Jack O Lantern Branch Trail

EASY 20 reviews

Jack O Lantern Branch Trail is a 2.1 mile lightly trafficked loop trail located near Hardy, Virginia that features a river and is good for all skill levels. The trail offers a number of activity options and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
2.1 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
213 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

dogs on leash

kid friendly

birding

hiking

nature trips

trail running

walking

forest

river

views

wild flowers

wildlife

blowdown

old growth

This is a well maintained loop trail with some slight elevation changes. This is a historic area. The brook side trail is shady, and complete the loop 3 times to get a healthy parks t-shirt Great shady woodland trail with some elevation changes. Brook side most of the trail and very nice park facility at the ranger station with bathrooms.

hiking
3 months ago

very nice hike and lots of history

11 months ago

It's a fun loop - it has a few uphill moments but nothing super strenuous. It's mostly shaded. The distance is actually a mile and a half from the visitors center. It has some pet clean up stations and little benches along the way.

walking
11 months ago

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

Very nice walk.

hiking
Friday, June 16, 2017

Nice little walk through nature. I walk here several times a year since I live so close. Nice place to walk your dog as well.

Sunday, February 26, 2017

easy hike loved the peace and quiet and very educational

hiking
Saturday, November 19, 2016

A pleasant two mile loop through the woods that follows a brook for about half its length. There are very nice facilities, as it is part of the Booker T. Washington National Monument. Be sure to spend some time exploring the historic cabins and buildings of his birthplace.

hiking
Tuesday, November 08, 2016

I enjoyed it. It was a cool day; perfect for a walk in the woods.

hiking
Tuesday, November 08, 2016

Easy trail but nothing exciting about it.

Wednesday, June 22, 2016

nice covered trail. great for dogs

hiking
3 months ago

recorded 2nd

hiking
11 months ago

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

Saturday, July 08, 2017

Saturday, July 08, 2017

hiking
Tuesday, July 04, 2017

Thursday, June 08, 2017

walking
Sunday, March 26, 2017

hiking
Thursday, November 17, 2016

walking
Wednesday, July 27, 2016