Appalachian Trail: Peters Mountain to Victoria Trail

MODERATE 26 reviews

Appalachian Trail: Peters Mountain to Victoria Trail is a 8.2 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Halifax, Pennsylvania that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as moderate. The trail offers a number of activity options and is best used from March until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
8.2 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
1105 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Out & Back

dogs on leash

backpacking

birding

camping

hiking

nature trips

trail running

walking

forest

views

wild flowers

wildlife

hiking
2 months ago

Nice hike with nice overlooks at shock rock, table rock, and an unmarked location beyond the shelter. there was ample parking at the trailhead, but the lot is not visible from the road.

3 months ago

3 months ago

great time

backpacking
5 months ago

This part of the AT is easy hiking. If you live in the area you can add an additional 5.7 miles by starting at the top of Peters Mountain and taking the Victoria Trail down the south side of the mountain to Victoria Furnace. If you are planning an over nighter, make sure you camp at the top on the AT, because the Victoria Trail takes you down the south side of the mountain and it will be difficult to find a place to pitch a tent going down the mountain.

9 months ago

hiking
Friday, July 15, 2016

hiking
Sunday, July 10, 2016

hiking
Saturday, July 02, 2016

Good easy trail. Great views at Shock Rock and Table Rock. Take the kids and/or the dog it is a good introduction to hiking and the Appalachian Trail.

Sunday, June 26, 2016

hiking
Saturday, June 11, 2016

hiking
Friday, June 10, 2016

Monday, June 06, 2016

I stumbled upon this one day wondering.The best view around!!

hiking
Tuesday, April 26, 2016

Great hike! Well worth the trip.

hiking
Monday, April 25, 2016

hiking
Saturday, March 26, 2016

It's a good hike with different sceneries as you hike.

hiking
Wednesday, February 10, 2016

Thursday, January 14, 2016

My son and I just started Back packing. Dec. 30th was our 1st night out. this section was later in the day, After passing the Victorian trail we stopped at the shelter for lunch around 130 pm. we decided to hump it to the next shelter. The weather did not help with much views it was fogged out and cool, around 40 degrees. trail was a lot faster to walk than I thought it would be. Happy feet area. But that's just me.

hiking
Sunday, October 04, 2015

hiking
Wednesday, September 23, 2015

Saturday, August 01, 2015

very good trail good scenic outlooks trail not to hard