Sky Meadows Gap Run Via North and South Ridge Loop

INTERMÉDIAIRE 57 avis
N°2 sur 15 randonnées à

Sky Meadows Gap Run Via North and South Ridge Loop is a 4.9 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near Delaplane, Virginia that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, nature trips, birding, and horses and is best used from March until November. Dogs and horses are also able to use this trail.

DISTANCE
4.9 miles
DÉNIVELÉ
1,040 pieds
TYPE D'ITINÉRAIRE
Boucle

chiens bienvenus

convient aux enfants

randonnée

randonnée à cheval

activités en pleine nature

balade

ornithologie

vue panoramique

fleurs sauvages

faune

rocheux

A very nice hike through wooded, moderately steep terrain. The paths are well maintained, and fairly heavily traveled. This is a very popular park, so you can expect to run into other hikers here, especially on the weekend. There are many trails in the area to choose from, ranging from less than a mile to a loop of about 8 miles. The park trails connect up to the Appalachian Trail, south of where it heads into Ashby Gap. This hike covers a popular loop: up the Gap Run Trail to the North Ridge Trial, then down the South Ridge Trail. Most of the trails are well shaded by tree cover, though there are a few nice scenic overlooks that are open. There are many facilities here, but the park is mainly geared towards hiking.

3 months ago

Généralement modéré avec une section difficile. Si vous voulez une montée plus progressive, allez dans le sens des aiguilles d'une montre. Mélange de forêts et de zones ouvertes. Quelques belles vues. Salles de bain et boutique de souvenirs sur le parking. Frais d'entrée de 5 $. J'y suis allé très boueux. J'ai dû utiliser un bâton de randonnée pour ne pas tomber. La plupart des pistes sont bonnes, mais quelques courtes sections sont très rocheuses. Sentiers très bien balisés et bon guide de sentier disponible. Dans l'ensemble vraiment apprécié.

3 months ago

Obtient du vent. Apportez une veste.

randonnée
6 months ago

Magnifiquement entretenu. Il en coûte 5 $ pour se garer. Je suis allé après une grosse tempête de pluie et tout s'est bien drainé. Mon application a suivi ce chemin à 10 km mais c'était très agréable et j'y retournerai sans hésiter!

9 months ago

A commencé au début du sentier à Ashby gap et a suivi AT jusqu'à Whitehouse Over pour voir la vallée de Paris. Doubles en arrière pour se diriger vers le sentier de crête sud et utilisé le vieux sentier AT pour faire demi-tour au début du sentier. AT a à la fois un couvert et des zones dégagées avec des sentiers bien entretenus. Old AT est à peu près tout à l'ombre et les sentiers moins utilisés. Vue de la vallée de Paris magnifique par temps clair. La randonnée est d'environ 6 miles en utilisant cette boucle et le sentier est généralement facile. Modérer

randonnée
10 months ago

Nous avons apprécié ce dépaysement avec quelques zones ouvertes et bien sûr de belles vues

10 months ago

Super endroit pour ceux qui aiment faire de la randonnée et nos amis de la fourrure. J'y suis allé en pensant que la randonnée serait facile, mais étant du côté des montagnes, c'était plus difficile que prévu. Belle vue sur la campagne. Il peut certainement faire chaud, alors assurez-vous d'apporter beaucoup d'eau.

randonnée
Friday, January 26, 2018

Des collines, de beaux arbres et des fleurs - une randonnée idéale pour le printemps. Soyez prudent cependant - en été il peut faire très chaud et il y a des "endroits ombragés" limités sur cette randonnée alors soyez prêt!

Sunday, May 07, 2017

A pris le point de vue du Piémont sur l’ambassadeur Whitehouse jusqu’au sentier des Appalaches menant à la crête nord / sud. Une vue magnifique et un terrain varié. Le sentier Piedmont Overlook est assez vigoureux à la montée, mais vous êtes récompensé par une superbe vue et de nombreuses options de sentier. Bien marqué et maintenu.

Sunday, February 26, 2017

Des vues absolument magnifiques. Les enfants s'en sont occupés. J'ai adoré les vues. C'était une journée magnifique et pas trop de monde.

randonnée
Tuesday, November 08, 2016

Belle randonnée avec une vue imprenable!

Sunday, October 16, 2016

Belle. J'ai hâte d'y aller au printemps

Thursday, June 09, 2016

Beau paysage, collines, champs luxuriants, bâtiments historiques et beaucoup d'animaux. J'aurais aimé avoir plus de temps à explorer. Recommande vraiment. Rappelez-vous juste de vérifier les tiques.

randonnée
Friday, May 13, 2016

Absolument incroyable! Tant de sentiers qui se croisent, choisissez vos propres pistes. Les sentiers sont très bien entretenus et balisés. Nous nous sommes bien marrés et avons bien l’intention de retourner au parc Sky Meadow State Park pour faire plus de sentiers.

randonnée
Sunday, February 21, 2016

De superbes vues sur les promenades et un terrain agréable et varié pour garder les choses intéressantes. Une bonne randonnée en famille. Nous sommes allés tout droit sur le sentier Piedmont Overlook (plutôt que sur Gap Run), puis sur North Ridge, puis sur South Ridge pour nous ramener sur le parking. Une belle randonnée de 5,25 km avec les enfants. Aller avec le sentier du Piémont plutôt que Gap Run ajoute un peu de kilométrage, mais je pense que cela vaut la peine pour la vue que vous obtenez. La prochaine fois, j'essaierais probablement à l'envers, en terminant par Piedmont Overlook. Vu deux cerfs à environ 20 pieds de nous. Beaucoup de preuves de cerf dans les prairies des hauts plateaux.

Saturday, February 20, 2016

Été plusieurs fois ici, super randonnée. Les sentiers sont généralement entretenus, mais l'été dernier a été rude. Peut-être manquaient-ils de volontaires?

randonnée
Friday, February 19, 2016

Quelle belle randonnée pour commencer la nouvelle année! De superbes vues, une variété de terrains et de nombreux sentiers parmi lesquels choisir.

randonnée
Sunday, October 25, 2015

Randonnée sur environ 5 miles sur quelques sentiers différents. Quelques belles vues et le parc est très bien entretenu. Je serai certainement de retour pour essayer d'autres pistes.

Sunday, September 20, 2015

Monté le sentier de crête sud, le long de la crête nord, puis terminé avec le sentier du piémont. Il faisait un peu chaud au soleil en montant une pente assez raide. Il y avait quelques points de rupture avec des vues incroyables. J'ai adoré toutes les options et tous les itinéraires sont très bien balisés. La vue sur le piémont était une fin parfaite pour une randonnée magnifique. Je conduisais tout le temps, alors c’était bien de pouvoir enfin s’immerger dans tous les environs.

randonnée
Friday, November 22, 2013

J'ai parcouru ce sentier plusieurs fois. Mes enfants ont également bien réussi sur les sentiers. Facile à amener votre chien. Les sentiers sont faciles pour eux. Beau paysage et beaux endroits pour pique-niquer aussi.

randonnée
Monday, May 27, 2013

Belle piste modérée avec de nombreuses options de longueur et une bonne variété de bois, de champs, de roches, d’ascensions et de décentes. Évitez les jours très chauds car de nombreuses parties du sentier sont des prairies et n’ont pas d’ombre. Il ne s’agit pas d’une simple boucle de 3,5 milles, mais d’un point de départ offrant de nombreuses options, courtes et moyennes. Nous avons fait environ 5 miles, assez peu de gens et de chiens. Facile et belle vue.

randonnée
Saturday, December 29, 2012

Nous avons commencé la journée par une tempête de neige, ce qui a rendu le jeu un peu plus amusant que par beau temps. En raison du ciel couvert, il n'y avait pas de vue, mais je pense qu'il y aurait eu des vues décentes si c'était agréable. Dans l'ensemble, je dois dire que cela fournit une solution rapide. Nous sommes allés tout droit sur le sentier de la crête nord.

randonnée
Thursday, November 15, 2012

Nous avons vraiment apprécié les sentiers à l'ouest de Sky Meadows; belles vues de sentiers principalement boisés. Les sentiers sont bien entretenus et exceptionnellement bien balisés avec une signalisation claire à chaque jonction et des incendies fréquentes. Nous avons emprunté un itinéraire légèrement différent de celui indiqué, empruntant North Ridge Trail au bureau du parc (au lieu de Gap Run puis de North Ridge) pour atteindre South Ridge Trail, que nous avons suivi pour compléter la boucle. Nous avons également fait un détour par R / T de 0,2 kilomètre de North Ridge sur le sentier Piedmont Overlook jusqu’à son point de vue. Le retour sur South Ridge passe par Snowden Ruins, avec ses fondations en pierre et ses cheminées datant du milieu du XIXe siècle. Le sentier North Ridge est plus escarpé et plus rocheux que le South Ridge, mais il est plus facile que son classement «difficile» pourrait laisser penser. Le premier tiers de North Ridge est un pâturage actif pour les vaches. Il est donc nécessaire d’accorder une attention particulière à vos étapes.

randonnée
Sunday, September 11, 2011

Il s’agit d’une excellente randonnée pour les débutants qui amène le (s) chien (s) à tester son endurance et la vôtre. Assurez-vous de prendre la fourche gauche pour faire la boucle Snowden Trail en montée afin d’obtenir une bonne section aérobique pour cette jolie piste de niveau. Vous remarquerez plusieurs sentiers optionnels au large de Boston Mill Road. Prenez donc des notes sur son fonctionnement et essayez-en un plus long lorsque vous êtes prêt. Les chiens doivent être en laisse en tout temps, conformément aux restrictions du parc. Ceci est extrêmement critique pour les chiens "chasseurs" qui vont certainement entendre, sentir et voir les cerfs partout sur ce sentier lorsque le temps le permet. Vous ne pourrez pas suivre votre chien s’il cède le pas à sa poursuite. Pour les chiens bien entraînés, c'est un sentier parfait pour les divertir avec des rochers, des ponts et des collines.

15 hours ago

2 months ago

Charger plus

Sky Meadows Gap Run Via North and South Ridge Loop

MODERATE 52 reviews
#2 of 13 trails in

Sky Meadows Gap Run Via North and South Ridge Loop is a 4.9 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near Delaplane, Virginia that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, nature trips, birding, and horses and is best used from March until November. Dogs and horses are also able to use this trail.

DISTANCE
4.9 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
1040 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

dog friendly

kid friendly

birding

hiking

horseback riding

nature trips

walking

views

wild flowers

wildlife

rocky

A very nice hike through wooded, moderately steep terrain. The paths are well maintained, and fairly heavily traveled. This is a very popular park, so you can expect to run into other hikers here, especially on the weekend. There are many trails in the area to choose from, ranging from less than a mile to a loop of about 8 miles. The park trails connect up to the Appalachian Trail, south of where it heads into Ashby Gap. This hike covers a popular loop: up the Gap Run Trail to the North Ridge Trial, then down the South Ridge Trail. Most of the trails are well shaded by tree cover, though there are a few nice scenic overlooks that are open. There are many facilities here, but the park is mainly geared towards hiking.

hiking
3 days ago

Enjoyed this change of scenery with some open areas and of course good views.

28 days ago

Great place to for those who love to hike and our fur friends. Went there thinking it was going to be an easy hike but being on the side of the mountains, it was harder than expected. Beautiful views of the country side. It can definitely get hot, so be sure to bring plenty of water.

hiking
3 months ago

Rolling hills, beautiful trees and flowers - perfect hike for the spring. Be cautious however - in the summer it can get very hot and there are limited "shady spots" on this hike so be prepared!

Sunday, May 07, 2017

Took Piedmont Overlook to Ambassador Whitehouse to Appalachian Trail to North/South Ridge. Great views and varied terrain. Piedmont Overlook trail is pretty vigorous on the way up but you're rewarded with a great vista and lots of trail options. Well marked and maintained.

Sunday, February 26, 2017

Absolutely gorgeous views. Kids handled it.
Loved the views. It was a gorgeous day and not
Too crowded.

hiking
Tuesday, November 08, 2016

Beautiful hike with amazing views!

Sunday, October 16, 2016

Beautiful. Can't wait to go in the spring

Thursday, June 09, 2016

Beautiful scenery, rolling hills, lush fields, historical buildings, and lots of wildlife. I wish I'd had more time to explore. Definitely recommend. Just remember to check for ticks.

hiking
Friday, May 13, 2016

Absolutely amazing! So many trails that intersect, choose your own tracks. Trails are very well maintained and marked. We had a blast and definitely intend on going back to Sky Meadow State Park to do more trails.

hiking
Sunday, February 21, 2016

Great views at the overlooks and a nice, varied terrain to keep things interesting. A good family hike. We went straight up the Piedmont Overlook Trail (rather than Gap Run), and then to North Ridge, followed by South Ridge to bring us back to the parking lot. A nice 5.25 mi hike with the kids. Going with the Piedmont Trail rather than Gap Run adds a little bit of mileage, but I think it's worth it for the views you get. Next time, I would probably try it in reverse, ending with Piedmont Overlook. Saw two deer within roughly 20 feet of us. Lots of evidence of deer throughout the highland meadows.

Saturday, February 20, 2016

Been here many times, great hike. Trails are usually maintained however the past summer was rough. Maybe they were short on volunteers?

hiking
Friday, February 19, 2016

What a great hike to kick off the new year! Great views, a variety of terrain, and a lot of different trails to choose from.

hiking
Sunday, October 25, 2015

Hiked for about 5 miles on a few different trails. Some nice views and the park is very well maintained. I'll definitely be back to try other trails.

Sunday, September 20, 2015

Went up the south ridge trail, down the north ridge, and then finished with the piedmont overlook trail. It was a little hot in the sun going up a fairly steep incline. There were a couple of break points with incredible views though. Loved all the options, and all routes are very well marked. The piedmont overlook was a perfect end to a wonderful hike. I drive through all the time, so it was nice to finally soak in all the surroundings.

hiking
Friday, November 22, 2013

I've hiked this trail several times. My kids have done well on the trails as well. Easy to bring your dog. The trails are easy for them. Beautiful scenery and nice areas to picnic as well.

hiking
Monday, May 27, 2013

Nice moderate trail with many options for length and good variety of woods, field, rock, ascent and decent. Avoid on a very hot day as many parts of the trail are grassland and have no shade. This is not one single 3.5 mile loop but a trailhead with many options, short and medium length. We did about 5 miles, quite a few people and dogs. Easy and nice views.

hiking
Saturday, December 29, 2012

Started the day in a snow storm which made this a bit more fun then I think it would be in nice weather. Due to overcast there were no views but I think there would have been some decent views if it were nice, Over all I have to say it does provide a quick work out. We went straight up the North ridge trail.

hiking
Thursday, November 15, 2012

We really enjoyed the westside trails at Sky Meadows; beautiful views from mostly forested trails. The trails are nicely maintained and exceptionally well marked with clear signage at each junction and frequent blazes. We took a slightly different route than that listed, taking North Ridge Trail from the park office area (instead of Gap Run and then North Ridge) to reach South Ridge Trail, which we followed down to complete the loop. We also made a 0.2 mile R/T side trip from North Ridge up the Piedmont Overlook Trail to its viewpoint. The return on South Ridge passes Snowden Ruins, with its stone foundations and chimneys from the mid-1800s. The North Ridge Trail is steeper and rockier than South Ridge, but is easier than its "Difficult" rating might lead one to think. The first third of North Ridge is an active cow pasture, so some attention to where you step is needed.

hiking
Sunday, September 11, 2011

This is a great beginner hike to bring the dog(s) along to test their stamina and yours. Make sure to take the left fork to make the Snowden Trail loop uphill so you get a good aerobic section for this otherwise pretty level trail. You'll notice several optional trails off the main Boston Mill Road so take notes about how this trail works for you and try one of the other longer ones when you're ready. Dogs should be on leashes at all times per the park restrictions. This is extremely critical for those "chaser" dogs that will definitely hear, smell and see deer all over this trail when the weather is right. You will not be able to track your dog if they give way to chase. For well trained dogs, this is a perfect trail to keep them entertained with rocks, bridges and hills.

hiking
15 days ago

trail running
2 months ago

hiking
3 months ago

hiking
3 months ago

hiking
3 months ago

4 months ago

Load More