Loft Mountain Loop Trail

EASY 19 reviews
#25 of 115 trails in

Loft Mountain Loop Trail is a 1.8 mile loop trail located near Grottoes, Virginia that features beautiful wild flowers and is good for all skill levels. The trail is primarily used for hiking and walking and is best used from April until October.

DISTANCE
1.8 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
538 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

kid friendly

hiking

walking

forest

views

wild flowers

rocky

hiking
1 month ago

My kids really enjoyed this hike and the views at the top.

hiking
7 months ago

The NP identifies this trail as the Frazier Discovery Trail. It also known as the Deadening Nature Trail, named after the historic practice of "deadening" or girdling trees to allow more sunlight to reach the ground for the cultivation of crops and pastureland. The trail is moderately strenuous and leads to a phenomenal view of the Big Run watershed from the rock outcropping at the top of Loft Mountain. Blue blazes mark the trail. Parking for the trailhead is at the Loft Mountain Wayside, MP 89.5. No restrooms, unless they are inside the Wayside, which was closed when we visited.

hiking
7 months ago

8 months ago

8 months ago

Monday, May 30, 2016

Pretty easy hike with great views and overlooks. Had a little difficulty finding the trailhead due to lack of cell service and an inability pull up the exact directions on my phone (my fault). Write'em down before you go!

hiking
Sunday, May 29, 2016

Good campsite access if you're nearby. Awesome views.

Sunday, May 15, 2016

Saturday, May 14, 2016

hiking
Thursday, April 14, 2016

hiking
Thursday, March 31, 2016

camping
Monday, October 19, 2015

Started right behind our campsite. Nice little hike and beautiful in the fall.

Saturday, October 17, 2015

Very nice section of AT and so convenient to CG. Lucky enough to get a "ring side seat" of a campsite on A loop. Saw 3 beautiful sunsets on ledge just moments away from campsite.

Saturday, September 26, 2015

camping
Friday, September 11, 2015

I love this place. My favorite spot on this planet! The views are amazing! The Appalachian Trail loops around the campground for a great day hike. I highly recommend Loft Mountain Campground for a fun and memorable outdoor experience!

camping
Saturday, August 29, 2015

Fairly easy trail with beautiful views. A great over look was a 5 minute walk on this trail from my campsite at loft mountain campground and its was easy to get to for a beautiful sunset.

hiking
Saturday, May 23, 2015

Awesome trail. Did it with a 7 year old boy and 3 year old girl. They did great. Amazing views and great rock outcroppings to play on.

hiking
Sunday, August 31, 2014

Monday, April 07, 2014