Fortune's Cove Via Yellow Trail

SCHWER 35 Bewertungen

Fortunes Cove Via Yellow Trail ist ein 5,4 Meilen langer, leicht befahrbarer Rundwanderweg in der Nähe von Lovingston, Virginia, der malerische Ausblicke bietet und als schwierig eingestuft wird. Der Weg wird hauptsächlich zum Wandern und Trailrunning genutzt.

Entfernung: 5.4 miles Höhenunterschied: 1,620 feet Routentyp: Rundweg

Wandern

Laufen

Aussicht

Sturmholz

keine Hunde

wandern
scrambling
steinig
sturmholz
10 days ago

Der Anfang dieses Weges ist steil, wird aber mit einer gelegentlichen Steigung abflachen. Sobald Sie an der Gabelung angelangt sind und weiter bergauf fahren, wird es STEIL. Auf dem Weg den Berg hinauf haben Sie eine Menge großartiger Aussichten. Sie werden jedoch von der Aussicht von oben enttäuscht sein. Nichts als ein Handyturm und ein Zaun und das war's auch schon. Nehmen Sie sich Zeit, um den Berg hinunter zu fahren, denn er ist SEHR STEIF. Machen Sie genügend Pausen und trinken Sie viel Wasser, und Sie sollten gut sein.

wandern
1 month ago

Dies ist eine ziemlich schwierige Wanderung. Die Höhe ist bedeutend und wenn das Wetter warm ist, brauchen Sie viel Wasser. Toller Trail. Ich sehe andere Bewertungen, die darauf hindeuten, dass es nicht gut gepflegt war. Es war letzte Woche, also hat sich jemand um dieses Problem gekümmert.

wandern
überwachsen
2 months ago

Dies wäre normalerweise eine schöne, herausfordernde Wanderung, die ich immer und immer wieder machen würde, aber sie war in vielen Bereichen SO überwachsen, dass wir im Wesentlichen mit unseren Körpern buschschlagen mussten, auf die wir nicht vorbereitet waren. Tragen Sie auch Hosen und lange Ärmel, wenn Sie empfindlich auf irritierende Pflanzen reagieren. Die Beine und Arme meines Partners sind mit einem Ausschlag bedeckt, der aussieht wie gebündelte Mückenstiche. Weder Efeu noch Eichengift, meine besten Vermutungen basieren auf Online-Recherchen. Ich habe Pokeweed / Pokesalad gemacht, weil wir uns definitiv daran erinnern, wie wir auf dem Weg durch diese Pflanzen gelaufen sind und die "blauen Beeren" gesehen haben. Es gab auch 3 umgestürzte Bäume, die wir herum manövrieren mussten, nichts allzu schwieriges, aber wegen des Mangels an langen Ärmeln und Hosen abgekratzt wurden. Wenn der Weg geräumt worden wäre, hätte ich dieser Wanderung 4 Sterne gegeben. Handy-Turm oben war bizarr, aber es gab sehr schöne Ausblicke auf den Weg, den ich genossen habe.

wandern
3 months ago

Sehr dick. Meine Beine sind schlecht abgekratzt. Blick nach oben - Handytürme ... hat mir wirklich nicht gefallen.

wandern
5 months ago

Sehr schöner Trail, aber die Aussicht von oben war enttäuschend. Einige Gebiete waren zu groß geworden. Tolle Übung und genaue Höhe und Distanz.

aufgezeichnet Recording - Mar 18, 03:37 PM

wandern
8 months ago

TNC leistet hervorragende Arbeit, um diesen Weg zu halten. In den vergangenen Winterstürmen waren Dutzende riesiger Bäume niedergeweht worden. Alle wurden gelöscht.

wandern
9 months ago

Sehr schöner Lauf von C-Ville. Trail sehr gut beleuchtet. Vielen Dank an die Trailcrew. Sie haben großartige Arbeit geleistet und die vielen niedergeschlagenen Bäume gerodet. Steiler Start aber lohnt die Anstrengung einmal auf dem Grat und schön auf dem Weg am Bach.

wandern
9 months ago

Schwer aber angenehm. Ein Großteil davon muss nach umgestürzten Bäumen gepflegt werden. Mit einem Schwierigkeitsgrad von 3,5 Std. V. Chr. Bewertet, aber mit einem schnellen Clip von 2,5 Std.

10 months ago

Wirklich genossen die Herausforderung des Aufstiegs und die vielen Ausblicke auf das umliegende Tal und die fernen Berge. Aber die vielen niedergeschlagenen Bäume mit einigen prekären Umwegen machen zu dieser Zeit eine Warnung für den oberen Pfad aus. Wir sahen zwei Arbeiter vom Nature Conservatory mit Kettensägen, aber die zu bewegende Holzmenge ist ziemlich überwältigend.

wandern
10 months ago

Es ist ein schöner 3-4-stündiger Wanderweg mit anständigen Aussichten, der jedoch von bewaldeten Bäumen durchsetzt ist und gewartet werden muss. Diese Seite sagt, dass es keine Hunde gibt, also haben wir unsere Hunde zu Hause gelassen, aber es scheint nicht streng durchgesetzt zu sein, da jeder andere Wanderer, den wir sahen, ihren Hund bei sich hatte.

Sun Oct 28 2018

Toller Trail mit abwechslungsreichem Gelände und einigen anspruchsvollen Anstiegen. Wunderschöne Ausblicke auf den gelben Weg sind auf jeden Fall die Mühe wert! Frühling Lorbeeren sind großartig und Herbstlaub ist wunderbar.

wandern
Tue Aug 21 2018

Tolle rigorose Wanderung, etwas Mühe, aber nichts Besonderes. Der Weg bot einige sehr schöne Ausblicke. Der Weg ist sehr aufwärts, aufwärts und abwärts, zum Glück sind 95% des Wegs weich. Hat die Wanderung heute Mitte August gemacht und es gab eine wahnsinnige Menge Giftefeu auf dem gesamten Weg ... Hosen tragen. Wir haben die Wanderung in knapp 3,5 Stunden mit zwei schnellen Pausen beendet.

wandern
Sun Jul 22 2018

Toller Weg. Rigoros In vielerlei Hinsicht ähnlich der Henry Lanham-Schleife, die nicht weit entfernt ist. Felsen allein sind eine Reise wert. Ein paar Spots konkurrieren mit Chimney Rocks auf 3 Kanten um die Schönheit.

wandern
Sun Mar 25 2018

Dies war ein ziemlich anspruchsvoller Weg. Im Grunde ist es hoch, rauf, rauf und runter, runter, runter. Es gab keine flachen Abschnitte, abgesehen von einem etwa 1/8 Meilen langen Sattel zwischen den zwei nördlichsten Gipfeln. Ich würde die Route gegen den Uhrzeigersinn empfehlen, da die Ostseite der Schleife ein steiler Abhang ist, den ich lieber aufsteigen möchte als abwärts. Die Runde dauerte 3,75 Stunden mit ein paar Zwischenstopps. Der Weg ist meistens weich mit einigen felsigen Abschnitten. Die Aussichten sind gut. Ich würde NICHT den kleinen Ansporn für die Zellentürme tun. Es ist ein 3-minütiger Umweg, der die Natur "draußen in der Natur" ruiniert, 2 riesige Zellentürme mit einer Schotterstraße, und die Aussicht ist es nicht wert. Es gibt eine großartige Aussicht nach Süden, westlich des nördlichsten Punktes des Weges. Gutes Mittagessen mit offenen Steinen nach Süden. Ging an einem kühlen Sonntagmorgen (37 Grad) und sah keine andere Person auf der gesamten Spur. Ich würde es nochmal machen.

Mon Oct 02 2017

Tolle Wanderung an einem schönen Tag! Genossen die gegen den Uhrzeigersinn laufende Route des gelben Pfades. Halten Sie Ausschau nach gelben Jacken, die sich auf der oberen Seite des Wanderwegs befinden. Besuchen Sie nach Ihrer Wanderung die Mountain Cove Winery. nette Leute, cooler Ort.

wandern
Mon Sep 11 2017

Karte Meine Fahrt hat die gelbe Schleife gemessen, die wir bei 5.72 Meilen mit einem Höhenunterschied von 1572 gefahren sind. Wir haben den Anstoß zum Übersehen gegeben, aber es ist nicht so weit. Bewegen Sie die Schleife gegen den Uhrzeigersinn, und bis zur letzten Meile gibt es absolut keine Wasserläufe oder keinen Zugang zu Wasser, wenn Sie 2 Bäche nahe am Grund überqueren. Die Bäche waren zu dieser Jahreszeit sehr schwach, aber zur Not konnte man etwas Wasser von ihnen bekommen. Es dauerte ungefähr 4 Stunden und 15 Minuten, um diese gelbe Schleife zu überwinden, und hielt mindestens 15 Minuten zum Mittagessen an. Wanderer, die wir passierten, machten den Weg im Uhrzeigersinn, als wir uns wieder auf dem Parkplatz trafen, und sie waren über 6 Stunden unterwegs gewesen. Kein Wasser oder Toiletten am Trail Head. Schöner Weg und Aussicht. Es gab viel Unterwuchs entlang des Kamms nach Osten mit viel Giftefeu. Würde es wieder tun Nur 6 andere Wanderer haben an einem schönen Samstag im September gesehen.

wandern
Fri Sep 01 2017

Gut markiert, einige Aussichten, hübsche Wanderung, und am Spätsommer-Samstagnachmittag nur ein paar andere Personen. Ich wurde jedoch von Hornissen gestochen, was wirklich unglücklich war.

wandern
Thu Jun 15 2017

tolle, harte Wanderung. Wanderweg ist gut markiert und meistens gut gepflegt.

aufgezeichnet Fortune's Cove

wandern
16 days ago

wandern
2 months ago

wandern
4 months ago

wandern
7 months ago

wandern
8 months ago

wandern
10 months ago

aufgezeichnet fortune's cove

wandern
Sun Oct 28 2018

wandern
Sat Jun 30 2018

Sun May 06 2018

wandern
Sat Mar 31 2018

Mehr laden

Empfohlene Routen

Fortune's Cove Via Yellow Trail

hardYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray Star(68)
Lovingston, Virginia

Fortune's Cove Via Yellow Trail is a 8.7 kilometer lightly trafficked loop trail located near Lovingston, Virginia that offers scenic views and is rated as difficult. The trail is primarily used for hiking and trail running.

Distance: 8.7 km Elevation Gain: 494 m Route Type: Loop

hiking

running

views

blowdown

no dogs

17 hours ago

Had one way rules for hikers. Not sure if it is like this normally or if it is like this due to COVID19. It definitely limited contact and added to the solitude. Views are mostly blocked due to spring foliage so I would recommend doing this hike in the winter where the views would be much better.

hiking
27 days ago

This was a wonderful steep hike. We went counter clockwise and the best scenes occurred before getting to the top. The vistas allowed views of the valleys and mountains extending 50 miles or more. Numerous wildflowers lined that part of the trail. The view at the cell towers was disappointing at best. The sharp descent was assisted with steps. It followed or crossed several small mountains streams before leveling out and returning to the parking lot.

hiking
29 days ago

Nice trail! Not that steep and beautiful scenery

hiking
1 month ago

What a hidden gem! Amazing views and a pretty good work out

hiking
rocky
1 month ago

AKA : JELLO LEGS For anyone looking for a great climb and a challenge, come to Fortunes Cove! If you take the trail going up right before the private property/vineyard the trail is a steady incline and really gets your calf and hamstrings poppin’ If you’re a beginner like me, its definitely doable but make sure you take more time on the way down. You will still have to use your legs after they’re made to jello! Womp womp. :( There is not a spectacular view at the tip top so if you’re looking for a challenge AND a view, look elsewhere. Great for sweating and making your legs sore for 2days

Hidden gem!

hiking
2 months ago

If you’re looking for a true backwoods hike, this one is for you. I completed it yesterday, 3/8/2020, and loved it. I can’t give it 5 stars simply because the view at the summit is lacking. Aside from that, the trail is true to form. The rating of this being a hard trail is 100% accurate. Some areas are steep and you get a good increase in heart rate. Some areas are level and you get to enjoy the beauty of being in the woods. But, after 5 miles, your legs will talk to you. Lol

hiking
6 months ago

I did this hike In September, but for some reason didn’t record. This has been one of my favorites in a long time. It seems like two hikes. The first gets fairly steep but you can get some great views. Enjoy this part. As everyone says. The top is a bit of a downer. And the second half going down is also steep, but no vista type views. But it’s still a great hike.

hiking
blowdown
rocky
scramble
6 months ago

Beginning part of this trail is steep but will level off with a occasional incline. Once you get to the fork and continue to head up the mountain it gets STEEP. You will have a lot of great views on the way up the mountain. However you will be disappointed with the view from the top. Nothing but a cell phone tower and a fence and that is about it. Take your time going down the mountain because it is VERY STEEP. Be sure to take plenty of of breaks and drink lots of water and you should be good.

hiking
8 months ago

This is a pretty difficult hike. Elevation is significant and if the weather is warm you will need lots of water. Great trail. I see other reviews suggesting it wasn’t well kept. It was last week so somebody took care of that issue.

hiking
over grown
9 months ago

This would normally be a beautiful, challenging hike that I would do over and over again, but it was SO overgrown in many areas we had to bushwhack with our bodies essentially, which we were not prepared for. Also, wear PANTS and long sleeves if you are sensitive to irritating plants. My partner's legs and arms are covered in a rash that looks like clustered mosquito bites. Not poison ivy or poison oak, my best guess based on online research I did Pokeweed/Pokesalad because we definitely remember walking through those plants on the trail and seeing the "blue berries". There were also 3 downed trees that we had to maneuver around, nothing too difficult but got scraped up due to lack of long sleeves and pants. If trail was cleared, I would have given this hike 4 stars. Cell phone tower at top was bizarre, but there were very beautiful views on the way up I enjoyed.

hiking
9 months ago

Very thick. My legs are scraped up BAD. View at top - cell phone towers.... really did not enjoy this one.

hiking
Fri May 31 2019

Very pretty trail but the view from the top was disappointing. Some areas were over grown. Great exercise and accurate elevation and distance.

recorded Recording - Mar 18, 03:37 PM

hiking
Mon Mar 18 2019

TNC is doing a great job maintaining this trail. Dozens of huge trees had blown down during past winter storms. All have been cleared.

hiking
Sun Feb 10 2019

Very nice run from C-Ville. Trail very well blazed. Many thanks to the trail crew. They did a great job clearing the many downed trees. Steep start but worth the effort once on the ridge and nice on the way down by the creek.

hiking
Sun Feb 03 2019

Hard but enjoyable. Much of it needs to be manicured after fallen trees. Rated @ 3.5 hr bc of difficulty but did @ fast clip @ 2.5 hr.

Tue Jan 08 2019

Really enjoyed the challenge of the ascent and the many views of the surrounding valley and distant mountains. But the many downed trees, with some precarious detours prompt a caution alert for the upper trail at this time. We saw two workers from the Nature Conservatory with chain saws, but the amount of wood to move is pretty overwhelming.

hiking
Sun Jan 06 2019

It’s a nice 3-4 hour hiking trail with decent views though riddled with downed trees and in need of maintenance. This site says no dogs so we left ours at home however it doesn’t seem to be strictly enforced as every other hiker we saw had their dog with them.

Sun Oct 28 2018

Awesome trail with varying terrain and some challenging climbs. Beautiful vistas on the yellow trail are definitely worth the effort! Springtime laurels are great and fall foliage is wonderful.

hiking
Tue Aug 21 2018

Great rigorous hike, took some effort but nothing too bad. The trail offered some very beautiful vistas. The trail is very up, up, up then down, fortunately 95% of the trail is soft. Did the hike today in mid August and there was an insane amount of poison ivy along the entire trail...wear pants. we completed the hike in just under 3.5 hours with two quick snack breaks.

hiking
Sun Jul 22 2018

Great trail. Rigorous. Similar in many ways to the Henry Lanham loop, which isn't far away. Rocks alone are worth the trip. A couple of spots rival Chimney Rocks on 3 Ridges for beauty.

hiking
Sun Mar 25 2018

This was a fairly challenging trail. It's basically up, up, up, and then down, down, down. There were no stretches of flat, except for about a 1/8 mile saddle between the 2 northern most peaks. I would recommend the counterclockwise route, as the east side of the loop is a steep slope that I would rather ascend than descend. The loop took me 3.75 hours with a couple of snack stops. The trail is mostly soft with a few rocky stretches. The views are good. I would NOT do the little spur to the cell towers, It's a 3 minute detour that kind of ruins the "out in nature" experience, 2 giant cell towers with a gravel road, and the view isn't worth it. There is a great view to the south just to the west of the northern most point of the trail. Good lunch spot with open rocks facing south. Went on a chilly Sunday morning (37 degrees) and did not see another person on the entire trail. I would do it again.

Mon Oct 02 2017

Great hike on a beautiful day! Enjoyed the counter clockwise route of the yellow trail. Watch out for those yellow jackets about 1mi in on the upper side of trail. Must visit Mountain Cove Winery after your hike; nice people, cool place.

hiking
Mon Sep 11 2017

Map My ride measured the Yellow loop we did at 5.82 miles with 1572' elevation gain. We did the spur to the overlook, but it's not that far. Hiked the loop counter clockwise and there is absolutely no streams or access to water until about the last mile, when you cross 2 creeks close to the bottom. The creeks were very low flow this time of year, but in a pinch you could get some water from them. Took us about 4 hours 15 minutes to hike this yellow loop and stopped at least 15 minutes for lunch. Hikers we passed doing the trail clockwise we met back in the parking area and they had been out over 6 hours. No water or toilet facilities at the trail head. Beautiful trail and views. There was a lot of under growth along the ridge facing east with plenty of poison ivy. Would do it again. Only saw 6 other hikers on a beautiful Saturday in September.

hiking
Fri Sep 01 2017

Well marked, some views, pretty hike, and only passed a few other people on late summer Saturday afternoon. However, I was stung by hornets, which was really unfortunate- seems like trails not as maintained as they could be.

hiking
Thu Jun 15 2017

great, hard hike. trail is well-marked, and mostly well-maintained.

Showing results 1 - 28 of 68