Scaly Mountain Trail

MITTELSCHWER 67 Bewertungen
#23 von 100 Wegen in

Der Scaly Mountain Trail ist ein 3,7 km langer Wanderweg in der Nähe von Highlands, North Carolina, der eine großartige Waldlandschaft bietet. Der Weg wird als mittelschwer eingestuft und dient hauptsächlich zum Wandern. Hunde können diesen Weg auch benutzen, müssen aber an der Leine gehalten werden.

Entfernung: 3.7 miles Höhenunterschied: 1,128 feet Routentyp: Hin & zurück

angeleinte Hunde

Wandern

Wald

Aussicht

Schuppiger Berg NC

wandern
1 month ago

Abwechslungsreiches Gelände durch den Wald mit ziemlicher Aufteilung des Trails. Verpassen Sie nicht die scharfe Linkskurve in der ersten 1/4 Meile!

wandern
überwachsen
2 months ago

Es ist dicht und es gibt keine Aussicht auf den Weg. Wir waren die einzigen zwei auf dem Trail, es hat Spaß gemacht, aber nicht großartig.

wandern
2 months ago

Gute Spur

wandern
3 months ago

Aug 2019. Gepflegter Trail. Ich habe keine Seele gesehen. Kleiner Wasserfall und Brücke in den ersten 10 Minuten des Weges. Hervorragende Aussicht nach Süden an der Spitze.

wandern
3 months ago

beste Strecke in diesem Bereich. weicher Boden mit minimalen Stümpfen. Bäume, die den Weg versperren, wie in einem früheren Bericht erwähnt, wurden alle zurückgeschnitten. Werde bald zurück sein. (Nur in der Lage, Rückkehr aufzuzeichnen.)

wandern
3 months ago

Guter Weg, meistens beschattet, viele Wurzeln und Felsstücke. Die wenigen nassen Stellen waren kein Problem - mein Kumpel war problemlos mit Tennisschuhen unterwegs. Achten Sie auf die in anderen Bewertungen erwähnte Linkskurve. Tolle Aussicht an der Spitze. Schauen Sie sich den kleinen Wasserfall an, der nur ein paar Meter vom Hauptweg entfernt ist. Daumen hoch. Ich empfehle nicht den 2. Gipfel im Osten (ca. 0,8 Meilen auf der Karte); vergleichsweise einfacher, unbeschreiblicher Weg, teilweise auf einer Straße mit einem Gebäude und einem Turm am Ende. Keine Sicht.

wandern
4 months ago

Vielen Dank an die Kritiker, die die harte Linkskurve am Anfang des Trails erwähnt haben. Die Wanderung war wirklich hübsch, wenn Sie das verzauberte Gartengefühl mögen, jedoch müssen sich große Menschen möglicherweise ziemlich oft unter den niedrigen Ästen bücken. Der "Wasserfall" war enttäuschend, da es kaum ein Rinnsal war. Vielleicht fließt es zu anderen Jahreszeiten schwerer? Ungefähr die Hälfte der Wanderung führte durch Bachbetten, die zum Glück trocken waren, aber es gibt viele Felsen, über die man wandern kann. Die Spitze hatte eine schöne Aussicht.

wandern
10 months ago

Fantastische Wanderung und herrliche Aussichten Hin und zurück zum Gipfel sind es 4 Meilen und dauerte 2:15 Minuten. Der Weg ist gut präpariert. Ein Teil der Wanderung ist durch ein Bachbett, daher empfehle ich wasserdichte Stiefel. Der Wasserfall und die Brücke sind super cool und beide sind innerhalb der ersten 20 Minuten.

wandern
10 months ago

Ich würde gerne 4,5 Sterne vergeben, aber hier sind wir. Erstaunliche Ansichten an mehreren Stellen. Wie in einigen Bewertungen bereits erwähnt, können Sie kleine Nebenwege nehmen und einen Wasserfall und andere großartige Aussichten auf die Berge sehen. Alles ist gut markiert. Wasserfeste Schuhe sind jedoch zu empfehlen, da es sich bei der Wanderung um legitime Wanderungen in einem Bach handelt. Einige Teile waren eisig und erfordern einige strategische Schritte. Ich bin froh, Stöcke zu haben. Alles in allem eine tolle Wanderung und würde es wieder tun.

Sun Nov 04 2018

Wundervolle Aussichten an der Spitze und nicht zu versäumen den Wasserfall nicht weit vom Startpunkt entfernt - ein kleiner Nebenpfad unterhalb der Bachkreuzung. Sehr schlammig und Wasser fließt sanft über Teile des Weges nach oben - Sie werden auf jeden Fall wasserdichte Stiefel wollen! Eine schöne Morgenwanderung!

Mon Oct 22 2018

Schöne Wanderung, spektakuläre Aussichten an der Spitze.

wandern
Fri Oct 19 2018

Schöne Aussichten an der Spitze. Gut markierter und recht leichter Weg. Die "schwierigste" Option war nicht sehr schwierig. Wir begannen am Forrest rd Access Point der Turtle Pond Rd. Hin und zurück, mit ein paar Stopps an der Spitze, dauerte es etwa 1 Stunde und 45 Minuten.

Sun Jun 10 2018

Liebte diese Wanderung! Parken Sie direkt an der Straßenseite, auf der der Bartram Trail steht. Der Weg nach Scaly, der über Hickory Nut führt, führt Sie über eine Schotterstraße. Das war viel einfacher! Meine Kinder und ich haben diese Wanderung sehr genossen. Wir liebten es, in einem Baumdach zu sein und fühlten uns wie in einem verzauberten Wald. Wunderschöne Aussicht am Ende !!

wandern
Tue May 22 2018

Wirklich tolle Wanderung mit wunderschöner Aussicht. Nicht zu steil Wir haben die verkürzte Wanderung vor der Turtle Pond Rd gemacht, die mit blauen Schildern markiert ist. Es trifft sich mit dem Bartram Trail, der den Berg hinauf nach Scaly führt. Der Gipfel ist nicht klar markiert und wir sind ohne es zu wissen gewandert. Folgen Sie also nicht einfach den gelben Markierungen. Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie die Wanderkarte herunterladen, damit Sie sehen können, wann sie endet.

wandern
Mon Apr 02 2018

Ein überraschend schönes Hin und Her. Der letzte Teil des Gipfels liegt abseits des Hauptwegs und ist markiert. Wunderschöne Abschnitte von Magnolien und Lorbeer. Kahle Bäume erlaubten Anfang April eine wunderschöne Aussicht.

Wed Mar 14 2018

Wirklich genossen dieses! Nicht übermäßig anstrengend, aber bringt das Herz zum Pumpen !!! Es wird windig, wenn Sie nach oben kommen und dann einige fantastische Aussichten!

wandern
Fri Nov 24 2017

Schöne Wanderung mit herrlichem Ausblick. Seien Sie vorsichtig, um die harte Linkskurve zu Beginn der Wanderung nicht zu verpassen. Wir haben nicht gemerkt, dass zwei gelbe Markierungen eine Abbiegung anzeigen und stattdessen geradeaus weiterfahren. Am Ende kletterten wir geradeaus den Berg hinauf, bis wir oben auf den Pfad stießen. Der Weg zurück nach unten war gut markiert und eine tolle Wanderung. Wir haben uns mit einigen anderen Leuten getroffen, die die erste Kurve wie wir verpasst haben und sich im Wald verirrt haben. Die Mühe wert und keine Mühe, wenn Sie auf Spur bleiben.

Fri Nov 03 2017

Schöne wanderung! Gutes Training.

Mon Oct 30 2017

Wir fanden den versteckten Weg von Schildkrötensee. Die einspurige Straße führte zu einem sehr kleinen Parkplatz. Wir waren mit dem Weg angenehm überrascht. Es kombinierte sich mit dem Bartram Trail auf dem Gipfel des Scaly Man. Schöne Aussichten und eine tolle Wanderung.

wandern
Sun Aug 27 2017

Diese Wanderung ist ein kleiner Teil des Bartram Trail, der vom Osage Mountain Overlook beginnt und auf dem Gipfel des Scaly Mountain endet. Leider hat sich der dichte Nebel bis zu dem Zeitpunkt, als ich den Gipfel erreichte, nicht aufgehellt, und so gab es für mich keine Aussicht, daher die vier statt fünf Sterne. Ich bin sicher, die Aussichten sind wunderschön und werden wiederkommen, um sie zu sehen. Der Weg selbst ist hier in gutem Zustand. Sehr wenige Wurzeln, obwohl es einige extrem steinige Abschnitte gibt.

wandern
Tue Aug 22 2017

Wirklich begeistert von dieser Wanderung - kam für die Sonnenfinsternis! Wenn Sie dies bei Google nachschlagen, beginnt der Ausgangspunkt mit Bartram Trail in den Highlands, NC, und verbindet sich weiter oben.

Tue May 30 2017

Toller Weg! Ich bin mit ein paar kleinen Kindern gewandert und sie haben es toll gemacht! Ich wünschte nur, es gäbe am Anfang ein Bad.

aufgezeichnet Scaly Mountain Trail

wandern
19 days ago

aufgezeichnet Scaly Mountain Trail

wandern
25 days ago

wandern
28 days ago

wandern
29 days ago

aufgezeichnet Scaly Mountain Trail

wandern
1 month ago

wandern
2 months ago

wandern
2 months ago

wandern
3 months ago

Mehr laden

Empfohlene Routen

Scaly Mountain Trail is a 3.7 mile out and back trail located near Highlands, North Carolina that features a great forest setting. The trail is rated as moderate and is primarily used for hiking. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Distance: 3.7 miles Elevation Gain: 1,128 feet Route Type: Out & Back

dogs on leash

hiking

forest

views

Scaly Mountain NC

hiking
muddy
6 days ago

hiking
12 days ago

Fun trail with a good panoramic view at the top. A few nice sights along the way - a small waterfall, some interesting trees growing on rocks. We saw a lot of little mountain frogs too. It’s a little muddy in some spots after rain but nothing insurmountable. Would recommend !

hiking
muddy
12 days ago

hiking
1 month ago

It was a great hike. But my husband and I kept hiking after we made it to the scaly mountain overlook as we kept falling the yellow trail markers. Luckily a group of people told us that we should turn back around as the hike is not a loop! Our 3.7 mile hike turned into a 7.5 mile hike. The actual scaly mountain hike is fairly hard but great.

hiking
1 month ago

Nice and moderate trail which takes you through several kinds of vegetation. Really enjoyed the view at the top!

hiking
3 months ago

I really enjoyed this trail. We hiked it today (mid-February) and decided it’s probably a better winter trail so as to offer some views along the way. Enjoyed the varied terrain. View at the top was impressive. Passed just two couples. Will definitely do the trail again. Note: we hiked about a week after heavy rains and a good section of the trail was muddy and wet - recommend boots.

hiking
8 months ago

Varied terrain through the forest with the trail broken up quite a bit. Don’t miss the sharp left turn in the first 1/4 mile!

hiking
over grown
9 months ago

It is dense and there are no vista views on the way. We were the only two on the trail, it was fun but not great.

hiking
9 months ago

Good trail

hiking
9 months ago

Aug 2019. Well-maintained trail. Didn’t see a soul. Small waterfall and bridge in the first 10 minutes of the trail. Excellent view south at the top.

hiking
9 months ago

best trail in this area. soft floor with minimal stumps. trees blocking the trail, mentioned in an earlier review, have all been cut back. will be back soon. (only able to record return.)

hiking
10 months ago

Good trail, mostly shaded, plenty of roots, and rock patches. The few wet places were no issue - my buddy hiked it in tennis shoes with no problem. Watch for the left turn mentioned in other reviews. Great views at the top. Do check out the little waterfall it's only a couple hundred feet off the main trail. Thumbs up. I don't recommend the 2nd peak to the East (about .8 miles on the map); comparatively easy, non descript trail, partly on road bed/trail with a building and tower at the end. No view.

hiking
10 months ago

Thank you to the reviewers that mentioned the hard left turn in the beginning of the trail. Hike was really pretty if you like the enchanted garden feel, however tall people may need to bend down under the low branches quite often. The “waterfall” was disappointing since it was barely a trickle. Maybe other times of year it flows more heavily? About half the hike was through creek beds that were thankfully dry when we went, but there are a lot of rocks to hike over. The top had beautiful views.

hiking
Sat Dec 29 2018

Fantastic hike and amazing views Out and back to the summit is 4 miles and took 2:15 minutes . The trail is well groomed. Part of the hike is through a creek bed, so I recommend waterproof boots , The waterfall and bridge are super cool and both are within the first 20 minutes.

hiking
Thu Dec 27 2018

I would really like to give this 4.5 stars, but here we are. AMAZING views at multiple spots. As some of the reviews said, you can take small side paths and see a waterfall and some other great mountain views. Everything is well marked. However, highly recommend waterproof shoes as part of the hike is legit hiking in a stream. Some parts were icy and require some strategic stepping. Glad to have poles. Overall great hike and would totally do it again.

Sun Nov 04 2018

Wonderful views at the top and don’t miss the waterfall not that far from the start of the trail - a little side trail below the creek crossing. Very muddy and water flowing gently over parts of the trail towards the top - you will want waterproof boots for sure! A beautiful morning hike!

Mon Oct 22 2018

Beautiful hike, spectacular views at top.

hiking
Fri Oct 19 2018

Nice views at the top. Well marked and fairly easy trail. The “Most Difficult” option was not very difficult. We started at the Forrest rd access point of of Turtle Pond Rd. There and back again, with a few stops at the top, took about 1hr 45 min.

Sun Jun 10 2018

Loved this hike! Park just off the side of the road where the sign says Bartram Trail. The trail to Scaly that is via Hickory Nut has you drive up a gravel road. This was much easier! My kids and I really enjoyed this hike. We loved being in a canopy of trees and felt like we were in an enchanted forest. Gorgeous views at the end to boot!!

hiking
Tue May 22 2018

Really awesome hike with beautiful views. Not too steep We did the shortened hike off of Turtle Pond Rd which are marked with blue signs. It’s meets up with the Bartram Trail which turns up the mountain to Scaly. The summit is not clearly marked and we kept hiking without even knowing it. So don’t just follow the yellow markers. Make sure to download the trail map so you can see when it ends.

hiking
Mon Apr 02 2018

A surprisingly beautiful out and back. the last part to the summit is off the main trail and is marked. Gorgeous sections of magnolia and mountain laurel. Bare trees in early April allowed for beautiful views.

Wed Mar 14 2018

Really enjoyed this one! Not overly strenuous but gets the heart a pumpin!!! Gets windy when you get towards the top and then some awesome views!

hiking
Fri Nov 24 2017

Beautiful hike with stunning views. Be very careful not to miss the hard left turn in the beginning of the hike. We didn’t realize that two yellow markers indicated a turn and continued straight instead. We ended up basically rock climbing straight up the mountain until we ran into the trail at the top. The way back down was well marked and a great hike. We met up with several other people who missed the initial turn like us and got lost in the woods. Worth the trouble though and no trouble at all if you stay on trail.

Fri Nov 03 2017

Beautiful hike! Good workout.

Mon Oct 30 2017

We found the tucked away trailhead off of turtle pond rd. The one lane road led to a very small parking area. We were pleasantly surprised with the trail. It did combine with the Bartram Trail at the summit of Scaly man. Beautiful views and a great hike.

hiking
Sun Aug 27 2017

This hike is a small portion of the Bartram Trail starting from Osage Mountain Overlook and ending on the summit of Scaly Mountain. Unfortunately, the dense fog didn't lift by the time I reached the summit and so, for me, there were no views, hence the four instead of five star rating. I'm sure the views are beautiful and will return to see them. The trail itself is in good shape here. Very few roots, although there are some extremely rocky sections.

hiking
Tue Aug 22 2017

Really loved this hike - came up for the solar eclipse! If you are going to look this up on Google, the trailhead starts with Bartram Trail on Highlands, NC and connects further up.

Tue May 30 2017

Great trail! Hiked this with a few young kids and they did great! I only wish there was a bathroom of some sort at the beginning.

hiking
10 days ago

Showing results 1 - 30 of 96