Mount Hood, Barrett Spur

DIFFICILE 6 avis
N°79 sur 151 randonnées à

Mount Hood, Barrett Spur is a 15.6 mile lightly trafficked out and back trail located near Hood River, Oregon and is rated as difficult. The trail is primarily used for hiking, rock climbing, and nature trips and is best used from July until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
15.6 miles
DÉNIVELÉ
2,982 pieds
TYPE D'ITINÉRAIRE
Aller-retour

chiens en laisse

randonnée

activités en pleine nature

escalade

voie partiellement aménagée

8 months ago

Les 2 premiers milles du sentier ont été transformés en route goudronnée, les 1 1/2 milles suivants où de petites roches lâches Après cela, ils ont arrêté l'entretien du sentier.

randonnée
Wednesday, May 31, 2017

L'accès au début du sentier reste très problématique en raison de la couverture de neige sur les routes. La couverture de neige commence lorsque vous tournez à droite sur la NF-1810 en sortant de Lolo Pass Rd. Il vous suffit de passer la tête du sentier Lolo Pass. Le NF-1810 est relié au chemin Lolo Pass. Il est possible que cela disparaisse une fois que la route redevient asphaltée. Je ne suis pas sûr des conditions de la route sur le NF-16. Un véhicule avec une garde au sol élevée et 4 roues motrices serait nécessaire pour explorer plus loin. J'ai fait cette randonnée plusieurs fois. Est l'un de mes favoris dans la région. Très peu de gens et une vue imprenable.

randonnée
Thursday, September 15, 2016

Je viens de terminer cette randonnée. Toujours super dur. Apporté mon chien et c'était plutôt effrayant. Brouillage défini au sommet.

randonnée
Wednesday, August 19, 2015

Je n'ai pas réussi à atteindre le sommet, mais mon copain l'a fait (c'est une machine d'escalade en montagne). Trop chaud et trop peu d'eau. J'ai aussi eu du mal à trouver le bon TH. Mt Hood était magnifique et je vais probablement l'essayer à nouveau dans un an. Le sentier Timberline était très occupé lorsque je suis allé le week-end, mais ce sentier était relativement vide. La plupart des gens se dirigeaient vers McNeil Point. Je recommanderais probablement McNeil Point ou Cooper Spur avant de partir en randonnée.

11 months ago

Thursday, October 13, 2016

Mount Hood, Barrett Spur

HARD 4 reviews
#63 of 135 trails in

Mount Hood, Barrett Spur is a 15.7 mile out and back trail located near Hood River, Oregon and is rated as difficult. The trail is primarily used for hiking and rock climbing and is best used from July until October.

DISTANCE
15.7 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
3438 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Out & Back

hiking

rock climbing

hiking
27 days ago

Accessing to trail head is still very problematic due to snow cover on roads. Snow coverage starts when turning right onto NF-1810 off of Lolo Pass Rd, just pass Lolo Pass Trail head. NF-1810 connects back with Lolo Pass Rd. There's a possibility this clears up once the road turns to asphalt again. I'm unsure of the road conditions on NF-16. A vehicle with high ground clearance and 4WD would be needed to explore farther.

Have made this hike several times. Is one of my favorites in the area. Very few people and stunning views.

8 months ago

hiking
9 months ago

Just finished this hike. Still super hard. Brought my dog and that was sort of scary. Definite scrambling at the top.

hiking
Wednesday, August 19, 2015

I wasn't able to make it to the top but my buddy did (he is a mountain climbing machine). Too hot and too little water. I also had a hard time finding the right TH. Mt Hood was gorgeous and I will probably try it again in a year. The Timberline trail was really busy when I went on the weekend, but this trail was relatively empty. Most people were heading to McNeil Point. I would probably recommend McNeil point or Cooper Spur before hiking this.