The Long Trail to Mount Horrid is a 1.9 mile out and back trail located near Rochester, Vermont that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, and birding and is best used from August until February. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
1.9 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
1,046 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Out & Back

dogs on leash

kid friendly

birding

hiking

walking

forest

views

wild flowers

wildlife

hiking
4 months ago

The reviewers who talk about a great view aren’t going to the top of Mount Horrid, where there is no view that I could find near the peak. There is a nice view from Great Cliff, on the east side of the mountain about two-thirds of the way up. Nice hike with some steep spots and rock stairs to the top.

nature trips
5 months ago

Great elevated view for a quick park and hike. Made it up and down in 45 min - a hour total. Gets steep and stair like in parts

hiking
Friday, October 13, 2017

Great quick hike that is a bit more step than some comments may disclose. Views are amazing!
Tip: drive a few minutes past the parking lot to an overlook where you can see what exactly you hiked!

hiking
Friday, September 01, 2017

get ready to scramble up steep terrain, but very short and great views to where you park your car!

Friday, August 11, 2017

Quick up and down with a great view.

hiking
Monday, August 07, 2017

quick hike with nice view no prob for the your one, and warblers in the trees.

hiking
Friday, June 23, 2017

Quick hike with a fantastic view as the payoff!!! Also as an avid bird nerd I recommend to use your binoculars before you head up the see the resident peregrine falcons who nest in the cliffs

snowshoeing
Thursday, February 09, 2017

Great hike with the pup. Outstanding views.

hiking
Thursday, June 09, 2016

Pretty easy trail, very gorgeous view!

hiking
Thursday, March 24, 2016

Great hike, my family and friends loved the trail and view. Check our our full write up.
http://www.eastcoasthiker.com/trails/mounthorrid

hiking
Tuesday, November 03, 2015

Quiet little hiking area, not too difficult, cool views of the mountains nearby.

hiking
Sunday, October 11, 2015

Pretty view. Short hike, decent incline and somewhat challenging at times but nothing too bad. No special equipment needed.

Saturday, August 15, 2015

Nice quiet hiking area.

hiking
4 months ago

5 months ago

hiking
Monday, September 04, 2017

hiking
Sunday, April 30, 2017

snowshoeing
Sunday, February 05, 2017

hiking
Sunday, September 18, 2016

hiking
Thursday, June 30, 2016

hiking
Sunday, October 04, 2015

Friday, July 10, 2015