Der Old Military Trail ist ein 11,5 Meilen langer Wanderweg in der Nähe von Talihina, Oklahoma, der eine großartige Waldlage aufweist und als moderat eingestuft wird. Der Weg wird hauptsächlich zum Wandern, Trailrunning, Reiten und Mountainbiken genutzt. Hunde und Pferde können diesen Weg auch nutzen.

Entfernung: 11.5 miles Höhenunterschied: 1,646 feet Routentyp: Hin & zurück

hundefreundlich

Wandern

Reiten

Mountainbiking

Laufen

Wald

schlammig

steinig

Der Old Military Trail beginnt an der Holson Valley Road und führt an den Ouachita National Recreation Trail auf der Südseite des Winding Stair Mountain. Diese beiden Trails können zusammen mit dem Boardstand Trail zu einer Rundwanderung von etwa 23 Meilen kombiniert werden.

rucksacktour
käfer
schlammig
steinig
4 months ago

Wandern Sie den OT-BST-OMR-Rundweg gegen den Uhrzeigersinn vom Talimena State Park über das Gedenkwochenende (Mai 2019). Begann am Samstag um 13:00 Uhr und war zuerst auf dem Ouachita Trail unterwegs. Geplant, um die 7.-8. Meile zu campen, aber wir kamen ziemlich früh an und beschlossen, weiter zu pushen. Schaffte es auf den Boardstand Trail und richtete das Camp nördlich der BD-06-Kreuzung (Pond Camp) ein. Es hat in letzter Zeit viel geregnet, so dass wir kein Wasser zwischengespeichert haben. Die Quellen flossen und es gab viele Stellen, an denen Wasser auf der gesamten Schleife gefiltert werden konnte. Der Abschnitt des Old Military Road Trail dieser Runde unterschied sich definitiv vom Ouachita Trail. Weniger felsig, die Höhen und Tiefen hatten Abschnitte zwischen sich ohne Höhenunterschied (was sehr schön war). Leichte Wanderung. Viel Giftefeu! Zecken waren auch verrückt.

6 months ago

War ein großartiger Trail mit ein paar Felsen, aber insgesamt hat es uns gefallen. Es war gut markiert und mehrere Anzeichen zeigen, dass es 3 km vom Talimena Park bis zum 88/1 ist.

rucksacktour
Monday, October 31, 2016

Wanderte diesen Weg als Teil der Ouachita - Boardstand - Old Military Loop. Insgesamt guter Zustand mit nur leichtem Überwuchs und Briaren auf der Nordseite des Berges kurz vor dem Scenic Drive.

wandern
Friday, January 29, 2016

Der Old Military Road / Boardstand Path / Ouachita Mountain Trail bildet zusammen eine Rundwanderung von etwa 23 Meilen, die sich mit vielen anderen Routen, wie dem Choctaw Nation Trail und Panorama Vista, durch den Talimena State Park überschneidet - und wird als beste Wanderung bezeichnet die Hügel von Oklahoma. Gegen Ende gibt es einige Fälle, die verwirrend sein können: Während der letzten Etappe zum Talihina State Park gibt es intermittierende gelbe Flammen, da der INT den Ouachita-Pfad mehrmals kreuzt, sich aber dort schließt, wo sich der Ouachita-Weg kreuzt der alte militärweg Mit Ausnahme der zentralen Lage waren alle Büros des Nationalparks geschlossen. Wir sahen keine Wasserquellen auf der Route, meist bedeckt und kalt mit starken Winden in offeneren Gebieten / höher gelegen. Es dauerte ungefähr 10 Stunden. Natürlich nicht die beste Landschaft im Winter, aber trotzdem sehr erfreulich.

wandern
Saturday, January 09, 2016

Diese Spur ist in meinem Hinterhof am meisten meines Lebens, habe es mehrmals mit verschiedenen Gedanken gemacht. Wenn das Wetter nass und regnerisch ist, erwarten Sie viele Wasserdurchfahrten und Schlamm, die normalerweise nicht vorhanden sind. auch in Bezug auf die Bäume, die unten sind. Dies geschieht von Zeit zu Zeit, wenn schlechtes Wetter und Eisstürme diesen Teil des Staates zerstören. Aber im Allgemeinen ist dies ein wirklich schöner Weg, der nicht viel benutzt wird. Aussteigen, Zeit mit der Natur verbringen und zwei oder drei Tage lang wandern, wenn Sie an die breite Standloipe angeschlossen sind.

Friday, October 23, 2015

Ich bin zum Schreiben neu und dieser Weg war extrem schwierig, nicht gut gepflegt und Bäume, die den Weg blockieren

aufgezeichnet Tree Stump

wandern
Saturday, March 31, 2018

aufgezeichnet Day 1

wandern
Sunday, November 01, 2015

Empfohlene Routen

Old Military Trail is a 11.5 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Talihina, Oklahoma that features a great forest setting and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, trail running, horses, and mountain biking. Dogs and horses are also able to use this trail.

Distance: 11.5 miles Elevation Gain: 1,646 feet Route Type: Out & Back

dog friendly

hiking

horseback riding

mountain biking

running

forest

muddy

rocky

The Old Military Trail starts along Holson Valley Road and connects with the Ouachita National Recreation Trail on the south side of Winding Stair Mountain. These two trails, along with Boardstand Trail, can be combined to form a looped hike of about 23 miles.

hiking
flooded
muddy
27 days ago

Hiked after big rain . Crossed many streams . Muddy . Started at north end and didn’t make it to good view at south end of trail. Bring trekking poles if you hike after rain. Well shaded . Lots of poison ivy.

hiking
1 month ago

This is overall a peaceful, well maintained trail that lacks the great views of nearby trails. I completed it as an out-and-back in April. Wildflowers were coming in, some trees were in bloom, and I saw several snakes and lizards. The OMT never breaks through the trees to offer panoramic views. The trail itself is clear and easy to follow. There was minimal pollution. Water crossings were easy in over-ankle boots.

backpacking
1 month ago

Did this trail with the Ouachita section as a 23 mile loop in January. Good condition and well marked. We hammock camped and had no shortage of sites to choose from and had some great views. Will definitely continue to utilize this and other area trails.

1 month ago

Nice, well marked trail. I train for hard trail races on it frequently :)

backpacking
bugs
muddy
rocky
Sun May 26 2019

Hiked the OT-BST-OMR Loop Trail counterclockwise starting from Talimena State Park over memorial weekend (May 2019). Started at 1pm on Saturday and hiked the Ouachita Trail portion first. Planned to camp around mile 7-8 but we got there fairly early and decided to keep pushing. Made it to the Boardstand Trail and set up camp just north of the BD-06 junction (Pond Camp). There has been a lot of rain in the area recently so we did not cache water. The springs were flowing and there were plenty of places to filter water on the entire loop. The Old Military Road Trail section of this loop was definitely different from the Ouachita Trail. Less rocky, the ups and downs had sections between them with no elevation change (which was very nice). Easy hike. Lots of poison ivy! Ticks were out like crazy too.

Sun Apr 21 2019

Was a great trail with some rocks but overall we enjoyed it. It was well marked and several signs show that it's 2 miles from Talimena Park to hwy 88 / 1.

backpacking
Mon Oct 31 2016

Hiked this trail as part of the Ouachita - Boardstand - Old Military Loop. Good condition overall with only some slight overgrowth and briars on the north side of the mountain just before the Scenic Drive.

hiking
Fri Jan 29 2016

The Old Military Road / Boardstand Path/ Ouachita Mountain Trail collectively form a looped hike of about 23 miles, overlapping with many other routes such as the Choctaw Nation Trail and Panorama Vista, through Talimena State Park—and is argued to be the best hike through the hills of Oklahoma. There are a couple instances towards the end that can be confusing: during the final decent to Talihina State Park, there are intermittent yellow blazes because the INT criss-crosses the Ouachita trail several times, but will close on its self where the Ouachita Trail intersects the Old Military Trail. All state park offices were closed except for central location; we saw no water sources on the route, mostly overcast and cold with strong winds in more open areas/higher elevation. Took us about 10 hours to complete. Not the best scenery in the winter, of course, but still very enjoyable.

hiking
Sat Jan 09 2016

This trail is in my back yard most my life, have done it several times with several different thoughts. If the weather is wet and rainy expect alot of water crossings and mud that normally is not there. also in regards to the trees being down. this happens from time to time when bad weather and ice storms wreck this part of the state. But in general this is a really nice trail that isnt use alot. able to get out and spend time with nature and make it a good two or three day hike when connected to the broad stand trail loop.

Fri Oct 23 2015

I am new to writing and this trail was extremely difficult not well kept and fallen trees blocking the trail

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
4 months ago

recorded Tree Stump

hiking
Sat Mar 31 2018

hiking
Sun Nov 01 2015