Santee Delta Wildlife Management Area East Loop

INTERMÉDIAIRE 15 avis
N°1 sur 1 randonnées à

Santee Delta Wildlife Management Area East Loop est un sentier en boucle de 6.3 miles peu fréquenté situé près de Georgetown, Caroline du Sud. Le sentier longe une rivière et sa difficulté est évaluée comme modérée. Le sentier offre plusieurs activités et sa meilleure utilisation est de février à novembre. Les chiens sont les bienvenus sur ce sentier.

Distance: 6.3 miles Dénivelé: 26 feet Type d'itinéraire: Boucle

chiens bienvenus

randonnée

balade

ornithologie

rivière

vue panoramique

faune

insectes

boueux

site historique

randonnée
10 days ago

APPORTER DU SPRAY BUG. Essayé d'aller faire un tour d'action de grâce, pensai que les insectes ne seraient pas mauvais, mais nous devions faire demi-tour après cinq minutes :(

randonnée
pas d'ombre
1 month ago

Je suis allé un samedi après-midi magnifique et venteux - je n'ai jamais vu une autre âme. Route / sentier en herbe large tondu, vues de la rivière et des plaines inondables, tonnes d'oiseaux, dont des canards, des merles rouges, des faucons et un aigle. A vu plusieurs jeunes gators et a entendu de nombreux animaux sauvages - supposer des gators - éclabousser dans l'eau alors que je passais devant. Beaucoup de «troncs de riz» le long du sentier pour contrôler les niveaux d'eau - ont dû chercher l'histoire quand je suis rentré chez moi. Chemin facile assez long pour une bonne marche d'entraînement.

randonnée
couvert de végétation
insectes
pas d'ombre
2 months ago

La randonnée était vraiment jolie à travers le delta et presque complètement sèche car il n’ya pas eu de précipitations importantes depuis plus de deux semaines et parce que la marée était basse (+0.46 ft, ce qui est bas cette période de l’année). Les insectes piqueurs étaient féroces et c'était assez humide avec peu d'ombre. Le sentier était un peu envahi par endroits et devait être bouffé. De plus, il y avait beaucoup d'herbe à puce et de sumac à poison sur le sol - pantalons longs recommandés! Nous avons vu plusieurs hérons bleus et divers oiseaux que nous n'avons pas pu identifier. Il y avait également de nombreux alligators juvéniles dans l'eau où le sentier passait au-dessus des écluses situées entre le fleuve et le delta. Notez que pour éviter de marcher le long de l'US-17, vous devez traverser le delta par le dernier sentier qui retourne au chemin menant au parking. Sinon, vous devrez marcher le long d'une épaule étroite d'US-17 (60 mi / h) pour revenir à votre véhicule.

randonnée
insectes
7 months ago

Très important de faire ce sentier avant mai. Il n'y a pas d'ombre et il fait très chaud. Les insectes sont implacables alors apportez un insectifuge. Fait cette erreur et avait 40 piqûres d'insectes sur moi. Globalement, un très beau sentier avec des tonnes d'animaux sauvages. J'ai réussi à voir 5 alligators et un bateau rempli d'oiseaux, dont un pygargue à tête blanche, un vautour turc, le faucon bleu, des cerfs-volants et plus encore. Crabes aussi. Globalement, une très bonne vue sur le marais, mais peu de changement de paysage au cours du sentier. Aussi n'a pas vu une seule semelle de toute la randonnée qui est toujours un plus

randonnée
8 months ago

Partis tôt le matin du 24 mars. Au fur et à mesure que la température monte, les insectes augmentent mais pas mal. Pas beaucoup d'ombre, alors prenez beaucoup d'eau quand il fait chaud. Jolie promenade, faune intéressante. Surveillez votre chien, car les alligators sont autour. J'y retournerai ...

insectes
10 months ago

Je dois y retourner pendant les mois les plus froids. La voiture était belle, mais une fois sortie de la voiture, les insectes fourmillaient à un niveau biblique. J'ai fait du jogging du bureau au vieux quai et ai regardé un pêcheur pendant un moment. Je voulais pagayer pendant un moment, mais l'eau semblait avoir un courant suffisamment puissant pour que je décide de ne pas le faire. Je veux vraiment y retourner quand les insectes sont aux abois.

randonnée
Sun Nov 11 2018

Belle piste ouverte. Sentier (route) serpente dans une ancienne rizière. La route était en bon état avec de la boue, mais facile à déplacer. Espace calme, avec quelques vues sur la rivière N Santee. Si vous y allez, prenez la quatrième à droite pour vous ramener au début. Sinon, vous devrez parcourir environ 500 mètres de l’autoroute 17N sans presque vous accoter. Bon exercice. Je le referais.

randonnée
Mon Mar 26 2018

Randonnée le 26/03/2018. Ensoleillé au milieu des années 60 et vent léger. Pas de bugs. Belle randonnée sur les digues de l'ancienne rizière transformée en refuge faunique. Facile à naviguer. Vu des pygargues à tête blanche, des grues, des vautours, plusieurs petits oiseaux et 3 alligators. Une fois que je me suis éloigné de l'autoroute, les seuls bruits que j'ai entendus étaient des oiseaux et des roseaux bruissant dans le vent. Je n'ai vu personne sauf un travailleur chargé de l'entretien des sentiers pendant tout le temps où j'étais là.

Sun Sep 03 2017

Sentier facile et grande faune. Observation de traces et de traces d'ours.

Sat Jul 08 2017

Herbe très envahie par la végétation, faites attention aux tiques! Beaucoup de traces de croisement des allumettes, mais rien de récent, des tonnes de cerfs, de ratons laveurs et autres signes d'animaux et une quantité décente d'oiseaux! Vu deux petits gators et un gar dans les canaux.

randonnée
Tue Oct 31 2017

Santee Delta Wildlife Management Area East Loop

moderateYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray Star(20)
Santee Delta Wildlife Management Area

Santee Delta Wildlife Management Area East Loop is a 6.3 mile lightly trafficked loop trail located near Georgetown, South Carolina that features a river and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, and bird watching and is best used from February until November. Dogs are also able to use this trail.

Distance: 6.3 miles Elevation Gain: 26 feet Route Type: Loop

dog friendly

hiking

walking

bird watching

river

views

wildlife

bugs

muddy

historic site

NOTE: This area is closed from November 15 to February 1 due to duck hunting season.

hiking
bugs
19 days ago

This would have been a 4*, but we were destroyed by bugs with buckets of 40% deet on. I wouldn’t go back unless it was VERY windy. It was otherwise beautiful and saw Cranes, Herrons, Alligators, and 500 tons of blackberries. The route can be shortened by either of the ———— cut offs shown on the map.

1 month ago

Great day for this trail. Warm and windy so the bugs weren't a factor. No one in sight just birds, turtles, gators, and a snake.

hiking
2 months ago

Lovely. Lots of trails, alligator sightings, beautiful trees, beautiful meditative bird sanctuary in the morning.

hiking
closed
5 months ago

This ENTIRE AREA closes from mid november until mid february. No open trails whatsoever. Really wish I would have known before coming. Parking area is not even gated, just signs at all the trailheads stating they are closed. apparently this area is only open when the bugs are swarming...

hiking
6 months ago

BRING BUG SPRAY. Tried to go for a thanksgiving walk figured the bugs wouldn’t be bad but we had to turn around after five minutes :(

hiking
no shade
7 months ago

Went on a beautiful, breezy Saturday afternoon- never saw another soul. Wide mown grass road/path, views of river and flood plains, tons of birds including ducks, redwing blackbirds, hawks and an eagle. Saw several juvenile gators and heard large wildlife - assume gators - splashing into water as I walked by. Many “rice trunks” along path to control water levels - had to look up the history when I got home. Easy path long enough for a good workout walk.

hiking
bugs
no shade
over grown
7 months ago

The hike was really pretty through the delta and almost completely dry because there’s been no significant rainfall for over two weeks and because it was low tide (+0.46 ft, which is low this time of year). The biting insects were fierce and it was quite humid with little shade. The trail was a bit overgrown in places and needed to be bushhogged. Also, there was a great deal of poison ivy and poison sumac on the ground—long pants recommended! We saw several blue herons and assorted other birds that we could not identify. There were also numerous juvenile alligators in the water where the trail passed over the locks between the river and the delta. Note that to avoid walking along US-17, you have to cut across the delta on the last trail that goes back to the path to the parking area. Otherwise, you’ll have to walk along a narrow shoulder of US-17 (60 mph) to get back to your vehicle.

hiking
bugs
Fri Apr 26 2019

Very important to do this trail before May. There is no shade and it gets very hot. The bugs are relentless so bring bug spray. Made that mistake and had 40 bug bites all over me. Overall a very nice trail with tons of wildlife. Managed to see 5 Alligators, and a boat load of birds, including a Bald Eagle, a Turkey Vulture, Blue Huron, Kites and more. Crabs as well. Overall a very good view of the swamp but not much changing landscape over the course of the trail. Also did not see a single sole the whole hike which is always a plus

hiking
Mon Mar 25 2019

Left early morning March 24th. As the temperature rose bugs increase but not bad. Not a lot of shade, so take plenty of water when hot. Pretty walk, interesting wildlife. Keep eye on your dog, as gators are around. Will go again....

bugs
Wed Jan 30 2019

I need to go back during the colder months. The drive in was beautiful, but once I got out of the car bugs were swarming on a biblical level. I jogged from the office area to the old dock and watched some fisherman for a bit. I wanted to paddle for a bit but the water looked like it had a strong enough under current that I decided not to. I definitely want to go back when the bugs are at bay.

hiking
Sun Nov 11 2018

Nice open trail. Trail (road) winds thru an old rice field. Road was in good condition with some mud but easy to get around. Quiet space, with some views of the N Santee River. If you go, take the fourth right to take you back to beginning. Otherwise, you will have to navigate about 500 yards of highway 17N with hardly any shoulder. Good exercise. Would do it again.

hiking
Mon Mar 26 2018

Hiked on 3/26/2018. Sunny mid 60’s and breezy. No bugs. Beautiful hike on levees of former rice plantation turned into wildlife refuge. Easy to navigate. Saw bald eagles, cranes, vultures, multiple smaller birds and 3 alligators. Once I got away from the highway, the only sounds I heard were birds and reeds rustling in the wind. Did not see anyone except one trail maintenance worker the whole time I was there.

Sun Sep 03 2017

Easy trail and great wildlife. Observed bear scat and tracks.

Sat Jul 08 2017

Grass very overgrown, watch out for ticks! Lots of signs of gator crossings but nothing recent, loads of deer, raccoon and other animal sign and a decent amount of birds! Saw two small gators and a gar in the channels.

hiking
Tue Oct 31 2017