Mountain Trail

INTERMÉDIAIRE 95 avis
N°4 sur 16 randonnées à

Mountain Trail est un sentier en boucle de 5,4 km modérément fréquenté situé près de Pinnacle, en Caroline du Nord. Il présente de belles fleurs sauvages et est classé comme modéré. Le sentier est principalement utilisé pour la randonnée, le course à pied et les excursions dans la nature et est accessible toute l'année. Les chiens peuvent aussi utiliser ce sentier mais doivent être tenus en laisse.

Distance: 5.4 miles Dénivelé: 692 feet Type d'itinéraire: Boucle

chiens en laisse

randonnée

activités en pleine nature

course à pied

forêt

vue panoramique

fleurs sauvages

faune

Un sentier essentiellement boisé avec de jolies vues et une dénivellation différente, à peu près aux trois quarts de Pilot Mountain. Il se connecte avec le sentier Grindstone pour compléter une belle boucle.

randonnée
3 days ago

Belle randonnée en forêt. Pas de vues et pas de vue sur le bouton, mais une belle variance d'élévation et de beaux arbres (quelques-uns commencent tout juste à changer de couleur).

randonnée
1 month ago

randonnée tranquille

randonnée
rocheux
1 month ago

randonnée
1 month ago

Grand sentier - très rocheux à certains endroits mais rien d'ingérable. Idéal pour la randonnée, pas de vues spectaculaires si c'est ce que vous voulez, cependant, les environs sont super.

course de trail
1 month ago

Belle course. A couru dans le sens des aiguilles d'une montre ... plutôt rocheux par endroits, mais très amusant.

randonnée
rocheux
2 months ago

Grand sentier, commence juste en face du centre des visiteurs. En fait, il combine deux pistes, vous voudrez donc regarder la carte pour savoir où changer de piste. C’était une randonnée modérée où nous avons pu laisser les chiens sans laisse. Je pense que nous avons croisé un ou deux randonneurs. Je portais des chaussures de course, c'était un peu caillouteux et des chaussures de randonnée auraient probablement été meilleures. Grand sentier, parfait lointain ferait encore !!

randonnée
3 months ago

Grand sentier - pas très fréquenté et surtout ombragé.

randonnée
4 months ago

C'est l'un de nos sentiers préférés dans la région du parc Pilot Mt. Beau paysage tout le chemin. Randonnée principalement modérée. Quelques endroits épuisants, mais rien d'insurmontable. Notre chien précieux "Edie" a aimé courir ce sentier en laisse. Sans vouloir vous offenser, le sentier est si peu emprunté que nous rencontrons rarement d’autres randonneurs et Edie n’a jamais été envahissante. Edie n'est plus avec nous. Nous chérissons les souvenirs de ce sentier avec elle!

randonnée
arbres tombés
insectes
5 months ago

randonnée
6 months ago

J'aime beaucoup ce sentier, ce n'est certainement pas fatigant, mais ce n'est pas facile non plus. Ce n'est pas aussi populaire que d'autres sentiers donc c'était très paisible. ils venaient de faire des brûlures contrôlées dans la région, ce qui était en fait assez intéressant pour voir les différentes étapes de la brûlure et comment les choses se développaient. nous avons emprunté le sentier de meulage pour aller à la vue sur la montagne, puis nous sommes allés en boucle vers le parking principal, puis nous avons repris le moulin pour nous rendre au camping.

randonnée
7 months ago

belle journée de randonnée, adapté aux enfants pour les enfants plus âgés, il peut être rocheux sur le versant nord du sentier. eau au sommet du parking. quelques belles vues. grande zone d'escalade. oh y a Scott dans engage ci-dessous est correct sur la piste.

randonnée
8 months ago

Je dirais que ce serait facile, peut-être modéré dans quelques endroits, certainement pas difficile ou exténuant. Petite quantité de marcher sur la route. Pas beaucoup de circulation.

Monday, July 23, 2018

Une randonnée boisée assez longue. Moins randonné que beaucoup d'autres sentiers. Agréable et calme

Friday, July 20, 2018

Grand sentier! Plus de 600 marches montantes et une vue magnifique au point de vue. Stable et la patience est nécessaire pour descendre. Ça vaut vraiment le coup!

Friday, June 08, 2018

J'adore ce sentier !!! Vous donne un excellent travail et c'est une belle. Piste. Vous êtes surtout dans les bois, mais vous pouvez voir d’étonnantes formations rocheuses. Et il y avait un serpent noir incroyablement grand qui se prélassait au bord du sentier.

randonnée
Sunday, April 29, 2018

J'adore ce sentier. Terminé tous le même voyage après une nuit.

randonnée
Sunday, September 24, 2017

très beau sentier boisé. pas difficile. réhabiliter mon genou pour revenir à pouvoir courir de nouveau. Ce sentier sera haut sur ma liste pour courir bientôt.

Wednesday, October 26, 2016

Ce sentier est beaucoup plus facile si vous allez dans le sens des aiguilles d'une montre, les premiers 6,1 milles sont progressivement en montée, si vous allez dans le sens contraire des aiguilles d'une montre, les premiers 1,4 km sont raides en montée et peuvent donc vous faire sentir plus dur. C'est un beau sentier.

Saturday, August 20, 2016

Grand sentier pour la course. Rarement jamais boueux même après beaucoup de pluie.

randonnée
Sunday, June 26, 2016

Pilot Mountain State Park, le sentier de montagne est un sentier bien entretenu qui, à mon avis, devrait être considéré comme étant modéré et non fatigant, car même si vous montez en altitude, la montée en pente semble plus facile que prévu en raison de la montée constante. Cependant, ils ont peut-être jugé cette piste difficile, car vous devez surveiller vos pas autour des rochers. J'espérais pouvoir voir le sommet de Pilot Mountain et parfois je pensais pouvoir le faire, mais j'étais déçu de constater que les branches des arbres étaient toujours en travers, peut-être qu'ils couperaient des membres par endroits afin que les randonneurs puissent avoir une meilleure vue de haut en bas de la montagne. J'ai adoré les grandes formations rocheuses tout au long de ce sentier. Certaines de ces formations étaient vraiment cool et l'un d'entre eux, ma femme et moi-même, avons pu dire en plaisantant que nous avions vu un étage supérieur, un étage inférieur, une terrasse, une cuisine, etc. C'est un sentier très rocheux qui permet des vues lointaines sur la forêt et des rochers de toutes tailles. Bonne randonnée !!!

Monday, May 23, 2016

aimer ce sentier. J'ai hâte d'y retourner dans quelques semaines. Bonne excursion d'une journée.

randonnée
Sunday, January 03, 2016

La piste actuelle affichée est incorrecte. Sauratown # 15 est la partie la plus à l'ouest du sentier qui relie le parc d'état de Hanging Rock au parc d'état de Pilot Mountain. À partir de Pilot Mountain, le sentier commence par le sentier Grassy Ridge, pas très loin au sud du parking, à l’entrée du parc. Il traverse des collines modérément en pente et offre de jolies vues sur la montagne. Il peut y avoir de la boue dans certains endroits après une pluie abondante ... et puisque les chevaux sont autorisés, vous devez faire attention où vous vous dirigez.

randonnée
Sunday, November 15, 2015

Un très beau sentier qui vous donne un bon entraînement car il entoure Pilot Mountain. Vous pouvez également ajouter un détour aller-retour de trois miles au sommet où le sentier de montagne relie le sentier Grindstone.

randonnée
12 days ago

randonnée
12 days ago

randonnée
12 days ago

randonnée
12 days ago

randonnée
13 days ago

Charger plus

Randonnées populaires

Mountain Trail is a 8.7 kilometer heavily trafficked loop trail located near Pinnacle, North Carolina that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as moderate. The trail is primarily used for hiking, running, nature trips, and bird watching and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Distance: 8.7 km Elevation Gain: 211 m Route Type: Loop

dogs on leash

kid friendly

hiking

nature trips

bird watching

running

forest

views

wild flowers

wildlife

A mostly wooded trail with some pretty views and elevation change as it heads about 3/4 of the way around Pilot Mountain. It connects with the Grindstone Trail to complete a nice loop.

hiking
muddy
11 days ago

Combined this with Grindstone and Ledge Spring to add a climb to the Pinnacles. The Mountain trail is a gradual up and down and pretty easy, beautiful wide open forest and well maintained along the way. The trail at times was a stream bed due to recent rains. Mountain Laurel and Rhodos were blooming and beautiful. We found an Eastern Painted Box Turtle and a frog. On a misty day, there were not many on this trail considering it was Memorial Day. There are a couple access points/parking areas. Good family hike and a nice walk in the woods, enjoy.

hiking
muddy
rocky
14 days ago

Nice trail. Not too hard but just a little hard for an ok workout. For most of it, it’s just a nice pleasant walk in the woods. Has a little view of vista at top of elevation and some cool little waterfalls

hiking
2 months ago

We parked at the Corridor trail head parking lot and picked up the mountain trail just across the street. We hiked to the grindstone and across to the summit via the spring ledge trail. We loved the whole hike, and it was especially awesome as the park is closed on the weekends now (meaning you can't enter the park at the main gates and must hike in from further away), so the crowds were really light. The whole time we were on the mountain trail section it was beautiful rolling woods with some rocky sections, and some pine tree sections mixed in with mostly hardwoods. This side of the mountain seemed preferable as you're further from the highway road noise). It's winter still so you actually get some pretty views of pilot mountain through the trees early on in the hike. Further into the hike it just kept getting more interesting and beautiful, especially the south section of spring ledge trail, and the whole Jomeokee trail loop (had it to ourself) circling the summit. Spectacular views. I can't imagine being up here on a sunny day. It was the perfect day hike.

hiking
5 months ago

This is a great family friendly trail. We hiked this trail with our two children ages 12 and 5. It was a little challenging for our 5 year old just for the distance but she made it through just fine. Definitely would recommend for anyone with children or pets.

hiking
6 months ago

This trail was long and pretty boring. Thought it would be a little more scenic, just a lot of fallen trees. No views.

hiking
7 months ago

Nice forest hike. No vistas and no view of the knob but nice elevation variance and lovely trees (a few just starting to change colors).

quiet hike

hiking
rocky
8 months ago

hiking
9 months ago

Great trail- Very rocky in places but nothing unmanageable. Great for hiking, not any spectacular views if that's what you are wanting, however, surroundings are great.

running
9 months ago

Nice run. Ran it clockwise .. pretty rocky in spots, but good fun.

hiking
rocky
9 months ago

Great trail, starts right across from visitors center. It actually combines two trails so you will want to look at map so you know where to change trails. It was a moderate hike we were able to let dogs off leashes. I think we passed one or two hikers. I wore running shoes, it was a little rocky so hiking boots probably would have been better. Great trail, perfect distant would do again!!

hiking
11 months ago

Great trail - not highly traveled and mostly shaded.

hiking
Mon May 27 2019

This is one of our favorite trails in the Pilot Mt park area. Beautiful scenery the entire way. Mostly moderate hiking. A few strenuous places, but nothing insurmountable. Our precious dog 'Edie' loved to run this trail off leash. Not to offend, but the trail is so sparsely hiked, we rarely ran into any other hikers, and Edie was never intrusive in any way. Edie is no longer with us. We cherish the memories of this trail with her!

hiking
blowdown
bugs
Tue Apr 23 2019

hiking
Sun Apr 07 2019

i like this trail a lot, it definitely isn't strenuous, but it's not easy either. It's not as popular as other trails so it was very peaceful. they had just done some controlled burns in the area which was actually pretty interesting to see the different stages of burns and how things grow back. we took grindstone trail to mountain view then looped to the main parking lot then took grindstone back to get to the camping area.

hiking
Sat Mar 16 2019

nice day hike, kid friendly for older kids it can get rocky on the north slope of the trail. water at the top at parking lot. some nice views. great rock climbing area. oh ya Scott in commit below is correct about the trail.

hiking
Thu Feb 07 2019

I would say this would be easy maybe moderate in a couple of spots certainly not hard or strenuous. Small amount of road walking. Not much traffic.

Mon Jul 23 2018

A somewhat lengthy woodsy hike. Less hiked than many of the other trails. Nice and quiet.

Fri Jul 20 2018

Great Trail! 600+ steps going up and great view at the lookout point. Steady and patience is needed going down. Well worth it!

Fri Jun 08 2018

Love this trail!!! Gives you a great work out and it’s a beautiful. trail. Your mostly in the woods but you can see some amazing rock formation s. And there was one amazingly large black snake sunning himself beside the trail.

hiking
Sun Apr 29 2018

Love this trail. Completed all on the same day trip after an overnight.

hiking
Sun Sep 24 2017

really nice wooded trail. not difficult. rehabbing my knee to get back to being able to trail run again. This trail will be high on my list to run soon.

Wed Oct 26 2016

This trail feels much easier if you go clockwise the first 4.1 miles are gradually uphill if you go counterclockwise the first 1.4 miles are steep uphill and therefore may feel harder. It's a beautiful trail.

Sat Aug 20 2016

Great trail for running. Rarely ever Muddy even after a lot of rain.

hiking
Sun Jun 26 2016

Pilot Mountain State Park, Mountain Trail is a well maintained trail that in my opinion should be rated as moderate and not strenuous because even though you are climbing in elevation, the incline trek up the mountain seems easier than expected because of the consistent climb. However, maybe they deemed this trail strenuous because you need to watch your steps around and over the rocks. I was hoping to be able to view the top of Pilot Mountain and at times I thought I might be able to but I was disappointed to find out that tree limbs were always in the way, maybe they will cut some limbs in spots so hikers will have better views up and down the mountain. I loved the large rock formations throughout this trail, some of these rock formations were really cool and one of them my wife and I were actually able to joke that we saw an upstairs, downstairs, deck, kitchen etc. (lol)… Any way this is a very rocky trail that allows distant views into the forest viewing rocks of all sizes. Happy hiking!!!

Mon May 23 2016

love this trail. Can't wait to go back in a few weeks. Great day trip.

hiking
Sun Jan 03 2016

The current track shown is not correct. Sauratown #15 is the westernmost portion of the trail that connects Hanging Rock State Park with Pilot Mountain State Park. Heading out from Pilot Mountain, the trail starts off the Grassy Ridge Trail not too far south of the parking lot at the park entrance. It passes through some moderately slopped hills, with some pretty views of the mountain. It can get pretty muddy in a few places after a lot of rain...and since horses are allowed, you need to be careful where you step.

hiking
Sun Nov 15 2015

A very nice trail that gives you a good workout as it circles Pilot Mountain. You can also add a three mile round trip detour to the summit where the Mountain Trail connects to the Grindstone Trail.

Showing results 1 - 28 of 116