Memorial Day Verkauf! Holen Sie sich ein Jahr AllTrails Pro für nur $14.99
Erste Schritte

Appalachian Trail: Wind Gap zu Fox Gap

MITTELSCHWER 31 Bewertungen
#1 von 1 Wegen in

Appalachian Trail: Wind Gap to Fox Gap ist ein 3,7 km langer Wanderweg in der Nähe von Wind Gap, Pennsylvania, der wunderschöne Wildblumen bietet. Der Weg ist als mittelmäßig eingestuft und wird hauptsächlich zum Wandern, Spazierengehen, für Ausflüge in die Natur und zur Vogelbeobachtung genutzt. Hunde können diesen Weg auch benutzen, müssen aber an der Leine gehalten werden.

ENTFERNUNG
3.7 Meilen
HÖHENUNTERSCHIED
659 Fuß
ROUTENTYP
Hin & zurück

angeleinte hunde

Wandern

Naturausflüge

Gehen

Vogelbeobachtung

Wald

Aussicht

Wildblumen

wandern
käfer
23 days ago

Insgesamt ziemlich gute Spur, je weiter Sie gehen, desto böser werden die Bugs.

wandern
8 months ago

Habe als Hin-und Rück von Wind Gap viel zu Fox Gap. Während ich dies genossen habe, sei gewarnt, dass dieser Weg Zähne hat! Ich habe bereits einige AT-Strecken in Nord-PA gemacht, und diese hat definitiv den Kuchen für die am meisten gezackten, spitzen und zehenstauenden Steinhaufen auf dem größten Teil der Strecke von Wind Gap bis Wolf Rocks. Die Strecke zwischen Fox Gap und Wolf Rocks ist auf den Felsen ziemlich minimal, daher wäre es eine leichte Wanderung, nur um Wolf Rocks zu sehen, die ziemlich ordentlich sind (Klippe vieler großer, flach geneigter Felsen). Es gibt nicht viel Aufstieg / Abstieg außer dem anfänglichen Aufstieg von Wind Gap, so dass es manchmal langweilig werden kann, wenn Sie zwischen den Lücken einen vollen Trail ausführen.

wandern
Thursday, April 12, 2018

Das ist eigentlich eine Frage. Wir planen, Wind Gap nach Delaware Water Gap zu wandern. Wir starten Mitte April mittags und fragen uns, wie die Wassersituation aussehen könnte. Weiß jemand, ob die beiden kleinen Bäche, die auf beiden Seiten des Pfades, etwa 4 Meilen nördlich von Wind Gap, angezeigt werden, über Wasser verfügen? Vielen Dank.

wandern
Tuesday, April 10, 2018

Ich bin diesen Pfad mehrmals gewandert. Der von mir verwendete Zugangspunkt wird jedoch nicht mehr angezeigt. Weiß jemand, was mit dem Pen Argyl South Trail passiert ist? Es begann an der Spitze der Robinson Avenue am Stausee und folgte dem Quellstrom, der den Stausee an mehreren Quellen vorbeiführt. Es folgte dieser Kerbe, die Sie in der topographischen Karte zur Spitze des Blue Mountain sehen, und dann über die Spitze und dann leicht bergab, um den Appalachian Trail zu treffen. Das Quellwasser war die Wanderung von selbst wert. In der Dämmerung konnte man die Lichter der Stadt in den Bäumen flackern sehen

wandern
Wednesday, January 17, 2018

Dieser Teil des Appalachian Trail ist sehr steinig und langweilig. Auf diesem Weg nicht viel zu sehen. Wie auch immer, es ist ein Tuff-Radweg mit Baum in der Spur und etwas Bouldermanschette. Ich habe meinen Hund mitgenommen und sie hat es geliebt. Ich bin diesen Weg von 191 durch Bangor zum Windspalt gewandert und ich habe 4 Stunden zu Fuß gebraucht.

Monday, August 21, 2017

Wir sind vom Delaware-Wasserabstand zum Windabstand gewandert, also sind wir einfach den Berg heruntergekommen. An manchen Stellen etwas steinig und steil, aber gut. Der Kilometerstand und die Karte für diesen Weg sind korrekt, aber der Name ist sehr irreführend. Windabstand zu Fuchsabstand beträgt 8,8 Meilen (einfache Strecke).

wandern
Wednesday, July 19, 2017

Mit der Aufnahme von SugarFoot und SpecOp als Leitfaden haben mein Sohn und ich die 13,5 Meilen (6,25 In / Out) von Wind Gap bis Wolf Rocks als Einführung in das Wandern von AT absolviert. Wie ein anderer Kritiker bemerkt, suchen Sie ständig nach Steinen und nicht nach der unmittelbaren Landschaft. Ich sah ein Reh und ein anderer Wanderer bemerkte ein schwarzes Bär + Jungtier in der Nähe des frühen Teils der Route. Tolle, aber anstrengende Wanderung. Bitte beachten Sie, dass Sie, wenn Sie zurückkommen und die Schotterstraße hinunterfahren, schnell feststellen werden, dass dies zu PA Water gehört. Als wir näher an den Ort kamen, an dem wir den Parkplatz kannten, stießen wir auf ein riesiges Sicherheitstor. Nach wenigen Minuten erschien ein Mitarbeiter und wir folgten ihm. Bei Wolf Rocks gab es kein Wasser. Ein guter Tag!

rucksacktour
Sunday, April 30, 2017

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=10154957667680743&id=95335385742

rucksacktour
Sunday, August 21, 2016

beginnt mit einem wunderbaren Aufstieg. dann geht es durch einen wirklich schönen Pin Oak Forest, wenn man morgens dazu kommt und da ein Nebel unheimlich schön ist. Ich habe einige bunte Vögel gesehen, aber ich bin kein Vogelbeobachter. Die Wanderung ist felsig und ereignislos, bis der Wolf rockt. rechnen Sie im Sommer nicht zu jeder Zeit mit Wasser. Ich habe schon erwähnt, dass es Rocky ist und die Felsen haben nachts Steine und Zwerge, die die Felsen umdrehen und sie schärfen.

Tuesday, July 26, 2016

Vorherige Posts über Felsen und fehlende Aussichten waren genau richtig. Der Weg ist trotzdem angenehm. Guter Aufstieg zu Beginn lässt das Blut fließen. Einige großartige Plätze zum Beobachten von Vögeln usw. Die Zeit lohnt sich!

wandern
Wednesday, July 13, 2016

Dies war eine körperlich anstrengende, sehr lohnende Wanderung. SpecOps und ich waren 27 km vom Gap nach Wolf Rocks und von Backish entfernt, stiegen den Steig am Trailhead hoch und zelten. Am Nachmittag geht es zurück zum Ausgangspunkt. Dies ist meine bisher längste Meilenzahl und war absolut phänomenal. Ich hätte mir keinen besseren Partner, Bewegung oder Wetter wünschen können. Ich kann es kaum erwarten, auf das nächste Abenteuer zu warten. Tipp: Stiefel mit höheren Knöcheln als ein einfacher Laufschuh sind ideal. Ich liebe meine Merrells, aber nicht im guten alten Reichtum von Pa. -SugarFoot

wandern
Monday, July 04, 2016

Dieser Teil des Weges hat einen sehr groben Anfang. Wie die anderen Pfosten sagen, beginnt sie mit einer felsigen Treppe, gefolgt von einem steilen Pfad, der sich zum Kamm führt. Einfach reinhängen - es ist früh genug. Knöchelunterstützende Schuhe sind auf diesem Weg ein Muss. In den meisten Gegenden ist es ein Felsenmeer. Wenn Sie Ihre Umgebung betrachten, können Sie problemlos stolpern, aber wenn Sie Ihre Fußarbeit betrachten, verpassen Sie die Landschaft. Apropos - ich bin gestern (7/3/16) gewandert und konnte keine Ansichten außerhalb der Firstlinie sehen, da jetzt alle Blätter ausgewachsen sind und Sie nicht hinter dem Baldachin sehen können. Keine Sorge - es ist überall wunderschön grün und lässt Sie all diejenigen schätzen, die schon einmal gewandert sind. Eine Sache zu beachten: Die Zusammenfassung dieses Wegs besagt, dass Wind Gap zu Fox Gap 3,7 Meilen (Hin- und Rückweg) ist, aber die Spurmarkierung zeigt, dass Fox Gap 13 Meilen (One Way) ist. Genießen!!

wandern
Tuesday, February 02, 2016

Ich kam nach Hause, um meine Familie zu besuchen. Obwohl ich den großen Schneesturm am 23.01. Verpasst habe, konnte ich heute den Schnee auf der Spur genießen. Es war eine ziemliche Herausforderung mit allem Schnee. Ich habe nur 2 Stunden lang wandern müssen, aber ich bin für mehr zurück.

Sunday, September 20, 2015

Wie schon in anderen Beiträgen erwähnt, ist der Start für NOBO steil und steinig, aber überschaubar. Nehmen Sie die Gratlinie bis zur schönen Aussicht.

wandern
Tuesday, August 26, 2014

Stimmen Sie den vorherigen Bewertungen zu. Der Weg nach Norden ist auf dem Parkplatz. Der nach Süden gehende Weg ist etwa 200 Fuß hoch. Der nach Norden gehende Weg ist nur etwa 50 Fuß über eine Treppe, die 0,6 km hinter dem Entfernungsanzeiger liegt. Der Weg wird entlang des Kamms flach, ist aber stellenweise noch steinig. Der Herbst und der Frühling sind recht bunt, aber der Frühsommer und der späte Herbst schwelgen mehr vom Himmel und vom Tal ohne das Laub, was ihn zu einem ganzjährigen Trail macht.

wandern
Sunday, April 07, 2013

Harter Start und dann für eine Weile in einen Pfad aus gezackten Felsen. Nehmen Sie sich Zeit, den ersten Teil zu besteigen und Wanderschuhe zu empfehlen. Schöner Spaziergang und ein Gebiet, das genug bereist ist, um sich sicher zu fühlen, aber nicht so schwer, dass Sie keine Zeit für sich selbst haben, um Ihren Kopf frei zu bekommen.

wandern
Thursday, April 12, 2012

Typische AT-Wanderung in PA. Kurzer steiler Abschnitt, der aus Wind Gap kommt. Viel Felsen und wenig Wasser. Wolf Rocks ist ein Highlight.

wandern
Tuesday, November 02, 2010

Schöne Wanderung, einige sehr schöne Übersichten. Nur am Anfang steil, achten Sie auf die Felsen.

wandern
1 month ago

wandern
1 month ago

wandern
1 month ago

wandern
Tuesday, July 25, 2017

Mehr laden

Empfohlene Wege

Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Appalachian Trail: Wind Gap to Fox Gap

moderateYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray Star(42)
Wind Gap Park

Appalachian Trail: Wind Gap to Fox Gap is a 3.7 mile out and back trail located near Wind Gap, Pennsylvania that features beautiful wild flowers. The trail is rated as moderate and primarily used for hiking, walking, nature trips, and birding. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Length 3.7 mi Elevation gain 659 ft Route type Out & Back

Dogs on leash

Hiking

Nature trips

Walking

Bird watching

Forest

Views

Wild flowers

Waypoints (0)
Weather
UV Index
Daylight
Reviews (42)
Photos (59)
Recordings (33)
Completed (206)
Nicole T.
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarThu May 28 2020
HikingRockyScramble

A friend and I did this 8.33 mile hike from Wind Gap to Fox Gap in 4 hours and 15 minutes. This is not my favorite stretch of the AT at all. This is the trail that’s earned PA the nickname “Rocksylvania.” I recommend ankle hiking boots as a lot of time is spent looking down to ensure footing to avoid ankle twists. A lot of toe stubbing. The rock scrambling at Wolf Rocks I enjoyed... and the view. Despite the rockiness of the trail it was beautiful and peaceful. A lot of birds, butterflies, we encountered two other hikers who were pleasant and a deer laying in the leaves. I would never do this trail again but I’m glad we did it!

Fred Bechtoldt
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSun Mar 29 2020
HikingRocky
View Fred's Recording
Blumpkin Sprinkles
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSat Sep 28 2019
Hiking

Loved every second. Rock scramble was even fun. would do it again.

View Blumpkin's Recording
Celeste Lugardo
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarThu May 02 2019
HikingBugs

Overall pretty good trail, the farther you go the nastier the bugs get.

View Celeste 's Recording
ML Mzc
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarSat Sep 22 2018
Hiking

Did as out-and-back from Wind Gap lot to Fox Gap. While I did enjoy this, be warned this trail has teeth! Have done several stretches of AT in northern PA and this one definitely takes the cake so far for the most jagged, pointy, toe-stubbing bunches of rocks throughout most of trail from Wind Gap to Wolf Rocks. The segment of trail between Fox Gap and Wolf Rocks is pretty minimal on the rocks so would make for easy hike just to see Wolf Rocks which are pretty neat (cliff of many large flat slanted rocks). There isn't much ascent/descent other than the initial climb up from Wind Gap so can sometimes get a little boring if doing full trail between the Gaps.

Ted Barber
Yellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarThu Apr 12 2018
Hiking

This is a question, actually. We're planning to hike Wind Gap to Delaware Water Gap, starting at noonish in mid April and wondering what the water situation might be... we'll spend at least 1 night on the trail, probably not at Kirkridge shelter. Anyone know if the 2 small streams shown on either side of the trail, about 4 miles north from Wind Gap, have accessible water? Thanks.

Scott Blake
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarTue Apr 10 2018
Hiking

I hiked this trail several times. However, the access point I used isn't shown anymore. Does anyone know what happened to the Pen Argyl South Trail? It started at the top of Robinson Avenue by the reservoir, and followed the spring-fed stream that feeds the reservoir past several springs. It followed that notch you see in the topographic map to the top of Blue Mountain, and then over the top and then slighly downhill to meet the Appalachian trail. The spring water was worth the hike by itself. At twilight you could see the lights of the town flickering in the trees

Mario Giordano
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarWed Jan 17 2018
Hiking

This part of the Appalachian trail is very rocky and boring. Not much to view on this trail. How ever it is a tuff biking trail with down tree in trail and some boulder cuff. I have taking my dog in this trail and she loved it. I hiked this trail from 191 by Bangor to wind gap and it took me 4 hours on foot.

Jeanette Sommons
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarMon Aug 21 2017

we hiked from Delaware water gap to wind gap so we just came down the mountain. A bit rocky and steep at places but good. The mileage and map for this trail is correct but the name is very misleading. wind gap to fox gap is 8.6 miles one way.

William Kopycki
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarWed Jul 19 2017
Hiking

Using SugarFoot and SpecOp's recording as our guide, my son and I completed the 13.5mi (6.25 in/out) from Wind Gap to Wolf Rocks as an intro to hiking AT. As another reviewer noted, you are constantly looking down for rocks rather than the immediate scenery. Saw a deer and another hiker noted a black bear + cub near the early part of the route. Great, but tiring hike. Please note that if you are coming back and take the gravel road down, you will quickly realize this belongs to the PA Water company. As we were getting closer to where we knew the parking lot to be, we encountered a huge security gate. After a few minutes an employee appeared and we followed him out. There was no water at Wolf Rocks. A great day!

Jer. Ruggiero
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSun Apr 30 2017
Backpacking

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=10154957667680743&id=95335385742

Grizzly B.
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarSun Aug 21 2016
Backpacking

starts off with a wonderful ascent. then passes through a really nice Pin Oak Forest that if you get to in the morning and there's a fog is eerily beautiful. I did spot several brightly colored birds but I'm not a birder. the hike is Rocky and uneventful until wolf rocks. don't count on the springs for water anytime during the summer. oh did I mention it's Rocky and the rocks have rocks and gnomes come out at night and turn over the rocks and sharpen them.

Brian Crowe
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarTue Jul 26 2016

Prior posts about rocks and lack of vistas were spot on. The trail is enjoyable nonetheless. Good climb at the start gets the blood flowing. Some great spots for birding, etc. Well worth the time!

Joie Wehr
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarWed Jul 13 2016
Hiking

This was a physically demanding, intimately rewarding hike. SpecOps and I did 17.3mi all up from the Gap to Wolf Rocks and backish, back up the rock climb at the trailhead and to camp. Back down to the trailhead in the afternoon. This is my longest mileage hike to date and it was absolutely phenomenal. I couldn't have asked for a better partner, exercise or weather. Can't wait for the next adventure. Tip: boots with higher ankles than a basic running shoe is ideal. I love my Merrells but not in the good ol common wealth of Pa. -SugarFoot

Theresa Now
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarMon Jul 04 2016
Hiking

This part of the trail has a very rough beginning. Like the other posts say, it starts out with a rocky stair case followed by a steep trail winding up to the ridge. Just hang in there- it levels out soon enough. Ankle supporting footwear is a must on this trail. It's a sea of rocks in most areas. When you're looking at your surroundings you can easily trip, but when you're looking at your footwork you're missing the scenery. Speaking to that- I hiked this yesterday (7/3/16) and was not able to see any views outside the ridge line as all of the leaves are fully grown now and you can't see past the canopy. No worries though- it's beautifully green everywhere and makes you appreciate all those who have trekked before. One thing to note: the summary of this trail says Wind Gap to Fox Gap is 3.7 miles out and back, but the trail marker shows Fox Gap is 8.4 miles one way. Enjoy!!

Michelle Anderson
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarTue Feb 02 2016
Hiking

I came home to visit family. Although I missed the big snow storm on 01.23, I got to enjoy the snow on the trail today. It was quite a challenge with all the snow. I only got to hike for 2 hours, but I'll be back for more.

Vincent Carden
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarSun Sep 20 2015

As mentioned in other posts the start going NOBO is steep and rocky but manageable. Take ridge line up to nice views.

Tom Massing
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarTue Aug 26 2014
Hiking

Agree with the previous reviews. The Northbound trailhead is in the parking lot. The southbound trail is up the road about 200 feet. The northbound trail is only about 50 feet over stair step cut rocks the .6 miles past the distance sign marker. The trail becomes flat along the ridge but is still rocky in places. The fall and spring are quite colorful but the early summer and late fall revel more of the sky and valley without the foliage which makes this a year-round trail.

Jeff Snell
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarSun Apr 07 2013
Hiking

Tough start and then into a path of jagged rocks for a while. Take your time climbing the first part and hiking boots highly recommended. Nice walk in and area that is traveled enough to feel safe but not so heavy that you can't get some time to yourself to clear your head.

Michael Bevil
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarThu Apr 12 2012
Hiking

Typical AT Hike in PA. Short steep section coming out of Wind Gap. Lots of rocks and little water. Wolf Rocks is a highlight.

Rose Laurito
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarTue Nov 02 2010
Hiking

Nice hike, some very nice overviews. Only steep in the beginning, watch footing on rocks.

Julia Warick
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSun Jun 21 2020
Hiking
View Julia's Recording
Kevin Hartnett
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarThu Jan 30 2020
Hiking
View Kevin's Recording
Wade Groff
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSun Nov 10 2019
Hiking
View Wade's Recording
Audra Faulkner
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarWed Sep 18 2019
Hiking
View Audra's Recording
charlie Will
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarWed Sep 11 2019
Hiking
View charlie's Recording
Andrey Melnikov
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSat Aug 24 2019
Hiking
sophia betancourt
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarWed Jul 03 2019
Hiking
View sophia's Recording
Dillan King
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarTue Jun 25 2019
Hiking
View Dillan's Recording
Showing results 1 - 29 of 42