Spring Sale! Get a year of AllTrails Pro for only $14.99
Get Started

Lowder Mountain Trail

INTERMÉDIAIRE 6 avis
N°5 sur 14 randonnées à

Lowder Mountain Trail is a 5.1 mile lightly trafficked out and back trail located near Blue River, Oregon that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as moderate. The trail offers a number of activity options and is best used from June until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
5.1 miles
DÉNIVELÉ
1,062 pieds
TYPE D'ITINÉRAIRE
Aller-retour

chiens en laisse

convient aux enfants

camping

randonnée

activités en pleine nature

raquettes

ornithologie

forêt

vue panoramique

fleurs sauvages

faune

couvert de végétation

neige

This is a nice hike through forests and meadows up to a summit with views of the Cascades. From the cliffs you can look down to some mountain lakes, as well as amazing views of the cascades from the Sisters to Mt. Washington, Jefferson, and Hood.

6 months ago

Randonnée début août juste avant le début de l'incendie de Terwilliger. J'ai adoré cette randonnée. Je voulais revenir à l'automne, mais avec le feu, ça ne va pas arriver. Sera intéressé à entendre si cette piste a brûlé. Nous avons eu de la fumée provenant d’autres incendies lors de notre randonnée; nous n’avions donc pas la meilleure vue possible et souhaitons donc revenir à l’automne.

Tuesday, November 21, 2017

19/11/17. Une route a été construite sur le pont de South Fork McKenzie River qui a fermé la route. Si vous ne souhaitez pas faire le tour du lac, vous devrez au moins attendre fin novembre, avant que la route ne rouvre.

randonnée
Friday, July 21, 2017

Le sentier qui mène au sommet de Lowder est assez facile à suivre et offre une vue magnifique, mais méfiez-vous si vous essayez de prendre l'un des deux sentiers en direction ouest. Le sentier 3329 qui se dirige vers Yankee Mountain porte à tort le nom de Walker Creek et n’est pas entretenu. Avec son exposition sud, il est extrêmement envahi par la végétation et difficile à suivre - plus frustrant que divertissant. Je n'ai jamais pu trouver le vrai Walker Creek Trail (3330). J'ai essayé de le rechercher en remontant et en revenant au sommet de Lowder mais je n'ai jamais rien trouvé. Je pense que l'USFS a décidé de laisser ces deux sentiers disparaître.

randonnée
Saturday, July 25, 2015

Je ne savais pas à quoi m'attendre avec cette montagne. Je cherchais une altitude plus basse, une randonnée plus longue. J'étais extrêmement satisfait de celui-ci. Cela m'a pris environ deux heures et demie au total, avec 20 minutes de repos au sommet des falaises. J'ai eu la piste pour moi-même. Le sentier serpente à travers des prairies d'érables de vigne et de mûres, avec une étonnante vieille forêt éparpillée dans la forêt (cherchez-la!). C'est un peu envahi par moments, mais j'ai trouvé que c'était un sentier amusant et accidenté. Le sentier arrive à une fourche à peu près au point de 3 km. Porter ici jusqu'à la montagne Lowder (0,8). Walker Creek continue vers la gauche. Le sentier passe ensuite dans un pré ouvert, principalement de la terre. Les cairns ont été très utiles d'ici. Le sentier trace ensuite un deuxième pré pour atteindre finalement une vue sur la falaise. Je pouvais voir les sœurs, sommet cassé, Diamond Peak, le mont. Washington, Mt Bachelor et Mt. Capuche. Ce serait un endroit incroyable pour camper. Je reviendrai certainement.

Saturday, April 29, 2017

randonnée
Sunday, September 25, 2016

Lowder Mountain Trail

MODERATE 5 reviews

Lowder Mountain Trail is a 5.1 mile lightly trafficked out and back trail located near Blue River, Oregon that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as moderate. The trail offers a number of activity options and is best used from June until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
5.1 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
1043 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Out & Back

dogs on leash

kid friendly

birding

camping

hiking

nature trips

snowshoeing

forest

views

wild flowers

wildlife

over grown

This is a nice hike through forests and meadows up to a summit with views of the Cascades. From the cliffs you can look down to some mountain lakes, as well as amazing views of the cascades from the Sisters to Mt. Washington, Jefferson, and Hood.

2 days ago

11/19/17. There's road construction on the South Fork McKenzie River bridge that has closed the road. Unless you want to drive all the way around the lake you will have to wait till the end of November, at least, before the road reopens.

hiking
4 months ago

The trail to the top of Lowder is fairly easy to follow and had great views, but beware if you are trying to take either of the two trails heading west. Trail 3329 heading toward Yankee Mountain is incorrectly labeled as Walker Creek and is not maintained. With it's southern exposure, it is extremely overgrown and difficult to follow - more frustrating than fun. I never could find the real Walker Creek Trail (3330). I tried looking for it on my way up and back to the top of Lowder but never found any sign of it. I think the USFS has decided to just let these two trails fade away.

6 months ago

hiking
Sunday, September 25, 2016

hiking
Saturday, July 25, 2015

I did not know what to expect with this mountain. I was looking for a lower elevation, longer distance hike. I was extremely satisfied with this one. It took me about 2 1/2 hours total - with a nice 20 minute rest on the summit cliffs. I had the trail to myself. The trail winds through meadows of vine maple and blackberry, with amazing old growth strewn within the forest (look around for it!). It's a little overgrown at times, but I found this to be a fun and rugged trail. The trail comes to a fork at about the 2 mile point. Bear right here up to Lowder Mountain (.8). Walker creek continues to the left. The trail then switchbacks up to an open meadow, mostly dirt. The cairns were very helpful from here. The trail then traces a second meadow, finally reaching a cliff-side vista. I could see the Sisters, Broken top, Diamond peak, Mt. Washington, Mt Bachelor, and Mt. Hood. This would be an incredible place to camp. I will certainly return.