Old Military Trail

INTERMÉDIAIRE 8 avis
N°5 sur 8 randonnées à

Old Military Trail est un sentier modérément fréquenté de 11,5 milles situé près de Talihina, dans l'Oklahoma, qui présente un superbe cadre forestier et qui est considéré comme modéré. Le sentier est principalement utilisé pour la randonnée, le course à pied, les chevaux et le VTT. Les chiens et les chevaux peuvent également utiliser ce sentier.

Distance : 11.5 miles Dénivelé: 1,646 feet Type d'itinéraire: Aller-retour

chiens bienvenus

randonnée

randonnée à cheval

VTT

course de trail

forêt

boueux

rocheux

Le vieux sentier militaire commence le long du chemin Holson Valley et rejoint le sentier de loisirs national de Ouachita du côté sud du mont Winding Stair. Ces deux sentiers, avec Boardstand Trail, peuvent être combinés pour former une randonnée en boucle d’environ 23 milles.

randonnée sac-à-dos
boueux
insectes
rocheux
2 months ago

Randonnée dans le sens anti-horaire du sentier de boucle OT-BST-OMR dans le parc national de Talimena pendant le week-end du mémorial (mai 2019). Commencé à 13h le samedi et randonnée en premier sur la portion du sentier de Ouachita. Prévu pour camper autour du mile 7-8 mais nous y sommes arrivés assez tôt et avons décidé de continuer à pousser. Faites-le sur le sentier Boardstand et installez votre camp juste au nord de la jonction BD-06 (Pond Camp). Il y a eu beaucoup de pluie récemment, nous n'avons donc pas caché d'eau. Les sources coulaient et il y avait beaucoup d'endroits pour filtrer l'eau sur toute la boucle. La section du sentier Old Military Road de cette boucle était nettement différente du sentier Ouachita. Moins rocheux, les hauts et les bas avaient des sections entre eux sans changement d'élévation (ce qui était très agréable). Randonnée facile. Beaucoup d'herbe à puce! Les tiques étaient aussi folles.

4 months ago

C’était un bon sentier avec quelques cailloux mais dans l’ensemble nous avons apprécié. Il était bien indiqué et plusieurs panneaux indiquent qu'il se trouve à moins de 3 km du parc Talimena et de la route 88/1.

randonnée sac-à-dos
Monday, October 31, 2016

Randonnée sur ce sentier dans le cadre du Ouachita - Boardstand - Old Military Loop. Bon état général avec seulement quelques légères excroissances et briars du côté nord de la montagne juste avant la route panoramique.

randonnée
Friday, January 29, 2016

L’ancienne route militaire / sentier de la route militaire / piste de montagne de Ouachita forme une randonnée en boucle d’environ 23 kilomètres, qui chevauche de nombreuses autres routes telles que la route de la Choctaw et Panorama Vista, à travers le parc national Talimena - et est considérée comme la meilleure randonnée les collines de l'Oklahoma. Il est parfois difficile d’embrouiller certains éléments vers la fin: lors de la descente finale vers le parc national de Talihina, des flammes jaunes intermittentes se forment car l’INT croise plusieurs fois le sentier Ouachita, mais se refermera à l’intersection du sentier Ouachita. le vieux sentier militaire. Tous les bureaux du parc d'État ont été fermés, à l'exception de l'emplacement central. nous n’avons vu aucune source d’eau sur la route, généralement couvert et froid avec des vents forts dans des zones plus dégagées / plus élevées. Il nous a fallu environ 10 heures pour terminer. Pas le meilleur paysage en hiver, bien sûr, mais quand même très agréable.

randonnée
Saturday, January 09, 2016

Ce sentier est dans ma cour la plupart de ma vie, l’ai fait plusieurs fois avec plusieurs pensées différentes. Si le temps est humide et pluvieux, attendez-vous à beaucoup de traversées d'eau et de boue qui ne sont normalement pas là. également en ce qui concerne les arbres étant en baisse. cela se produit de temps en temps lorsque le mauvais temps et les tempêtes de verglas détruisent cette partie de l'État. Mais en général, c'est un très beau sentier qui n'est pas utilisé beaucoup. capable de sortir et de passer du temps avec la nature et en faire une bonne randonnée de deux ou trois jours lorsqu'il est connecté à la grande boucle de sentiers.

Friday, October 23, 2015

Je suis novice en écriture et ce sentier était extrêmement difficile, pas bien entretenu et des arbres tombés le bloquaient

a enregistré Tree Stump

randonnée
Saturday, March 31, 2018

a enregistré Day 1

randonnée
Sunday, November 01, 2015

Randonnées populaires

Old Military Trail is a 11.5 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Talihina, Oklahoma that features a great forest setting and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, trail running, horses, and mountain biking. Dogs and horses are also able to use this trail.

Distance: 11.5 miles Elevation Gain: 1,646 feet Route Type: Out & Back

dog friendly

hiking

horseback riding

mountain biking

running

forest

muddy

rocky

The Old Military Trail starts along Holson Valley Road and connects with the Ouachita National Recreation Trail on the south side of Winding Stair Mountain. These two trails, along with Boardstand Trail, can be combined to form a looped hike of about 23 miles.

hiking
flooded
muddy
27 days ago

Hiked after big rain . Crossed many streams . Muddy . Started at north end and didn’t make it to good view at south end of trail. Bring trekking poles if you hike after rain. Well shaded . Lots of poison ivy.

hiking
1 month ago

This is overall a peaceful, well maintained trail that lacks the great views of nearby trails. I completed it as an out-and-back in April. Wildflowers were coming in, some trees were in bloom, and I saw several snakes and lizards. The OMT never breaks through the trees to offer panoramic views. The trail itself is clear and easy to follow. There was minimal pollution. Water crossings were easy in over-ankle boots.

backpacking
1 month ago

Did this trail with the Ouachita section as a 23 mile loop in January. Good condition and well marked. We hammock camped and had no shortage of sites to choose from and had some great views. Will definitely continue to utilize this and other area trails.

1 month ago

Nice, well marked trail. I train for hard trail races on it frequently :)

backpacking
bugs
muddy
rocky
Sun May 26 2019

Hiked the OT-BST-OMR Loop Trail counterclockwise starting from Talimena State Park over memorial weekend (May 2019). Started at 1pm on Saturday and hiked the Ouachita Trail portion first. Planned to camp around mile 7-8 but we got there fairly early and decided to keep pushing. Made it to the Boardstand Trail and set up camp just north of the BD-06 junction (Pond Camp). There has been a lot of rain in the area recently so we did not cache water. The springs were flowing and there were plenty of places to filter water on the entire loop. The Old Military Road Trail section of this loop was definitely different from the Ouachita Trail. Less rocky, the ups and downs had sections between them with no elevation change (which was very nice). Easy hike. Lots of poison ivy! Ticks were out like crazy too.

Sun Apr 21 2019

Was a great trail with some rocks but overall we enjoyed it. It was well marked and several signs show that it's 2 miles from Talimena Park to hwy 88 / 1.

backpacking
Mon Oct 31 2016

Hiked this trail as part of the Ouachita - Boardstand - Old Military Loop. Good condition overall with only some slight overgrowth and briars on the north side of the mountain just before the Scenic Drive.

hiking
Fri Jan 29 2016

The Old Military Road / Boardstand Path/ Ouachita Mountain Trail collectively form a looped hike of about 23 miles, overlapping with many other routes such as the Choctaw Nation Trail and Panorama Vista, through Talimena State Park—and is argued to be the best hike through the hills of Oklahoma. There are a couple instances towards the end that can be confusing: during the final decent to Talihina State Park, there are intermittent yellow blazes because the INT criss-crosses the Ouachita trail several times, but will close on its self where the Ouachita Trail intersects the Old Military Trail. All state park offices were closed except for central location; we saw no water sources on the route, mostly overcast and cold with strong winds in more open areas/higher elevation. Took us about 10 hours to complete. Not the best scenery in the winter, of course, but still very enjoyable.

hiking
Sat Jan 09 2016

This trail is in my back yard most my life, have done it several times with several different thoughts. If the weather is wet and rainy expect alot of water crossings and mud that normally is not there. also in regards to the trees being down. this happens from time to time when bad weather and ice storms wreck this part of the state. But in general this is a really nice trail that isnt use alot. able to get out and spend time with nature and make it a good two or three day hike when connected to the broad stand trail loop.

Fri Oct 23 2015

I am new to writing and this trail was extremely difficult not well kept and fallen trees blocking the trail

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
4 months ago

recorded Tree Stump

hiking
Sat Mar 31 2018

hiking
Sun Nov 01 2015