Grand View and Old Beaver Dam Loops Via Falls Trail

DIFFICILE 26 avis
N°6 sur 14 randonnées à

Grand View and Old Beaver Dam Loops Via Falls Trail est un sentier en boucle de 13.4 miles modérément fréquenté situé près de Sweet Valley, Pennsylvanie. Le sentier longe une cascade et sa difficulté est évaluée comme difficile. Le sentier offre plusieurs activités et sa meilleure utilisation est de mars à octobre. Les chiens sont les bienvenus sur ce sentier.

Distance: 13.4 miles Dénivelé: 1,791 feet Type d'itinéraire: Boucle

chiens bienvenus

randonnée

activités en pleine nature

course à pied

forêt

chute d'eau

Sentier des chutes et chemin Old Beaver Dam Rails du sentier au sentier Grand View au sentier Ganoga View. Le sentier des chutes est toujours excellent - vous pouvez ajouter 2 boucles supplémentaires qui vous mèneront à travers une belle forêt, puis à la tour de feu au sommet le plus élevé de Ricketts.

randonnée
2 months ago

La boucle de côté des chutes (5 étoiles, bien sûr) attribuerait le reste de cette randonnée à 3. Le Old Beaver Dam Rd est à peu près tout ce que ... vieille route herbeuse C'est la partie la plus facile de la randonnée et on peut même y faire du trail, mais n'offre rien d'intéressant à part un changement de la végétation forestière et la solitude loin des chutes. Notez que Grand View Trail n'a pas réellement de vue. Cette boucle comporte une belle ascension régulière, mais une fois que vous êtes au sommet de la tour d’incendie, vous ne pouvez pas voir au-dessus des arbres.

Seulement terminé la portion de piste de chutes. C'est magnifique. J'ai hâte de tout faire

Ce fut une randonnée incroyable. Vous passez devant d'innombrables cascades magnifiques. Ce que je n’aimais pas, c’est que nous y sommes allés un samedi et que c’est la randonnée la plus achalandée et la plus encombrée que je connaisse. Bien sûr, la plupart des gens ont été près des chutes si vous faites toute la boucle est d'environ 12,5 miles.

Ombragé, des tonnes de cascades, beaucoup de hauts et de bas. Grande randonnée mais passé des tonnes d'autres randonneurs, familles etc.

Grande randonnée en remontant le sentier des cascades et en suivant les boucles nord, mais descendre les escaliers en pierre lisses avec des gouttes abruptes le long des cascades était plus qu’énervant.

randonnée
6 months ago

Ce sentier n'avait pas de vue panoramique, mais les cascades le compensaient entièrement. Absolument magnifique sur l'eau et vraiment très belle forêt avec très peu d'insectes. Le sentier n’était pas du tout votre lambeau de roche typique de pennsylvanie, la seule partie de roche se trouvant au bord de l’eau, et ces roches ont été placées de manière à être plates et à faciliter l’ascension. Le sommet de Grandview était un peu terne mais toujours agréable. Je dirais que cette piste était modérée plutôt que difficile. C'était un peu boueux à certains endroits dans les bois, mais une bonne paire de bottes aurait mieux survécu à l'humidité que mes coureurs de trail. Je recommande absolument ce sentier.

Une façon plus agréable et plus enrichissante de découvrir ce que Ricketts Glen a à offrir. Ce sentier commence en suivant le sentier populaire de la cascade jusqu'à son point final général, puis fait un grand détour par des sentiers moins peuplés pour atteindre un point culminant local avant de rejoindre l'essai de cascade après des sentiers moins peuplés. Le point fort en vaut vraiment la peine en été, car il n’ya pas de vue perceptible et la tour d’incendie en haut de Grand View est une barrière pour le public. Cet essai est agréable car vous serez bientôt loin des foules et en solidarité après avoir vécu la majorité des chutes.

randonnée
Fri Aug 24 2018

Grands sentiers, beaucoup de roches et pittoresques. Il y a tellement de superbes cascades et aussi de jolies forêts vertes avec des fougères. Des bottes de randonnée avec support de cheville sont un must! Deux d'entre nous l'ont fait en 6 heures environ, ce qui comprenait deux pauses collation. Je considérerais cette piste plus modérée que difficile.

randonnée
Mon Jun 04 2018

Sentier vraiment bien entretenu! Quelques balises de piste déroutantes, mais tant que vous restez sur vos gardes, vous n’aurez aucun problème. Le sentier des chutes avait beaucoup de circulation, mais nous n'en avons vu que quelques-unes sur le vieux barrage de castor et des boucles grandioses. Si vous êtes plutôt en forme et actif physiquement, je dirais que c'est plutôt modéré que difficile. Nous (deux adultes) sommes allés de l'avant et avons parcouru 12,8 milles en 5 heures. Ça vaut vraiment le coup!

sports de pagaie
1 month ago

a enregistré Ricketts Glen

randonnée
1 month ago

randonnée
2 months ago

randonnée
3 months ago

randonnée
3 months ago

randonnée
5 months ago

randonnée
5 months ago

randonnée
7 months ago

randonnée
Mon Apr 30 2018

Sat Dec 02 2017

randonnée
Sat Oct 28 2017

randonnée
Sat Oct 28 2017

Grand View and Old Beaver Dam Loops Via Falls Trail

hardYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray Star(36)
Ricketts Glen State Park

Grand View and Old Beaver Dam Loops Via Falls Trail is a 13.4 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near Sweet Valley, Pennsylvania that features a waterfall and is rated as difficult. The trail is primarily used for hiking, running, and nature trips and is best used from March until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail.

Distance: 13.4 miles Elevation Gain: 1,791 feet Route Type: Loop

dog friendly

hiking

nature trips

running

forest

waterfall

Falls Trail plus Old Beaver Dam Rails trail to Grand View Trail to Ganoga View Trail. Falls trail is always great - can add 2 more loops that take you through some nice forest and then to the Fire Tower at the highest peak at Ricketts.

hiking
bugs
muddy
rocky
scramble
12 days ago

Very nice area around the falls. Tons of walking upwards. Is is slippery and can be dangerous and scary walking around these waterfalls because you are literally walking and climbing, man made slippery/wet steps/rocks that are everywhere. It is a hard hike. Was on here for about 8 hours. Steered towards the Jean Lake to have some lunch for about 39 minutes. Be prepared for a long walk lol but you can swim there! Afterwards headed back to the trail again. It was overall a nice hike that I probably won’t do again because my feet are killing me!

hiking
muddy
snow
5 months ago

open hike with Dad Elise and Nate the day after Christmas 2019 belittle snowy and muddy but the sun came out and it was comfortable couldn't get to the falls because of the AC conditions forgot to a pretty Bridge running over a creek where we got some nice pictures looking forward to coming back in the spring in the warmer weather

hiking
7 months ago

Falls loop aside (5 stars, of course) would rate the rest of this hike as 3. The Old Beaver Dam Rd is pretty much just that...old, grassy road. It's the easiest part of the hike and could even do trail running on it, but doesn't offer anything interesting other than some change in forest vegetation and solitude away from the falls. Note that Grand View Trail does not actually have any view. There is a nice steady ascent involved in that loop, but once you are at the top where the fire tower is, you cannot see above the trees.

Only completed the falls trail portion. It’s stunning. Can’t wait to do the whole thing

This was an amazing hike. You walk past countless waterfalls that are beautiful. The o my thing I didn’t like is we went on a Saturday and it was the busiest most congested hike I’ve ever been on. Of course most people were by the falls if you do the whole loop is about 12.5 miles.

Shaded, tons of waterfalls, lots of ups and down hills. Great hike but passed TONS of other hikers, families etc.

Great hike ascending the waterfall trail and following the north loops, but descending the slick stone staircases with sheer drops along the waterfalls was more than a little unnerving.

hiking
Tue Jun 04 2019

This trail didn’t have any sweeping vistas, but the waterfalls entirely make up for it. Absolutely stunning on the water and really lovely woodlands with very few bugs. The trail wasn’t at all your usual pennsylvania rock slog, with the only rock part being next to the water, and those rocks were placed to be flat and aid in ascending. The summit of grandview was a bit lackluster but still nice. I would say this trail was moderate rather than difficult. It was a bit muddy at some points in the woods but a good pair of boots would have survived the wetness better than my trail runners. I absolutely recommend this trail.

A better and more fulfilling way to experience what Ricketts Glen has to offer. This trail starts off following the popular waterfall trail until its general end point but then takes a large detour through less populated trails to reach a local high point before rejoining the waterfall trial after more of less populated trails. The high point is really worth it in the summer months as there are no discernible views and the fire tower at the top of Grand View is fences off to the public. This trial is nice since you’ll soon be away from the crowds and in solidarity after experiencing the majority of the falls.

hiking
Fri Aug 24 2018

Great trails, plenty of rocks, and scenic. There are so many great waterfalls and also some pretty green woodlands with ferns. Hiking boots with ankle support are a must! Two of us did it in around 6 hours, which included two snack breaks. I would consider this trail more moderate than difficult.

hiking
Mon Jun 04 2018

Really well maintained trail! A couple confusing trail markers, but as long as you stay on your toes you will have no problems. Falls trail had a lot of traffic, but we only saw a few others on old beaver dam and grand view loops. If you are somewhat physically fit and active I would rate this as moderate as opposed to difficult. We (two adults) moved right along and did 12.8 miles in 5 hours. Well worth it!

hiking
3 months ago

recorded Ricketts Glen

hiking
7 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

hiking
9 months ago

hiking
9 months ago

Showing results 1 - 26 of 36