Prairie Trail

EASY 24 reviews

Prairie Trail is a 1.7 mile loop trail located near Akron, Ohio that features a river and is good for all skill levels. The trail is primarily used for hiking and walking and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
1.7 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
22 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

dogs on leash

wheelchair friendly

kid friendly

hiking

walking

river

views

wild flowers

wildlife

Though the prairie will take years to fully develop, the easy 1.6-mile Prairie Trail leads visitors from the parking lot into what could become a birding hotspot in just a few years.

hiking
3 months ago

This is a nice historical trail that has come a long way in the past few years. The section from the parking lot along the road to the pond observation deck is fairly short (half a mile there, half a mile back) and very flat and grassy, so it would be good for those who have health problems or very young children and can't walk too far or deal with elevation changes. I don't think it could handle a wheel chair though, as it's not paved.

walking
Friday, August 04, 2017

Very easy but enjoyable loop. Tons of birds and beautiful wildflowers.

Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Lovely...want to come back as each season changes!

hiking
Friday, August 05, 2016

My favorite trail. Wildflowers are beautiful.

Friday, August 28, 2015

Nice, easy walk if you're looking for a short hike. Beautiful in late summer and autumn. Make sure to take the path to the pond in the center of the field (to the left if you're traveling counterclockwise).

Monday, June 15, 2015

simple quiet flat trail around a grassy field. easy and enjoyable.

recorded 7/23/18

hiking
25 days ago

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
3 months ago

hiking
3 months ago

hiking
9 months ago

9 months ago

hiking
11 months ago

recorded Recording - Aug 14, 05:28 PM

hiking
Monday, August 14, 2017

Tuesday, August 08, 2017

Thursday, May 04, 2017

Saturday, January 21, 2017

Monday, October 24, 2016

Tuesday, October 11, 2016

Tuesday, July 12, 2016

hiking
Saturday, June 18, 2016

Friday, May 06, 2016

Saturday, February 27, 2016

recorded Continental Divide

hiking
Friday, November 27, 2015