Spring Sale! Get a year of AllTrails Pro for only $14.99
Get Started

George S. Mickelson Trail is a 106.3 mile point-to-point trail located near Lead, South Dakota that features beautiful wild flowers and is good for all skill levels. The trail offers a number of activity options and is best used from April until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
106.3 miles
DÉNIVELÉ
5,226 pieds
TYPE D'ITINÉRAIRE
Point A à point B

chiens en laisse

convient aux fauteuils roulants

convient aux poussettes

randonnée

VTT

raquettes

course de trail

balade

vue panoramique

fleurs sauvages

VTT
Friday, October 20, 2017

Cela fait longtemps, mais j'ai adoré cette balade. Je ne pense pas pouvoir faire ce trajet maintenant car il était robuste avec beaucoup de changements d'altitude. Cela m'a pris 5 jours mais un coureur en pleine forme devrait le faire en deux.

VTT
Wednesday, August 30, 2017

Belle piste! Très bien entretenu et facile à conduire en 3 à 4 jours. J'ai emmené 7 scouts (âgés de 11 à 16 ans), tous adorant faire du vélo. Nous avons commencé au sommet et à la route. Les deux premiers jours, ils ont parcouru un peu plus de 20 km par jour et le dernier jour, ils ont parcouru 60 km jusqu'à la fin. Les hauteurs constituaient un défi suffisant, mais pas suffisant pour produire des larmes. Ils se sont tous soutenus et se sont bien amusés. Nous avons centré le groupe à Hill City, notre journée a commencé vers 8 heures et nous avons eu suffisamment de temps pour parcourir quelques kilomètres le matin et voir le site l'après-midi. Après la dernière étape, nous nous sommes arrêtés à Crazy Horse (ils y sont allés ce jour-là) et avons assisté au spectacle laser. Tout s'est bien passé et nous avons rencontré Dan An Jordan (des coureurs de trail qui travaillent pour le trail). Les deux gars ont été extrêmement serviables et ont encouragé les garçons à continuer à avancer et à profiter du sentier. Les garçons veulent déjà revenir pour le faire à nouveau.

course de trail
Monday, April 27, 2015

Nous avons parcouru le sentier d'Englewood Trailhead à Kirk Trailhead ce week-end sous une pluie battante. La surface de gravier le rend idéal pour la course et la marche, même par temps humide, car le gravier offre une bonne surface de gomme et ne fait pas de la circulation par mauvais temps.

VTT
Thursday, June 26, 2014

Un sentier absolument magnifique! Par intermittence, des cyclistes, des randonneurs, des marcheurs et des coureurs ont rencontré des passants. De Red Fern à Mystic, il y a une pente de 8% sur 8 km dont vous devez tenir compte si vous faites un aller-retour car c'est une longue montée! Le paysage est à couper le souffle. Vous aurez un signal GPS, mais il se peut que votre téléphone portable ne soit pas reçu. Portez des chaussures appropriées et apportez de l'eau même s'il y a des points d'eau intermittents. Aussi, assurez-vous de porter un écran solaire. Si vous parcourez la totalité des 109 km, vous devriez prévoir 12 heures de vélo.

randonnée
Sunday, September 02, 2012

gentil et perty

vélo de route
Friday, July 27, 2012

Nous avons parcouru 5 km au nord (et sommes revenus) du sentier depuis le début du sentier à Hill City, dans le Dakota du Sud. C'est l'un des plus beaux sentiers de vélo / randonnée que nous avons rencontrés. Bien que cela dérange probablement les gens qu'il y ait des frais quotidiens d'utilisation du sentier (ou que vous puissiez investir dans le laissez-passer annuel), il est évident que les fonds récoltés sont utilisés pour faire de cette aventure une aventure de premier ordre. L'ancien chemin de fer vous fait traverser des paysages spectaculaires dans les Black Hills; bosquets de trembles, pins ponderosa, bouleaux et autres arbres à feuilles persistantes. Pendant que nous faisions du vélo, nous avons accueilli des familles de dindons sauvages, de cerfs mulets, d'oiseaux, de tamias et d'écureuils. Il y a des aires de repos le long du parcours ainsi que des points d'eau. Nous nous sommes dirigés vers le nord pour pouvoir profiter de la descente en rentrant chez nous. "Merci, Dakota du Sud, pour ce joyau incroyable caché dans la vallée de ces magnifiques Black Hills.

course de trail
6 months ago

balade
8 months ago

VTT
8 months ago

randonnée
8 months ago

randonnée
8 months ago

randonnée
8 months ago

randonnée
8 months ago

course de trail
9 months ago

9 months ago

course de trail
Tuesday, September 19, 2017

randonnée
Saturday, August 19, 2017

randonnée
Thursday, July 20, 2017

vélo de route
Wednesday, July 19, 2017

Monday, April 17, 2017

randonnée
Wednesday, July 20, 2016

randonnée
Friday, May 27, 2016

Tuesday, November 24, 2015

Charger plus

George S. Mickelson Trail

EASY 14 reviews

George S. Mickelson Trail is a 106.5 mile point-to-point trail located near Dumont, South Dakota that features beautiful wild flowers and is good for all skill levels. The trail offers a number of activity options and is best used from April until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
106.5 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
7043 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Point to Point

dogs on leash

wheelchair friendly

hiking

mountain biking

snowshoeing

trail running

walking

views

wild flowers

trail running
5 days ago

mountain biking
25 days ago

Beautiful trail! Very well kept and easy to ride in 3 to 4 days. I took 7 boy scouts (ages 11 to 16), all love biking. We started at the top and road down. The first two days they rode a little over 20 miles a day and on the last day they rode 60 miles to the end. The up hills provided enough of a challenge , but not enough to produce tears. They all supported each other and had a great time. We centered the group in Hill City, our day started around 8 am and we had enough time to put in a few miles in the morning and site see in the afternoon. After the last leg, we stopped by Crazy Horse (they rode by it that day) and was treated to the laser show. Everything went smoothly and we meet Dan an Jordan (trail riders that work for the trail). Both guys were extremely helpful and encouraged the boys to keep moving and enjoying the trail. The boys are already wanting to return to do it again.

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
2 months ago

road biking
2 months ago

5 months ago

hiking
Wednesday, July 20, 2016

hiking
Friday, May 27, 2016

Tuesday, November 24, 2015

trail running
Monday, April 27, 2015

We ran the trail from Englewood Trailhead to Kirk Trailhead this weekend in light rain. The gravel surface makes it perfect for running and walking even in wet weather, as the gravel provides a good tread surface and is not rutted by traffic during wet weather.

mountain biking
Thursday, June 26, 2014

An absolutely beautiful trail! Intermittently came across people bike riding, hiking, walking and running on the trail. From Red Fern to Mystic, there is a 5 mile downhill 8% grade which you should account for if you are doing a round trip as it's quite a long climb! Scenery is breathtaking. You will have GPS Signal, but may not have Cell Phone Reception. Wear appropriate shoes and bring water although there are intermittent water stations. Also, make sure you wear sun screen. If you are doing the entire 109 mile trail, you should budget 12 hours of biking.

hiking
Sunday, September 02, 2012

nice and perty

road biking
Friday, July 27, 2012

We biked 5 miles north (and returned) of the trail from the trailhead in Hill City, South Dakota. This is one of the nicest bike/hike trails we have encountered. Although it probably bothers folks that there is a daily fee to use the trail (or you can invest in the annual pass), it's evident that the money raised is used to keep this a top notch adventure. The old railway takes you through some spectacular scenery in the Black Hills; groves of Aspens, Ponderosa Pines, Birch, and other evergreen trees. As we biked we greeted families of wild turkeys, mule deer, birds, chipmunks, and squirrels. There are bench rest areas along the way as well as water stations. We headed north so we could enjoy 'downhill on the way home." Thanks, South Dakota, for this amazing gem hidden in the valley of these beautiful Black Hills.

mountain biking
Wednesday, September 08, 2010