South Valley Trail

MODERATE 28 reviews

South Valley Trail is a 15.2 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Triangle, Virginia that features a waterfall and is rated as moderate. The trail offers a number of activity options and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
15.2 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
1400 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Out & Back

dogs on leash

birding

canoeing

hiking

nature trips

trail running

walking

beach

forest

river

views

waterfall

wild flowers

wildlife

rocky

Nice trail in the beautiful Prince William Forest. A fair amount of relatively short up and down grades. Some rocky and/or heavily rooted areas.

trail running
26 days ago

hiking
1 month ago

1 month ago

3 months ago

4 months ago

hiking
11 months ago

It is a fun trail, not very strenuous, and runs along the South Fork of Quantico Creek for long stretches. There are numerous different loops, longer or shorter that can be made with the various trails in the park. Great park for the closeness to D.C. **Check the Prince William Forest Park map of trails from the park -- the map here is Not correct**

11 months ago

Monday, July 18, 2016

Sunday, July 10, 2016

Monday, June 20, 2016

hiking
Friday, March 25, 2016

Way more to this trial, but if your looking for a fun (easy) scenic trail to do after work or on the weekend when you only have a few hours, than this is the trail to go to. Ample parking at the start as well as along the first stretch of scenic drive allow flexibility and the network connecting other trails is very nice and easy.

hiking
Tuesday, March 22, 2016

hiking
Sunday, March 06, 2016

hiking
Thursday, October 22, 2015

Sunday, September 27, 2015

Long run along a steady creek. Good paced trail for high tempo

cross country skiing
Saturday, August 29, 2015

trail running
Sunday, July 19, 2015

The whole trail system in PW Forest is the best I've experienced on East Coast. All trails and facilities are maintained daily. Restrooms and/or fixed water points are positioned every 3 miles, so you are never more than an hours walk from resupply or emergency aid. SVT is my favorite of the trails, because it's the longest and and has best terrain and scenery. Slightly technical at mid-way parts along the creek, and very narrow single track. Just a great, usually uncrowded trail to run any day if you live nearby.

hiking
Monday, June 08, 2015

hiking
Sunday, May 31, 2015

hiking
Saturday, March 21, 2015