Skyline to Old Rag Mountain Loop

SCHWER 16 Bewertungen
#62 von 190 Wegen in

Der Skyline to Old Rag Mountain Loop ist ein 15,2 Meilen langer, stark befahrener Loipenpfad in der Nähe von Luray, Virginia, der die Möglichkeit bietet, Wildtiere zu sehen und wird nur erfahrenen Abenteurern empfohlen. Der Pfad wird hauptsächlich zum Wandern, Trailrunning und Backpacking verwendet und wird am besten von März bis November genutzt.

Entfernung: 15.2 miles Höhenunterschied: 4,566 feet Routentyp: Rundweg

Rucksacktour

Wandern

Laufen

Wald

Aussicht

Wildtiere

steinig

Scrambling

keine Hunde

wandern
scrambling
steinig
1 month ago

Tolles Wandern. Dies ist mein dritter Trail im Shenandoah National Park. Ich habe 8 Stunden gebraucht, um es zu beenden. Ich begann um 10 Uhr morgens, was etwas zu spät war, da der Sonnenuntergang um 18.30 Uhr war. Viele Feuer Straße. Mein Lieblingsteil ist der alte Rag Ridge Trail.

wandern
1 month ago

Sehr anspruchsvolle aber lohnende Wanderung! Es ist eine großartige Möglichkeit, Shenandoah zu sehen - Sie wandern hinunter zu einigen Bächen (passen Sie auf die Spinnennetze auf!), Beginnen die herausfordernden Anstiege und nehmen an der Felswanderung auf Old Rag teil. Es ist definitiv eine große Anstrengung, aber wir haben es geliebt

ausgewaschen
2 months ago

Ja, Njcrf

wandern
käfer
scrambling
4 months ago

Dies ist eine großartige, herausfordernde Wanderung und kann eine gute Trainingswanderung für längere Abenteuer oder Ausflüge in den Westen sein. Es ist aus der Beschreibung nicht klar, aber beachten Sie, dass ein erheblicher Teil dieser Kilometer auf Feuerwehrstraßen / Forstwirtschaftsstraßen liegt. Wenn Sie nicht Ihr ganzes Wasser mitnehmen möchten, sollten Sie sich an der Kreuzung der Brokenback Runs Wasser schnappen, bevor Sie den Old Rag hinauffahren - dies ist Ihre letzte Chance für den größten Teil der restlichen Wanderung.

wandern
scrambling
5 months ago

Was für eine Wanderung! Dies war unser bisher längstes Wanderabenteuer - wir starteten am Limberlost Trailhead und wanderten die Old Rag Fire Road hinunter, um die gesamte Old Rag-Schleife gegen den Uhrzeigersinn für insgesamt ~ 14,6 Meilen abzuschließen. Die Wanderung mit zahlreichen Pausen zum Ausruhen, Knabbern und Besichtigen der Sehenswürdigkeiten dauerte insgesamt 10 Stunden. Wir haben die Wanderung an einem Freitag (17.05.1919) abgeschlossen und waren oft alleine, um die natürliche Schönheit zu genießen. Wir hatten sogar ein Bärenjunges vor uns auf dem Weg! Nachdem wir die Dinge verlangsamt hatten, um sicherzustellen, dass Mama nicht in der Nähe war, gingen wir ohne Probleme weiter. Die Aussicht auf den Old Rag und den Robertson Mountain war die Meile wert und bot einen herrlichen Panoramablick auf den Park. Das Rock-Scramble (abgeschlossen nach dem Gipfel des Old Rag) war ein neues Experiment für meine Frau und mich - eine sehr lustige und neue Herausforderung. Seien Sie auf jeden Fall bereit, mehr Oberkörper als bei einer typischen Wanderung zu trainieren. Der Abstieg nach Old Rag, unmittelbar gefolgt von der Besteigung von Robertson, war der schwierigste Teil. Wir haben hier das Tempo verlangsamt. Es wird dringend empfohlen, Wanderstöcke zu haben, um die Beine an diesen Stellen etwas zu entlasten. Die Wanderwege zwischen den Gipfeln haben sich zeitweise wiederholt und einige waren hauptsächlich Schotter (der einzige Grund für 4 vs. 5 Sterne). Alle Trails waren jedoch gut gepflegt! Eine großartige Möglichkeit, Shenandoah zu erleben!

wandern
scrambling
7 months ago

Abgeschlossen am 04.03.19 - Mein 29. Geburtstag! . Dieser Weg war bei weitem der schwierigste Weg, den ich je persönlich unternommen habe, aber mit dieser Aussage wurde gesagt; es war bei weitem die beste Erfahrung, die ich beim Wandern zu einem Gipfel hatte! Wenn Sie sich gegen den Uhrzeigersinn entscheiden und auf dem Weg zum kühneren Gerangel aufbrechen, ist der Weg etwas anstrengend und Sie werden hier wahrscheinlich ein wenig Energie aufwenden. Hüten Sie sich vor denen, die wenig Beine oder weniger Kraft im Oberkörper haben. Das Gesteinsklettern wird schwieriger und Sie werden wahrscheinlich Hilfe benötigen, wenn Sie noch nie so etwas getan haben. Einige von ihnen mussten von Hand auf rutschigen Felswänden klettern. Ich bin ein 5 ”3, 130 £, ich musste mich von meinem Freund ein paar Mal mehr Hand geben lassen! Alles in allem hat es wirklich Spaß gemacht und ich werde es in Zukunft wieder tun, wir sehen uns dort! : P

wandern
Sat Oct 13 2018

Erstaunliche Wanderung! Abgeschlossen am 10.10.18. Begonnen am Limberlost Trailhead und führte ihn zur Old Rag Fire Road nach Weakley Hollow. Gleiche Route auf dem Rückweg nach der Clockwose-Schleife. Die 7-stündige Rundreise mit ein paar kurzen Zwischenstopps zum Essen, Trinken und Genießen der Aussicht. Bereiten Sie sich auf die Rückreise nach Skyline Dr. an der Old Rag Fire Road vor, nachdem Sie den Abschnitt Old Rag Mountain abgeschlossen haben. Ich war mir sicher, dass ich auf dieser Wanderung Bären oder anderen Wildtieren begegnen würde, aber es war sehr ruhig und einsam mit Ausnahme einiger Weißwedelhirsche. Ich würde es noch einmal tun, würde aber gerne eine der alternativen Routen zum Old Rag ausprobieren, wie Berry Hollow, Robertson Mountain oder Corbin Hollow Trails. Prost!

wandern
3 days ago

wandern
10 days ago

wandern
20 days ago

wandern
1 month ago

5 months ago

aufgezeichnet Recording - May 27, 04:50 PM

wandern
5 months ago

Sun Mar 25 2018

Sun Jul 16 2017

wandern
Fri Jul 14 2017

Empfohlene Routen

Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Skyline to Old Rag Mountain Loop is a 18 mile heavily trafficked loop trail located near Luray, Virginia that offers the chance to see wildlife and is only recommended for very experienced adventurers. The trail is primarily used for hiking, running, and backpacking and is best used from March until November.

Length 18.0 mi Elevation gain 4,566 ft Route type Loop

Backpacking

Hiking

Running

Forest

Views

Wildlife

Rocky

Scramble

No dogs

Waypoints (0)
Weather
UV Index
Daylight
Reviews (25)
Photos (1755)
Recordings (14)
Completed (55)
Orlis Perla
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMon May 25 2020
HikingClosedRockyScramble

THIS IS NOT 15.2 MILES MORE LIKE 18.5!!!! Awesome hike with tons of animals white tail deer, frogs and even a headless rat! Have plenty water. It took about 9 hours and a half. We also took a break at some point.

Deepak Shah
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSun Mar 29 2020

we did this trail last Autumn during fall foliage..You have two choice to do this trail..one which is little tough where you can do rock scrambling and other way you can avoid rock scrambling..both trail will take you to summit

Sean McGuinness
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSun Mar 22 2020
Hiking

brutal uphill on the way back, but absolutely worth the scramble section! one of the coolest things i have ever done.

View Sean's Recording
Jorge Galindo
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSun Jan 26 2020
HikingScramble
View Jorge's Recording
Alicia Gonzalez
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSun Jan 05 2020
Scramble

Right now the scramble is a bit wet from the rain. We did this counter clockwise but turned around after a few stretches of the scramble because the rock was wet and it didn't seem safe. Wonderful hike though! I can't wait to do the whole thing. Bring a rain shell and rain pants at this time of year. Showers were forecast yesterday but it turned into all out rain by mid afternoon.

Yutong Yang
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSat Oct 12 2019
HikingRockyScramble

Great hiking. This is my third trail in Shenandoah National park. It took me 8 hours to finish it. I started at 10am which was a little too late since the sunset was at 6:30pm..... Prepare enough time before it gets dark or take light with you. Lots of fire road though. My favorite part is old rag ridge trail.

View Yutong's Recording
Paul Newall
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMon Sep 30 2019
Hiking

Very challenging but rewarding hike! It’s a great way to see Shenandoah - you hike down to some creeks (beware the spider webs!), begin the challenging climbs, and take on the rock scramble on Old Rag. It’s definitely a big effort but we loved it

Andrew Sonnet
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarThu Sep 12 2019

Yeah Njcrf

View Andrew's Recording
Matt Vanderwerff
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSat Jun 22 2019
HikingBugsScramble

This is a great, challenging hike and can be a good training hike for longer adventures or trips out West. It's not clear from the description, but be aware that a significant portion of these miles are on fire roads/forest service roads. If you don't want to carry all your water, be sure to grab water at the Brokenback run crossing before heading up Old Rag--it's your last chance for most of the rest of the hike.

Dane Brown
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSun May 19 2019
HikingScramble

What a hike! This was our longest hiking adventure to date - we started at the Limberlost trailhead, hiking down Old Rag Fire Road to complete the full Old Rag loop in the counter-clockwise direction for a total of ~14.6 miles. The hike, including numerous breaks for rest, snacking, and taking in the sights, took a total of 10 hours. We completed the hike on a Friday (5/17/19) and often found ourselves alone to enjoy the natural beauty. We did even have a bear cub run out in front of us on the trail! After slowing things down to make sure Mom wasn’t near we kept moving with no issues. The summit views on both Old Rag and Robertson Mountain were worth the mileage, offering truly panoramic views of the park. The rock scramble (completed after the summit of Old Rag) was a new experiment for my wife and I - a very fun and new challenge. Definitely be prepared to exert some more upper body than on a typical hike. The descent down Old Rag immediately followed by the ascent of Robertson was the most difficult portion, we slowed down the pace here. Having hiking poles to take some of the pressure off the legs on these portions is highly recommended. The stretches of hiking between the summits did become repetitive at times and several were primarily gravel (the only reason for 4 vs. 5 stars). However, all of the trails were well maintained! A great way to experience Shenandoah!

Corinne Wohner
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarThu Apr 04 2019
HikingScramble

Completed 04/03/19 - My 29th Birthday! . This trail was by far the hardest trail I’ve ever done personally, but with that being said; it was by far the best experience I’ve had while hiking to a summit! If you decide to take the counter clockwise route and head strait to the bolder scramble, the trail is a bit strenuous and you will likely exert a good bit of energy here, so take a slower pace. Beware for those who have little legs or less upper body strength, the rock scramble will be more difficult and you will likely need assistance if you have never done this type of thing; its requires some had over hand climbing on slippery rock faces. I’m a 5”3, 130lbs, I had to have my boyfriend give me a hand up more then a few times! Overall it was really fun and I will be doing it again in the future, see ya there! :P

Joe Greer
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSat Oct 13 2018
Hiking

Amazing hike! Completed 10/10/18. Started at the Limberlost Trailhead and took that to the Old Rag Fire Road to Weakley Hollow. Same route on the return after the clockwose loop. The 7 hour round trip with a few quick stops to eat, drink and enjoy the views. Prepare for a strenuous work out on the return trip to Skyline Dr. on the Old Rag Fire Road after completing the Old Rag Mountain section. Was sure I would encounter some bears or other wildlife on this trek but it was very quiet and solitary with exception of a few whitetail deer. Would do it again but would like to try one of the alternate routes to Old Rag such as Berry Hollow, Robertson Mountain or Corbin Hollow Trails. Cheers!

Luc Cibischino
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarThu Jul 02 2020
Hiking
View Luc's Recording
Brett Irwin
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSat Apr 04 2020
Hiking
View Brett's Recording
Dixon O.
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSat Feb 29 2020
Hiking
View Dixon's Recording
William Dorman
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFri Jan 03 2020
Hiking
View William's Recording
Kim Pourkhomami
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSat Nov 09 2019
Hiking
View Kim's Recording
Chris O
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSat Nov 02 2019
Hiking
View Chris's Recording
Heidi Roche
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarWed Oct 23 2019
Hiking
View Heidi's Recording
Andrew Sonnet
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarThu Sep 12 2019
Hiking
View Andrew's Recording
Eric Reebel
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFri Jun 07 2019
View Eric's Recording
Jakob P.
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMon May 27 2019
Hiking
View Jakob's Recording
David Lucas
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSun Mar 25 2018
Kevin Gutierrez
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSun Jul 16 2017
Kevin Gutierrez
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFri Jul 14 2017
Hiking
View Kevin's Recording