Viking Mountain Road: Allen Gap to Little Bald Mountain

DIFFICILE 19 avis
N°43 sur 132 randonnées à

Viking Mountain Road: De Allen Gap à Little Bald Mountain est un sentier de 5,8 kilomètres situé près de Greeneville, dans le Tennessee, qui offre une vue panoramique et qui est considéré comme difficile. Le sentier est principalement utilisé pour le vélo de montagne et la conduite panoramique et est accessible toute l'année. Les chiens peuvent aussi utiliser ce sentier mais doivent être tenus en laisse.

Distance: 15.8 miles Dénivelé: 2,713 feet Type d'itinéraire: Aller-retour

chiens en laisse

VTT

conduite scénique

voie partiellement aménagée

vue panoramique

randonnée
rocheux
8 days ago

Sentier facile, randonnée courte jusqu'au rock bluff si vous conduisez jusqu'au sommet.

randonnée
1 month ago

une vue incroyable

5 months ago

peut être atteint en voiture. viking Mtn a une route qui mène au sommet. Lorsque le gravier se termine, restez sur le paiement

7 months ago

belle section du sentier des Appalaches.

9 months ago

Vistas fantastiques le long du chemin. Quelques endroits cachés qui vous mettent sur le bord pour voir toute la vallée et la plage. Fort vandalisme et déchets à certains endroits. Pourrait utiliser une certaine surveillance et nettoyer. Fun pour 4x4 hors route dans certaines régions. Beaucoup de sentiers à d'autres endroits dans certaines régions. Peut être boueux par moments.

Sunday, September 09, 2018

Je ne recommanderais pas cela comme une randonnée mais c'est une belle route! Je l'ai fait assez facilement dans la voiture de mon break. La route est en très bon état et très peu de graviers. Garé au sommet et parcouru le reste du chemin jusqu'à Camp Creek Cove et le long de l'AT. Respirez en prenant des vues le long du chemin, ça vaut vraiment le détour!

conduite tout-terrain
Friday, July 27, 2018

Des vues incroyables qui valent vraiment la peine de revenir en arrière. Vous n'avez pas «besoin» de quatre roues motrices car je ne l'ai pas utilisé une seule fois, mais vous DEVEZ un dégagement en raison de gros rochers sur la route et de conditions difficiles. Lorsque vous arrivez au sommet, suivez le black-top qui vous mènera à un parking improvisé. À 15 minutes à pied de la magnifique falaise.

Monday, July 09, 2018

La vue était spectaculaire. Vous pouvez voir des kilomètres et des kilomètres.

Friday, April 27, 2018

Ne le recommandez pas comme randonnée, car tout se passe sur une route de gravier, mais il s’agit d’un joli trajet avec une vue imprenable sur la campagne au sommet de la montagne.

course de trail
Monday, February 19, 2018

C'est une course difficile mais la vue en vaut la peine

Monday, July 03, 2017

Belle vue!

Wednesday, January 06, 2016

impressionnant

Monday, December 21, 2015

Ce sentier m'a donné un avant-goût des 4 sections AT précédentes que j'ai parcourues cet automne. Je l'ai apprécié assez pour le faire à nouveau. Nous avons commencé avec 1 "+ de neige; le vent était parfois fort; le niveau était mélangé - toutes les pièces étaient agréables, même la grimpe! Les vues panoramiques étaient FABULEUSES! Neige, glace, neige fondue, déodorant, humide, humide et partiellement sec faisaient partie de la randonnée d’aujourd’hui de Viking Mtn à Devil's Fork Gap.

randonnée
Monday, March 09, 2015

Nous avons fait de la randonnée depuis la montagne viking jusqu'au sommet de Horse Creek. C'est une randonnée de cinq heures, plus une heure si vous vous garez au bas du sentier Horse Creek. Le sentier a de belles vues surtout à l'automne. La plupart du sentier est modéré avec quelques pentes.

conduite tout-terrain
Monday, September 16, 2013

C'était une belle route avec quelques pistes hors route mélangées. La vue du sommet (4500 pieds d'altitude, selon mon GPS) était belle. J'aimerais vraiment y retourner quand il y a de la neige!

conduite scénique
Saturday, August 24, 2013

Le trajet en voiture jusqu'à Viking Mountain est très beau ... il y a plusieurs endroits pour se retirer et profiter du paysage. La route est pavée à mi-hauteur puis un gravier assez décent au sommet. Il y a de petites cascades qui sortent des rochers en été et qui forment une belle sculpture de glace en hiver. Ma famille et moi allons souvent au Viking Mtn. Les sentiers sont assez faciles, ma randonnée la plus récente était celle des falaises de Blackstack, qui ne figurent pas sur ce site. Mais ils sont magnifiques et la vue est fantastique !! La zone est adaptée aux chiens, mais la falaise de blackstack est un peu difficile vers la fin, il y a un petit rocher que vous devez descendre. Super voyage en toute saison.

6 months ago

Tuesday, November 21, 2017

Monday, October 30, 2017

Randonnées populaires

Memorial Day Sale! Get a year of AllTrails Pro for only $14.99
Get Started

Viking Mountain Road: Allen Gap to Little Bald Mountain

hardYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray Star(20)
Cherokee National Forest

Viking Mountain Road: Allen Gap to Little Bald Mountain is a 15.8 mile lightly trafficked out and back trail located near Greeneville, Tennessee that offers scenic views and is rated as difficult. The trail is primarily used for mountain biking and scenic driving and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Distance: 15.8 miles Elevation Gain: 2,713 feet Route Type: Out & Back

dogs on leash

mountain biking

scenic driving

partially paved

views

Don’t let the paved road discourage you from doing this one on foot! The area is a bit too developed for my taste, and the view from the “bald” where the towers are (which is where the app leads you) isn’t much, but when you hop over to the AT and gaze out over the valley, you’ll find the whole trek was worth it.

hiking
rocky
7 months ago

Easy trail short hike to the rock bluff if you drive to the top.

hiking
8 months ago

amazing veiws

Wed Apr 24 2019

can be reached by car. there are trails all over this mountain but viking Mtn has a road to the top. When gravel ends just stay left on payment.

Thu Mar 07 2019

beautiful section of the Appalachian Trail.

Tue Jan 01 2019

Fantastic vistas along the way. Some hidden spots that put you right on the edge to view the whole valley and range. Heavy vandalism and littering in some spots. Could use some oversight and clean up. Fun for 4x4 off-road in some areas. Lots of trails to other spots in certain areas. Can be muddy at times.

Sun Sep 09 2018

I would not recommend this as a hike but it is a beautiful drive! I made it up the mountain in my station wagon fairly easily. The road is in great condition with very little gravel wash outs. Parked at the top and hiked the rest of the way up to Camp Creek Cove and along the AT. Breathe taking views along the way definitely worth the drive up!

ohv/off road driving
Fri Jul 27 2018

Amazing views definitely worth the sketchy switch back drive. You don’t “need” four wheel drive as I didn’t use it once but you NEED clearance due to large rocks on the road and rugged conditions. When you get to the top follow the blacktop that will lead you to a makeshift parking lot from there it’s a 15 minute walk to the stunning cliffs.

Mon Jul 09 2018

The view was spectacular. You can see for miles and miles.

Fri Apr 27 2018

Don’t recommend this as a hike, as all of it is on a gravel road, but it is a pretty drive with an amazing view of the country side at the top of the mountain.

running
Mon Feb 19 2018

This is a hard run but the view is worth it

Mon Jul 03 2017

Beautiful view!

Wed Jan 06 2016

awesome

Mon Dec 21 2015

This trail gave me a taste of the 4 prior AT sections I've hiked this fall. I enjoyed it enough to hike it again. We started out with 1"+ of snow; wind was powerful at times; the grade was mixed - all parts were enjoyable, even the rock climb! Scenic views were FABULOUS! Snow, ice, slush, mush, wet, damp and partially dry were part of today's hike from Viking Mtn to Devil's Fork Gap.

hiking
Mon Mar 09 2015

We hiked from Viking mountain to the top of Horse Creek. This is a five hour hike, plus an hour if you park at the bottom of Horse Creek trail. The trail has nice views especially in the Fall. Most of the trail is moderate with a few inclines.

ohv/off road driving
Mon Sep 16 2013

It was a nice drive with some off-roading mixed in. The view from the top (4500 ft elevation, according to my GPS) was nice. I would definitely like to go back when there's some snow!

scenic driving
Sat Aug 24 2013

The drive to Viking Mountain is very beautiful... there are several places to pull off and enjoy the scenery. The road is paved half way up then a rather decent gravel to the top. There are small waterfalls that burst from the rocks on your drive up that are flowing in the summer, and form a beautiful ice sculpture in the winter. My family and I goto Viking Mtn often. The trails are fairly easy, my most recent hike was to the Blackstack Cliffs which are not featured on this site. But they are gorgeous and the view is fantastic!! The area is dog friendly however the blackstack cliff is a lil tricky towards the end, there is a small rock bluff that you must climb down. Awesome trip any season.

Mon Apr 22 2019

Tue Nov 21 2017

Mon Oct 30 2017