Memorial Day Verkauf! Holen Sie sich ein Jahr AllTrails Pro für nur $14.99
Erste Schritte

Die Old Maverick Road ist ein 12,6 Meilen langer, leicht begehbarer Punkt-zu-Punkt-Pfad in der Nähe des Big Bend National Park, Texas, der malerische Ausblicke bietet und für alle Könnerstufen geeignet ist. Der Weg bietet zahlreiche Aktivitätsmöglichkeiten und ist das ganze Jahr über zugänglich.

ENTFERNUNG
12.6 Meilen
HÖHENUNTERSCHIED
193 Fuß
ROUTENTYP
Direkte Route

kinderfreundlich

Mountainbiking

Offroad-Fahren

Fahren mit Aussicht

Aussicht

steinig

keine Hunde

Eine verbesserte Schotterstraße im Big Bend National Park. Das nördliche Ende beginnt direkt am westlichen Eingang des Parks und endet am Santa Elena Canyon am Rio Grande River.

offroad-fahren
3 months ago

Dies ist für Personen gedacht, die an Offroad-Fahren interessiert sind. Der Pfad ist ein Muss und ideal für Ihre Orientierung im Big Bend National Park. Am Ende des Pfades sollten Sie zur Beobachtung gehen und dann den Wanderweg zum Santa Elena Canyon. Auf dem Weg halten Sie, um Lunas Jacal zu besuchen und sich über diesen bemerkenswerten Mann zu informieren. Machen Sie einen Abstecher auf den Weg Terlingua Abaja, um die Ruinen einer landwirtschaftlichen Gemeinde zu besuchen. Die meisten Ruinen befinden sich auf der gegenüberliegenden Seite des Terlingua Creek. Das Laufwerk selbst ist nichts Besonderes. Meine Erfahrung war besonders erschütternd, weil der größte Teil der Straße mit Waschbrettwäschen bedeckt war. Entfernung 12,6 Meilen.

Friday, April 06, 2018

Holprig, aber tolle Abkürzung zu Santa Elena. Schöne Sicht auf eine primitive Struktur entlang des Weges.

Wednesday, March 21, 2018

Easy Drive sah einen Tour-Bus ohne Probleme.

offroad-fahren
Sunday, December 31, 2017

Großartige Fahrt. Hatte einen Bobcat direkt vor mir die Straße überquert. Die meiste Zeit Washboardy. Ende Dezember glaube ich, dass die meisten Autos diesen Weg einschlagen könnten, wenn Sie nicht niedrig sind. Ich wünschte, es wäre schlimmer, so dass ich meinen 4x4 benutzen könnte. Luna Jacals Haus war ein schöner Zwischenstopp.

mountainbiking
Saturday, April 22, 2017

Tolle Schotterstraße mit sehr schönen Wüstensehenswürdigkeiten und Geräuschen, früh am Morgen, Ende April, 104

Wednesday, March 29, 2017

Genossen die Fahrt.

fahren mit aussicht
Saturday, October 10, 2015

Ich bin diesen Weg im Oktober 2015 erneut gefahren. Ich hatte über ein unbekanntes Grab etwa 1 Meile nördlich von Luna gelesen. Ich fand es und fand heraus, dass es ein weiteres Grab auf der Mesa neben der Straße nach Westen gibt. Hinter dem Hügel östlich des Grabes befindet sich auch eine Ruine. Eine einfache Möglichkeit, diese zu finden, ist die Haltestelle, an der die Stromleitung die Straße überquert. Das Straßengrab liegt etwa 200 Meter südlich der Stromleitung, die sich auf der Westseite kreuzt.

Sunday, May 24, 2015

Unglaubliche Ausblicke und Waschvorgänge sind nur dann schlecht, wenn Sie nicht richtig vorbereitet sind oder einer der Menschen sind, die versuchen, Ihren Lamborghini auf die Spur zu bringen!

offroad-fahren
Saturday, March 03, 2012

Einige Waschvorgänge können nach einem Regen ziemlich rau werden. Lunas Jacal (Zuhause) ist ein interessanter Ort. In der ersten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts zog er dort eine große Familie auf

Tuesday, January 02, 2018

fahren mit aussicht
Wednesday, December 18, 2013

Empfohlene Wege

Old Maverick OHV Route

easy 21 reviews
#40 of 72 trails in

Old Maverick OHV Route is a 12.6 mile lightly trafficked point-to-point trail located near Terlingua, Texas that offers scenic views and is good for all skill levels. The trail is primarily used for mountain biking and ohv/off road driving and is accessible year-round.

Distance: 12.6 miles Elevation Gain: 193 feet Route Type: Point to Point

mountain biking

ohv / off road driving

views

rocky

historic site

no dogs

An improved gravel road in the Big Bend National Park. The north end starts just inside the west entrance of the Park, and ends at Santa Elena Canyon on the Rio Grande River.

29 days ago

Cool road across the desert. Washboards are pretty rough in a 3/4 ton. Keep your speed up and it's not as bad. Camped at Rattlesnake Mountain, primitive so only a bear box.

hiking
rocky
1 month ago

Rougher than what i remember.

scenic driving
3 months ago

4wd not even needed when trail is dry. 2wd trucks and SUVs would do just find. some dry creek bed crossing and a few sandy spots that have been packed down.. but if it's rain and the trail is muddy, dont try with 2wd and street tires..

ohv/off road driving
no shade
rocky
6 months ago

After reading reviews we used this trail as a short cut from Santa Elena Canyon to Terlingua. It was great and saved us about 45 minutes. We were in a 4 Runner with 4WD. We took the entire road in 4 high however, we didn’t really need it. At the time of our drive this trail was more like a gravel road. The low areas were still flat and easily traveled. As conditions change I would still recommend 4WD to travel this trail.

ohv/off road driving
8 months ago

Short cut from Terlingua to Santa Elena Canyon. Rocky and dusty with wash-outs, so definitely don't do if it's rained w/o 4x4.

ohv/off road driving
Wed Feb 20 2019

This is written for persons interested in off-road driving. The is a must do trail and ideal for your orientation to Big Bend National Park. At the end of the trail you should go to the observation and then the hiking trail to the Santa Elena Canyon Along the trail stop to visit Luna's Jacal and read up on this remarkable man. Detour onto the Terlingua Abaja trail to visit the ruins of a farming commuity. Most of the ruins are on the opposite side of the Terlingua Creek. The drive itself is nothing special. My experience was particually jarring because most of the road was covered in washboard washouts. Distance 12.6 miles.

Fri Apr 06 2018

Bumpy, but great shortcut to Santa Elena. Nice sighting of a primitive structure along the way.

Wed Mar 21 2018

Easy drive saw a tour bus taking it with no problem.

ohv/off road driving
Sun Dec 31 2017

Great drive. Had a Bobcat cross the road right in front of me. Washboardy most of the time. End of December I believe most cars could take this road if you weren’t low low. Wish it was worse so I could use my 4x4. Luna Jacal’s house was a nice pit stop to view.

mountain biking
Sat Apr 22 2017

Great gravel road with very nice desert sights and sounds, go early morning, 104 in late April

Wed Mar 29 2017

Enjoyed the drive.

scenic driving
Sat Oct 10 2015

Drove this trail again in Oct 2015. I had read about an unknown grave about 1 mile north of Luna's. I found it, and found out there is another grave on the mesa next to the one by the road to the west. There is also a ruin around behind the hill to the east of the grave. An easy way to find these is the stop where the power line crosses the road. The roadside grave is about 200 feet south of the power line crossing on the west side.

Sun May 24 2015

Incredible views and the washes are only bad if you're improperly prepared or are one of those people trying to take your Lamborghini on the trail!

ohv/off road driving
Sat Mar 03 2012

Some of the washes can become pretty rough after a rain. Luna's Jacal (home) is an interesting place. He raised a large family there in the first half of the 1900's

ohv/off road driving
1 month ago

hiking
1 month ago

scenic driving
7 months ago

ohv/off road driving
Sat Feb 17 2018

Tue Jan 02 2018

scenic driving
Wed Dec 18 2013