Grand Wash Trail via Capitol Reef Scenic Dr. is a 6.9 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Torrey, Utah that features a river and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, and camping and is best used from March until October.

DISTANCE
6.9 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
557 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Out & Back

kid friendly

camping

hiking

walking

river

views

no dogs

18 days ago

hiking
25 days ago

This is much shorter if you drive down the unpaved road. I drive a Prius so low clearance vehicles can make it down the road. Parking is a bit difficult so everyone parked along the road. The narrows aren’t that narrow at all but it’s amazing nonetheless.

1 month ago

Nice trail but not much diversity.

2 months ago

Get here early to avoid the heat and the crowds. Imagine a cave with a REAL tall sun roof. Take plenty of water as there are only seasonal springs in winter and early spring. Not technically hard; just a long walk in the heat if you're not early. Moonlight doesn't help as the cliff walls are too high.

hiking
5 months ago

One of my favorite hikes in Capital Reef. Very easy and very scenic.

scenic driving
Monday, April 17, 2017

Great drive, leads to several hikes.

10 months ago

hiking
11 months ago

scenic driving
Sunday, November 12, 2017

Monday, November 06, 2017

hiking
Tuesday, October 10, 2017

hiking
Saturday, October 07, 2017

hiking
Tuesday, July 11, 2017

hiking
Sunday, April 02, 2017

Saturday, February 25, 2017

Thursday, January 05, 2017

hiking
Monday, October 03, 2016