Erratic Rock State Natural Site is a 0.5 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near McMinnville, Oregon that offers the chance to see wildlife and is good for all skill levels. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, nature trips, and bird watching and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Distance: 0.5 miles Elevation Gain: 95 feet Route Type: Out & Back

dogs on leash

wheelchair friendly

kid friendly

stroller friendly

hiking

nature trips

walking

bird watching

paved

views

wildlife

hiking
13 hours ago

Nice short trail that ends in beautiful panoramic views.

hiking
1 day ago

Nice small adventure, love the lil goat with the bell up top.

hiking
9 months ago

Nice short hike for my little ones. The youngest is 2 and he made it almost the whole way. There is a decent uphill section that proved difficult for him. Paved trail would make it easy to bring a stroller if need be.

hiking
Wed Apr 03 2019

Path was covered in glass on my way up. I litterally had to carry my 40lb dog so she didn’t step on it. It’s litterally like a 5-10 minute walk straight up hill to a rock. Wouldn’t reccomend.

hiking
Tue Mar 19 2019

Very short walk on a paved trail to an okay viewpoint and a pretty boring rock. Good signage and roadside pullout. If you are stuck in the area and want some fresh air, worth checking out. The Rock was supposedly deposited by glaciers from many states away, so there is some geology to geek out on too.

hiking
Mon Feb 25 2019

An interesting site if you like geology. Not a lot of parking, no restrooms, and while it is paved it gets steep in one short section. Great views of the valley, though. More of a walk than a hike to be honest.

Wed Apr 18 2018

Short hike with beautiful views of the valley. Not much for parking and really easy.

Tue Feb 20 2018

Nice short hike. No parking lot, so we parked close to the road. The hike is pretty much uphill, but there are some nice views from the top.

hiking
Mon Feb 05 2018

Great short hike close see to home with the kiddos . Great for picnic lunch at the top with great views .

walking
Sat Nov 11 2017

Beautiful view. Geologically interesting.

Tue Sep 12 2017

quick simple trail with the kids, great view at the top!

Tue Aug 22 2017

Short walk and very close to a noisy road. It has nice views once at the top.

walking
Thu Jul 13 2017

Great views. Nice walk!

hiking
Thu Jun 01 2017

There is enough parking for about six cars across the street from the trail head. I went on a week day so plenty of parking. There is about an 80 foot difference in elevation from the trail marker and the rock. So if you don't climb stairs this one is going to give you a burn on your calves. It's a nice walk more or less.

Sun May 07 2017

Beautiful little stroll in Oregon wine country. The entire 0.25 miles up to the rock is paved. Also, There is a little parking area that can hold roughly 4 cars. Note: Some pranksters moved the picnic table on top of the rock, and it was too heavy for us to take off.

road biking
6 months ago

hiking
9 months ago

hiking
9 months ago

hiking
11 months ago

walking
11 months ago

hiking
11 months ago

hiking
Sat Apr 27 2019

Thu Aug 02 2018

Sun Apr 22 2018

hiking
Thu Mar 29 2018

walking
Tue Sep 19 2017

hiking
Fri Aug 18 2017

Wed May 17 2017

Sat May 13 2017