Spring Sale! Get a year of AllTrails Pro for only $14.99
Get Started

Boucle du refuge faunique Occoquan Bay

FACILE 18 avis

Occoquan Bay Wildlife Refuge Loop est un sentier en boucle de 3 km situé près de Woodbridge, en Virginie, et convient à tous les niveaux d’habileté. Le sentier est principalement utilisé pour la randonnée et est accessible toute l'année.

DISTANCE
2.9 miles
DÉNIVELÉ
49 pieds
TYPE D'ITINÉRAIRE
Boucle

convient aux enfants

randonnée

chiens interdits

Occoquan Bay, secteur des marais, observation des oiseaux Le réseau de sentiers consiste en une série de routes en gravier inspirées des anciennes routes de patrouille qui existaient à l'époque où la région était un centre de recherche militaire. La plupart sont compactes et nivelées mais les portions ne sont pas facilement transportées par des poussettes ou des fauteuils roulants. Les animaux domestiques sont interdits dans le refuge. Cette zone est principalement utilisée par les observateurs d'oiseaux et constitue un répit paisible par rapport à la région peuplée. Le centre est actuellement ouvert uniquement de jeudi à dimanche. Appelez à l'avance pour les changements d'heure.

randonnée
1 month ago

La plupart des sentiers ont été fermés, à l'exception d'une courte escapade de 1 km.

balade
3 months ago

Beau parc avec une quantité inacceptable de détritus lavés le long de la côte. Des centaines de bouteilles en plastique, de vieilles chaussures, de la mousse de polystyrène, etc. Pas un joli site pour les amoureux de la nature.

randonnée
5 months ago

Beaux sentiers bien entretenus. Vu deux tortues et un troupeau de dindes. Très calme. Certains sentiers n'étaient pas ouverts, donc je ne pouvais pas tout voir. Je suggérerais que l'automne / hiver soit le meilleur moment pour éviter les insectes

randonnée
7 months ago

Randonnée fin février. Beau sentier assez large pour qu'une voiture puisse traverser un marais ou une zone boisée. La grande partie de ce sentier est composée de tous les types d'oiseaux à voir sur le sentier ... balbuzards, faucons, vautours, pygargues à tête blanche, grues, canards, etc. Un sentier suit le rivage de la rivière Potomac. , qui est si large à ce stade qu’il ressemble à un lac (la seule partie décevante à détourner de la belle vue sur la rivière est la quantité de déchets qui ont été lavés sur le rivage). Dans l’ensemble, promenade paisible et facile lors d’une journée tempérée de fin d’hiver ...

8 months ago

Terribles tiques et mouches en été, peu d'ombre et quantité de débris sur le sentier près du rivage Cela peut être mieux pendant les mois les plus froids, ou pour les ornithologues amateurs, mais pas pour moi!

randonnée
Thursday, November 30, 2017

Randonnée très facile et de niveau avec 100% sur des routes non pavées. J'ai légèrement modifié l'itinéraire. Du parking, j'ai pris Fox Rd pour Deephole Rd, puis Charlie Rd, pour me garer. Beaucoup d'animaux sauvages. Grande longue promenade le long du rivage de la baie.

randonnée
Sunday, February 26, 2017

Sentier de niveau facile avec beaucoup d'oiseaux à voir d'un bout à l'autre. En janvier 2017, il a parcouru ce sentier par un jour légèrement brumeux, mais il a quand même été capable de voir beaucoup d'oiseaux aquatiques. Les larges sentiers sont tous bien balisés avec des informations et du matériel éducatif sur le parking. Promenade paisible.

randonnée
Saturday, June 25, 2016

Grands sentiers le long de l'eau, mais c'était très buggy! Sérieusement dû garder la bouche touchée parce que les mouches, les libellules et les Nats nous bombardaient pendant toute la promenade. À la fin, nous nous sommes arrêtés pour nous étirer dans un loquet herbeux ombragé et avons trouvé 2 tiques en moi! Juste être préparé avec un insectifuge!

balade
Thursday, January 22, 2015

Vraiment sympa, promenade facile. Idéal pour les enfants. Beaucoup d’espace pour marcher avec des groupes, marchant le long de l’eau pour une grande partie. Poussette tout-terrain conviviale.

randonnée
1 month ago

8 months ago

randonnée
Sunday, March 18, 2018

randonnée
Saturday, January 20, 2018

randonnée
Saturday, January 20, 2018

randonnée
Thursday, December 28, 2017

Tuesday, July 04, 2017

ornithologie
Tuesday, June 06, 2017

randonnée
Tuesday, February 28, 2017

Occoquan Bay Wildlife Refuge Loop is a 2.1 mile lightly trafficked loop trail located near Woodbridge, Virginia that features a lake and is good for all skill levels. The trail is primarily used for hiking and walking and is accessible year-round.

Distance: 2.1 miles Elevation Gain: 29 feet Route Type: Loop

kid friendly

hiking

walking

forest

lake

river

views

wild flowers

wildlife

muddy

no dogs

NOTE: Areas of this refuge will occasionally be closed for nesting bald eagles. Please call ahead for more information. The trail system consists of a series of gravel roads based on the old patrol routes from when the area was a military research facility. Most are compacted and level but portions are not easily traveled by strollers or wheelchairs. Pets are prohibited in the refuge. This area is primarily used by bird watchers, and is a quiet respite from the crowed local area. The facility is currently only open Thur-Sun.

hiking
5 months ago

A very disappointing hike. Mostly muddy roads vice trails. Limited and dull scenery and most trails along the river were closed so we ended up going from the trailhead to the river, turning around and repeating twice without much walk along the river. On the positive side a very easy walk - flat and well marked except for all the closed sections.

hiking
8 months ago

first time here. paths are maintained with some closed. by the water the path was flooded and we had to turn back. we will return to wall all the paths soon!

hiking
Sun May 19 2019

Parts are closed because of nesting bald eagles. The water section isn't maintained and has a bunch of debris from the water, but its walkable. Overall not too bad.

hiking
Thu Mar 28 2019

I've Been on this Trail before and I still love it I don't much life like I did the very first time but I found different unmarked trail.

walking
Mon Nov 26 2018

Beautiful park with an unacceptable amount of trash washed along the entire shore. Literally hundreds of plastic bottles, old shoes, styrofoam etc. Not a pretty site for nature lovers.

hiking
Tue Oct 09 2018

Beautiful well-maintained trails. Saw two turtles and a flock of turkeys. Very quiet. Some trails were not open so could not see the whole thing. I would suggest fall/winter being the best time to go to avoid bugs

hiking
Mon Aug 13 2018

Hiked in late February. Nice trail wide enough for a car to drive on thru a marsh/wooded area. The great part of this trail is all the different kind of birds to see on the trail...osprey, hawks, vultures, bald eagles, cranes, ducks, etc. A half mile of the trail is following the shore of the Potomac River, which is so wide at this point it looks like a lake (only disappointing part to distract from the nice river view is the amount of trash that's washed on the shoreline). Overall, a peaceful, easy walk on a temperate, late winter day...

Fri Jul 06 2018

Terrible ticks & flies in the summer, not much shade, and awful amount of debris on trail near the shoreline. This may be better in the cooler months, or for birders, but not for me!

hiking
Thu Nov 30 2017

Very easy and level hike with 100% on unpaved roads. I modified the route slightly. From the parking area I took Fox Rd to Deephole Rd to Charlie Rd back to parking. Lots of wildlife. Great long walk along shore of bay.

hiking
Sun Feb 26 2017

Easy level trail with lots of birds to see from one end to the other. Walked this trail in January 2017 on a slightly foggy day but was still able to see plenty of water fowl. Wide trails all marked well with information and educational materials at the parking area. Peaceful walk.

hiking
Sat Jun 25 2016

Great trails along the water, but it was very buggy! Seriously had to keep mouths hit cuz the flies, dragonflies & Nats were dive bombing us in the whole walk. At the end we stopped to stretch in a shady grassy latch and found 2 ticks in me! Just be prepared with bug repellant!

walking
Thu Jan 22 2015

Really nice, easy walk. Great for kids. Lots of space to walk with groups, walking along the water for a large part of it. Off-road stroller friendly.

hiking
10 days ago

mountain biking
13 days ago

hiking
22 days ago

hiking
4 months ago

hiking
5 months ago

hiking
9 months ago

hiking
11 months ago

Showing results 1 - 30 of 45