Vente du Cyber Monday! Obtenez un an d'AllTrails Pro pour seulement $14.99
Commencez par le début

Fortune's Cove Via Yellow Trail

DIFFICILE 36 avis

Fortune's Cove Via Yellow Trail est un sentier en boucle de 5.4 miles peu fréquenté situé près de Lovingston, Virginie. Le sentier offre des vues panoramiques et sa difficulté est évaluée comme difficile. Le sentier est principalement utilisé pour la randonnée et la course à pied.

Distance: 5.4 miles Dénivelé: 1,620 feet Type d'itinéraire: Boucle

randonnée

course à pied

vue panoramique

arbres tombés

chiens interdits

randonnée
6 days ago

J'ai fait cette randonnée en septembre, mais pour une raison quelconque, je n'ai pas enregistré. Cela a été l'un de mes favoris depuis longtemps. Cela ressemble à deux randonnées. La première devient assez raide, mais vous pouvez obtenir de superbes vues. Profitez de cette partie. Comme tout le monde le dit. Le sommet est un peu déprimant. Et la deuxième moitié en descendant est également raide, mais pas de vues de type vista. Mais c'est quand même une bonne randonnée.

randonnée
arbres tombés
gravir
rocheux
24 days ago

Le début de ce sentier est raide, mais se stabilisera avec une pente occasionnelle. Lorsque vous arrivez à la fourche et continuez à gravir la montagne, vous obtenez STEEP. Vous aurez beaucoup de belles vues sur le chemin de la montagne. Cependant, vous serez déçu de la vue depuis le sommet. Rien qu’une tour de téléphonie cellulaire et une clôture et c’est à peu près tout. Prenez votre temps en descendant la montagne car elle est TRES TRES STEEP. Assurez-vous de prendre beaucoup de pauses et de boire beaucoup d'eau et vous devriez être bon.

randonnée
2 months ago

C'est une randonnée assez difficile. L'altitude est importante et si le temps est chaud, vous aurez besoin de beaucoup d'eau. Grand sentier. Je vois d'autres critiques suggérant qu'il n'a pas été bien gardé. C'était la semaine dernière alors quelqu'un s'est occupé de cette question.

randonnée
couvert de végétation
3 months ago

Ce serait normalement une belle et difficile randonnée que je ferais encore et encore, mais elle était TELLEMENT envahie par la végétation dans de nombreuses régions que nous devions endurer de broussailles avec nos corps, ce à quoi nous n’avions pas été préparés. Portez également des PANTALONS et des manches longues si vous êtes sensible aux plantes irritantes. Les jambes et les bras de mon partenaire sont recouverts d'une éruption cutanée qui ressemble à une piqûre de moustique en grappes. Ce n’est pas l’herbe à puce ni le chêne à poison, c’est ce qui me semble le plus basé sur des recherches en ligne. J’ai fait Pokeweed / Pokesalad parce que nous nous souvenons vraiment d’avoir traversé ces plantes sur le sentier et vu les «baies bleues». Il y avait aussi 3 arbres abattus que nous devions manœuvrer, rien de trop difficile mais qui a été éraflé à cause du manque de manches longues et de pantalons. Si le sentier était dégagé, j'aurais donné à cette randonnée 4 étoiles. La tour de téléphonie cellulaire au sommet était bizarre, mais il y avait de très belles vues sur le chemin que j'ai apprécié.

randonnée
3 months ago

Très épais. Mes jambes sont grattées. Voir au sommet - tours de téléphonie cellulaire .... vraiment n'a pas apprécié celui-ci.

randonnée
6 months ago

Très joli sentier mais la vue du sommet était décevante. Certaines zones étaient trop développées. Grand exercice et élévation et distance précises.

a enregistré Recording - Mar 18, 03:37 PM

randonnée
8 months ago

TNC fait un excellent travail en maintenant ce sentier. Des dizaines d’énormes arbres avaient été abattus au cours des tempêtes de l’hiver. Tous ont été effacés.

randonnée
9 months ago

Très belle course de C-Ville. Sentier très bien flambé. Un grand merci à l'équipe de piste. Ils ont fait un excellent travail en nettoyant les nombreux arbres abattus. Départ raide mais il en vaut la peine une fois sur la crête et agréable en descendant la crique

randonnée
10 months ago

Dur mais agréable. Une grande partie doit être soignée après les arbres tombés. Noté @ 3,5 h avant JC avec difficulté, mais @ clip rapide @ 2,5 h.

10 months ago

Vraiment apprécié le défi de l'ascension et les nombreuses vues sur la vallée environnante et les montagnes lointaines. Mais les nombreux arbres abattus, avec quelques détours précaires, déclenchent une alerte pour le sentier supérieur en ce moment. Nous avons vu deux travailleurs du Conservatoire de la nature avec des scies à chaîne, mais la quantité de bois à déplacer est assez lourde.

randonnée
10 months ago

C'est un beau sentier de randonnée de 3 à 4 heures avec des vues correctes, mais criblé d'arbres abattus et ayant besoin d'entretien. Ce site ne contient pas de chiens, nous avons donc laissé les nôtres à la maison, mais cela ne semble pas être strictement appliqué, car tous les randonneurs que nous avons vus avaient leur chien avec eux.

Sun Oct 28 2018

Sentier impressionnant avec des terrains variés et des montées difficiles. De beaux panoramas sur le sentier jaune valent vraiment la peine! Les lauriers du printemps sont excellents et le feuillage d'automne est magnifique.

randonnée
Tue Aug 21 2018

Grande randonnée rigoureuse, demandait un effort mais rien de grave. Le sentier offrait de très beaux panoramas. Le sentier est très haut, haut en bas, heureusement, 95% du sentier est doux. La randonnée a-t-elle eu lieu aujourd'hui à la mi-août et il y avait une quantité insensée d'herbe à puce sur toute la piste ... portant un pantalon. Nous avons terminé la randonnée en un peu moins de 3,5 heures avec deux pauses rapides.

randonnée
Sun Jul 22 2018

Grand sentier. Rigoureux. Semblable à bien des égards à la boucle Henry Lanham, qui n’est pas très loin. Seuls les rochers valent le détour. Deux spots rivalisent avec Chimney Rocks sur 3 Ridges pour la beauté.

randonnée
Sun Mar 25 2018

C'était un sentier assez difficile. C'est fondamentalement en haut, en haut, puis en bas, en bas, en bas. Il n’y avait pas d’étendue d’appartement, à l’exception d’une selle d’environ 1/8 de mile entre les 2 sommets les plus septentrionaux. Je recommanderais le sens inverse des aiguilles d'une montre, car le côté est de la boucle est une pente raide que je préfère monter que descendre. La boucle m'a pris 3,75 heures avec quelques arrêts de collations. Le sentier est généralement doux avec quelques tronçons rocheux. Les vues sont bonnes. Je ne voudrais pas faire le petit éperon pour les tours de téléphonie cellulaire, c'est un détour de 3 minutes qui ruine ce genre d'expérience de "sortie dans la nature", 2 tours de cellules géantes avec une route de gravier et la vue n'en vaut pas la peine. Il y a une belle vue au sud, juste à l'ouest du point le plus au nord du sentier. Bon endroit pour déjeuner avec des roches ouvertes face au sud. Je suis allé un dimanche matin frais (37 degrés) et je n'ai pas vu une autre personne sur tout le sentier. Je le ferais à nouveau.

Mon Oct 02 2017

Grande randonnée par une belle journée! Apprécié la route dans le sens anti-horaire de la piste jaune. Méfiez-vous des vestes jaunes à environ 1 km du côté supérieur du sentier. Doit visiter Mountain Cove Winery après votre randonnée; Des gens sympas, endroit cool.

randonnée
Mon Sep 11 2017

Carte Mon trajet a mesuré la boucle jaune que nous avons parcourue à 5,82 milles avec un gain d'altitude de 1572 '. Nous avons fait l'impulsion à la négligence, mais ce n'est pas si loin. Randonnée la boucle dans le sens anti-horaire et il n'y a absolument aucun ruisseau ou accès à l'eau jusqu'à environ le dernier kilomètre, lorsque vous traversez 2 ruisseaux près du fond. Les criques étaient à très faible débit à cette époque de l’année, mais il était tout à fait possible d’obtenir un peu d’eau. Il nous a fallu environ 4 heures et 15 minutes pour parcourir cette boucle jaune et nous nous sommes arrêtés au moins 15 minutes pour le déjeuner. Les randonneurs que nous avons croisés ont parcouru le sentier dans le sens des aiguilles d'une montre et se sont retrouvés plus de 6 heures auparavant. Pas d'eau ni de toilettes au début du sentier. Beau sentier et vues. Il y avait beaucoup de sous croissance sur la crête faisant face à l'est avec beaucoup d'herbe à puce. Je le referais. Seulement 6 autres randonneurs ont été vus par un beau samedi de septembre.

randonnée
Fri Sep 01 2017

Bien marqué, quelques points de vue, jolie randonnée, et ne sont passés que quelques autres personnes en fin d'été samedi après-midi. Cependant, j'ai été piqué par des frelons, ce qui était vraiment regrettable. Cela ressemble à des sentiers moins entretenus qu'ils pourraient l'être.

randonnée
Thu Jun 15 2017

super randonnée difficile. Le sentier est bien balisé et surtout bien entretenu.

a enregistré Fortune's Cove

randonnée
1 month ago

randonnée
2 months ago

randonnée
5 months ago

randonnée
8 months ago

randonnée
9 months ago

randonnée
11 months ago

a enregistré fortune's cove

randonnée
Sun Oct 28 2018

randonnée
Sat Jun 30 2018

Sun May 06 2018

Charger plus

Fortune's Cove Via Yellow Trail

hardYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray Star(68)
Lovingston, Virginia

Fortune's Cove Via Yellow Trail is a 8.7 kilometer lightly trafficked loop trail located near Lovingston, Virginia that offers scenic views and is rated as difficult. The trail is primarily used for hiking and trail running.

Distance: 8.7 km Elevation Gain: 494 m Route Type: Loop

hiking

running

views

blowdown

no dogs

17 hours ago

Had one way rules for hikers. Not sure if it is like this normally or if it is like this due to COVID19. It definitely limited contact and added to the solitude. Views are mostly blocked due to spring foliage so I would recommend doing this hike in the winter where the views would be much better.

hiking
27 days ago

This was a wonderful steep hike. We went counter clockwise and the best scenes occurred before getting to the top. The vistas allowed views of the valleys and mountains extending 50 miles or more. Numerous wildflowers lined that part of the trail. The view at the cell towers was disappointing at best. The sharp descent was assisted with steps. It followed or crossed several small mountains streams before leveling out and returning to the parking lot.

hiking
29 days ago

Nice trail! Not that steep and beautiful scenery

hiking
1 month ago

What a hidden gem! Amazing views and a pretty good work out

hiking
rocky
1 month ago

AKA : JELLO LEGS For anyone looking for a great climb and a challenge, come to Fortunes Cove! If you take the trail going up right before the private property/vineyard the trail is a steady incline and really gets your calf and hamstrings poppin’ If you’re a beginner like me, its definitely doable but make sure you take more time on the way down. You will still have to use your legs after they’re made to jello! Womp womp. :( There is not a spectacular view at the tip top so if you’re looking for a challenge AND a view, look elsewhere. Great for sweating and making your legs sore for 2days

Hidden gem!

hiking
2 months ago

If you’re looking for a true backwoods hike, this one is for you. I completed it yesterday, 3/8/2020, and loved it. I can’t give it 5 stars simply because the view at the summit is lacking. Aside from that, the trail is true to form. The rating of this being a hard trail is 100% accurate. Some areas are steep and you get a good increase in heart rate. Some areas are level and you get to enjoy the beauty of being in the woods. But, after 5 miles, your legs will talk to you. Lol

hiking
6 months ago

I did this hike In September, but for some reason didn’t record. This has been one of my favorites in a long time. It seems like two hikes. The first gets fairly steep but you can get some great views. Enjoy this part. As everyone says. The top is a bit of a downer. And the second half going down is also steep, but no vista type views. But it’s still a great hike.

hiking
blowdown
rocky
scramble
6 months ago

Beginning part of this trail is steep but will level off with a occasional incline. Once you get to the fork and continue to head up the mountain it gets STEEP. You will have a lot of great views on the way up the mountain. However you will be disappointed with the view from the top. Nothing but a cell phone tower and a fence and that is about it. Take your time going down the mountain because it is VERY STEEP. Be sure to take plenty of of breaks and drink lots of water and you should be good.

hiking
8 months ago

This is a pretty difficult hike. Elevation is significant and if the weather is warm you will need lots of water. Great trail. I see other reviews suggesting it wasn’t well kept. It was last week so somebody took care of that issue.

hiking
over grown
9 months ago

This would normally be a beautiful, challenging hike that I would do over and over again, but it was SO overgrown in many areas we had to bushwhack with our bodies essentially, which we were not prepared for. Also, wear PANTS and long sleeves if you are sensitive to irritating plants. My partner's legs and arms are covered in a rash that looks like clustered mosquito bites. Not poison ivy or poison oak, my best guess based on online research I did Pokeweed/Pokesalad because we definitely remember walking through those plants on the trail and seeing the "blue berries". There were also 3 downed trees that we had to maneuver around, nothing too difficult but got scraped up due to lack of long sleeves and pants. If trail was cleared, I would have given this hike 4 stars. Cell phone tower at top was bizarre, but there were very beautiful views on the way up I enjoyed.

hiking
9 months ago

Very thick. My legs are scraped up BAD. View at top - cell phone towers.... really did not enjoy this one.

hiking
Fri May 31 2019

Very pretty trail but the view from the top was disappointing. Some areas were over grown. Great exercise and accurate elevation and distance.

recorded Recording - Mar 18, 03:37 PM

hiking
Mon Mar 18 2019

TNC is doing a great job maintaining this trail. Dozens of huge trees had blown down during past winter storms. All have been cleared.

hiking
Sun Feb 10 2019

Very nice run from C-Ville. Trail very well blazed. Many thanks to the trail crew. They did a great job clearing the many downed trees. Steep start but worth the effort once on the ridge and nice on the way down by the creek.

hiking
Sun Feb 03 2019

Hard but enjoyable. Much of it needs to be manicured after fallen trees. Rated @ 3.5 hr bc of difficulty but did @ fast clip @ 2.5 hr.

Tue Jan 08 2019

Really enjoyed the challenge of the ascent and the many views of the surrounding valley and distant mountains. But the many downed trees, with some precarious detours prompt a caution alert for the upper trail at this time. We saw two workers from the Nature Conservatory with chain saws, but the amount of wood to move is pretty overwhelming.

hiking
Sun Jan 06 2019

It’s a nice 3-4 hour hiking trail with decent views though riddled with downed trees and in need of maintenance. This site says no dogs so we left ours at home however it doesn’t seem to be strictly enforced as every other hiker we saw had their dog with them.

Sun Oct 28 2018

Awesome trail with varying terrain and some challenging climbs. Beautiful vistas on the yellow trail are definitely worth the effort! Springtime laurels are great and fall foliage is wonderful.

hiking
Tue Aug 21 2018

Great rigorous hike, took some effort but nothing too bad. The trail offered some very beautiful vistas. The trail is very up, up, up then down, fortunately 95% of the trail is soft. Did the hike today in mid August and there was an insane amount of poison ivy along the entire trail...wear pants. we completed the hike in just under 3.5 hours with two quick snack breaks.

hiking
Sun Jul 22 2018

Great trail. Rigorous. Similar in many ways to the Henry Lanham loop, which isn't far away. Rocks alone are worth the trip. A couple of spots rival Chimney Rocks on 3 Ridges for beauty.

hiking
Sun Mar 25 2018

This was a fairly challenging trail. It's basically up, up, up, and then down, down, down. There were no stretches of flat, except for about a 1/8 mile saddle between the 2 northern most peaks. I would recommend the counterclockwise route, as the east side of the loop is a steep slope that I would rather ascend than descend. The loop took me 3.75 hours with a couple of snack stops. The trail is mostly soft with a few rocky stretches. The views are good. I would NOT do the little spur to the cell towers, It's a 3 minute detour that kind of ruins the "out in nature" experience, 2 giant cell towers with a gravel road, and the view isn't worth it. There is a great view to the south just to the west of the northern most point of the trail. Good lunch spot with open rocks facing south. Went on a chilly Sunday morning (37 degrees) and did not see another person on the entire trail. I would do it again.

Mon Oct 02 2017

Great hike on a beautiful day! Enjoyed the counter clockwise route of the yellow trail. Watch out for those yellow jackets about 1mi in on the upper side of trail. Must visit Mountain Cove Winery after your hike; nice people, cool place.

hiking
Mon Sep 11 2017

Map My ride measured the Yellow loop we did at 5.82 miles with 1572' elevation gain. We did the spur to the overlook, but it's not that far. Hiked the loop counter clockwise and there is absolutely no streams or access to water until about the last mile, when you cross 2 creeks close to the bottom. The creeks were very low flow this time of year, but in a pinch you could get some water from them. Took us about 4 hours 15 minutes to hike this yellow loop and stopped at least 15 minutes for lunch. Hikers we passed doing the trail clockwise we met back in the parking area and they had been out over 6 hours. No water or toilet facilities at the trail head. Beautiful trail and views. There was a lot of under growth along the ridge facing east with plenty of poison ivy. Would do it again. Only saw 6 other hikers on a beautiful Saturday in September.

hiking
Fri Sep 01 2017

Well marked, some views, pretty hike, and only passed a few other people on late summer Saturday afternoon. However, I was stung by hornets, which was really unfortunate- seems like trails not as maintained as they could be.

hiking
Thu Jun 15 2017

great, hard hike. trail is well-marked, and mostly well-maintained.

Showing results 1 - 28 of 68