Hooper Bald

FACILE 24 avis
N°63 sur 100 randonnées à

Hooper Bald est un sentier allez-retour de 1.2 miles modérément fréquenté situé près de Robbinsville, Caroline du Nord. Le sentier vous présentera des fleurs sauvages et sa difficulté est évaluée comme facile. Le sentier offre plusieurs activités et sa meilleure utilisation est de mars à octobre. Les chiens sont les bienvenus sur ce sentier mais seulement en laisse.

Distance: 1.2 miles Dénivelé: 147 feet Type d'itinéraire: Aller-retour

chiens en laisse

convient aux enfants

randonnée

activités en pleine nature

balade

ornithologie

vue panoramique

fleurs sauvages

Facile, ok vues. Bon pour une courte randonnée avec des enfants ou un chien.

randonnée
4 months ago

Je pensais que cet endroit était génial. J'ai pris mon chien qui aime les prairies et les forêts. Le sentier est en gravier et piétonnier, mais une fois arrivés au sommet, il y avait beaucoup d'endroits à explorer. Nous avons probablement passé deux heures là-haut. De plus, je pensais que toutes les variations de la vie végétale étaient vraiment intéressantes. C'est comme s'il y avait des microclimats basés sur la façon dont le vent souffle et le soleil brille. Il éclatait de vie aujourd'hui. Des papillons et d’autres insectes flottaient partout (mais aucun ne nous dérangeait). Enfin, il faisait 20 degrés plus froid qu'à Murphy, en Caroline du Nord, ou à Tellico Plains, dans le Tennessee. Il était 62 (en juillet!) Quand nous sommes arrivés vers 11h30 et il était de 84 dans les deux villes en bas. Nous l'avons aimé!

randonnée
4 months ago

Ok trail, c’est du gravier, donc ce serait un moyen facile et agréable pour les enfants de se dégourdir les jambes.

randonnée
10 months ago

Vues magiques

Tue Aug 14 2018

Belle promenade courte.

randonnée
Wed Jul 04 2018

c'était une belle petite randonnée. une vue sur les montagnes. pas très impressionnant.

randonnée
Tue Jun 05 2018

Mon avis est celui d'un photographe de paysage amateur. Au départ, ce sentier était classé 2 étoiles par rapport à la photographie de paysage. Et cette évaluation est toujours valable. Il n'y a aucune vue impressionnante du sommet. Choisissez Huckleberry Knob à la place. Mais si vous aimez les fleurs sauvages, en particulier Flame Azaleas, c’est l’une des meilleures randonnées que vous puissiez faire. J'ai compté plus de 30 arbustes d'azalée. Ils commencent à fleurir dès la première semaine de juin, mais vous voulez vraiment attendre jusqu'à la mi-juin pour que la plupart d'entre eux fleurissent. Si vous voulez voir les meilleurs azalées, alors vous voulez partir en randonnée à Gregory Bald. Mais c'est 11,6 miles et 3359 'gain d'altitude et prend toute la journée pour faire de la randonnée. Cette randonnée est seulement 1,6 km avec moins de 200 'de gain. Et les Azalées sont tout aussi jolies, mais vous ne verrez pas les couleurs hybrides propres à Gregory Bald.

randonnée
Fri Feb 09 2018

Mon avis est issu de la perspective d'un phtographe paysagiste ameteur. Le sentier est facile à suivre même s'il n'est pas balisé. Il est généralement aussi large qu'un trottoir et recouvert de gravier. Mais à partir de février 18, 300 mètres du sentier ont été emportés par les pluies d’hiver. C'est encore praticable, mais vous rencontrerez de la boue, des roches et des racines d'arbres. Une fois que vous atteignez le chauve, il n'y a vraiment pas beaucoup à photographier. Le champ est bordé d'arbres et il n'y a que quelques ouvertures pour voir les montagnes au-delà. Cela limite vos options à essayer de faire preuve de créativité avec un champ ouvert. Pas très satisfaisant. Cependant, j'utilise le terrain pour m'exercer à piloter mon drone. C'est une zone légale, de grands champs ouverts et très peu de personnes, voire aucune, à toucher accidentellement. Et une fois que votre drone est au-dessus des arbres, il y a quelques belles photos des montagnes au-delà. Mais à moins que vous ne vouliez piloter un drone, il n’ya pas beaucoup d’opportunités pour la photographie de paysage classique sur le chauve. Il y a cependant des azalées sauvages sur la montagne. Je prévois d'y retourner en juin pour voir à quoi ils ressemblent. Je mettrai à jour cette revue à ce moment-là.

randonnée
Sat Aug 12 2017

C'était ok. Randonnée facile. Personne d'autre sur la piste. Pas trop intéressant.

randonnée
Tue Jul 18 2017

Ne sachant pas ce qu'est un chauve, nous avons entrepris une randonnée dans les montagnes à la frontière avec la Caroline du Nord et le Tennessee. Alors que la randonnée elle-même était OK, nous avons été assez déçus d'apprendre qu'un chauve était essentiellement une prairie. Nous sommes originaires du Midwest et nous sommes donc assez conditionnés pour visiter les prairies.

randonnée
Sat Jun 10 2017

Sentier facile à trouver sur Cherohala Skyway. Sentier facile vers le chauve qui offre une vue magnifique sur le côté du Tennessee. Beaucoup d'azalées, de renoncules et de mûres fleurissent le jour de notre visite. Difficile d’imaginer un meilleur endroit pour s’asseoir / se coucher et regarder les nuages se former et se reformer.

Sun Apr 16 2017

Randonnée vraiment facile au sommet. Quelques jolies fleurs sauvages à la hausse. Une fois au sommet, j'ai été impressionné par la taille du chauve! Une vue imprenable. Le sentier est facile à trouver grâce à un panneau le long de la Skyway indiquant Hooper Bald et vous dirigeant vers le parking. Ça vaut vraiment la randonnée courte et facile!

randonnée
1 month ago

randonnée
2 months ago

a enregistré Recording - Jul 01, 12:23 PM

randonnée
5 months ago

randonnée
5 months ago

randonnée
7 months ago

randonnée
7 months ago

Mon Nov 05 2018

randonnée
Thu Jul 05 2018

randonnée
Mon Jun 18 2018

randonnée
Thu Oct 12 2017

randonnée
Sun Aug 06 2017

Sun Jun 11 2017

randonnée
Fri Nov 25 2016

Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Hooper Bald is a 1.2 mile moderately trafficked out and back trail located near Robbinsville, North Carolina that features beautiful wild flowers and is good for all skill levels. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, nature trips, and bird watching and is best used from March until October. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Distance: 1.2 miles Elevation Gain: 147 feet Route Type: Out & Back

dogs on leash

kid friendly

hiking

nature trips

walking

bird watching

views

wild flowers

Easy, okay views. Good for a short hike out with kids or a dog.

4 days ago

this is a nice easy trail. I hope to one day do the harder part, all the way to snowbird creek.

hiking
21 days ago

Beautiful easy access trail to the bald that actually has 2 mountain viewing spots plus a spot toward end of meadow where you can see the pine trees that are on Huckleberry Knob where we had hiked just before coming here. If you love flaming azaleas now is the time to go to Hooper—they are beautiful !!

hiking
1 month ago

Nice gravel trail, but not much to see at the top. There is one small overlook with a beautiful view, but it is mostly trees and grass.

5 months ago

Well maintained gravel path, kid and dog friendly, gorgeous NC mountain views at the top. will hike again!

hiking
11 months ago

I thought this place was great. I took my dog who loves meadows and forests. The trail is gravel and pedestrian but once we got to the top there were lots of places to explore. We probably spent two hours up there. Also, I thought all the variations in plant life were really interesting. It’s like there are microclimates based on how the wind blows and the sun shines. It was bursting with life today. Butterflies and other insects were floating around everywhere (but none were bothering us). Lastly it was 20 degrees cooler than down in Murphy,NC or Tellico Plains, TN. It was 62 (in July!) when we arrived around 11:30 and it was 84 in both towns down below. We loved it!

hiking
11 months ago

Ok trail, it is gravel so would be a nice easy one for the kids to stretch their legs.

hiking
Tue Jan 29 2019

Magical views

Tue Aug 14 2018

Nice short walk.

hiking
Wed Jul 04 2018

it was a nice little hike. one view of the mountains. not very impressive.

hiking
Tue Jun 05 2018

My review is from the perspective of an amateur landscape photographer I initially rated this trail as 2 stars with respect to landscape photography. And that assessment still stands. There just aren't any impressive views from the summit. Pick Huckleberry Knob instead. But if you like wildflowers, especially Flame Azaleas, then this is one of the best hikes you can take. I counted 30+ Azalea bushes. They start to bloom the first week of June, but you really want to wait until mid-June for most of them to bloom. If you want to see the best Azaleas then you want to hike Gregory Bald. But it's 11.6 miles and 3359' elevation gain and takes all day to hike. This hike is only 1.6 miles with less then 200' gain. And the Azaleas are just as pretty, but you won't see the hybrid colors that are unique to Gregory Bald.

hiking
Fri Feb 09 2018

My review is from the prespective of an ameteur landscape phtographer. The trail is easy to follow even though it is unmarked. It's generally as wide as a sidewalk and topped with gravel. But as of Feb '18 300 yards of the trail has been washed out by the winter rains. It's still passable, but you'll encounter mud, rocks and tree roots. Once you reach the bald there's really not a lot to photograph. The field is lined with trees and there are only a couple openings to see the mountains beyond. This limits your options to trying to be creative with an open field. Not very satisfying. However, I use the field to practice flying my drone. It's a legal area, big open fields and very few if any people to accidently hit. And once your drone is above the trees there are some pretty pics of the mountains beyond. But unless you want to fly a drone, there's not much opportunity for conventional landscape photography on the bald. There are however, wild azaleas on the mountain. I plan to go again in June to see what they look like. I will update this review at that time.

hiking
Sat Aug 12 2017

It was ok. Easy hike. No one else on trail. Not too interesting.

hiking
Tue Jul 18 2017

Not knowing what a bald was, we set out on a hike in the mountains on the N. Carolina/Tennessee border. While the hike itself was OK, we were pretty disappointed to learn a bald was basically a prairie. We're from the Midwest so we're pretty conditioned to seeing prairies.

hiking
Sat Jun 10 2017

Easy to find trailhead on Cherohala Skyway. Easy trail out to the bald which offers great views back towards the Tennessee side. Lots of azalea, buttercups, and blackberry blooms the day we were there. Hard to imagine a better place to sit/lay down and watch clouds forming and reforming.

Sun Apr 16 2017

Really easy hike to the top. Some pretty wildflowers on the way up. Once at the top I was impressed with the size of the bald! Amazing views. The trailhead is easy to find thanks to a sign along the Skyway marking it as Hooper Bald and pointing you to the parking lot. Definitely worth the short, easy hike!

hiking
19 days ago

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
1 month ago

hiking
2 months ago

recorded Hooper Bald

hiking
2 months ago

recorded Hooper Bald

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
8 months ago

hiking
9 months ago

recorded Recording - Jul 01, 12:23 PM

hiking
Mon Jul 01 2019

hiking
Thu Jun 13 2019

hiking
Sun Apr 21 2019

Showing results 1 - 30 of 38