Memorial Day Verkauf! Holen Sie sich ein Jahr AllTrails Pro für nur $14.99
Erste Schritte

Der Jones Hole Trail ist ein gut 7 km langer Wanderweg in der Nähe von Vernal, Utah, der über einen Wasserfall verfügt und für alle Könnerstufen geeignet ist. Der Weg bietet zahlreiche Aktivitätsmöglichkeiten und ist das ganze Jahr über zugänglich.

ENTFERNUNG
7.0 Meilen
HÖHENUNTERSCHIED
692 Fuß
ROUTENTYP
Hin & zurück

kinderfreundlich

Camping

Angeln

Wandern

Naturausflüge

Gehen

Vogelbeobachtung

Fluss

Aussicht

Wasserfall

Wildblumen

Wildtiere

keine Hunde

Wegbeschreibung vom Dinosaur Quarry: Fahren Sie 1 Stunde entlang der Brush Creek Road und der Diamond Mountain Road zur Jones Hole National Fish Hatchery. Die Brüterei verfügt über Parkplätze, Toiletten und einen Informationskiosk.

wandern
7 days ago

Sehr schöner Trail! Wasserfall ist hübsch! Kilometerstand auf Schildern sind falsch! Der Wasserfall am Ely Trail ist nur 0,2 Meilen vom Trail entfernt und die Petroglyphen sind nicht wirklich markiert. Wir haben sie gefunden und sie sind ziemlich cool!

wandern
13 days ago

Toller Trail und schöne Wanderung. Ging zum Fluss und sah viele wilde Blumen und wildes Leben. Fischbrut war ein zusätzlicher Bonus für den Tag. Ely Falls ist wirklich cool. Wenn Sie kleinere Kinder haben, würde ich empfehlen, nur zu diesem Punkt zu wandern.

wandern
14 days ago

Tolle Wanderung mit Kindern. Leicht zu befolgender Pfad, niedlicher kleiner Wasserfall. Gute Fotos auf dem Weg. Wir haben uns diesmal entschieden, nicht bis zum Green River zu wandern. Wir sind gerade zum Wasserfall und zurück gewandert. Der Wasserfall ist eine halbe Meile vom Hauptpfad entfernt und etwa zwei Meilen in die Wanderung. Die Kinder hatten eine tolle Abkühlung am Wasserfall. Sie haben auch die Fischbrut sehr genossen, bevor wir gewandert sind.

7 months ago

Wir haben es am Labor Day gewandert und es war nicht zu voll. Wenn Sie Zeit haben, empfehle ich den ganzen Weg zum Green River - die Landschaft ist wunderschön. Ich würde gerne wieder wandern. Es ist ein bisschen von Vernal entfernt, aber es lohnt sich für ein kleines Abenteuer.

10 months ago

Einer meiner Lieblingsstrecken zum Wandern! Ausreichender Schatten, kann zu jeder Tageszeit gewandert werden. Gut markierter Weg, jede Menge wilde Tiere und der Weg ist ziemlich abgelegen, so dass es nie eine Menge Verkehr gibt. Der Weg führt zu den Ely Falls, einem großartigen Ort, um sich abzukühlen, bevor Sie zurückkehren. Ich empfehle diesen Weg für jedes Alter!

11 months ago

Ziemlich guter Trail, Spaß für Ihre Familie, schöner Strand am Ende!

wandern
Monday, May 14, 2018

Unsere Familie hat diese Wanderung geliebt! Wir gingen zum Wasserfall, dann zum Fluss und zurück für insgesamt knapp 9 Meilen mit einem 9- und 12-jährigen, der gelegentlich wanderte. Kein schwieriger Weg und viele Wildtiere gesehen! Eine Herde Rocky Mountain Big Horn Sheep, einige Hirsche, Eidechsen usw. Die Aussicht war unglaublich! Die Petroglyphen waren sehr nahe am Hauptpfad und leicht zu finden. Die Spur ist meistens schön beschattet. Der einfachste Weg dorthin ist 500 North in Vernal. Folgen Sie einfach der Straße nach Osten. Einfach!

wandern
Wednesday, October 11, 2017

Einfache Tageswanderung von der Fischzucht zum Wasserfall. Wasser ist reichlich zum Filtern, aber sehr kalt zum Schwimmen. Es gibt wirklich keine Schwimmlöcher entlang der Strecke, aber es ist leicht, Ihren Körper in der Hitze des Sommers einzutauchen. Wir haben Dickhornschafe entlang der Spur gesehen. Die Fahrt zum Diamond Mountain ist fantastisch. Einrichtungen am Ausgangspunkt sind Picknick-Tische und etwas Schatten. Toller Ort für eine Fliegenrute, wenn Sie kurze Würfe machen können.

Saturday, October 07, 2017

Anfang Oktober 2017 gewandert. Ich habe während der gesamten Wanderung ein weiteres Paar getroffen! Die einstündige Fahrt von Vernal zum Fish Hatchery Trail Head ist eine schöne Reise für sich. Es gibt eine ältere Komposttoilette etwa 1,5 Meilen in die Spur und ein paar Picknicktische. Ansonsten sah ich keine anderen Einrichtungen auf dem Weg. Nutzen Sie die öffentliche Toilette nordwestlich des Besucherparkplatzes, bevor Sie losfahren. Der Weg ist durchgehend bis zum Sandstrand am Rande des Green River. Gut markiert an allen richtigen Stellen mit meist flachem Gelände. Kam über ein Maultierhirsch und mehrere verschiedene Vögel, sah aber keine großen Hornschafe.

Tuesday, August 22, 2017

Schöne Wanderung Viele schattierte Bereiche. Bringen Sie unbedingt eine Kamera mit. Einige der großen Felsen auf der Wanderung haben sogar Fossilien, die oben sichtbar sind.

Tuesday, June 27, 2017

Liebte die Wanderung so schön ...

wandern
Wednesday, August 17, 2016

Dies war eine tolle Wanderung, obwohl die Lage ziemlich abgelegen ist. Ein Feldweg, der zum Standort führt, hat mehrere Kilometer schwerer Serpentinen mit einer Steigung von 10%, ist jedoch mit einem Personenwagen befahrbar. Auf einer Freitagswanderung sahen wir nördlich von Ely nur sehr wenige Menschen, aber zwei große Gruppen südlich der Fälle. Fischer kamen später am Tag, aber insgesamt war der Weg nicht überfüllt, aber es gab etwas Verkehr. Wir fingen bei der Fischzucht an, und unsere Wanderung beinhaltete den Nebenweg zu den Felszeichnungen und zwei Besuche zu Ely Falls (auch als Butt Dam Falls bekannt). Der Großteil der Wanderung ist schattig, obwohl Sie südlich von Ely einige offene Stellen treffen. Jones Hole Stream stammt aus einer Quelle und ist kristallklar. Der Bach ist landschaftlich sehr reizvoll und die Klippen, die sich auf jeder Seite erheben, bieten einige gute Möglichkeiten zum Fotografieren. Wir sahen eine Vielzahl von Vögeln, kleine Säugetiere und ein paar kleine Schlangen, aber keine Schafe oder Bären. Der Weg zu den Felszeichnungen ist gut markiert. Der Nebenweg verläuft entlang der Klippe nur wenige hundert Meter vom Hauptweg entfernt. Es gibt mehrere Kringel, die ein Flussführer, der an ihm vorbeiging, sagte, seine Gruppe sei ein Symbol für Fischnetze, aber es gibt auch andere interessante Glyphen. Der Glyphenpfad mündet in den Hauptpfad nördlich des Weges zu den Ely Falls. Das Schild zum Ely Falls Trail sagt, es ist eine halbe Meile, aber ich denke, das ist für die Rundreise. Es ist ein sehr kurzer Weg, der Sie direkt unter den Wasserfällen bringt. Es gibt zwei Tische südlich des Ausgangspunkts für Picknicker oder viel Platz an der Spitze der Wasserfälle für einen Imbiss. Der Weg führt auch über die Fälle hinaus, aber wir sind nach einem kurzen Spaziergang zurückgelaufen, daher bin ich mir nicht sicher, wie weit es geht.

wandern
Thursday, July 07, 2016

Für die Angler ist es ein Bach, kein großer Fisch, aber viel wenig und Spaß. Der Weg ist leicht und es gibt viel zu sehen. Meine Kinder lieben es zu wandern. Viele Mücken und wenige harmlose Schlangen.

rucksacktour
Wednesday, May 04, 2016

Ausgezeichnete, leichte Rucksackreise, die im Frühling schön ist. Das Angeln sieht auch gut aus (ich hatte keine Chance zu fischen, weil ich meine Stange vergessen habe). Viel Tierwelt und tolle Nebenwege. Ich habe hier einen Bericht geschrieben: https://backpackingnerd.com/2016/05/02/jones-hole/

Monday, May 04, 2015

Gerade gewandert 5-2-2015 großartige Spur und viele Forellen im Bach. Schauen Sie einfach ins Wasser und Sie werden 20 bis 24 Zoll große Forellen sehen. Der Weg ist eine sehr leichte Wanderung. Denken Sie daran, viel Wasser mitzunehmen. Wir sahen und fotografierten ungefähr 20 große Hörner von ungefähr 15 Fuß. Ich war noch nie näher, nicht einmal in einem Zoo! kann diese Wanderung sehr empfehlen.

Sunday, August 10, 2014

Jones Hole ist nicht gut zum Fliegenfischen. Die Fische sind viel zu klein.

wandern
Saturday, January 14, 2012

Ich bin diesen Weg sieben oder acht Mal gewandert. Ich habe meine Scout-Truppe viermal mitgenommen. Am besten geht es im Herbst. Der Frühling ist auch gut, obwohl das Wetter unberechenbarer ist. Meine Präferenz ist es, am Ende des Inselparks zu beginnen. Der Trail Head befindet sich an der alten Ruple Ranch. Die BLM hat Karten. Fahren Sie 30 Meilen von Vernal entfernt, meist unbefestigte Straße. Wir wandern zum Ely Creek, wo wir den Campingplatz durch das Dinosaur National Monument reservieren. Das ist acht Meilen. Wir verbringen die Nacht dort. Dann wandern wir zwei Meilen auf dem Jones Hole Trail zur Jones Hole National Fish Hatchery, wo uns jemand abholt. Wenn Sie im Sommer gehen, sollten Sie früh gehen, da der mittlere Teil des Pfades im Freien liegt und heiß wird. Nimm viel Wasser. Der Weg ist an einigen Stellen geflochten und an anderen Stellen etwas schwach. Kenne dich gut in Karte und Kompass oder nimm doch ein gutes GPS.

Friday, January 13, 2012

Jones Hole ist einer meiner Lieblingsorte auf dem Planeten! Der tiefe Canyon bietet atemberaubende Ausblicke an jeder Ecke. Der Weg ist gut angelegt und leicht zu wandern. Ich fliege gerne mit dem Jones Creek und benutze den Weg das ganze Jahr über. Meine letzte Reise war am 30. Dezember 2011. Es waren ungefähr 4 Zoll Schnee und wir sind den ganzen Weg zum Green River gewandert, wo wir im schnellen Wasser des Grüns Monsterbögen gefangen haben Durch einen Puma gebrochen Der Bach wird aus dem Frühling gespeist und friert nie ein In den heißen Sommermonaten ist ein Bad im Bach oder eine "Power Shower" am Ely Creek Falls ein Muss. (Schließen Sie den Bach oben mit jemandem ab, während Sie derrieren die Dusche nähert sich für eine Sintflut! Toller Spaß! Halten Sie sich an Ihre Shorts!) Ely Creek ist ein kleiner Nebenfluss von Jones Creek, der in den größeren Bach etwa drei Kilometer vor dem Oberlauf eintritt. Der Wasserfall ist etwa eine halbe Meile Der Ely Creek ist auch gut präpariert und stellt eine Ergänzung zu den vier Meilen dar. Die weitere Erkundung des Ely Canyon in das Labyrinth macht großen Spaß. In der Nähe des Pfads befinden sich Piktogramme und Petroglyphen Die Fischbrutstätte: Der Weg endet am Fluss und ist eine acht Meilen lange Rundfahrt, um die Insel zu überqueren Der ganze Weg. Big Horn Schafe besuchen häufig die Schlucht. Wenn Sie Glück haben, sehen Sie vielleicht ein großes "Lockenhorn". Im Sommer nutzen Flößer den Campingplatz am Green River. Ein kleiner Campingplatz liegt am Zusammenfluss von Jones und Ely Creeks. Sie können dies reservieren, indem Sie sich unter der Nummer 435-781-7700 an das Dinosaur National Monument wenden. Denken Sie daran, dass dieser Campingplatz 3,5 km vom Wanderweg entfernt ist.

wandern
Thursday, December 29, 2011

Jones Creek wird vollständig aus Federn gespeist. Es läuft vom Frühling (Jones Hole Fish Hatchery) vier Meilen bis zum Green River. Die Wassertemperatur ist das ganze Jahr über konstant, was es zu einer ausgezeichneten Fischerei macht. Zufahrt über die Straße von Vernal oder durch Rafting auf den Green River.

wandern
2 months ago

wandern
6 months ago

wandern
8 months ago

aufgezeichnet Jones Hole Trail

wandern
9 months ago

wandern
9 months ago

wandern
10 months ago

Mehr laden

Empfohlene Wege

Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Jones Hole Trail is a 7 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Vernal, Utah that features a waterfall and is good for all skill levels. The trail offers a number of activity options and is accessible year-round.

Length 7.0 mi Elevation gain 692 ft Route type Out & Back

Kid friendly

Camping

Fishing

Hiking

Nature trips

Walking

Bird watching

River

Views

Waterfall

Wild flowers

Wildlife

No dogs

Description
Waypoints (0)
Contact
Getting There

Utah Travel Council, Council Hall, P.O. Box 147420 , Salt Lake City, UT, 84114, Phone: 801-538-1030, travel@utah.com

Directions from Dinosaur Quarry,: Drive 1 hour along the Brush Creek Road and Diamond Mountain Road to the Jones Hole National Fish Hatchery. The hatchery has parking, restrooms, and an information kiosk for your convenience.

Weather
UV Index
Daylight
Reviews (75)
Photos (106)
Recordings (45)
Completed (118)
David Grigsby II
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarFri Jul 03 2020
Hiking

Small 12 ft waterfall is where we stopped. It was about 4.3 miles out and back. Pretty simple to follow and some hieroglyphs along the rock face.

View David's Recording
S Major
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFri Jun 12 2020
Backpacking

Well marked trail. I went up passed Ely Falls and hiked around. It was a really cool area to explore. Lots of cool rock features. Looks like Island Park trail keeps going out of the bottom of the canyon. It was a weekend so the trail was pretty busy. Lots of rafters hiking up the trail and lots of fisherman and families hiking down the trail from the Fish Hatchery. If you are going to wilderness camp, you need a permit from Dinosaur National Monument. I was contacted by a Park Ranger (super friendly guy) while near the Green River. I hammock camped past Ely Falls. There were not tons of places that met my criteria (shade, close to water, not close to the trail etc) but enough places to find a good one relatively quickly.

Jan Crable
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSun May 17 2020
Hiking

This trail is back open! Great walk, no real elevation change. Wonderful pictographs and petroglyphs. The second half of the trail is sunny so bring lots of water.

Stephanie Runs Through
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSun May 17 2020
HikingBugsRocky

This was such a fun little trail. Started at the Fish Hatchery where we saw an Osprey and some turkey vultures. On the trail there were lots of neat plants, bugs, and petroglyphs. Great trail, easy for kids.

Jordan Evans
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMon Aug 12 2019
Hiking

We love hiking halfway down the trail to Eli Falls. Watch little ones around the waterfall! We have seen a rattle snake on the trail before so be aware and keep an eye out.

Mike Bodily
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFri Aug 09 2019
Backpacking

Started at the National Fish Hatchery and backpacked down to Ely Falls and just a little beyond that to set up camp. After setting up camp hiked all the way down to the Green River and back. Just a couple of notables. 1. You'd never expect it, the mosquitoes are just thick the entire duration of the trail. Make sure to have lots of repellent. 2. The water is plentiful, clear, and tasty. A water bottle and purifier are all you need. The rock art is beautiful, everything near the water is green and lush. It's a very scenic route, an oasis in a barren land.

Suzannah Armentrout
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMon Jul 29 2019
Hiking

We started this trail from the river and probably went 5 miles round trip. It’s lovely!! The canyon was gorgeous, the pictographs were awesome and we found a couple amazing waterfalls to cool off in. Have fun!

Andy Kirby
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarFri Jul 05 2019
Hiking

This is a great hike for the family. We had a group of 8 from 7yrs to 50 years. We hiked in the middle of the day and would recommend starting earlier or in the evening to avoid the heat of the day. We stopped and cooled off at Ely Creek Waterfall and saw the petroglyphs. We also cooled off in the creek down by the Green River. The grade is steady and not to steep. Definitely prepare for mosquitos! We were eaten alive even though we sprayed several times.

Sam G
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFri Jul 05 2019
Hiking

We anticipated a great hike and it exceeded expectations! What a great creek/river to follow down to the BIG river at the end. The last third or so the trail opens up away from the creek and into the open of the 'uuuuuge expansive canyon floor which is just an incredible feeling to step out into and walk through. Butt crack falls is a must stop hidden gem. Bunch of folks coming opposite direction up from the big river as part of rafting trips. It'll have you jonesin

View Sam's Recording
Russ De Somer
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSun May 19 2019
Hiking

Very nice trail! Waterfall is pretty! Mileage on signs are wrong! The waterfall on Ely trail is only .2 miles in from the trail and the petroglyphs are not really marked. We did find them and they are pretty cool!

View Russ's Recording
Tarrah Patch
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMon May 13 2019
Hiking

Great trail and lovely hike. Went to River and saw lots of wild flowers and wild life. Fish hatchery was a added bonus to the day. Ely falls is really cool. If you have smaller kids I would recommend just hiking to that point.

Carrie Johnson
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarMon May 13 2019
Hiking

Awesome hike with kids. Easy to follow path, cute little waterfall. Good photo ops along the way. We chose not to hike all the way to the Green River this time. We just hiked to the waterfall and back. The water fall is a half mile off the main trailhead and about two miles into the hike. Kids had a blast cooling off at the waterfall. They also really enjoyed the fish hatchery before we hiked.

Julie M
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSat Sep 29 2018

We hiked this on Labor Day and it wasn't overly crowded. If you have the time I'd recommend going all the way to the Green River-- the scenery is gorgeous. I'd happily hike this again. It is a bit of a drive from Vernal but worth it for a mini adventure.

Michael Greene
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSat Jul 14 2018

One of my favorite trails to hike! Adequate shade, can be hiked at any time of day. Well marked trail, tons of wildlife and the trail is pretty remote so there’s never a ton of traffic. The trail leads to Ely Falls, a great place to cool off before starting back. I highly recommend this trail for all ages!

Michael Alexander
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSun Jun 03 2018

Pretty good trail, fun for your family, nice beach at the end!

Kristin S.
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMon May 14 2018
Hiking

Our family loved this hike! We walked to the waterfall then to the river and back for a total of nearly 9 miles with a 9 and 12 year old who hike occasionally. Not a difficult trail and saw lots of wildlife! A herd of Rocky Mountain Big Horn Sheep, some deer, lizards, etc. The views were amazing! The petroglyphs were very near the main trail and easy to find. The trail is nicely shaded most of the time. Easiest way to get there is 500 North in Vernal - just follow the road east. Simple!

Travis Carroll
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarWed Oct 11 2017
Hiking

Easy out and back day hike from the fish hatchery to the waterfall. Water is plentiful for filtering, but very cold for swimming. There really aren't swimming holes along the trail, but easy to dunk your body in the heat of the summer. We have seen bighorn sheep along the trail. Ride to the trail up Diamond Mountain is fantastic. Facilities at the trailhead including picnic tables and some sparse shade. Great place for a fly rod if you can make short casts.

Audrey Peebles
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSat Oct 07 2017

Hiked this in early October 2017. I met one other couple during the entire hike! The hour drive from Vernal to the fish Hatchery trail head is a beautiful trip in itself. There is one older composting toilet about 1.5 miles into the trail along with a couple of picnic tables. Otherwise I did not see any other facilities along the way. Use the public restroom to the northwest of the visitor parking lot before heading out. Trail is consistently dirt until the sandy beach at the edge of the Green river. Well marked in all of the right places with mostly flat terrain. Came across some mule deer and several different birds, but did not see big horn sheep.

Jennifer Erwin
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarTue Aug 22 2017

Beautiful hike. Lots of shaded areas. Be sure to bring a camera. Some of the large rocks on the hike even have fossils visible on the top.

Lisa Sprunt Hamby
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarTue Jun 27 2017

Loved the hike so beautiful...

Rat Waffles
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarWed Aug 17 2016
Hiking

This was a great hike, although the location is pretty remote. Dirt road leading to location has several miles of heavy switchbacks at a 10% grade, but it is passable with a passenger car. On a Friday hike, we saw very few people north of Ely, but two large groups south of the falls. Fishermen came later in the day, but overall the trail was not crowded but there was some traffic. We started at the fish hatchery, and our hike included the side trail to the petroglyphs and two visits to Ely Falls (aka Butt Dam Falls). The majority of the hike is shady, although south of Ely you will hit some wide open spots. Jones Hole stream is from a spring, and is crystal clear. The stream is very scenic, and the cliffs rising on each side provide some good photo opportunities. We saw a variety of birds, small mammals, and a couple small snakes, but no sheep or bears. The path to the petroglyphs is well-marked. The side trail goes along the cliff face only a few hundred feet from the main trail. There are several squiggles that a river guide passing by told his group were symbolic of fish nets, but there are some other more interesting glyphs as well. The glyph trail merges back into the main trail just north of the path to Ely Falls. The sign to Ely Falls trail says it's half a mile, but I would guess that is for the round trip. It is a very short trail that brings you right underneath the falls. There are two tables just south of the trailhead for picnicers, or plenty of room at the top of the falls for a snack. The trail goes beyond the falls as well, but we turned back after a short walk down it so I'm not sure how far it goes.

Mitch Mitch Migliori
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarThu Jul 07 2016
Hiking

for those fishing it is a stream no large fish but lots of little and fun. The trail is easy with lots to see. my kids love to hike it. lots of mosquitoes and few harmless snakes.

Josh Fenio
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarWed May 04 2016
Backpacking

Excellent, easy backpacking trip that's beautiful in spring. The fishing looks great as well (I didn't get a chance to fish because I forgot my pole). Lots of wildlife and great side trails. I wrote a report here: https://backpackingnerd.com/2016/05/02/jones-hole/

Richard Peters
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMon May 04 2015

just hiked 5-2-2015 great trail and lots of trout in the creek. just look in the water and you'll see 20 to 24 inch trout. the trail is a very easy hike, just remember to bring lots of water. we saw and photographed about 20 big horns from about 15 feet. never have I been closer, not even in a zoo! highly recommend this hike.

John Meyers
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarSun Aug 10 2014

Jones hole is not good for fly fishing. The fish are way to small... if you like catching Twinkies go fish there.

Myke Weber
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSat Jan 14 2012
Hiking

I've hiked this trail seven or eight times. I've taken my Scout Troop over it four times. It is best done in the Fall. Spring is good too, though the weather is more unpredictable. My preference is to start at the Island Park end. The trail head is at the old Ruple Ranch. The BLM has maps. Drive 30 miles from Vernal, mostly dirt road. We hike to Ely Creek where we reserve the campsite through Dinosaur National Monument. That's is eight miles. We spend the night there. Then we hike two miles out on the Jones Hole Trail to the Jones Hole National Fish Hatchery, where we have someone pick us up. If you go in the Summer, go early because the central portion of the trail is in the open and gets hot. Take plenty of water. The trail is braided in some spots and a bit faint in others. Be proficient in map and compass or better yet take a good GPS.

Myke Weber
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFri Jan 13 2012

Jones Hole is one of my favorite places on the planet! The deep canyon affords breathtaking views at every turn. The trail is well established and easy to hike. I like to fly fish Jones Creek and use the trail year-round. My most recent trip was on December 30, 2011. There was about 4" of snow and we hiked all the way to the Green River where we caught monster rainbows in the fast water of the Green. A mile of our trip the trail had been broken by a cougar. The creek is spring fed and never freezes. In the hot summer months a dip in the creek or a "Power Shower" at Ely Creek Falls is a must. (Plug off the creek at the top with somebody's derriere while the showerer approaches for a deluge below! Great fun! Hang on to your shorts!). Ely Creek is a small tributary of Jones Creek which enters the larger stream about two miles from the trail-head. The water fall is about a half mile up Ely Creek. This trail, too, is well groomed and is an addition to the four miles mentioned. Further exploration up Ely Canyon into the Labyrinth is great fun. There are pictographs and petroglyphs near the trail. Don't miss a tour of the Fish Hatchery. The trail ends at the river making it an eight mile round trip to cover the entire trail. Big Horn Sheep frequent the canyon. If you're lucky you might see a big "curl horn." Rafters use the campground at the Green River in the Summer. One small camp site is available at the confluence of Jones and Ely Creeks. This can be reserved by contacting Dinosaur National Monument at 435-781-7700. Remember, this campsite is 2.2 miles from the trail-head.

Myke Weber
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarThu Dec 29 2011
Hiking

Jones Creek is entirely spring fed. It runs from the spring (Jones Hole Fish Hatchery) four miles to the Green River. The water temperature is constant all year making it an excellent fishery. Access by road from Vernal or by rafting the Green River.

Tyler Aldridge
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSat Jul 11 2020
Hiking
View Tyler's Recording
Showing results 1 - 29 of 75