Oil Creek Bike Trail

FACILE 30 avis
N°1 sur 7 randonnées à

Oil Creek Bike Trail is a 18.7 mile lightly trafficked out and back trail located near Titusville, Pennsylvania that features a waterfall and is good for all skill levels. The trail offers a number of activity options and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
18.7 miles
DÉNIVELÉ
872 pieds
TYPE D'ITINÉRAIRE
Aller-retour

chiens en laisse

convient aux enfants

ski de fond

pêche

VTT

activités en pleine nature

vélo de route

course de trail

balade

ornithologie

forêt

voie partiellement aménagée

sentier ferroviaire

vue panoramique

chute d'eau

fleurs sauvages

faune

A rugged loop on the Northern section of the Gerard Trail Hard to imagine but a little over a century ago these hills were a desolate, oil-coated wasteland. Nature has reclaimed Oil Creek and it now has thickly wooded hillsides, cascading streams and all the wildlife one would expect. The Gerard Trail (follow the yellow blazes) covers a 36 mile circuit of Oil Creek State Park. This review covers an 11 mile loop from the Drake Well to the Miller Farm and back. One could cut the loop in half by taking the white-blazed connector trail to Boughton Falls. There are plenty of switchbacks and climbs and when the weather is wet the trail can become quite mucky in places. Should the hills become too much you could take to the paved bike path that runs the length of the park but, in all honesty, walking the asphault can be equally tough on legs and feet that have already been working the hills. I have only covered a third of the Girard Trail and fully intend to come back again and survey the entire circuit.

7 days ago

Grand sentier pour tout le monde ... Profitez ...

5 months ago

C’est une excellente piste cyclable. Je n’y suis allé qu’une fois. Avec ma petite amie et mes deux enfants, nous n’avons parcouru que 12 km. Nous avons vu un aigle et emmené les enfants faire un tour en train. nous sommes impatients de revenir dans ce parc, la prochaine fois, elle et moi-même pouvons faire du vélo pour parcourir les 20 kilomètres, si vous aimez faire du vélo et de la randonnée, c’est un endroit formidable, il y a beaucoup de sentiers de randonnée Je crois qu'il y a un total de 4 cascades et plus de 40 km de sentiers de randonnée. Ce parc est également très riche en histoire.

7 months ago

Super piste cyclable. Très facile à conduire.

Sunday, July 10, 2016

Belles pistes, camping paisible. Nous reviendrons certainement!

randonnée
Wednesday, May 25, 2016

il était vraiment paisible et j'ai beaucoup aimé

randonnée
Friday, January 15, 2016

C'est le meilleur sentier du nord-ouest de la Pennsylvanie. Assurez-vous de visiter le musée aussi.

randonnée
Tuesday, October 14, 2014

Belle piste! Pour toute la famille.

randonnée
Saturday, October 04, 2014

Globalement, le sentier est une très belle randonnée avec beaucoup d'histoire à voir. L'activité des oiseaux était décente, a vu une paire d'aigles plusieurs fois au cours de la randonnée. Beaucoup de signe animal. Les sentiers sont bien balisés. Ce n’est pas une randonnée pour débutants, mais devrait être en bon état pour y faire face. Même avec peu d'eau, les cascades offraient une belle vue. Peut également prendre un court trajet en train pour un prix modique si vous êtes si enclin. Nous avions quelques jeunes dépisteurs avec nous, nous avions un autre plan pour faire la distinction entre les personnes incapables de terminer la randonnée.

randonnée
Tuesday, September 09, 2014

Sentier incroyable! Ce sentier est de loin l'un de mes favoris! Il est situé dans une région riche en histoire avec de nombreuses activités pour tous les âges. Sentier superbement entretenu avec des campings incroyables à Cow Run et Wolfkeil.

randonnée
Tuesday, June 17, 2014

Le sentier est bien entretenu et soigné. les vues sur le sentier valent la peine de parcourir l’ensemble du sentier et non des parties, si vous ratez des spots photo.

Saturday, April 19, 2014

Il y a beaucoup de sentiers à explorer dans ce parc d'état. Tous sont très bien entretenus et pittoresques. Le terrain peut être plat ou raide, selon vos préférences.

VTT
Tuesday, July 09, 2013

Ce sentier commence au musée Drakes Well de Titusville et longe Oil Creek jusqu'au parc d'État de Oil Creek. Il s’agit en réalité d’une boucle de 20 milles. 10 bas et 10 en arrière. L'utilisation principale serait la course, le vélo ou la randonnée. Le sentier est un peu rugueux pour le patin à roues alignées. J'ai vu un énorme serpent de rat se faire bronzer sur le sentier la dernière fois que j'étais ici.

randonnée
Wednesday, June 12, 2013

Grand sentier qui offre des vues superbes. Terminé ce sentier en décembre dernier en 3 jours (pourrait facilement être fait en 2 jours en été avec des sacs plus légers et des jours plus longs). Les sentiers sont bien balisés et les campings sont de qualité supérieure. Assurez-vous d'appeler à l'avance pour réserver l'un des superbes abris Adirondack.

randonnée
Sunday, June 02, 2013

Très belle piste! Nous avons commencé au Petroleum Centre et avons suivi le sentier Gerard jusqu'au sentier Pioneer, puis avons suivi la piste cyclable jusqu'au centre Petroleum. Cela a pris environ 3 heures pour marcher et c'était une très belle randonnée. Il y avait des moments où c'était difficile, mais ce n'était pas assez difficile pour ne pas en profiter. Juste à droite. J'ai hâte de faire tout le sentier en camping.

randonnée
Saturday, February 16, 2013

J'ai pris deux de mes petits-enfants lors de leur première randonnée nocturne sur ce sentier. Le plan était de marcher au sud des abris de Drake allant du puits à la vache, mais le gosse et moi-même ne nous sommes rendus qu’aux abris Wolfkiel. Nous avons commencé du côté est de la crique, puis avons décidé de descendre les virages pour traverser le pont tournant du côté ouest de Oil Creek. C'était un super jour / nuit pour faire de la randonnée et les enfants se sont bien amusés. Remarque: Il n’ya pas beaucoup de sources d’eau lors des randonnées en haut des collines, utilisez donc votre H2O avec précaution, sauf si vous aimez marcher dans les pentes abruptes.

randonnée
Monday, October 15, 2012

Randonnée partie de Gerard Trail (a commencé à la ferme de sang et monté, à travers Wildcat Hollow et s'est terminée à la gare). Beau paysage boisé avec des taches surplombant Oil Creek. Il est agréable de lire les panneaux de signalisation près du bureau des Park Rangers détaillant l’histoire du pétrole. Je voulais faire une randonnée le long du côté sud de la rivière, mais je n’ai pas trouvé le sentier, car le sentier du ruisseau Oil Creek s’y déroulait également.

randonnée
Sunday, September 23, 2012

Le chemin de randonnée de Gérard est une randonnée difficile, mais la beauté et l’histoire en valent la peine. Nous avons emprunté une boucle de 6 milles à partir du centre pétrolier et nous avions essentiellement tout le bois pour nous. Faites attention aux cartes! les sentiers sont codés par couleur, mais les cartes ne reflètent pas leurs couleurs et ne sont pas à l'échelle.

course de trail
Thursday, September 13, 2012

Il existe actuellement de nombreux sentiers dans le parc national Oil Creek qui peuvent être utilisés pour le vélo, la randonnée et le sac à dos. Il y a aussi un sentier pavé qui peut également être parcouru à vélo, patiné, etc. Vous pouvez passer quelques heures ou quelques jours.

randonnée
Friday, August 24, 2012

J'ai parcouru plusieurs fois ce sentier. Le sentier entier suit les collines de part et d’autre de Oil Creek et comporte plusieurs sentiers de croisement facilitant la création de boucles plus petites. La boucle a également deux camps complets avec lentos réservables, eau et bois de chauffage. Beau sentier avec de superbes points de vue.

randonnée
Tuesday, August 07, 2012

Gerard est en fait un certain nombre de sentiers qui sillonnent autour de Oil Creek dans le parc national de Oil Creek. Vous pouvez passer au moins trois jours de randonnée dans le parc et camper sur des sites dotés de cabines Adirondack, moyennant des frais. Il suffit d'appeler ou de vous enregistrer au bureau du parc avant de prendre la piste. Certaines randonnées peuvent être difficiles, certaines grimpant sur des rochers pour se rendre au sentier. Le sentier est principalement le long des crêtes et même défaillant. Pour les cyclistes sur route ou les randonnées plus modérées, vous pouvez utiliser la piste cyclable pavée de 10 milles.

randonnée
Wednesday, September 06, 2017

randonnée
Sunday, July 02, 2017

randonnée
Saturday, February 18, 2017

Sunday, July 10, 2016

randonnée
Saturday, June 04, 2016

Charger plus

Oil Creek Bike Trail

EASY 27 reviews
#1 of 6 trails in

Oil Creek Bike Trail is a 18.7 mile lightly trafficked out and back trail located near Titusville, Pennsylvania that features a waterfall and is good for all skill levels. The trail offers a number of activity options and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
18.7 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
872 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Out & Back

dogs on leash

kid friendly

birding

cross country skiing

fishing

mountain biking

nature trips

road biking

trail running

walking

forest

rails trails

views

waterfall

wild flowers

wildlife

A rugged loop on the Northern section of the Gerard Trail Hard to imagine but a little over a century ago these hills were a desolate, oil-coated wasteland. Nature has reclaimed Oil Creek and it now has thickly wooded hillsides, cascading streams and all the wildlife one would expect. The Gerard Trail (follow the yellow blazes) covers a 36 mile circuit of Oil Creek State Park. This review covers an 11 mile loop from the Drake Well to the Miller Farm and back. One could cut the loop in half by taking the white-blazed connector trail to Boughton Falls. There are plenty of switchbacks and climbs and when the weather is wet the trail can become quite mucky in places. Should the hills become too much you could take to the paved bike path that runs the length of the park but, in all honesty, walking the asphault can be equally tough on legs and feet that have already been working the hills. I have only covered a third of the Girard Trail and fully intend to come back again and survey the entire circuit.

20 days ago

Awesome bike trail. Very easy to ride.

Sunday, July 10, 2016

Beautiful trails, peaceful camping. Definitely will be back!

hiking
Wednesday, May 25, 2016

it Was really peaceful an I enjoyed it a lot gonna go back soon

hiking
Friday, January 15, 2016

This is the best trail in northwest PA. Be sure to check out the museum too.

hiking
Tuesday, October 14, 2014

Nice trail ! For the whole family.

hiking
Saturday, October 04, 2014

Overall the trail is a very beautiful hike with a fair amount of history to see. Bird activity was decent, saw a pair of eagles several times during the hike. Lots of animal sign. Trails are well marked. This is not a beginner's hike, should be in good shape to tackle it. Even with low water, the waterfalls were a nice view. Can also take a short train ride for a nominal fee if you are so inclined. We had some younger boy scouts with us, had an alternate plan to break off to level ground for those unable to complete the full hike.

hiking
Tuesday, September 09, 2014

Amazing trail! This trail is by far one of my favorites! It is located in a history rich area with plenty of activities for all ages. Beautifully maintained trail with amazing campsites at Cow Run and Wolfkeil.

hiking
Tuesday, June 17, 2014

trail is well kept and neat. the views on the trail are worth hiking the whole trail and not parts if you do you miss photo spots.

Saturday, April 19, 2014

There are many trails to explore in this state park. All are very well-groomed and scenic. Terrain can be flat or steep, depending on your preference.

mountain biking
Tuesday, July 09, 2013

This trail starts at Drakes Well Museum in Titusville and travels along Oil Creek to Oil Creek State Park. This is actually about a 20 mile loop. 10 down and 10 back. Primary use would be running, biking or hiking. Trail is a little rough for rollerblading. Saw a huge rat snake sunning itself on the trail last time I was here.

hiking
Wednesday, June 12, 2013

Great trail that offers some great views. Completed this trail last December in 3 days (could easily be done in 2 days during the summer with lighter packs and longer days). Trails are well marked and the campsites are top notch. Be sure to call ahead to reserve one of the awesome adirondack shelters.

hiking
Sunday, June 02, 2013

Very nice trail! We started at the Petroleum Center and walked the Gerard Trail to the Pioneer Trail, and then followed the bike trail back to the Petroleum center. It took about 3 hours to walk and it was a very nice hike. There were moments when it was tough, but it wasn't tough enough to not enjoy. Just right. I can't wait to do the whole trail overnight camping.

hiking
Saturday, February 16, 2013

Took two of my grandchildern on their first overnight hike on this trail. Plan was to walk S from Drake's Well to Cow Run Shelters, but, the kid's and I only made it to Wolfkiel Shelters. We started on the E side of the creek, then decided to walk down the switchbacks to crossover the swinging bridge to the W side of Oil Creek. It was a great day/night for hiking and the kid's had a great time. Note: There are not a lot of water sources while hiking the tops of the hills, so, use your H2O carefully, unless you like walking down/up steep grades.

hiking
Monday, October 15, 2012

Hiked part of the Gerard Trail (started at Blood Farm and hiked up, through Wildcat Hollow and ended at the train station). Nice wooded scenery with spots overlooking Oil Creek. Nice to read park signs near the Park Rangers office detailing the areas oil history. Wanted to hike back along the south side of the river but could not find the trail because the Oil Creek 100 mile Trail Run was also taking place there.

hiking
Sunday, September 23, 2012

Gerard hiking trail is a difficult hike but the the beauty and history make it worth the effort. We picked up a 6mile loop starting at petroleum center and basically had the entire woods to ourselves. Be ware of the maps! trails are color coded but maps do not reflect trail colors and are not to scale.

trail running
Thursday, September 13, 2012

There are actually many trails within Oil Creek State Park that can be used for Biking, Hiking and Backpacking. There is also a paved trail that also can be biked, skated, etc. You can spend a few hours or a few days.

hiking
Friday, August 24, 2012

I have hiked portions of this trail multiple times. The entire trail is routed along the hills on either side of Oil Creek and has several cross trails making it easy to create smaller loops. The loop also has two camps complete with reservable lentos, water and firewood. Beautiful trail with great overlooks.

hiking
Tuesday, August 07, 2012

Gerard is actually a number of trails that loop over and around Oil Creek in Oil Creek State park. You can spend at least three days backpacking in the park and can camp at to sites with Adirondack cabins for a fee. Just call or check in at the park office before you hit the trail. Some of the hiking can be challenging with some climbing up rocks in getting up to the trail. The trail is mostly along the ridges and faily even. For road bikers or more moderate hikes, you can use the paved 10 mile bike trail.

hiking
11 months ago

hiking
Sunday, July 02, 2017

Sunday, July 10, 2016

hiking
Saturday, June 04, 2016

Tuesday, March 29, 2016

recorded Pioneer Falls

hiking
Sunday, January 31, 2016

road biking
Sunday, June 28, 2015

road biking
Friday, May 29, 2015

Monday, April 20, 2015