Der Lower Sunset Trail ist ein 7 km langer Wanderweg in der Nähe von El Paso, Texas, der wunderschöne Wildblumen beherbergt und nur für sehr erfahrene Abenteurer empfohlen wird. Der Weg wird hauptsächlich zum Wandern, Trailrunning und Mountainbiken genutzt und ist das ganze Jahr über begehbar. Hunde können diesen Weg auch benutzen.

Entfernung: 7.0 miles Höhenunterschied: 1,043 feet Routentyp: Hin & zurück

hundefreundlich

Wandern

Mountainbiking

Trailrunning

Wildblumen

Wandern Sie durch ein Wüstental entlang des Lower Sunset Trail. Parken Sie im Picknickbereich 1-5. Wandern Sie auf der asphaltierten Straße in Richtung Westen zum Ausgangspunktkiosk. Folgen Sie dem Pfad nach Westen und bergab, bis Sie nach ca. 0,65 Meilen nach Norden abbiegen (rechts). Weiter auf dem Weg nach Norden. Der Weg schlängelt sich in den Arroyos hinein und aus diesen heraus. An der Gabelung nehmen Wanderer und Anfänger die rechte Seite.

wandern
kein schatten
steinig
5 months ago

Tolle kleine Wanderung nach Loop 3 und zurück.

wandern
Sunday, June 03, 2018

Ich dachte, es wäre ein ziemlich einfacher Weg zum Wandern. Der junge Sohn meines Freundes (etwa 10 Jahre alt) kam zu uns und er hatte keine Probleme damit. Für das Mountainbiken denke ich, dass es ein viel schwierigerer Weg ist. Ich habe ziemlich coole Fossilien gesehen.

Mountainbiking
Sunday, April 22, 2018

Gnarisch und lustig

Friday, February 16, 2018

Dies war ein großartiger Weg. Wir haben es nicht unbedingt schwer gefunden. Wir haben etwas abseits der Strecke gefahren, was uns etwa eine Extrameile brachte. Wir landeten auf dem Schaffer Trail und schlangen ihn in unseren Spaziergang ein, der zu Beginn des oberen Sonnenuntergangs endete, also gingen wir zurück zum unteren Sunset Trail und beendeten den Trail wieder. Der schwierigste Teil sind lockere Felsen und das Wandern. Insgesamt haben wir damit etwa 9,16 Meilen daraus gemacht.

Mountainbiking
Monday, April 10, 2017

Dies ist ein schwieriger Weg. Wir haben mit dem kleinen Offshoot angefangen, das als "Anfängerpfad" aufgeführt wird. Es ist ein gutes Aufwärmen und es ist ziemlich einfach. Das Schwierigste daran ist etwas loser Fels in einigen Kurven, so dass das Vorderteil leicht herausgespült werden kann. Hier ist ein Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1RHFguIMyhs Danach fahren wir auf der langen Schleife weiter und biegen rechts ein paar Meilen nach rechts ab. Ich hasse es, den schwierigeren Teil zu sehen! Heilige Kuh, es war technisch und hatte viele Steine! Der Aufstieg war sehr anstrengend. Es wird steil und richtig steinig. Der Wanderweg endet am Pavillon Nr. 39 oben auf der Parkstraße. Wenn ich es noch einmal mache, fange ich oben an und fahre rückwärts, so dass es etwas mehr bergab geht. Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L8DsCbNRWSA

wandern
Monday, February 20, 2017

Toller Rundweg. Wir haben die 1. Abkürzung genommen und sind zurückgekommen. Es sagt uns, dass es ein harter Weg ist, aber wo wir hingegangen sind, ist es eigentlich einfach. Es könnte sehr lange dauern, wenn Sie den ganzen Weg gehen.

wandern
Sunday, May 15, 2016

Wir sind einen klassischen Weg im Herzen der Franklin Mountains gegangen. Es ist schwer zu sagen, wie oft wir den Ort besucht haben. Trotzdem war es eine Freude, es wieder zu tun. Der Weg ist eher lang als schwierig, etwa 9 Meilen mit einer Höhenänderung in der Nähe von 800 Fuß. Um die Schleife, die Teil unseres Weges war, abzuschließen, benutzten wir einen Teil eines alten Weges. Starke Winde begleiteten uns die ganze Zeit. Diese Tatsache übt Druck auf die Reise aus, bringt aber den Vorteil, dass man sich kühl hält. Wir genossen die blühenden weißen Dornakazien mit ihren kleinen gelben Blüten. Die stacheligen Birnen fangen an, ihre schönen Blumen zu zeigen. Ich weiß, dass wir wieder kommen werden.

wandern
Sunday, November 29, 2015

Ansichten waren besser als erwartet.

wandern
7 days ago

wandern
1 month ago

wandern
9 months ago

Sunday, April 29, 2018

wandern
Wednesday, March 28, 2018

Saturday, January 06, 2018

wandern
Saturday, November 18, 2017

wandern
Sunday, October 29, 2017

Mountainbiking
Saturday, February 07, 2015

Empfohlene Wege

Lower Sunset Trail [CLOSED]

moderateYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray Star(30)
Franklin Mountains State Park

Lower Sunset Trail is a 7 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near El Paso, Texas that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, running, and mountain biking and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail.

Distance: 7.0 miles Elevation Gain: 1,043 feet Route Type: Out & Back

dog friendly

hiking

mountain biking

running

views

wild flowers

closed

no shade

This trail is experiencing full or partial closure due to COVID-19. Please see the open trails nearby for alternate hiking options. Hike through a desert valley along the Lower sunset Trail. Park in picnic area 1-5. Hike west on the paved road to the trailhead kiosk. Follow the trail west and down-hill to about 0.65 miles where the trail will turn north (right). Continue north on the trail. The trail will wind in and out of the arroyos. At the fork, hikers and novice bikers take the right side.

hiking
no shade
4 months ago

I have walked this trail several times and I always enjoy the beautiful views of the Franklin mountains and the desert vegetation. Today I did it with four of my friends and only completed half of the path but we had a good time.

hiking
no shade
off trail
rocky
7 months ago

hiking
no shade
rocky
Tue Feb 26 2019

Great little hike to loop 3 and back.

running
Sat Feb 02 2019

Great for single running, nice areas in it where you can get lost in your thoughts or just openly jam to your music. I recommend this trail , just be aware of the turns because it's easy to miss them

hiking
Sun Jun 03 2018

I thought it was a fairly easy trail for hiking. My friend’s young son (about 10 yrs old) joined us and he had no issues doing it. For mountain biking though I do feel it would be a much harder trail. Saw some pretty cool fossils.

mountain biking
Sun Apr 22 2018

Gnarly and fun

Fri Feb 16 2018

This was a great trail. We did not necessarily find it hard. We did get a little off track which we got in about an extra mile. We ended up on Schaffer trail and looped it into our walk ending up at the start of the upper sunset so we just walked back down to the lower sunset trail and finished the trail back out. The hardest part is loose rocks and hiking back up and out. So total we got about 9.16 miles out of it.

mountain biking
Mon Apr 10 2017

This is a difficult trail. We started with the little off shoot that's listed as the "beginner trail" Its a good warm up and is pretty easy. Hardest part about it is some of the loose rock in some of the turns making it easy to wash the front end out. Heres a video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1RHFguIMyhs After that we continue on the long loop taking the right fork a few miles in that says its the easier of the two trails. Id hate to see the harder part! Holy cow it was technical and had a lot of rocks! The climb out was very tiring. It gets steep and really rocky. The trail ends at the top of the park road at pavilion # 39. If I do it again, I will start at the top and ride it backwards so theres a little more downhill. Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L8DsCbNRWSA

hiking
Mon Feb 20 2017

Great round trip trail. We took the 1st shortcut and came back around. It says it's a hard trail but where we went it is actually easy. It could be very long if you go all the way around.

hiking
Sun May 15 2016

We walked a classic trail in the heart of the Franklin Mountains. It is difficult to say how many times we have visited the place. Never the less, it was a pleasure to do it again. The trail is rather long than difficult, around 9 miles with a change in altitude close to 800 feet. To complete the loop that was part of our path, we used a portion of an old trail. Strong winds accompanied us all the time. This fact put some pressure in the journey but bring the benefit of keep yourself cool. We enjoyed the white thorn acacias in bloom with their tiny yellow flowers. The prickly pears are starting to show their beautiful flowers. I know that we will be back again.

hiking
Sun Nov 29 2015

Views were better than expected.

recorded Recording - May 29, 01:33 PM

hiking
22 hours ago

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
3 months ago

mountain biking
6 months ago

hiking
9 months ago

hiking
11 months ago

running
11 months ago

mountain biking
Sun Apr 28 2019

hiking
Sun Nov 11 2018

hiking
Sun Aug 05 2018

Sun Apr 29 2018

hiking
Wed Mar 28 2018

Sat Jan 06 2018

Showing results 1 - 27 of 30