Penitentiary Glen Connector Trail

MODERATE 22 reviews
#1 of 1 trails in

Penitentiary Glen Connector Trail is a 4.8 mile moderately trafficked loop trail located near Kirtland, Ohio that features a waterfall and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, nature trips, and birding and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
4.8 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
472 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Loop

dogs on leash

wheelchair friendly

kid friendly

birding

hiking

nature trips

walking

forest

river

views

waterfall

wild flowers

wildlife

bugs

old growth

Penitentiary Glen is a nice 1/2 paved pathway along a scenic gorge.

hiking
1 month ago

1 month ago

2 months ago

6 months ago

hiking
9 months ago

We really enjoyed hiking here. There was a nice variety of woods area, stone walk and some pavement. I normally am not a fan of pavement, but there were quite a few areas that were muddy, slippery and at a pretty good incline, so the pavement was a welcome at the end of the hike.

It was a beautiful day today and great to see sunshine. There are quite a few different options to add or subtract some miles and a few nice elevation changes. It was very zen and peaceful, even though there were a lot of people.

hiking
9 months ago

Nice trail with beautiful hemlock in places. Saw six deer during hike, all does. Get out and enjoy.

11 months ago

Sunday, October 23, 2016

Plenty to see on and nearby the trail. Plenty for kids of all ages, especially at the nature center at the trail head where you can see wild animals being nursed back to health. Mostly gentle, with a few steep, but short rises in the trail. It's hard to see the namesake glen from the path.

hiking
Sunday, September 04, 2016

Great park!

Tuesday, June 28, 2016

hiking
Thursday, May 19, 2016

hiking
Wednesday, May 18, 2016

Saturday, March 26, 2016

Monday, April 27, 2015

hiking
Friday, April 03, 2015

Monday, September 08, 2014

Decent but not hard like the map claims. Lots of grass paths to walk through that can be pretty wet and tall at times.

hiking
Monday, July 21, 2014

hiking
Thursday, July 17, 2014

Trails are always beautifully kept and well marked. Scenery is absolutely stunning with creeks, stone ruins, and valleys. There are several trails with varying terrains: paved, limestone, and a rugged bridle trail. A great trip year round!

hiking
Tuesday, June 24, 2014

walking
Thursday, June 19, 2014

super nature center, check out the history of the Halle family home. Many trails to walk and very well maintained.