Foothills Trail: Chattooga River

MODERATE 27 reviews
#9 of 29 trails in

Foothills Trail: Chattooga River is a 14.4 mile lightly trafficked out and back trail located near Mountain Rest, South Carolina that features a waterfall and is rated as moderate. The trail offers a number of activity options and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
14.4 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
2293 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Out & Back

dogs on leash

backpacking

camping

fishing

hiking

trail running

river

waterfall

wild flowers

wildlife

Nice hike up the Chatooga River from Hwy 28 on the SC side to Lick Log Creek falls, in and out.

9 months ago

I only got a few miles in, but I had kids. I didn't want to turn them against hiking. I think it's a great hike though and if u get hot take a dip in the ice cold mountain water. I camped here once before and loved it.

fishing
9 months ago

Camped 2 nights on the river. Did some fishing. I'll use this trail again.

Wednesday, September 28, 2016

Great camping and hiking!

Sunday, April 17, 2016

great camping

hiking
Monday, September 01, 2014

I began the trail at Highway 76 at the South Carolina border. The landscape has a lot of interesting changes and the hike is moderately strenuous. There are rivers and streams to cool off in and get water from. There are some fallen trees but they are easy to get around. The trees are really big and beautiful. It was hot so bringing water is recommended if you don't want to risk drinking from the streams and river. I only saw 4 people on the trail at the beginning. At the start of the trail, there are places to swim. There were a lot of people at those areas. No inner tubes allowed.

trail running
Monday, May 26, 2014

Did a 20 mile trail run loop from SC28 to the point Foothills trails forks off from Chattooga. The river is present a good bit, offering nice views. A few small water crossings that were probably heavier than normal since a thunder storm came through providing a heavy downpour. A lot of fallen trees and bush trail overgrowth. It was fun. There are a some nice campsites along the river that were all taken this Memorial Day weekend.

backpacking
6 months ago

backpacking
Monday, May 22, 2017

hiking
Saturday, May 20, 2017

camping
Monday, May 08, 2017

hiking
Monday, May 01, 2017

camping
Sunday, April 16, 2017

Saturday, February 18, 2017

Monday, January 16, 2017

Friday, January 13, 2017

hiking
Saturday, December 31, 2016

fishing
Friday, October 21, 2016

Wednesday, September 28, 2016

hiking
Wednesday, September 21, 2016

hiking
Monday, July 04, 2016

Sunday, February 07, 2016

recorded Chatooga River hike

hiking
Sunday, May 25, 2014

Saturday, March 22, 2014

camping
Sunday, March 02, 2014