Loft Mountain Loop via Appalachian Trail

EASY 26 reviews
#29 of 138 trails in

Loft Mountain Loop via Appalachian Trail is a 1.8 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near Grottoes, Virginia that features beautiful wild flowers and is good for all skill levels. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, nature trips, and birding and is best used from April until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

1.8 miles
488 feet

dogs on leash

kid friendly



nature trips




wild flowers



4 months ago

Very easy short trail for a senior. Great views without a killer climb. Although the climb is only 443 feet you are up at a elevation of 3,296 feet. There is a short paved road to trail-head. Part of the trail is the AT ( Appalachian Trail and is well marked. You can make it longer if you go over to the campground.

5 months ago

Short trail but pretty good.

10 months ago

My kids really enjoyed this hike and the views at the top.

Saturday, November 12, 2016

The NP identifies this trail as the Frazier Discovery Trail. It also known as the Deadening Nature Trail, named after the historic practice of "deadening" or girdling trees to allow more sunlight to reach the ground for the cultivation of crops and pastureland. The trail is moderately strenuous and leads to a phenomenal view of the Big Run watershed from the rock outcropping at the top of Loft Mountain. Blue blazes mark the trail. Parking for the trailhead is at the Loft Mountain Wayside, MP 89.5. No restrooms, unless they are inside the Wayside, which was closed when we visited.

Monday, May 30, 2016

Pretty easy hike with great views and overlooks. Had a little difficulty finding the trailhead due to lack of cell service and an inability pull up the exact directions on my phone (my fault). Write'em down before you go!

Sunday, May 29, 2016

Good campsite access if you're nearby. Awesome views.

Monday, October 19, 2015

Started right behind our campsite. Nice little hike and beautiful in the fall.

Saturday, October 17, 2015

Very nice section of AT and so convenient to CG. Lucky enough to get a "ring side seat" of a campsite on A loop. Saw 3 beautiful sunsets on ledge just moments away from campsite.

Friday, September 11, 2015

I love this place. My favorite spot on this planet! The views are amazing! The Appalachian Trail loops around the campground for a great day hike. I highly recommend Loft Mountain Campground for a fun and memorable outdoor experience!

Saturday, August 29, 2015

Fairly easy trail with beautiful views. A great over look was a 5 minute walk on this trail from my campsite at loft mountain campground and its was easy to get to for a beautiful sunset.

Saturday, May 23, 2015

Awesome trail. Did it with a 7 year old boy and 3 year old girl. They did great. Amazing views and great rock outcroppings to play on.

7 months ago

8 months ago

recorded loft

8 months ago

Sunday, October 23, 2016

Saturday, October 15, 2016

Tuesday, October 04, 2016

Sunday, May 15, 2016

Saturday, May 14, 2016

Thursday, April 14, 2016

Thursday, March 31, 2016

Saturday, September 26, 2015

Sunday, August 31, 2014

Monday, April 07, 2014