Steels Creek Waterfall

MITTELSCHWER 9 Bewertungen
#29 von 43 Wegen in

Der Steels Creek Waterfall ist ein 1,6 km langer Wanderweg in der Nähe von Newland, North Carolina, der über einen Wasserfall verfügt. Der Wanderweg bietet verschiedene Aktivitätsmöglichkeiten und wird am besten von März bis Oktober genutzt.

Entfernung: 1.6 miles Höhenunterschied: 321 feet Routentyp: Hin & zurück

kinderfreundlich

Wandern

Naturausflüge

Vogelbeobachtung

Laufen

Wald

Fluss

Aussicht

Wasserfall

Wildtiere

steinig

Scrambling

abseits des Weges

Auf dem Steels Creek Trail (# 237) von der Forest Road 228 zum Wasserfall am Steels Creek und zurück wandern.

wandern
käfer
schlammig
scrambling
4 months ago

Ich habe diese Wanderung eine Weile im Auge behalten, war aber besorgt über den Felsen, von dem aus ich den Wasserfall sehen konnte. Der Weg zum Ausgangspunkt ist sehr gut, aber stellenweise schmal. Sie parken ganz am Ende der Forststraße 228, von dort fährt der Schwanz durch einen Rhododendron-Tunnel. Der Weg ist an einigen Stellen unter Wasser, so dass Sie diese Wanderung auch mit Wasserschuhen beginnen können (gute, wasserwandernde Wasserschuhe). Wenn Sie zu einem kleinen Wasserfall kommen, müssen Sie den Fluss überqueren. Auf der anderen Seite nimmt der Pfad zu und Sie fahren durch einen inoffiziellen Campingplatz. Bleiben Sie auf dem Weg, bis Sie das Schild TRAIL sehen, und biegen Sie rechts ab. Dies ist der Weg vom Gebirge zum Meer und Sie werden ihm flussaufwärts folgen. Der Weg wird in den Fluss abfallen und Sie müssen entlang der Seite bouldern. Der MTS-Trail ist weiß gebrannt. Sobald der Weg aus dem Fluss steigt, folgen Sie ihm steil nach oben. Endlich wird es nicht mehr so steil und Sie bleiben auf der Strecke, bis Sie das unverwechselbare Geräusch eines großen Wasserfalls hören. Beginnen Sie auf der Suche nach und inoffiziellen schlammigen steilen Ausläufern. Sobald Sie es gefunden haben - DAS IST DAS GEFÄHRLICHE HARTTEIL -, bahnen Sie sich vorsichtig den Weg hinunter zu dem Felsen, der über den Fall hinausragt. Als ich losfuhr, war dort ein Seil und es schien ziemlich sicher zu sein, obwohl ich es nicht ausprobieren wollte, indem ich über den Wasserfällen daran baumelte! Es lief Wasser über diesen Felsen und es war extrem rutschig. Der Felsen fällt in Richtung der Wasserfälle ab. Ich ging mit Krabben auf meinem Hintern herum und hielt mich am Seil fest, um so weit wie möglich herauszukommen. Meine Schuhe hatten auf diesem Felsen keine Traktion. Ich habe meine Bilder gemacht und diese Schönheit bewundert und bin dann sehr vorsichtig den Weg zurückgerannt, den ich gekommen bin. Dieser Ort ist sehr schön. Ich werde bald zurück sein, um die anderen Wasserfälle zu erkunden. Die vier Sterne sind auf die Gefahr zurückzuführen, diesen Wasserfall zu sehen. Wie andere gesagt haben, riskierst du es auf diesem Felsen. Gehen Sie langsam und beurteilen Sie Ihre Sicherheit auf jedem Teil des Weges. Eine letzte Sache - das ist keine Wanderung für Hunde. Bitte nimm dein Fellbaby nicht mit auf den Felsen. Wenn Sie ausrutschen, werden Sie sterben. Wenn Ihr Welpe ausrutscht, stirbt er / sie.

wandern
Thu Jul 13 2017

Ziemlich kleiner Bachlauf, aber eine harte Wanderung. Mehrere Stromkreuzungen und viel Scrambling. Musste ein Stück nach oben drehen, weil ich das Gefühl hatte, dass es Angel und ihrem kürzlich reparierten CCL zu hart war.

wandern
2 months ago

wandern
7 months ago

Tue Jun 26 2018

wandern
Sat Aug 05 2017

Wed Jun 14 2017

Mon May 29 2017

wandern
Fri Jul 25 2014

Empfohlene Routen

Steels Creek Waterfall is a 1.6 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Newland, North Carolina that features a waterfall and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, running, nature trips, and bird watching and is best used from March until October.

Distance: 1.6 miles Elevation Gain: 321 feet Route Type: Out & Back

kid friendly

hiking

nature trips

bird watching

running

forest

river

views

waterfall

wildlife

rocky

scramble

off trail

Hike along Steels Creek Trail (#237) from Forest Road 228 to Waterfall on Steels Creek and back.

hiking
14 days ago

The trail starts at the end of the 4 mile long narrow FR 228. FR 228 crosses a creek on the way in and is impassable in high water. Once at the trailhead, the trail starts by going through a rhododendron tunnel, soon reaching a small cascade, where you have to cross the creek. The best place to cross is just upstream from the cascade, but the crossing is tricky in normal flow times and likely impossible in high water. Right after the crossing, you'll come to a T intersection with the MST. Making a right would get you to Steels Creek Falls. The waterfall is magnificent and very unique, with water exquisitely carving those potholes. A side spur from the MST take you to the best view of the falls - a sloping rock in the middle of the falls (and rope attached to the tree). Make sure you're comfortable with supporting your weight and pulling yourself up along the rope if you choose to venture out on this rock. This is not a place for kids or dogs. That said, a beautiful waterfall, well worth a visit.

hiking
bugs
muddy
scramble
10 months ago

I have had my eye on this hike for a while but was worried about the rock to view the waterfall on. The road to the trailhead is very good but narrow in places. You park at the very end of forest road 228, from there the tail leaves through a rhododendron tunnel. The trail is underwater in places so you may as well begin this hike in water shoes (good, water hiking water shoes). When you get to a little cascade/slide falls you must cross the river. on the other side, the trail picks up and you go through a unofficial campsite. Stay on the trail until you see the TRAIL sign and turn right. This is the Mountains to sea trail and you will follow it upstream. The trail will dip down into the river and you will need to boulder hop along side. The MTS trail is blazed white so just look for that. Once the trail ascends out of the river you will follow it steeply up. It will finally begin to be not such a steep incline and you will stay on trail until you hear the unmistakable sound of a large waterfall. Start looking for and unofficial muddy steep spur down. Once you locate it - THIS IS THE DANGEROUS HARD PART- carefully pick your way down to the rock that juts over the fall. There was a rope there when I went and it seemed pretty safe although I would not want to test it out by dangling from it over the falls! There was water running over this rock and it was extremely slippery. The rock slopes downward towards the falls. I crabwalked/scooted on my butt holding on to the rope to go out as far as I was comfortable. My shoes had no traction on this rock. I took my pictures and admired this beauty and then very carefully scooted back the way I came. This place is extremely beautiful. I will be back to explore the other waterfalls soon. The four stars is due to the risk to view this waterfall. As others have said, you are taking a chance on this rock. Go slow and assess your safety each part of the way. One last thing - this isn't a hike for dogs. Please don't take your fur baby out on that rock. If you slip, you will die. If your pup slips, he/she will die.

hiking
Thu Jul 13 2017

Pretty little stream but a tough hike in. Multiple stream crossings and a lot of scrambling. Had to turn around a ways up because I felt it was to tough on Angel and her recently repaired CCL.

hiking
5 days ago

hiking
6 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

Tue Jun 26 2018

hiking
Sat Aug 05 2017

Wed Jun 14 2017

Mon May 29 2017

hiking
Fri Jul 25 2014