Ft. Hill Gorge Trail to Deer Trail

INTERMÉDIAIRE 29 avis
N°1 sur 3 randonnées à

Ft. Hill Gorge Trail to Deer Trail est un sentier en boucle de faible trafic situé près de Cynthiana, dans l’Ohio, dans l’Ohio, qui comprend une rivière et est classé comme étant modéré. Le sentier est principalement utilisé pour la randonnée, les excursions dans la nature et l'observation des oiseaux. Il est préférable de l'utiliser de décembre à octobre. Les chiens peuvent aussi utiliser ce sentier mais doivent être tenus en laisse.

Distance: 4.6 miles Dénivelé: 649 feet Type d'itinéraire: Boucle

chiens en laisse

randonnée

activités en pleine nature

ornithologie

grotte

forêt

rivière

vue panoramique

fleurs sauvages

faune

Ces deux pistes sont connectées. Gorge Trail commence au parking, mais vous devez emprunter un autre sentier, comme Deer Trail, pour revenir au début. Il y a plusieurs caches de terre sur ces sentiers, pour les randonneurs qui font aussi de la géocache. Si vous commencez avec Gorge Trail, tous les escaliers descendront. Assurez-vous de prendre une caméra. Il y a beaucoup de vues panoramiques et d'affleurements rocheux intéressants. Il y a plusieurs arches naturelles, y compris la deuxième plus grande arche naturelle de l'état de l'Ohio - The Keyhole. Il y a aussi une vieille cabane en rondins qui fait un bon endroit pour un repos ou une collation.

randonnée
6 days ago

Nous avons pris cela en octobre lorsque le sentier était relativement sec. C'est une belle mais rugueuse piste. J'ai mesuré le changement d'altitude réel sur 4,4 miles et il était en forme 2600. Il y a beaucoup de hauts et de bas et beaucoup de racines, de cailloux, de sentiers étroits et de conditions généralement glissantes. Ce sentier gagne sa cote modérée. Je pouvais voir pendant la saison des pluies que cela deviendrait trop fatigant. Nous sommes 66 ans et en bonne condition, mais pas athlétique et cela nous a donné une séance d'entraînement mais très faisable. Nous sommes des randonneurs de jour assez expérimentés, nous n’avons donc pas trop de problèmes, mais nous portions des chaussures de randonnée. Le sentier des gorges est censé être fermé mais nous l'avons fait. Certaines parties sont vraiment étroites et rugueuses. Aussi plusieurs étapes étaient dehors. Encore très faisable.

a enregistré Recording - Aug 16, 03:16 PM

randonnée
boueux
effacé
fermé
2 months ago

définitivement besoin de poteaux. arbres et fleurs sauvages

randonnée
boueux
effacé
gravir
rocheux
3 months ago

Un morceau merveilleux de l'Ohio et un sentier impressionnant. Mais soyez prévenus, nous y sommes allés en juillet et c’était peut-être la randonnée la plus difficile et la plus difficile que j’ai jamais faite. J'ai fait de la randonnée toute ma vie et j'ai fait le Grand Canyon à pied. Ce sentier pourrait sans doute être classé au-dessus de modéré. Ce sentier est destiné aux randonneurs assez sérieux qui recherchent un très bon entraînement. Cela aurait été beaucoup plus facile et plus relaxant si cela avait été juste avec ma femme et moi, mais nous avions amené nos 8 et 5 ans. La randonnée a duré 4 à 5 heures avec eux en raison des changements constants d’altitude et de la boue. Cette boue n'est pas une blague ... Je parle dans la cheville et espérons que votre chaussure ressortira dans la boue. Et nous avons constamment rencontré ce genre de boue pendant la randonnée. Mes deux garçons ont perdu une chaussure dans la boue au moins une fois. J'ai failli perdre le mien une fois. Je suis une chaussure de randonnée, pas une chaussure, mec. Vous voudrez des chaussures de randonnée sur ce sentier, croyez-moi. Apportez aussi des bâtons de randonnée si vous en avez. Assurez-vous d'apporter des vêtements de rechange et des chaussures propres pour le retour à votre voiture, en particulier pour vos enfants. Et ayez des sacs poubelles dans la voiture pour vos bottes boueuses et vos vêtements après la randonnée. En résumé, je ne recommanderais pas d'amener un enfant de 5 ans. Il a fait du bon travail mais ça l'a épuisé. dû le porter sur les collines un peu vers la fin. Mon fils de 8 ans s'est bien débrouillé. Apportez beaucoup de lingettes pour bébé dans votre sac si vos enfants n'aiment pas être couverts de boue. Nous devions donner à nos garçons des bains d'armée avant de les laisser dans la voiture aussi.

randonnée
boueux
4 months ago

Grand sentier, modéré à cause de la boue et des pentes. La journée d'aujourd'hui était plutôt glissante par endroits. Recommander des bâtons et des bottes.

randonnée
boueux
4 months ago

Belle piste, probablement mon nouveau favori dans l'Ohio. . Celui-ci a un peu de tout. Paysages, petites montées, rochers. Ce sentier était modéré pour moi surtout à cause de sa boue. C'était très glissant - bonne journée pour les bâtons. Beaucoup de collines. C'était un sentier très calme. Seulement rencontré 4 personnes sur 4,5 miles le week-end du Memorial Day !!

randonnée
8 months ago

Le plus dur sentier que nous avons fait !!!

Sunday, August 26, 2018

Mon sentier préféré dans le sud de l'Ohio! La pente initiale est plutôt difficile mais en vaut la peine. Beau paysage et très tranquille, mais aussi une excellente séance d'entraînement.

randonnée
Tuesday, June 26, 2018

Je l'ai aimé! Mais j'ai pris Fort Trail pour Gorge Trail, environ 4,5 miles. La journée était boueuse et très glissante, de sorte que quelques instants étaient un peu effrayants au bord de certaines falaises. Difficile, mais une partie de ce que j'ai apprécié. Beau paysage! J'avais mes chiens avec moi alors nous nous sommes arrêtés à la crique pour qu'ils puissent se baigner un peu. Fera à nouveau à coup sûr.

randonnée
Monday, October 23, 2017

La gorge est géniale. Ça vaut vraiment la peine. Je ne dirais pas que ce sentier est modéré. Une fois que vous êtes dans la gorge, le sentier est étroit et dangereux avec des rochers et des racines pour naviguer.

Monday, August 14, 2017

Le début du sentier Deer est une montée raide. Au moment où nous sommes arrivés à la Gorge Trail, nous étions assez dépensés. Le sentier des gorges était vraiment sympa, avec beaucoup plus à voir. J'irais 5 étoiles, mais certaines parties sont en mauvais état.

randonnée
Tuesday, June 13, 2017

Les pentes du sentier vous fatiguent, mais il y a suffisamment de parties plates du sentier pour le récupérer! Beau paysage marchant près de la crique et de voir toutes les fleurs sauvages! Fera certainement à nouveau!

randonnée
Thursday, February 23, 2017

En fait, je n'ai pas complété le sentier Deer to Gorge, mais l'une des boucles les plus courtes, à commencer par le sentier Buckeye, qui faisait environ trois milles. J'avais de la difficulté avec les attelles de tibia provenant de nouvelles chaussures de randonnée, nous avons donc abrégé notre randonnée. Cette boucle restait néanmoins utile. Sa première étape était une pente difficile. Il s'est stabilisé pendant une courte période, puis s'est transformé en une autre forte pente. Ce sentier est bordé par les monticules de l'ancienne tribu des Hopewell. Il y avait donc un élément historique intriguant. Le sentier s'est stabilisé et nous avons pu entendre un moteur éloigné. Au fur et à mesure que nous nous approchions, le son devint vraiment bruyant jusqu'à ce que nous réalisions qu'il venait d'un petit étang. Notre "moteur" était des milliers de grenouilles! C’est un système de sentiers unique sur lequel je reviendrai certainement. N'essayez pas ce sentier par temps humide, sauf si vous osez. La dernière étape est un sentier de descente raide. Il fait humide, même par temps assez sec. Il y a aussi des salles de bains et de nombreuses tables de pique-nique.

randonnée
Saturday, January 21, 2017

Terminé Gorge to Deer Trail. Également ajouté une jambe pour voir le monticule du cercle via le sentier Buckeye La longueur était un peu moins de 5 miles. Bien marqué (les avis précédents doivent être obsolètes sur la signalisation), randonnée amusante. Très glissant quand mouillé! Pour le GPS, utilisez "Fort Hill Memorial" comme destination. Service cellulaire limité une fois que vous êtes à quelques kilomètres du début du sentier.

randonnée
Thursday, January 12, 2017

Bonne randonnée pour vous faciliter les changements d’altitude, le franchissement des cours d’eau et les marches. Rien de trop technique, mais certainement un pas de plus que la moyenne des familles qui se promènent dans le parc. Beaucoup de beauté. Très isolée. Trafic léger, peu de gens font le trajet ici.

Sunday, August 21, 2016

belle randonnée modérée avec plusieurs boucles. quelques belles vues. vaut le voyage.

randonnée
Saturday, August 22, 2015

Sentier bien entretenu. La signalisation s'est grandement améliorée.

Tuesday, December 02, 2014

Un ami et moi-même avons parcouru ce sentier en novembre. C'est un beau sentier avec de beaux paysages. Juste assez difficile. Le sentier a été gardé. Nous avons fait plusieurs sorties hors piste dans la gorge, juste pour faire de l’exploration. Comme d’autres l’ont dit, prenez vos bâtons de trekking.

Sunday, July 13, 2014

Super randonnée! avec de superbes paysages. Ma femme et moi avons fait une randonnée sur Deer Trail et sommes revenus par la Gorge Trail. En dehors de Hocking Hills (la signalisation est médiocre), ce doit être l’un des meilleurs sentiers en moins d’une heure et demie de Cincinnati. Sera de retour pour compléter le Canopy Trail. De plus, les indications données par AllTrails étaient horribles. L'entrée d'origine à laquelle nous avons abouti se trouvait dans une rue en gravier sans signalisation ni sentier.

randonnée
Saturday, March 30, 2013

Nous avons emprunté le sentier des gorges et fait quelques-unes des caches en terre lors d’une randonnée. Nous avons ramassé Deer Trail pour retourner au parking. C'est l'une des plus belles randonnées de la région. Nous avons vu des fleurs de printemps, des cerfs et notre premier papillon de l'année lors de cette randonnée. Beaucoup de rochers et de vues panoramiques. Nous avions un enfant de 10 et 4 ans avec nous et ils ont très bien résisté lors de cette randonnée. Si vous utilisez des bâtons de randonnée, assurez-vous de les prendre pour celui-ci. Il y a des zones escarpées avec des sentiers étroits à certains endroits.

randonnée
13 days ago

randonnée
2 months ago

randonnée
6 months ago

randonnée
8 months ago

randonnée
11 months ago

randonnée
Sunday, September 30, 2018

Charger plus

Randonnées populaires

Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Ft. Hill Gorge Trail to Deer Trail is a 4.6 mile lightly trafficked loop trail located near Cynthiana, Ohio that features a river and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, nature trips, and bird watching and is best used from December until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Length 4.6 mi Elevation gain 649 ft Route type Loop
Dogs on leash Hiking Nature trips Bird watching Cave Forest River Views Wild flowers Wildlife
Description
Waypoints (0)
Facilities
Contact
Getting There

Note: Users have reported that the Gorge Trail is currently closed. Please check with the park before attempting this route. These two trails are connected. Gorge Trail begins at parking lot but you have to take another trail, such as Deer Trail to get back to the beginning. There are several earth caches on these trails, for those hikers who also geocache. If you start with Gorge Trail all the sets of stairs will be going down. Be sure to take a camera. There are lots of scenic views and interesting rock outcrops. There are several natural arches, including the second largest natural arch in the state of Ohio - The Keyhole. There is also an old log cabin that makes a good spot for a rest or snack.

Parking lot with plenty of space. Outdoor restroom facilities. Picnic tables and a shelter house. There's a museum that is open only on the weekends from May to October.

Fort Hill 13614 Fort Hill Road, Hillsboro, OH 45133 For information & reservations call the Arc of Appalachia main office at: 937-365-1935 Email address: forthill@arcofappalachia.org

Fort Hill is located in Highland County, in south central Ohio. From Highway 50, turn south on SR 41 on the west side of the small town of Bainbridge. Follow SR 41 south through the small village of Cynthiana. Continue on for a few more miles. Just after SR 753 comes in on your right, you will see the wooden entrance signs on your right directing you to Fort Hill. Turn right on Fort Hill Road. The entrance is less than one mile further on your left and is well marked.

Weather
UV Index
Daylight
Reviews (38)
Photos (56)
Recordings (23)
Completed (73)
View user's profile page
Daniel Walker
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarOctober 25, 2020
Hiking
View Daniel's Recording
View user's profile page
Ryan Ritondaro
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSeptember 20, 2020
Hiking

A little over grown. Had fun!!

View Ryan's Recording
View user's profile page
Bridgette Warner
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarAugust 23, 2020
Hiking
View user's profile page
Alexus Rinehart
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarMarch 1, 2020
HikingBlowdownIcyMuddyOver grown

Gorge trail is closed. Didn’t get to complete entire hike. Very muddy. Bridges are icy. Lots of trees covering path.

View Alexus's Recording
View user's profile page
Kim benz
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarOctober 11, 2019
Hiking

We took this in October when the trail was relatively dry. It is a beautiful but rough trail. I measured the actual elevation change across the 4.4 miles and it was 2600 fit. There is a lot of up and down and lots of roots, stones, narrow paths and generally slippery conditions. This trail earns its moderate rating. I could see during the wet season it would go to strenuous. We are 66 years and in good condition but not athletic and it gave us a workout but very doable. We are fairly experienced Day hikers so we did not have too many issues but we were wearing hiking shoes. The gorge trail is supposed to be closed but we did it. Some parts are really narrow and rough. Also several steps were out. Still very doable.

View user's profile page
JD M
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarJuly 7, 2019
HikingMuddyRockyScrambleWashed out

A wonderful piece of Ohio and an awesome trail. But be warned, we went in July and this was possibly the toughest and muddiest 4.5 mile hike I've ever done. I've been hiking my whole life and have done the Grand Canyon on foot. This trail could arguably be ranked above moderate. This trail is for pretty serious hikers who are looking for a really good workout. Would have been much easier and more relaxing had it just been my wife and me, but we brought our 8 and 5 year old. The whole hike took 4 to 5 hours with them due to the constant elevation changes and mud. This mud is no joke... I'm talking go in ankle deep and hope your shoe comes back out mud. And we constantly encountered mud like that during the hike. Both my boys lost a shoe in the mud at least once. I almost lost mine once. I'm a hiking shoe, not boot, guy. You'll want hiking boots on this trail, trust me. Bring trekking poles too if you have them. Be sure to bring a change of clothes and clean shoes for when you get back to your car, especially for your kids. And have trash bags in the car for your muddy boots and clothes after the hike. In summary I wouldn't recommend bringing a 5 year old. He did great but it wore him out; had to carry him up hills quite a bit towards the end. My 8 year old did fine. Bring lots of baby wipes in your pack if your kids don't like being covered in mud. We had to give our boys army baths before we'd let them back in the car too.

View user's profile page
Michele Brown
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJune 8, 2019
HikingMuddy

Great trail, def moderate due to mud and inclines. Today was pretty slippery in places. Recommend poles and boots.

View user's profile page
Cassie Adkins
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFebruary 2, 2019
Hiking

Hardest trail we have done!!!

View Cassie's Recording
View user's profile page
Jill Shaffer
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarAugust 26, 2018

My favorite trail in Southern Ohio! The initial incline is a rather difficult but totally worth it. Beautiful scenery and very tranquil, but also a great workout.

View user's profile page
Kristin Finnerty
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJune 26, 2018
Hiking

I loved it! But I took Fort Trail to Gorge Trail, about 4.5 miles. Today was muddy, and very slick so a few moments were a bit scary near the edge of some cliffs. Challenging, but part of what I enjoyed. Beautiful scenery! Had my dogs with me so we stopped off at the creek so they could have a little swim. Will do again for sure.

View user's profile page
Dale Freeman
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarOctober 23, 2017
Hiking

The gorge is awesome. Definitely worth the effort. I would not rate this trail as moderate. Once you’re in the gorge the trail is narrow and treacherous with rocks and roots to navigate.

View user's profile page
Brent Ross
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarAugust 14, 2017

The start of the Deer trail is a steep uphill climb. By the time we got to the Gorge Trail, we were pretty spent. The Gorge Trail was really nice, with much more to see. I'd go 5-star, but some parts are in disrepair.

View user's profile page
Ladoska Garvey
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarJune 13, 2017
Hiking

The inclines of the trail definitely wear you out but there are enough flat parts of the trail to recoop! Beautiful scenery walking by the creek and seeing all of the wild flowers! Will definitely do again!

View user's profile page
Moni B
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarFebruary 23, 2017
Hiking

I actually didn't complete the Deer to Gorge Trail, but one of the shorter loops, beginning with the Buckeye Trail, which was approximately three miles. I was having difficulty with shin splints from new hiking shoes, so we cut our hike short. This was, however, still a worthwhile loop. It's first leg was a challenging incline. It leveled out for a short time, then, turned into another sharp incline. This trail is trimmed by the mounds from the ancient, Hopewell tribe, so there was also an intriguing historical element. The trail plateaued, and we could hear a distant motor. As we got closer, it grew really loud until we realized it was coming from a small pond. Our "motor" was thousands of frogs! This is a unique trail system that I will definitely come back to. Don't attempt this trail in wet weather, unless you dare. The last leg is a steep downhill trail. It is wet, even in fairly dry weather. There are also bathrooms and lots of picnic tables.

View user's profile page
mike ledford
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarJanuary 21, 2017
Hiking

Completed Gorge to Deer Trail. Also added leg to see circle mound via the buckeye trail. Length was just under 5 miles. Well marked (previous reviews must be out of date on signage), fun hike. Very slippery when wet! For GPS use "Fort Hill Memorial" as the destination. Limited cell service once you are with a few miles of the trail head.

View user's profile page
C H
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarJanuary 12, 2017
Hiking

Good hike to ease you into elevation changes, water crossing and ledge walking. Nothing too technical, but definitely a step above the average family walk in the park. Lots of beauty. Very secluded. Light traffic, not many people make the drive here.

View user's profile page
Paul Tillinghast
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarAugust 21, 2016

nice moderate hike with multiple loops. some nice vista's. worth the trip.

View user's profile page
Christina Adrian
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarAugust 22, 2015
Hiking

Well maintained trail. The signage has greatly improved.

View user's profile page
Matt Page
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarDecember 2, 2014

A friend and myself hiked this trail in November. It is a nice trail with some great scenery. Just challenging enough. Trail was will kept. We went off trail many times in the gorge just to do some exploring. Like others have said, take your trekking poles.

View user's profile page
James Tecco
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarJuly 13, 2014

Great hike! with great scenery. My wife and I hiked Deer Trail and returned through the Gorge Trail. Outside of Hocking Hills (does have poor signage )this has to be one of the top trails within 1.5 hours from Cincinnati. Will be back to complete the Canopy Trail. Also, the directions that AllTrails gave us were horrible. The original entrance it took us to was down a gravel side street with no signage and no trail.

View user's profile page
Melissa Whitley-Huff
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarMarch 30, 2013
Hiking
First to Review

We took Gorge Trail in and did some of the earthcaches while hiking. We picked up Deer Trail to return to the parking lot. This is one of the prettiest hikes in the area. We saw spring flowers, deer, and our first butterfly of the year on this hike. Lots of rock outcroppings and scenic views. We had a 10 & 4 year old with us and they held up very well on this hike. If you use hiking staffs, be sure to take them on this one. There are some steep areas with narrow trails in some spots.

View user's profile page
Stephanie Sexton
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJune 28, 2020
Hiking
View Stephanie's Recording
View user's profile page
Kyle Root
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarJune 26, 2020
Hiking
View Kyle's Recording
View user's profile page
Stephanie Sexton
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJune 25, 2020
Hiking
View Stephanie's Recording
Showing results 1 - 24 of 38