Joyce Kilmer Memorial Forest nach Tennessee State Line Trail

SCHWER 11 Bewertungen

Der Joyce Kilmer Memorial Forest nach Tennessee State Line Trail ist ein 10 Meilen langer Wanderweg, der sich in der Nähe von Robbinsville, North Carolina, befindet. Hier finden Sie wunderschöne Wildblumen, die als schwierig eingestuft werden. Der Weg wird hauptsächlich zum Wandern, für Naturausflüge und zur Vogelbeobachtung genutzt und wird am besten von April bis Oktober benutzt. Hunde können diesen Weg auch benutzen, müssen aber an der Leine gehalten werden.

ENTFERNUNG
10.0 Meilen
HÖHENUNTERSCHIED
3,244 Fuß
ROUTENTYP
Hin & zurück

angeleinte hunde

Wandern

Naturausflüge

Vogelbeobachtung

Wald

Aussicht

Wildblumen

Wildtiere

überwachsen

wandern
scrambling
überwachsen
11 days ago

Habe dies Anfang Mai getan. Auf der unteren Hälfte von Stratton Bald sehr überwachsen, was mich erheblich verlangsamte und mich mit Staub, Spinnweben und Giftefeu bedeckte. Öffnet sich in der Nähe des Kammkamms. Ich konnte den Konnektor von Stratton kahl zur Joyce-Kilmer-Schleife nicht finden und brachte ihn gerade auf die Straße. Viele Wildblumen und schöne Aussicht von oben. Normalerweise mache ich etwa 3 Meilen pro Stunde, das dauerte 7 Stunden. Ich vermute, es ist länger als 10 Meilen, obwohl mich das Wachstum etwas verlangsamt hat.

11 months ago

einfach und umfassend

wandern
Tuesday, September 06, 2016

Dies ist eine angenehme Wanderung durch einen alten Wald, für die ich ungefähr 1 1/2 Stunden gebraucht habe. Die Vegetation ist schön und es gibt einen plätschernden Bach, der entlang des Weges verläuft. So ein hübscher Wald.

Wednesday, August 05, 2015

Schönes altes Wachstum.

fahren mit aussicht
Tuesday, May 07, 2013

Ich liebe diesen Bereich. Ich habe diesen Teil des AT mitgenommen und durch viele wunderschöne Landschaften gefahren.

Camping
Monday, July 23, 2012

Ich liebe Joyce Kilmer Wilderness und das zusammenhängende Citico Creek Wilderness. Ich rolle hier regelmäßig mit Freunden und meinem Hund. Es ist wunderschön und nicht überfüllt. Ich bevorzuge es Smokies und anderen Parks. Wildnisgebiete werden nicht wie SMNP gepflegt und Sie sollten die Karte unbedingt besitzen, bevor Sie hierher kommen. In den meisten Outdoor-Geschäften in Knoxville gibt es einen ausgezeichneten Reiseführer, der wirklich das Beste ist, was Sie mitnehmen können. Top Empfehlungen 1. Große Fettlücke zu Wildcat Falls (Tag oder Übernachtung) - Große Campingplätze am Slickrock Creek. Gute Badestelle bei Wildcat. 2. Nackter Bodenabstand. Als ich hier im Dezember bei etwa 4 Grad F lagerte, bekam mein Freund Erfrierungen. Was ist der Außenbereich ohne Gefahr! 1 bis 2 Tage 3. Slickrock Creek Trail von Anfang an bis zum ENDE erstaunliche und herausfordernde Wanderung. 3 Tage und es ist keine Schleife. 4. Gehen Sie zurück zwischen Joyce Kilmer und Citico Creek Wilderness. Über 300 km Wanderwege bin ich mir ziemlich sicher! Genug, um dich jahrelang zu beschäftigen! Ich habe Wildschwein, Schlangen (darunter eine große Holzklapperschlange), Tonnen von Vögeln, Salamander gesehen! Eidechsen! Fische und viele Bärenzeichen, also müssen sie irgendwo da sein! Ich hoffe, Sie genießen und helfen, auf dieses erstaunliche Wildnisgebiet aufzupassen. In meiner Wertung bewerte ich die Wege als fair. Ehrlich gesagt sind sie hart und manchmal schwer zu finden, aber das gefällt mir. Das ist Wildnis, nicht der Park. Bringen Sie eine Karte mit und wissen Sie, wie Sie sie lesen, bringen Sie das richtige Zeug mit, und treffen Sie gute Entscheidungen. Don

wandern
Tuesday, September 05, 2017

wandern
Sunday, September 03, 2017

Saturday, April 29, 2017

Wednesday, October 19, 2016

wandern
Thursday, February 25, 2016

Empfohlene Wege

For a limited time only, save 30% on a year of AllTrails Pro!
Get Started
Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Joyce Kilmer Memorial Forest to Tennessee State Line Trail

hardYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray Star(13)
Joyce Kilmer-Slickrock Wilderness

Joyce Kilmer Memorial Forest to Tennessee State Line Trail is a 10 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Robbinsville, North Carolina that features beautiful wild flowers and is rated as difficult. The trail is primarily used for hiking, nature trips, and bird watching and is best used from April until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Length 10.0 mi Elevation gain 3,244 ft Route type Out & Back

Dogs on leash

Hiking

Nature trips

Bird watching

Forest

Views

Wild flowers

Wildlife

Over grown

Waypoints (0)
Weather
UV Index
Daylight
Reviews (13)
Photos (29)
Recordings (4)
Completed (49)
Will Pirnasch
Yellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarJuly 2, 2020
HikingBlowdownOver grownScramble

Extremely overgrown, most places are bushwacking or climbing over falling trees. About half the trail, the forest floor is no longer visible, and you can only guess where to go. Large parts go along steep drops, where bushes have grown into the two feet of trail, so you either push the bushes away for every step, or fall down. There are many trees fallen over the trail too, and some are very hard to get over. It is not only exhausting to walk this trail, but quite dangerous, as it is easy to get lost or fall down the cliffs. We went only downhill, and found it still harder than the way up on the 'Naked Ground Trail'; we needed over 5 hours, and only narrowly avoided a 911 call.

Michael Rymer
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarJune 3, 2020

]

Katie Schlosser
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarMay 9, 2019
HikingOver grownScramble

Did this early May. Very overgrown on the lower half of Stratton Bald, which slowed me down significantly and left me covered in dust, spiderwebs, and poison ivy.. Opens up near the top of the ridge. I could not find the connector from Stratton bald to the Joyce Kilmer loop and wound up just taking it down to the road. Lots of wildflowers and beautiful views from the top. I usually do about 3 mi per hr, this took me 7 hrs. I suspect it is longer than 10 miles despite the overgrowth slowing me down some.

John Woodall
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMay 29, 2018

easy and comprehensive

Mary Knight
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSeptember 6, 2016
Hiking

This is a pleasant hike through an old growth forest that took me about 1-1 1/2 hours to complete. The vegetation is lovely and there's a babbling brook that runs along part of the trail. Such a pretty forest.

Dan Weaver
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarAugust 5, 2015

Beautiful old growth.

Alan Bourne
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMay 7, 2013
Scenic driving

I love this area. I have backpacked this section of the AT and driven through lots of beautiful scenery.

Don Mcmahon
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarJuly 23, 2012
Camping
First to Review

I love Joyce Kilmer Wilderness area and the connected Citico Creek Wilderness area. I backpack here with friends and my dog regularly. It is beautiful and not crowded. I prefer it to Smokies and other parks. Wilderness areas are not maintained like SMNP and you should definitely own the map before you get here. There is an excellent guidebook available at most outdoor stores in Knoxville that is really the best thing to take with you. Top Recommendations 1. Big Fat Gap to Wildcat Falls (Day or Overnight) - Great campsites along Slickrock Creek. Good Swimming area at Wildcat. 2. Naked Ground Gap. Once Camped here in December when it was about 4 degree F, my friend got frostbite. What is the outdoors without a little danger! 1 to 2 days 3. Slickrock Creek Trail from the beginning to the END amazing and challenging hike. 3 days and its not a loop. 4. Go back forth between Joyce Kilmer and Citico Creek wilderness, Over 300 miles of trails I'm pretty sure! Enough to keep you busy for years! I've seen Boar, Snakes (including one big Timber Rattlesnake), Tons of Birds, Salamanders! Lizards! Fish, and lots of signs of bears so they must be there somewhere! I hope you enjoy and help to take care of this amazing wilderness area. In my rating, I rate the trails fair. Honestly they are hard and sometimes hard to find but that is what I like. This is wilderness not the park. Bring a map and know how to read it, bring the right stuff, and make good decisions and you will have a great time. Don

Steven Queen
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMay 10, 2020
Hiking
View Steven's Recording
Samantha Byrd
Yellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarOctober 15, 2019
Hiking
View Samantha's Recording
Michael Baker
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarApril 29, 2017
View Michael's Recording
Bradford S.
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarOctober 19, 2016
Bear Asher
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFebruary 25, 2016
Hiking