Great Western Trail: Guardsman Pass to Clayton Peak

MODERATE 23 reviews

Great Western Trail: Guardsman Pass to Clayton Peak is a 10.3 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near Midway, Utah that offers scenic views and is rated as moderate. The trail offers a number of activity options and is best used from May until September. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
10.3 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
4734 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

dogs on leash

birding

hiking

nature trips

trail running

walking

views

hiking
17 days ago

hiking
3 months ago

hiking
3 months ago

hiking
3 months ago

4 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

pretty hike and saw some moose running in the rain on our drive down.

Saturday, September 03, 2016

Sunday, August 07, 2016

mountain biking
Tuesday, August 02, 2016

Thursday, July 28, 2016

This trail offers great views, the trail takes you up and down in many areas. The gravel/dirt is very loose coming down.

hiking
Saturday, July 23, 2016

Sunday, July 17, 2016

hiking
Monday, July 04, 2016

Fun, challenging, short day hike with excellent views. The trail is rough and can be loose in places. I recommend trekking poles. Encountered significant amounts of mosquitos!

Friday, July 01, 2016

hiking
Sunday, October 04, 2015

Loved it! The view was breathtaking and there were plenty of options to take other side trails. I look forward to exploring this area again.

hiking
Saturday, September 05, 2015

Just did this one again about a year after I did it the first time. I loved it even more, even though the wind was raging and it was hard to stand upright at the peak without being blown over. Fantastic views in all directions. If you have some extra time head down to Lackawaxen Lake after the peak. There is a clear trail to the lake. It's not far after you get to the saddle between Clayton and Peak 10420. Very secluded and pretty. Well worth the extra 10 minutes to get to the lake.

trail running
Saturday, August 29, 2015

hiking
Sunday, August 02, 2015

hiking
Monday, October 27, 2014

hiking
Thursday, October 02, 2014