Lytle's Loop Trail is a 4.4 mile lightly trafficked loop trail located near San Antonio, Texas that features beautiful wild flowers and is good for all skill levels. The trail offers a number of activity options and is best used from February until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
4.4 miles
DÉNIVELÉ
131 pieds
TYPE D'ITINÉRAIRE
Boucle

chiens en laisse

convient aux enfants

randonnée

VTT

activités en pleine nature

course de trail

balade

ornithologie

forêt

vue panoramique

fleurs sauvages

faune

rocheux

pas d’ombre

randonnée
19 days ago

Grande balade. Peu de changement d'élévation mais rien que toute personne capable de corps puisse faire. Grand sentier d'initiation ou de vitesse pour quelqu'un qui veut sortir mais n'a pas beaucoup de temps.

randonnée
21 days ago

C'est un sentier facile pour les débutants qui recherchent un sentier pas trop dur. Beau plat.

randonnée
3 months ago

La plupart des sentiers de l'arrière-pays étaient fermés, nous avons donc opté pour ce beau sentier de randonnée. ce serait parfait pour un trail ou juste pour une promenade en soirée. Il n’ya rien de spectaculaire, mais c’est joli et j’ai vu des tonnes de papillons. Le sentier est plat avec seulement quelques roches ici et là.

10 months ago

J'ai adoré ce sentier

10 months ago

Belle piste à parcourir. J'adore le sentier et les vues.

randonnée
11 months ago

Des paysages magnifiques et une excellente escapade!

randonnée
Saturday, February 17, 2018

Belle piste, bien entretenue. Plusieurs endroits ont beaucoup de roches en vrac.

course de trail
Monday, January 15, 2018

Super facile sentier pas sûr pourquoi il est marqué modéré! 4,90 du parking et retour. Je cours une fois par semaine et c'est super facile

Sunday, November 05, 2017

Très belle piste. Mes enfants et moi l'avons fait en un peu plus de 2 heures.

course de trail
Saturday, September 30, 2017

Partiellement ombragé et très peu élevé en fait une course super facile Les coûts d'entrer dans le parc d'état. Chiens admis dans les sentiers de campagne.

Saturday, May 20, 2017

Bonne promenade! Sentier en très bon état.

randonnée
Monday, April 24, 2017

Très plat avec peu de paysages et peu d'ombre. Apportez de la crème solaire! Mieux vaut faire du trail qu’une randonnée panoramique.

Sunday, April 23, 2017

C’était bien… il y avait un chiot avec moi, alors vous ne pouvez pas partir sur d’autres sentiers Plat, pas beaucoup de paysages.

randonnée
Tuesday, April 04, 2017

J'ai parcouru ce sentier avec mon chien. C'était une journée très chaude et ensoleillée. Ce sentier est composé d'environ 70% de soleil et de 30% d'ombre; le soleil l'a rendu un peu plus difficile. C'était un bon sentier. Quelques zones qui étaient belles avec des fleurs, mais pas de vues panoramiques

randonnée
Sunday, April 02, 2017

Grand sentier pour un matin tôt. N'y irais pas en fin d'après-midi car il y aurait trop de soleil. Je portais mes chaussures de course ici et c'était une erreur. Il y avait beaucoup de cailloux et le temps était brumeux, donc glissant. Je porterai certainement mes chaussures de randonnée pour les randonnées futures ici.

Monday, January 23, 2017

balade facile à modérée à vélo. certains domaines difficiles, mais dans l'ensemble un grand 5 miles.

randonnée
Wednesday, October 12, 2016

Belle piste à faible trafic dans le Govt Canyon. Nous sommes allés un lundi avec nos deux chiens et n'avons rencontré que quelques cyclistes. Le paysage était superbe, les fleurs en fleurs et le temps était parfait. #freerangehiking

randonnée
Saturday, September 24, 2016

Un peu trop pour la première randonnée de la saison quand vous êtes tombé en panne. Pas mal de décors.

vélo de route
Monday, September 19, 2016

Site trompeur. Il vous est demandé de vous inscrire et de créer un compte, mais vous ne pourrez pas télécharger et / ou imprimer de carte du sentier que vous souhaitez essayer, à moins de mettre à niveau $$$ vers PRO.

Sunday, May 22, 2016

Bonne piste pour promener les chiens. Paysage varié.

Saturday, January 09, 2016

C'était facile, mais un peu trop long pour nos 6 et 8 ans.

randonnée
Tuesday, December 22, 2015

Coût de l'argent pour entrer, alors apportez de l'argent ou un chéquier.

randonnée
Wednesday, October 07, 2015

Pas beaucoup de couvertures alors apportez de l'eau et un écran solaire

VTT
Monday, October 05, 2015

Ramassé de la bonne vitesse sur ce sentier. Offre une variété de disciplines d'équitation à aborder. Cela lui aurait donné 5 étoiles s'il n'y avait pas eu des rochers lâches au hasard dispersés le long du sentier.

randonnée
Saturday, March 21, 2015

Bon sentier pour voir la nature et les oiseaux.

Sunday, October 19, 2014

10-18-14 est allé avec un couple de personnes. assez technique et à la hauteur de mes attentes. préparez-vous à en faire un peu si vous n'êtes pas assez expérimenté.

balade
Saturday, August 02, 2014

Belle promenade facile à travers la brosse à récurer Texas. Pris le chien et il a passé un bon moment aussi.

course de trail
Friday, June 20, 2014

Je gère assez souvent la zone naturelle du gouvernement Canyon State State, généralement celle de Lytle's Loop / Savannah Loop, avec les chiens. Une piste rapide et facile de 5 à 7 miles. J'ai décidé d'essayer le sentier Joe Johnston dans l'arrière-pays le week-end dernier. 10 miles aller et retour. JJ est un sentier beaucoup plus accidenté, technique, rocheux et vallonné, mais compense par de meilleurs points d’intérêt et de points de vue. Nous sommes allés un vendredi matin, donc il n'y avait que quelques autres coureurs et deux cyclistes de montagne sur le sentier. Exécutez le système de sentiers dans l’arrière-pays si vous recherchez des sentiers techniques plus longs pour vous préparer à un ultra. Prenez de l'eau, bien qu'il y ait des salles de bains et des fontaines sur les terrains de stationnement. Le coût pour entrer dans le SCN est de 7 $, je pense, bien que j'aie acheté un laissez-passer annuel qui donne accès à tout le SNA du Texas. Cela vaut bien le coût si vous envisagez d'utiliser le système de parc. Assurez-vous de prendre une carte des sentiers avant de partir. Globalement, un bon parcours technique. A bientôt sur les sentiers.

VTT
Wednesday, March 12, 2014

est allé joe johnson, en haut du chat sauvage à sendero balcones autour de joe j. puis les carottes redescendent joe j pour se recharger et très loin pour faire demi-tour pour une belle descente. recommandations: les chênes jumeaux doivent être descendus, le chat sauvage est une pente technique montante, quelques montées descendantes, et le fond est soit une montée en montée ou une grande descente (du nord au sud). dans l’ensemble, une bonne journée sera prête pour que vos bras et vos jambes soient battus.

randonnée
Sunday, February 23, 2014

A pris Joe Johnston à Sendero Balcones à Twin Oaks de retour à Joe Johnston, environ une randonnée de 9,8 miles, beaucoup de rochers le long du chemin, pas beaucoup sur les vues. Beaucoup de gens apprécient les sentiers, vététistes, coureurs et randonneurs.

Charger plus

Lytle's Loop Trail

EASY 75 reviews

Lytle's Loop Trail is a 4.4 mile lightly trafficked loop trail located near San Antonio, Texas that features beautiful wild flowers and is good for all skill levels. The trail offers a number of activity options and is best used from February until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
4.4 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
131 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

dogs on leash

kid friendly

birding

hiking

mountain biking

nature trips

trail running

walking

forest

views

wild flowers

wildlife

rocky

no shade

hiking
1 month ago

Gorgeous scenery and an excellent getaway!

hiking
2 months ago

Nice trail, well maintained. Several places have a lot of loose rocks.

trail running
3 months ago

Super easy trail not sure why it’s marked moderate! 4.90 from parking lot and back. I run this once a week and it’s super easy

Very nice trail. My kids and I did it in a little over 2 hours.

trail running
6 months ago

Partly shaded and very little elevation makes this a super easy run. Costs to enter state park. Dogs allowed in front country trails.

11 months ago

Good walk! Trail in great condition.

hiking
11 months ago

Very flat with little scenery and little shade. Bring sunscreen! Better for trail running than a scenic hike.

11 months ago

It was ok...had a pup with me so you can't go on any other trails. Flat, not much scenery.

hiking
Tuesday, April 04, 2017

I hiked this trail with my dog. It was a very hot, sunny day. This trail is about 70% sun 30% shade so the sun made it a little more challenging. It was an ok trail. A few areas that were nice with flowers, but no scenic overlooks

hiking
Sunday, April 02, 2017

Great trail for an early morning. Wouldn't go in the late afternoon because there would be too much sun. I wore my running shoes here and that was a mistake. Lots of rocks and it happened to be misty out so it was slippery. I'll definitely wear my hiking boots for future hiking here.

Monday, January 23, 2017

easy to moderate bike ride. some challenging areas but over all a great 5 miles.

hiking
Wednesday, October 12, 2016

Nice, lightly trafficked trail in Govt Canyon. We went on a Monday with our two dogs and only encountered a few mountain bikers. Scenery was great, flowers in bloom and the weather was perfect.

#freerangehiking

hiking
Saturday, September 24, 2016

A bit too much for first hike of season when you fallen out of shape. Not bad scenery wise.

road biking
Monday, September 19, 2016

Deceptive site. You are asked to sign up and create an account but you will not be able to download and/or print any maps of the trail that you want to try, unless you upgrade $$$ to PRO.

Sunday, May 22, 2016

Good trail to take the dogs for a walk. Varied landscape.

Saturday, January 09, 2016

Was easy, but a little too long for our 6 & 8 year olds.

hiking
Tuesday, December 22, 2015

Cost's money to get in, so bring cash or a checkbook.

hiking
Wednesday, October 07, 2015

Not much cover so bring water and sun block

mountain biking
Monday, October 05, 2015

Picked up some good speed on this trail. Offers a variety of riding disciplines to tackle. Would have given it 5 stars if it weren't for the random loose rocks scattered along the trail.

hiking
Saturday, March 21, 2015

Good trail to see nature and birds.

Sunday, October 19, 2014

10-18-14
went with a couple people. technical enough and held up to my expectations. be prepared to hike a bit of it if you're not experienced enough.

walking
Saturday, August 02, 2014

Nice, easy walk through the Texas scrub brush. Took the dog and he had a good time, too.

trail running
Friday, June 20, 2014

I run Government Canyon State Natural Area (SNA) quite a bit, usually Lytle's Loop/Savannah Loop in the front country, with the dogs. A quick, easy 5-7 mile trail run. I decided to try the Joe Johnston trail in the back country section this past weekend. 10 miles out and back. JJ is a much more rugged, technical, rocky, hilly trail, but compensates with better points of interest and views. Went on a Friday morning, so there were only a few other runners and two mtn bikers on the trail. Definitely run the trail system in the back country if you are looking for longer, technical trail runs in prep for an ultra. Take water, although there are bathrooms and water fountains at the parking lots. Cost to enter the SNA is $7 I think, although I purchased an annual pass that grants access to all Texas SNA. Well worth the cost if you plan to use the park system. Make sure to grab a trail map before you head out. All in all a good technical trail. See you on the trails.

mountain biking
Wednesday, March 12, 2014

went joe johnson, up wildcat to sendero balcones around to joe j. then carrols loop back down joe j to recharge and up far reaches to turn back around for a great downhill. recommendations: twin oaks should be ridden down, wildcat was technical uphill w a few downward slopes, and far reaches is either a BRUTAL uphill climb or a great downhill (north to south). over all a great day be ready for your arms back and legs to get beaten.

hiking
Sunday, February 23, 2014

Took Joe Johnston to Sendero Balcones to Twin Oaks back to Joe Johnston, about a 9.8 mile hike, plenty of rocks along the way, not much on views. Lots of people enjoying the trails, mountain bikers, runners and hikers alike.

hiking
Wednesday, February 19, 2014

Hiked Joe Johnston Route and Caroline's Loop. Made the mistake of hiking in August and it was very hot. Started the trail at 7am, but there is not much shade through large portions of the trail. There are some sharp rocks to navigate, but overall the trail is very easy. Elevation gain is minimal and should be suitable for any hiker.

mountain biking
Sunday, February 09, 2014

Very easy trail for hiking or mountain biking. This trail, which is in the frontcountry, is dog friendly.

mountain biking
Saturday, March 23, 2013

Hurried out there following work on a Friday. Like most people have said, it is very rocky. Was a rough ride but the joe Johnson wasn't too bad, the other trails like wildcat and Sendero got really rocky. All in all not a bad ride, but like in other reviewers, of I return it will be to hike.

hiking
Tuesday, March 05, 2013

Beautiful hike. We took some other trails and spend about five hours in the park.

hiking
Saturday, February 23, 2013

Took the Johnston trail to Wildcat Canyon, then to the Balcones trail, definitely lots of trails here, not much to look at as far as views go, lots of mountain cedar mixed in with Oak trees, mountain laurel, and lots of rock lol, trails are pretty rocky, even for mountain bikes, so be sure to take it slow!

Load More