West Ridge Trail to Little Piney

DIFFICILE 89 avis
N°32 sur 201 randonnées à

West Ridge Trail to Little Piney est une piste cyclable de 5 km située près de Black Mountain, en Caroline du Nord. Le sentier est principalement utilisé pour la randonnée, la marche, les excursions dans la nature et l'observation des oiseaux. Son utilisation est optimale de mars à octobre. Les chiens sont également capables d'utiliser ce sentier.

Distance: 3.5 miles Dénivelé: 1,492 feet Type d'itinéraire: Boucle

chiens bienvenus

randonnée

activités en pleine nature

ornithologie

forêt

vue panoramique

fleurs sauvages

faune

Cette boucle offre une montée raide jusqu'à la crête avec une vue magnifique. Le sentier relie West Ridge Trail et Big Piney Trail.

randonnée
3 days ago

Mieux vaut faire vos étirements. Sentier difficile. Vous pouvez le faire à l'envers, du petit piney au rocher du serpent à sonnette, pour obtenir la vue avec moins de distance et d'effort, mais j'ai vraiment aimé la séance d'entraînement. Très raide et rocheux.

randonnée
2 months ago

Sentier amusant. Trop raide pour les types de poussettes mais bon pour les randonneurs. Les bâtons de marche ont été utiles, mais je suis encore tombé une fois. Vu un total de 5 autres randonneurs.

randonnée
6 months ago

Raide

randonnée
6 months ago

Certainement stimulant mais vaut bien le travail!

randonnée
11 months ago

Nous avons fait ce sentier dans le sens antihoraire. Nous avons trouvé le sentier facile à suivre et assez bien marqué (à l’exception de Little Piney). La montée était difficile mais agréable, alors que la descente de Little Piney n'était pas si amusante, quelque peu pénible en réalité. Très raide et glissant. Vous voulez vraiment des bâtons de trekking pour cette randonnée. Avertissement 1: à quelques endroits le long du sentier de crête, de Big Piney à Little Piney, des arbres sont tombés sur le sentier. Il semble presque que la piste disparaisse. Vous devez regarder attentivement pour voir où le sentier reprend à nouveau après les arbres abattus. Avertissement 2: Nous avons rencontré des signes pour "Lower" Piney. Ne faisant pas très attention, je l'ai confondu avec "Little" Piney et l'ai suivi jusqu'à un autre sentier / zone de stationnement sur Suwanee Drive. Si mon GPS était précis, je ne pense pas que j'aurais commis cette erreur.

randonnée
11 months ago

Nous avons commencé quelque part sur Harmony Lane. La carte est nulle, alors que nous finissions par monter dans la rue qui semblait être une tour d'eau circulaire. Pas de sentier ici. Redescendu à une porte avec un marqueur de piste bleu et une route de gravier. Tiré la carte de tous les sentiers et est dit que nous étions sur le bon sentier? Grande première partie de la randonnée, à la suite de blazes bleues et je pense que cela s’appelait Little Piney. Après environ 20 minutes de marche, nous arrivons à un bel endroit donnant sur un magnifique rocher donnant sur Montreat / Black Mountain. Le sentier commence à grimper à partir d’ici et vous aurez finalement le choix de flammes bleues ou oranges. Orange était le sentier Big Piney, ce qui nous a de nouveau gardés sur la carte All Trails. Quelques montées escarpées et rocheuses, piste bien marquée. Après une heure ou deux de montée avec quelques arrêts, nous arrivâmes à Rattlesnake. Belle. En haut, nous sommes partis de là, 30 minutes de plus pour traverser l'intersection. Nous aussi, Grey, redescendons le sentier dans l’espoir de revenir au point de départ, mais c’est là que le sentier vient de se terminer. 10 minutes après le début de la partie gris de l'incendie, la piste venait de se terminer, pas de flammes, pas de piste perceptible. Je me suis promené un peu pendant que je voyais des arbres avec de la peinture orange en aérosol, il n'y avait pas de sentier ?? WTF. Ce n’est pas une pratique sûre pour un sentier, pour l’entretenir ou pour fermer cette portion au moment de la coupure. Nous avons fini par faire un retour sur notre chemin, énervé, notre sentier n’était pas bien indiqué. Donc la note 3.

randonnée
Tuesday, October 09, 2018

Beau et tranquille. Nous n'avons croisé que deux autres randonneurs. Le sentier est bien balisé et assez bien entretenu, bien que étroit. Assez raide dans les deux sens - excellent exercice en montée mais beaucoup de zones glissantes en descendant ... On aurait dit qu'il devrait y avoir plus de lacets en arrière. Au sommet de Big Piney, il n'y a pas de point de vue, ce qui semblait être une attitude anti-culminante, bien qu'il existe d'autres points de vue intéressants sur le parcours.

Tuesday, October 02, 2018

Randonnée agréable. Les commentaires précédents sur la glissance n'étaient pas exagérés. Si je refais cette randonnée, je remonterai le sentier Stompin Knob au lieu de descendre. Je pense que la marche était meilleure pour descendre le sentier Big Piney. De toute façon, c'est un bon entraînement. Beaucoup de champignons et il y a encore des fleurs sauvages.

Thursday, September 06, 2018

Un bon coup de crosse ... le ressens encore presque 2 jours plus tard ... Tout droit vers le haut ... j'ai amené mes 2 chiens .. assurez-vous que vos chiens sont athlétiques

randonnée
Friday, July 13, 2018

C'est une bonne randonnée si vous aimez les défis. Le sentier était humide, ce qui le rendait assez dur, plus dur que lorsqu'il fait sec. C'est une montée assez raide et la descente est difficile. Je l'aurais noté 5 étoiles probablement si c'était sec. Beaucoup de vie sauvage.

Monday, May 28, 2018

Bonne randonnée avec une pente et un déclin gérables. Avec des arrêts de repos intermittents, nous avons bouclé la boucle en 2 heures.

Sunday, March 11, 2018

Une bonne pente raide partant du nord-ouest de la boîte d’information sur le sentier sur Harmony Lane (cette étape s'appelle en fait Stomping Knob Trail), puis le long de la crête offre de jolies vues, en particulier en hiver et avec le feuillage descendant. Rattlesnake Rock regarde en arrière de la vallée à Black Mountain. Accès facile pour une courte journée de randonnée.

randonnée
Sunday, February 18, 2018

Bien marqué. Les critiques ont été très utiles - si vous commencez par les traces bleues du sentier et suivez les grandes piquettes, prenez ensuite la crête en direction du sud pour compléter la boucle. Montez la colline jusqu'à Big Piney, puis passez-la à l'intersection de la crête. Nous pensions que le sentier était plus modéré, mais cela dépend probablement de votre randonnée. Dans l'ensemble, c'est très agréable même si nous y sommes allés quand il y avait du brouillard et un peu de pluie. Idéal pour un petit brûleur de 3 heures

randonnée
Monday, December 18, 2017

Feuilles glissantes en descendant. Mais bonne randonnée raide qui surmonte deux collines. Environ 1h40 si vous ne vous arrêtez pas le long du chemin.

Saturday, November 18, 2017

La montée est raide mais vaut chaque goutte de sueur. La vue est à couper le souffle.

randonnée
Friday, October 20, 2017

Cette piste était une excellente séance d’entraînement. Avec plusieurs arrêts de visionnement, un pique-nique et une ascension dans les arbres, nous avons terminé la randonnée en 3 h 30. Adoré

randonnée
Sunday, October 15, 2017

C'est une randonnée solide avec des montées et des descentes abruptes, un bon entraînement. Ma femme, moi-même et nos deux chiens tenus en laisse nous sommes arrêtés pour emprunter ce sentier avant de nous rendre à Asheville dans l'intention de tuer quelque temps jusqu'à ce que notre cabine soit disponible. C'était plus difficile que prévu, mais dans l'ensemble, nous avons apprécié. Nous avons marché jusqu'à Big Piney, puis sur le sentier de crête ouest, en direction du sud. Assurez-vous de marcher sur la crête ouest en direction du sud pour compléter cette boucle (pas en direction du nord). Little Piney est marqué d'un blaze de diamant bleu et d'un sentier West Ridge avec un blaze de diamant jaune. Je suis heureux d'avoir apporté mes bâtons de trek pour le sentier de descente en direction sud de la crête ouest. Nous sommes en octobre et les feuilles peuvent créer une surface glissante. Globalement, une bonne journée de randonnée. J’estimerais que les randonneurs les plus expérimentés pourraient terminer dans les 3-4 heures.

Friday, September 29, 2017

Eu un peu de plaisir avec ces sentiers. Chercher le sentier Lower Piney (délimité par des balises bleues en forme de losange) peut être un peu délicat. Il y a une allée de gravier juste en face de St Andrews sur la droite dans laquelle vous entrez et vous verrez où commence le sentier. La montée commence presque immédiatement sur un sentier étroit de deux pieds de large. La marche qui mène au premier affleurement rocheux n'est que la première introduction des superbes points de vue de Big Piney (indiqués par des balises orange) vers le sommet de Rattlesnake Rock. La descente sur West Ridge (indiquée en jaune) peut donner des coups aux genoux mais beaucoup plus de terrain est recouvert en moins de temps. Pris le chien et je pense qu'il donnerait la piste 5 pattes s'il le pouvait. Super randonnée!

randonnée
Tuesday, June 06, 2017

Certainement sous-estimé la difficulté de cette randonnée. Quatre milles et demi ne semblent pas beaucoup, mais la majeure partie est montante et très inclinée. Le dernier kilomètre (ou peut-être même moins) est en descente, mais très très raide. J'ai dû faire demi-tour et descendre à quatre pattes au moins deux fois et j'ai réussi à tomber une fois. Une partie de la piste a été masquée et bloquée par une barricade improvisée. Elle ressemblait au début à un tas de branches naturel et nous a incités (ma femme et moi) à faire un mauvais virage. Une fois que nous avons trouvé où nous nous étions trompés, nous avons simplement contourné la barricade. Rétrospectivement, je soupçonne que cela a été le travail de farceurs, car il se trouvait à proximité d’une partie du sentier qui est assez facilement accessible depuis les quartiers environnants et nous n’avons trouvé aucun problème avec le sentier derrière. Quant aux vues, elles sont probablement meilleures en hiver. Rattlesnake Rock est bien, mais vous pouvez trouver mieux et ne pas avoir à travailler aussi dur pour cela. Le site lunaire abandonné, toujours en déclin, est assez soigné également. Je ne recommande pas cette randonnée à moins que vous ne cherchiez simplement un défi.

Saturday, March 04, 2017

Randonnée raide et pénible, difficile à naviguer même avec des kilomètres d'expérience! Fun mais pas autant de points de vue. Plus pour le frisson de la randonnée.

Saturday, October 22, 2016

Rock Rattlesnake était une vue incroyable !! Randonnée amusante, parfois perfide en descendant.

Sunday, August 28, 2016

Grande randonnée. Préparez-vous pour une randonnée en octobre. Cela va faire marcher vos jambes. Les descentes sont difficiles. Où est l'Advil? Je n'étais pas familier avec la région. Il est niché dans une section plutôt résidentielle. Il faut vraiment chercher les pentes et trouver un parking. Prenez une carte des sentiers!

Saturday, August 20, 2016

Randonnée assez difficile, de superbes vues et des dissensions abruptes!

Saturday, June 11, 2016

Grand sentier pour la randonnée difficile. Des pentes et des descentes très raides.

Friday, May 06, 2016

C'est la plus belle randonnée que j'ai faite en Caroline du Nord! Le hublot appelé rattlesnake-rock montre une vue humungoes de nombreuses lignes de montagnes surplombant une vallée. dans la vallée, vous pouvez voir de nombreux bâtiments. Je recommande de faire de la randonnée un peu plus loin après le crotale et prendre le lien vers le sentier de la crête ouest. prendre cette connexion en fait une randonnée de 5 km mais cela en vaut la peine. Le sentier de la crête ouest offre de très beaux paysages tout au long de la randonnée. J'ai fait une randonnée en avril et le montant que vous pouvez voir est incroyable pour une randonnée estivale!

randonnée
17 days ago

activités en pleine nature
29 days ago

randonnée
1 month ago

randonnée
1 month ago

randonnée
1 month ago

Charger plus

Randonnées populaires

West Ridge Trail to Little Piney

hardYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray Star(119)
Pisgah National Forest

West Ridge Trail to Little Piney is a 3.5 mile heavily trafficked loop trail located near Black Mountain, North Carolina that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as difficult. The trail is primarily used for hiking, nature trips, and bird watching and is best used from March until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail.

Distance: 3.5 miles Elevation Gain: 1,492 feet Route Type: Loop

dog friendly

hiking

nature trips

bird watching

forest

views

wild flowers

wildlife

This loop offers a steep climb up to the ridge with gorgeous views. The trail connects with West Ridge Trail and Big Piney Trail.

hiking
9 days ago

Didn't actually do the loop as a bum knee had me worried based off of previous reviews. we started out counter-clockwise at the trail head off of the gravel road. Stopped to rest at Rattlesnake Rock lookout briefly, then took a right on the ridge trail to Forked Ridge Knob, then turned around. Total was about 5 miles and moderate overall. Used poles on the downhill only b/c of a bum knee- if you're healthy you won't need them. Not a lot of views, but for a solid workout and time spent in nature, this is great. Will be back to do more of the other trails!

A lot of leafs. BRING WATER.

hiking
rocky
3 months ago

Beautiful views. Strenuous for a mediocre hikers however we finished right at 3 hours and 30 minutes moving time. We stopped at the top and set up our hammocks and relaxed. Definitely recommend having hiking shoes or boots.

3 months ago

If anyone found a brown and pink mitten and a black and white winter headband coming down the Little Piney trail, I'd be so grateful to know about it! (belonged to my Mom ). calliaelise@gmail.com Thanks!! Have fun wandering!

hiking
4 months ago

Well well well... If you’re looking to get your heart rate up this hike’s for you! A wonderful and exhilarating climb clockwise. We read the other reviews but chose this direction to avoid severe knee impact on the way down! And as noted, poles are a must! Not many vistas along the ridge but the descent was lovely. Vibrant mossy lined channel with plenty of pine needles. Watch where you park to make sure you don’t end up a long way from your car at the end. Great hike but only 4 stars due to lack of vistas.

hiking
4 months ago

The vertical gain on this trail when going clockwise rivals some of the most challenging trails I have done in Utah. It was impressive and refreshing to find a trail like this in these mountains! Very challenging and worth the effort. If you are looking for a steep challenge, this trail is for you. The descent is winding, lovely, and very runnable.

hiking
scramble
5 months ago

INTENSE climb if you go clockwise. Leaves made it that much harder but the views at rattlesnake rock are amazing. Spent about half an hour enjoying the views as the sun broke free from the clouds and lit the top of the mountains. On the way down, we realized the counter clockwise way would be easier, especially if you were going just for the look out. Great trail!

First half of hike is no joke, steep uphill, I’m glad we brought our polls. At both peaks there is not much of a view, but about 5 minutes after the second peak there is a beautiful overlook, after that is all downhill. We went in the middle of November so there was a substantial amount of leaves on the ground, making the hike slippery on the steep up and downhills. Overall it was great exercise with beautiful scenery.

hiking
rocky
scramble
6 months ago

This trail is hard, bring hiking poles

hiking
7 months ago

Better do your stretches. Tough trail. You could do it backwards from little piney up to rattlesnake rock to get the view in less distance and effort, but I really liked the workout. Very steep and rocky.

hiking
10 months ago

Fun trail. Too steep for stroller types but fine for hikers. Trekking poles were useful, but I still fell once. Saw a total of 5 other hikers.

hiking
Sat Apr 06 2019

Steep

hiking
Sun Mar 24 2019

Definitely challenging but well worth the work!

hiking
Tue Oct 30 2018

We did this trail counterclockwise. We found the trail easy to follow and pretty well marked (the exception being coming off Little Piney). The uphill was challenging but enjoyable, while the downhill coming off of Little Piney wasn't so fun, somewhat painful actually. Very steep and slippery. You definitely want trekking poles for this hike. Warning 1: a couple places along the ridge trail from Big Piney to Little Piney some trees had fallen across the trail. It almost appears that the trail disappears. You have to look carefully to see where the trail picks up again after the downed trees. Warning 2: We came across signs for "Lower" Piney. Not paying close attention, I mistook it for "Little" Piney and followed it right to another trailhead/parking area on Suwanee Drive. If my GPS were accurate, I don't think I would have made that mistake.

hiking
Sat Oct 27 2018

We started out from somewhere on Harmony Lane. Map sucks, as we ended up walking up the street to what appeared to be a circular water tower. No trail here. Walked back down to a gate with a blue trail marker and a gravel road. Pulled up the All Trails map and is said we were on the correct trail? Great first part of the hike, following blue blazes and I think it was called Little Piney. Enjoyable hike, came to a nice rock overlook outcropping looking out over Montreat/Black Mountain after about 20 minutes. Trail starts to climb from here and eventually you get your choice of blue or orange blazes. Orange was Big Piney trail, which again kept us on the All Trails map. Some steep, rocky climbs, amd trail well marked. After another hour or so of climbing with some stops we came to Rattlesnake overlook. Beautiful. Up we went from there, another 30 minutes to trail intersection. We too Grey blazes back down the trail, hoping to end up back around where we started, but this is where the trail just ended. 10 minutes into the Grey blaze section the trail just ended, no blazes, no discernible trail. I bushwacked my around for a bit a d though seeing trees with orange spray paint there was no trail?? WTF. This is not a safe practice for a trail, maintain the trail or close this portion at the cutoff. We ended up trekking back the way we came, pissed off our trail was not marked properly. Thus the 3 rating.

hiking
Tue Oct 09 2018

Beautiful and tranquil. We only passed a couple of other hikers. Trail is well-marked and pretty well-maintained, though narrow. Quite steep both ways - great exercise going up but lots of slippery spots coming down... It felt like there should be more switchbacks. At the peak of Big Piney there is no viewpoint, which felt anti-climactic, though there are some other points to snag views along the way.

Tue Oct 02 2018

Enjoyable hike. Previous comments about slipperiness were not exaggerated. If I do this hike again, I will go up Stompin Knob trail instead of down. I think the footing was better for going down the Big Piney trail. Either way is a good workout. Lots of mushrooms and there are still wildflowers.

Thu Sep 06 2018

A good butt kicker...still feeling it almost 2 days later....Straight up and straight back down... I brought my 2 dogs.. make sure your dogs are athletic

hiking
Fri Jul 13 2018

It’s a great hike if you like a challenge. The trail was wet which made it pretty hard, harder than when it’s dry. It’s quite a steep climb and the descent is challenging. I would have rated it 5 stars probably if it was dry. Lots of wild life.

Mon May 28 2018

Good hike with manageable incline and decline. With intermittent rest stops we completed loop in 2 hours.

Sun Mar 11 2018

Good steep incline starting NW from trail info box on Harmony Lane (that leg actually called Stomping Knob Trail), then along the ridge has nice views especially with winter and foliage down. Rattlesnake Rock looks back across valley to Black Mountain. Easy access for a short day hike.

hiking
Sun Feb 18 2018

Well marked. Reviews were very helpful - if you start on blue trail marks, and follow big piney, then take the southbound ridge to complete the loop. Steady up hill to big piney and then past that to the ridge intersection. We thought the trail was more moderate but probably depends on how much you hike. Overall very enjoyable even though we went when It was foggy and a bit rainy. Great for a 3 hour little burner

hiking
Mon Dec 18 2017

Slippery leaves on the way down. But good, steep hike which tops two hills. About 1:40 if you do not stop along the way.

Sat Nov 18 2017

Steep climb, but worth every drop of sweat. The view is breathtaking.

hiking
Fri Oct 20 2017

This trail was a great workout. With multiple overlook stops, a picnic, and a tree climb we completed the hike in 3 1/2 hrs. Loved it

hiking
Sun Oct 15 2017

This is a solid hike with steep ascents and descents, a good workout. My wife, myself, and our two leashed dogs stopped off to hike this trail on our way to Asheville with the intent of killing some time until our cabin was available. It was harder than expected, but overall we enjoyed it. We hiked up to Big Piney, then down the west ridge trail, southbound. Make sure you hike down west ridge southbound to complete this loop (not northbound). Little Piney is marked with a blue diamond blaze and West Ridge trail with a yellow diamond blaze. I'm glad I brought my trek poles for the west ridge southbound descent trail. It is October and the leaves can create a slippery surface. Overall a great day hike. I would estimate that most experienced hikers could complete within 3-4 hours.

Fri Sep 29 2017

Had a bit of fun with these trails. Pulling in to find the Lower Piney trailhead (demarcated by blue diamond-shaped trail markers) can be a little tricky. There's a gravel driveway just up past St Andrews on the right that you walk into and you'll see where the trail begins. The climb starts off almost right away on a narrow, two-foot wide trail. The march up to the first rocky outcrop is the just the first introduction of the awesome views to come along Big Piney (indicated by orange markers along the way) toward the summit at Rattlesnake Rock. The descent back down West Ridge (indicated by yellow) can give the knees a beating but much more ground is covered in less time. Took the dog and I think he'd give the trail 5 paws if he could. Great hike!

hiking
Tue Jun 06 2017

Definitely underestimated the difficulty of this hike. Four and a half miles does not seem like much, but much of this is uphill and at a pretty significant incline. The last mile (or maybe even less) is downhill, but very, very steep. I had to turn around and climb down on all fours at least twice, and managed to fall once. Part of the trail was obscured and blocked off by a makeshift barricade--it looked like a natural pile of limbs at first and caused us (my wife and I) to make a wrong turn. Once we found where we'd erred we just went around the barricade. In retrospect, I suspect it to have been the work of pranksters, as it was near a part of the trail that is quite easily accessible from surrounding neighborhoods and we found nothing wrong with the trail behind it. As for the views, they are probably better in the winter. Rattlesnake Rock is nice, but you can find better and not have to work near as hard for it. The abandoned moonshine still site on the decline is kind of neat also. I don't recommend this hike unless you're simply looking for a challenge.

Sat Mar 04 2017

Steep and strenuous hike that was difficult to navigate even with miles of hiking experience! Fun but not that many views. More for the thrill of the hike.

Showing results 1 - 29 of 119