Skinner Butte and South Bank Loop is a 1.4 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near Eugene, Oregon that features a river and is good for all skill levels. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, nature trips, and birding and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
1.4 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
236 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

dogs on leash

kid friendly

birding

hiking

nature trips

walking

river

views

city walk

18 days ago

local, easy, views of downtown and spencers butte

4 months ago

super eas quick trail. great for kids

hiking
10 months ago

Parking lot is sketch, trail is beautiful. Baby friendly and not too busy.

Monday, November 13, 2017

Great if you want to do something active without having to go very far. Loved doing it in the fall with all of the leaves changing! Bonus points that there's a brewery only a few blocks from the park entrance for a post hike beverage!

hiking
Monday, August 07, 2017

Nice quick hike. Catches elevation quickly.
Nice views of the city from the south summit. High recommend checking out the climbing columns on the way down.

trail running
Friday, July 14, 2017

It's a nice short trail up to a city center view point located in the middle of Eugene. I like to jog the river trail with my kids and always take the 20 min or so jog to the top of Skinners Butte and back. across the street from the Butte there is a cute kids play ground as well.

hiking
Thursday, May 25, 2017

One of my favorites in the area!!

walking
Thursday, April 13, 2017

This is a nice short (1.5) mile urban walk/stroll/short hike combining wooded areas up and down Spencer Butte (elevation less than 300') and a quarter mile along the river. There is ample parking at Campbell Park (eastern trailhead) and at the Riverplay Discovery Village and Playground (western trailhead)

hiking
1 hour ago

hiking
8 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

hiking
9 months ago

hiking
Thursday, November 23, 2017

hiking
Tuesday, October 10, 2017

hiking
Thursday, September 28, 2017

Sunday, August 13, 2017

hiking
Sunday, July 30, 2017

Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Friday, July 14, 2017

Monday, June 26, 2017

Sunday, June 04, 2017

hiking
Friday, June 02, 2017

Wednesday, May 31, 2017

Monday, May 22, 2017