avec peu de changement d'élévation. Il y a des rochers / rochers intéressants le long du sentier lorsque vous traversez une jolie canopée d’arbres. C'est juste une courte distance jusqu'à la plate-forme avec une vue magnifique sur la vallée de Shenandoah. Il vaut vraiment la peine de s'y arrêter si vous êtes dans la région (entre New Market et Luray).

Saturday, June 24, 2017

Génial facile

Saturday, June 24, 2017

Génial facile

Thursday, April 13, 2017

Facile et belle vue !!

randonnée
Sunday, March 26, 2017

sentier court très facile pour les enfants. Nous avons pris un sentier à gauche du sentier principal qui valait bien mieux que de marcher en direction du belvédère. superbe vue

balade
Monday, October 31, 2016

Une courte promenade pour une vue à couper le souffle.

randonnée
Thursday, October 27, 2016

Très court et facile, je ne sais pas si cela compte même comme une "randonnée". Le sentier est pavé et il y a peu d'altitude qui change tout le chemin. La vue est fantastique mais très peuplée, attendez-vous à voir d'autres personnes. Il y a aussi quelques petites pistes non officielles si vous avez des enfants / adolescents qui veulent être plus aventureux, mais c'est un domaine assez petit.

Sunday, September 04, 2016

Grande randonnée pour les enfants! Facile et avec de superbes vues! Nous l'avons aimé!

Sunday, August 28, 2016

C'est pavé et facile.

Thursday, August 25, 2016

Sentier pavé très facile vers un bel aperçu des montagnes. Aucune faune observée en piste cette année. L'année dernière, nous avons vu un serpent noir. Rien de trop effrayant. Les enfants ont tous les deux moins de 11 ans et adorent ce sentier pour tous les rochers sur lesquels ils peuvent grimper. Def recommander pour les familles avec enfants !!

randonnée
Tuesday, July 26, 2016

Donc, cette piste elle-même est facile. Facile à trouver, facile à atteindre. Très belle vue au bout. Cependant, si vous recherchez quelque chose d'un peu plus amusant, un peu en avant est un sentier qui part du sentier pavé. Nous l’avons suivie jusqu’à la montagne et avons trouvé des groupes de rock impressionnants pour obtenir de belles images et des signes évidents que des gens avaient campé là-haut. C'était beau. Ce sentier était un peu plus difficile, en montée et autour des collines et des racines. Nous sommes allés en février par une journée relativement chaude et c'était tellement agréable. Nous sommes retournés en avril et les brier étaient un peu trop envahis. Mais nous reviendrons certainement l'hiver prochain.

Friday, September 11, 2015

Sentier paisible facile

Charger plus

Story Book Trail is a 0.9 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Luray, Virginia that offers scenic views. The trail is good for all skill levels and primarily used for hiking and walking. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
0.9 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
65 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Out & Back

dogs on leash

kid friendly

hiking

walking

partially paved

views

1 month ago

Very easy, nicely paved trail to a platform with a great overlook. While the trail itself may be less than a mile, there are so many off-shoots and places to climb and crawl over rocks to see different perspectives that you can make it as long of a hike as you’d like! Highly recommend this trail - especially if you have a group of people with different ability/experience.

hiking
1 month ago

Cute trail. Made for families and grandparents. Wear your flip flops.

hiking
3 months ago

Great gentle trail at less than a mile (out and back) with forrest cover the entire way. Wear your flip-flops or bring the grand parents as this paved path has no elevation gain to speak of. The viewing platform at the end opens up a spectacular vista over the valley across to the mountains of Shenandoah National Park. The day we were there featured a large gathering of hawks riding the thermals in front of us. Our kids (4 and 2 1/2) loved it, particularly the rock piles that dot the trail and are easy climbs for kids to scramble around. This is a great little trail if you are into views or have young kids you want to get enthused about being outdoors.

3 months ago

Great trail. Absolutely amazing view.

Take your camera, no hiking boots needed. Sandals preferred. Beautiful Views!

hiking
4 months ago

Very short walk, easy family hike with a great view.

5 months ago

love this trail

7 months ago

Short easy walk to a very beautiful overlook with lots of sandstone, limestone and shale and white pine trees. One of the most beautiful places we visited

hiking
Monday, November 06, 2017

Very leisurely walk that ends up on a great over look of the nearby mountains & forest

walking
Sunday, October 22, 2017

Nice short trail with good views.

hiking
Thursday, October 19, 2017

Such a quick hike with gorgeous views

Sunday, October 15, 2017

Easy, short, and flat. But the view does pay off.

Sunday, October 08, 2017

Wonderful views

nature trips
Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Wonderful trail to take my 3 year old toddler on. Most beautiful view I've seen in a long time

Sunday, July 23, 2017

Great trail for toddlers. I took my four year old twin boys and we all loved it!

walking
Sunday, July 09, 2017

This is an easy paved walk with little elevation change. There are some interesting rocks/boulders along the trail as you pass through a pretty canopy of trees. It's just a short distance until you reach the platform with a gorgeous view of the Shenandoah Valley. It is definitely worth the quick stop if you are in the area (between New Market and Luray).

Saturday, June 24, 2017

Awesome easy

Saturday, June 24, 2017

Awesome easy

Thursday, April 13, 2017

Easy and beautiful view!!

hiking
Sunday, March 26, 2017

short very easy trail for kids. we took a side trail to the left of the main trail that was a lot better hike than just walking to the overlook by way of pavement. great view

walking
Monday, October 31, 2016

A short walk for a breathtaking view.

hiking
Thursday, October 27, 2016

Very short and easy, I don't know if it even counts as a "hike." The trail is paved and has little elevation change the entire way. The view is fantastic, but it is very populated, so expect to see other people. There are also some small unofficial trails if you have kids/teens that want to be more adventurous, but it's a fairly small area.

Sunday, September 04, 2016

Great hike for kids! Easy and with great views! We loved it!

Sunday, August 28, 2016

It's paved and easy.

Thursday, August 25, 2016

Very easy paved trail to a beautiful overview of mountains. No wildlife seen while on trail this year. Last year we saw a black rat snake. Nothing too scary. Kids are both under 11 and love this trail for all the rocks they can climb and get pictures on located on sides of trail. Def recommend for families with children!!

hiking
Tuesday, July 26, 2016

So this trail itself is easy. Easy to find, easy to get to. Very nice view at the end. However, if you're looking for something a bit more fun, a little bit in is a trail heading off the paved path. We followed it all the way up the side of the mountain and found some awesome rock groupings to get some nice pictures and obvious signs that people had camped up there. It was beautiful. That trail was a bit more work heading uphill and around briers and roots. Went in February on a relatively warm day and it was so nice. Went back in April and the briers were a little too overgrown. But will definitely be back come winter.

Friday, September 11, 2015

Easy peaceful trail

hiking
Friday, July 10, 2015

It was a very short and easy trail. Paved the whole way, which made it very manageable for my two year old. The view at the end was impressive.

Load More