Appalachian Trail: Peters Mountain to Victoria Trail

INTERMÉDIAIRE 55 avis
N°1 sur 1 randonnées à

Sentier des Appalaches: Peters Mountain to Victoria est un sentier modérément fréquenté situé près de Halifax, en Pennsylvanie, qui présente de belles fleurs sauvages et qui est considéré comme modéré. Le sentier offre un certain nombre d’activités et sa meilleure utilisation est de mars à octobre. Les chiens peuvent aussi utiliser ce sentier mais doivent être tenus en laisse.

Distance: 7.9 miles Dénivelé: 820 feet Type d'itinéraire: Aller-retour

chiens en laisse

randonnée sac-à-dos

camping

randonnée

activités en pleine nature

balade

ornithologie

running

forêt

vue panoramique

fleurs sauvages

faune

randonnée
4 months ago

Belle petite randonnée avec une vue magnifique sur les vallées sur une grande partie de sa longueur. Mon chien de 15 ans et moi avons combiné avec la moitié sud de Victoria Furnace Trail en bas de la montagne. Si vous faites cela, soyez prudent, car Victoria Furnace Trail a été réaligné il y a quelques années. Si vous vous dirigez vers le nord, vous arriverez à ce qui ressemble à un sentier envahi par la végétation et vous vous demanderez peut-être s'il s'agit du sentier Victoria. Ce n'est pas l'alignement actuel! Continuez en direction est et vous verrez les panneaux indiquant le sentier Victoria Furnace bien indiqué quelques minutes plus tard.

randonnée
5 months ago

belle randonnée. en fait commencé à Clark arking ferry. pour une randonnée de préparation.

randonnée
6 months ago

des accessoires pour les mainteneurs de sentiers!

randonnée
Sunday, September 16, 2018

Je devrai aller encore où je peux faire le sentier entier. J'avais mon chiot gériatrique, donc je devais y aller doucement mais c'est Pete t pour elle parce que c'est sympa et plat :)

randonnée
Wednesday, August 15, 2018

Très belle piste, bien entretenue, cependant quelques graffitis sur les rochers le long du chemin Pas très difficile, mais certaines zones sont rocheuses.

Monday, March 26, 2018

facile pas beaucoup d'une randonnée mais une belle promenade

randonnée
Tuesday, November 28, 2017

Shock Rock et Table Rock offrent une vue magnifique. La randonnée entre les deux est également bonne.

randonnée
Sunday, June 04, 2017

Belle randonnée avec de beaux points de vue sur shock rock, table rock et un emplacement non marqué au-delà de l'abri. il y avait beaucoup de places de stationnement au début du sentier, mais le terrain n'est pas visible de la route.

randonnée sac-à-dos
Friday, February 17, 2017

Cette partie de l'AT est une randonnée facile. Si vous habitez dans la région, vous pouvez ajouter 5,7 km supplémentaires en partant du sommet de la montagne Peters et en empruntant le sentier Victoria qui descend du côté sud de la montagne en direction de Victoria Furnace. Si vous prévoyez passer la nuit, assurez-vous de camper au sommet de l’AT, car le sentier Victoria vous emmène du côté sud de la montagne et il sera difficile de trouver un endroit pour monter une tente.

randonnée
Saturday, July 02, 2016

Bonne piste facile. Une vue magnifique sur Shock Rock et Table Rock. Prenez les enfants et / ou le chien, c'est une bonne introduction à la randonnée et au sentier des Appalaches.

Monday, June 06, 2016

Je suis tombé par hasard sur ce jour me demandant.La meilleure vue autour !!

randonnée
Tuesday, April 26, 2016

Super randonnée! Ça vaut le détour.

randonnée
Saturday, March 26, 2016

C’est une bonne randonnée avec des paysages différents.

Thursday, January 14, 2016

Mon fils et moi avons juste commencé à emballer. Le 30 décembre était notre 1ère nuit. Cette section était plus tard dans la journée. Après avoir passé le sentier victorien, nous nous sommes arrêtés à l’abri pour déjeuner vers 13 heures. nous avons décidé de le bousiller au prochain abri. La météo n'a pas aidé avec beaucoup de vues qu'il était brumeux et frais, environ 40 degrés. Le sentier était beaucoup plus rapide à marcher que je ne le pensais. Zone de pieds heureux. Mais c'est juste moi.

Saturday, August 01, 2015

très bon sentier bonnes perspectives panoramiques sentier pas trop difficile

randonnée
Sunday, July 26, 2015

Sentier des Appalaches Nord. Une randonnée facile. Le sentier est très fréquenté par les randonneurs et les coureurs. À environ un kilomètre du début du sentier se trouvent les lignes électriques - "Shock" Rock, où vous pourrez admirer les magnifiques panoramas de la montagne bleue d’un côté et des vallées de l’autre. À 3 km du début du sentier se trouve Table Rock. Il est relativement facile de descendre les rochers et de grimper sur l’affleurement pour se prélasser au soleil. La seule partie de la piste que je n’ai pas aimée est le nombre de toiles d’araignées. Au cours de notre randonnée, nous avons également été avertis par un coureur d'une observation d'ours - 2 petits et la mère.

randonnée
Wednesday, March 11, 2015

Trail Head est très facile à trouver et dispose de beaucoup d'espace pour le stationnement. Le premier point de vue auquel vous allez accéder est celui des lignes électriques, "Shock Rock". Le sentier continue à environ 1,5 miles de la Table Rock. Vous ne pouvez pas le manquer. Vaut bien la vue. De petits changements d'altitude rendent cette randonnée facile pour ceux qui souhaitent marcher à distance.

balade
Monday, June 02, 2014

Belle promenade, principalement de niveau, mais il existe quelques endroits où le sentier dévie et descend un peu en bas de la montagne, pour remonter un peu plus tard. Superbes vues sur la vallée de Clarks et sur les terres agricoles et la vallée de la rivière Susquehanna. Idéal pour les habitants de Harrisburg et de la côte ouest qui n’hésitent pas à conduire en 15 minutes pour rejoindre le sentier.

randonnée
16 days ago

randonnée
16 days ago

randonnée
1 month ago

randonnée
1 month ago

randonnée
2 months ago

randonnée
4 months ago

Charger plus

Randonnées populaires

Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Appalachian Trail: Peters Mountain to Victoria Trail

moderateYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray Star(83)
Ibberson Conservation Area

Appalachian Trail: Peters Mountain to Victoria Trail is a 7.9 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Halifax, Pennsylvania that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as moderate. The trail offers a number of activity options and is best used from March until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Distance: 7.9 miles Elevation Gain: 820 feet Route Type: Out & Back

dogs on leash

backpacking

camping

hiking

nature trips

walking

bird watching

running

forest

views

wild flowers

wildlife

hiking
blowdown
29 days ago

Nice ridge trail which had a breeze commonly felt on mountain tops. Started around 7:30 AM which allowed for a great view - clouds in the valleys while clear & sunny from ridge position. Reminded me of coast line in Maine. Mountain laurel just coming into bloom - a few plants along ridge - not a reason to do this hike just a bonus. As mentioned by others vistas are good. We also added a small 1 to 1.5 mile loop down Victoria trail 1/2 mile then turn rt up White tail trail to AT. The short switch backs on White Tail Trail is impressive. Well done trail makers. By noon Trail was crowded and parking lot full to overflowing. Another reason to begin early.

hiking
rocky
1 month ago

Great day hike. Hardly any people past Table Rock. Beautiful hike with varied scenery. Good ridge walk.

rocky
1 month ago

first time ever hiking im hook

hiking
rocky
1 month ago

Very well marked trail. Very rocky path at times. Easy to stumble or trip or fall which did happen. Trees down over the path but we were able to walk around or crawl over them. Beautiful morning and some nice views of the river along the way. Very few hikers but we started early.

hiking
Mon Jun 10 2019

Nice little hike with great views of the valleys for much of its length. My 15 year old dog and I combined with the southern half of Victoria Furnace Trail down the mountain. If you do this, be careful, as Victoria Furnace Trail was realigned a few years ago. If you’re northbound, you’ll come to what looks like an overgrown trail and you might wonder if this is Victoria Trail. This is not the current alignment! Keep heading east and you’ll see signs for the well-marked Victoria Furnace Trail a few minutes later.

hiking
Sat May 04 2019

nice hike. actually started at Clark's ferry arking. out for a prep hike.

hiking
Sat Mar 16 2019

props to the trail maintainers!

hiking
Sun Sep 16 2018

I’ll have to go again where I can do entire trail. I had my geriatric pup so had to take it easy but it’s Pete t for her because nice and flat :)

hiking
Wed Aug 15 2018

Really nice trail, well maintained, however some graffiti on rocks along the way. Not very difficult, but some areas are rocky.

Mon Mar 26 2018

easy not much of a hike but a nice walk

hiking
Tue Nov 28 2017

Shock Rock and Table Rock have awesome views. The hike in between is a good one too.

hiking
Sun Jun 04 2017

Nice hike with nice overlooks at shock rock, table rock, and an unmarked location beyond the shelter. there was ample parking at the trailhead, but the lot is not visible from the road.

backpacking
Fri Feb 17 2017

This part of the AT is easy hiking. If you live in the area you can add an additional 5.7 miles by starting at the top of Peters Mountain and taking the Victoria Trail down the south side of the mountain to Victoria Furnace. If you are planning an over nighter, make sure you camp at the top on the AT, because the Victoria Trail takes you down the south side of the mountain and it will be difficult to find a place to pitch a tent going down the mountain.

hiking
Sat Jul 02 2016

Good easy trail. Great views at Shock Rock and Table Rock. Take the kids and/or the dog it is a good introduction to hiking and the Appalachian Trail.

Mon Jun 06 2016

I stumbled upon this one day wondering.The best view around!!

hiking
Tue Apr 26 2016

Great hike! Well worth the trip.

hiking
Sat Mar 26 2016

It's a good hike with different sceneries as you hike.

Thu Jan 14 2016

My son and I just started Back packing. Dec. 30th was our 1st night out. this section was later in the day, After passing the Victorian trail we stopped at the shelter for lunch around 130 pm. we decided to hump it to the next shelter. The weather did not help with much views it was fogged out and cool, around 40 degrees. trail was a lot faster to walk than I thought it would be. Happy feet area. But that's just me.

Sat Aug 01 2015

very good trail good scenic outlooks trail not to hard

hiking
Sun Jul 26 2015

Appalachian Trail North. An easy hike. The trail is highly traveled by both hikers and runners. About a half mile from the trail head are the power lines - "Shock" Rock where you may enjoy the beautiful vistas of the Blue Mountain on one side and the valleys on the other side. At 2.0 miles from the trail head is Table Rock. It is relatively easy to go down the rocks and climb on to the outcropping to bask in the sun. The only part I didn't like about the trail are the number of spider webs. During our hike we were also warned by a runner of a sighting of bears - 2 Cubs and the Mother.

hiking
Wed Mar 11 2015

Trail head is very easy to find and has plenty of space for parking. The first view you'll come to is at the power lines, "Shock Rock." The trail continues about 1.5 miles to the Table Rock. You can't miss it. Well worth the view. Small elevation changes make this an easy hike for anyone willing to walk the distance.

walking
Mon Jun 02 2014

Nice walk, mostly level ground but there are a few places where the trail veers off and descends a little way down the mountainside, only to come back up again a little later. Great views of Clarks Valley, and of farmland and the Susquehanna River Valley. Ideal for people from Harrisburg and the West Shore who don't mind driving 15 minutes to reach the trail.

hiking
8 days ago

Showing results 1 - 29 of 83