Hickory Branch Trail

DIFFICILE 35 avis
N°72 sur 205 randonnées à

Hickory Branch Trail est un sentier à faible trafic situé à proximité du Vieux Fort, Caroline du Nord, qui comporte une chute d’eau et qui est considéré comme difficile. Le sentier est principalement utilisé pour les randonnées pédestres, le camping et les excursions dans la nature. Il convient de l’utiliser de mars à novembre. Les chiens peuvent aussi utiliser ce sentier mais doivent être tenus en laisse.

Distance: 3.3 miles Dénivelé: 1,328 feet Type d'itinéraire: Aller-retour

chiens en laisse

camping

randonnée

activités en pleine nature

forêt

rivière

vue panoramique

chute d'eau

fleurs sauvages

faune

Depuis Asheville, prenez la I-40 est et prenez les sorties 72 et 73 à Old Fort. Go 0.2 Mi. en ville, tournez à droite sur l'US-70 et passez 1 MI. à Jct. du chemin Curtis Creek (SR-1227). Cela devient FR-482, après 5,1 mi. de US-70 atteindre le camping. Rendez-vous au deuxième campement, placez-vous à gauche, le sentier commence au bout de la clairière (signé).

randonnée
11 days ago

Autant vous arrêter au deuxième waterfall. Belle randonnée

randonnée
couvert de végétation
insectes
1 month ago

environ 1,6 miles de la "grosse cascade" qui était décevant. pas de gros bénéfice pour le reste de la randonnée, qui est vraiment difficile. campé à l’extérieur du terrain de camping dans un emplacement privé près du ruisseau. joli ruisseau, même trouvé quelques trous pour nager!

randonnée
2 months ago

Les enfants et moi sommes allés faire un tour un jour de pluie pendant que nous campions au terrain de camping de Curtis Creek. Après une pente abrupte au début du sentier (derrière le site n ° 21, le point de départ de cette carte est désactivé), quelques franchissements de criques traversent une série de petites cascades. Le sentier est étroit, rocheux et couvert de racines parfois et glissant et boueux chez d’autres, FYI. Nous sommes partis en empruntant un sentier menant à la plus grande cascade que nous ayons pu voir - et quelle trouvaille! Les chutes d’eau autour de l’ouest de la Caroline du Nord peuvent sembler envahies de temps en temps, c’était tellement agréable de trouver un endroit qui se sentait un peu caché et sauvage. Les enfants et moi-même avons adoré explorer la piscine située au pied des chutes (peu profonde à moins de 3 pieds de profondeur) et trouver des dizaines de crawdads et de salamandres. Nous avons passé beaucoup de temps aux chutes, alors nous ne nous sommes pas aventurés plus loin sur le sentier et sommes retournés au camp. Peut-être la prochaine fois, car nous reviendrons à coup sûr! ** Notez que la carte sur cette application est vraiment éteint, alors j'ai reçu des tonnes d'alertes que j'étais hors piste - même à moins de 20 pieds du marqueur de départ. Nous sommes restés sur le sentier flamboyant orange tout le long du chemin jusqu'à ce que nous partions à la recherche des chutes, pour ce que cela vaut.

5 months ago

Nous avons fait ce sentier aujourd'hui sur un coup de tête parce que nous sommes allés à Catawba Falls, qui était fermé. C'était à proximité. Honnêtement, cela n’avait jamais été faite dans ma liste de choses à faire, cela ne semblait pas très intéressant, mais je suis tellement heureux que nous y soyons allés parce que c’était amusant et intéressant! Randonnée modérée vers les chutes, beaucoup de traversées de ruisseaux et vue sur une tonne d'animaux sauvages. Serpents, souris, lézards, gopher, pic, beaucoup d'escargots et une dinde énorme. Nous avons pu trouver un petit sentier secondaire à la base de la chute pour une meilleure vue. Nous avons déjà passé le chemin des chutes et c’est là que la partie difficile s’emboîte. Raides et beaucoup de retournements .Past les chutes il ya quelques flammes oranges, qui étaient bien parce que c’est un sentier étroit et un peu trop développé ( pas trop mal) Nous n’avons pas planifié cette randonnée, nous n’avions donc pas de carte de sentier et n’avions pas pu nous rendre au bout du sentier, car honnêtement, nous ne savions pas quand cela se terminerait haha.

a enregistré Recording - Jun 15, 02:58 AM

randonnée
couvert de végétation
insectes
6 months ago

La première moitié, même si la partie préférée était la calèche menant à la cascade la plus grande, elle passait à l'arrière sans trop de vue. Il y avait quelques passages de criques mais pas besoin de se mouiller. Très ombragé. J'ai vu une dinde avec ses poussins et un serpent de 3 à 4 pieds mais je ne pouvais pas l'identifier. Ce sentier commence juste derrière le site n ° 21 au camping Curtis Creek. Il se termine à l'intersection en T du sentier Lead Mine Gap.

randonnée
6 months ago

Puis à perdre le mien puis à Cutis Creek

randonnée
8 months ago

super randonnée! vraiment difficile à la fin car il y a beaucoup de montée raide sans récompense, mais il y a toujours des spots de surveillance sympas. vous traversez la crique plusieurs fois et c'est un peu une aventure. les cascades sont géniales aussi! le sentier reprend derrière le camping. nous n’avons pas pu prendre la voie de desserte jusqu’au retour car le camping n’étant pas encore ouvert, nous avons dû nous garer près de la porte et ajouter un demi-mille aller-retour, mais cela en valait la peine. la fin de la piste est étrange car elle se transforme en piste jaune, je ne sais pas où ça va recommander cette randonnée si vous voulez de l'aventure et des défis!

9 months ago

très belle randonnée, les cascades sont incroyables et fonctionnent bien.

10 months ago

J'habite près et utilise souvent ce sentier. parfait pour les courtes randonnées difficiles. bon mélange de montée régulière à forte lacune. et la vue vers le sommet n'est pas mauvaise. plus deux cascades

Fri May 11 2018

Randonné cela aujourd'hui avec la petite amie. c'est une belle randonnée qui en vaut la peine car ce n'est pas loin d'une jolie petite cascade Vu une tête de cuivre en premier lieu, vous traversez le ruisseau.

randonnée
Thu Apr 05 2018

Il nous a semblé que le sentier se terminait à la chute après un peu plus d’un kilomètre. Les chutes et la randonnée en général étaient assez pittoresques. Nous avons été déçus qu’aux chutes il n’y ait pas d’endroit où s’asseoir et se détendre / profiter de la vue. Essentiellement arrivé et retourné.

randonnée
Tue Dec 12 2017

Excellent sentier. Randonnée en décembre après la chute de neige.

Tue Sep 05 2017

Ce sentier est très étroit, avec de l'herbe à puce qui effleure vos jambes. Heureusement, j'avais un pantalon long et je n'ai jamais eu d'herbe à puce, mais ceux qui y sont sujets devraient en être conscients. Nous avons également rencontré un crocodile, ce qui nous a incités à faire demi-tour. Il est situé dans un camping et il n’y avait que quelques campeurs. Je me suis senti mal à l'aise la plupart du temps et honnêtement, j'avais hâte de retourner à la voiture. Je déteste laisser des critiques pas très bonnes mais je pense que c'est bien d'être honnête!

randonnée
Wed Aug 09 2017

Endroit vraiment amusant. Une fois que vous quittez la crique, c'est haut, haut, haut. Pas beaucoup de points de vue, mais nous avons eu des snipits sur les lacets. La partie inférieure le long de la crique était ma partie préférée.

randonnée
Mon Aug 07 2017

J'ai aimé comment c'était le long de la rivière pour le chien, cependant, c'était extrêmement étroit. Il y avait aussi plusieurs nids de veste jaune que j'ai vus et qui m'ont obligé à me retourner. C'est bon mais je ne pense pas y retourner.

randonnée
Wed May 31 2017

Si vous aimez randonner au bord d'un ruisseau, ce sentier est fait pour vous. Le sentier était marqué à la peinture rouge / orange. Nous avons également passé 3 ou 4 petites cascades. Après environ 1,25 km, la randonnée était principalement en montée et aboutissait à un autre sentier balisé en jaune permettant d'aller à droite ou à gauche. Nous avons parcouru environ 400 mètres dans le sentier jaune dans chaque direction et nous n'avons jamais trouvé de vue. Le terrain de camping au début du sentier était très agréable avec un grand parking et des installations, nous y avons fait un pique-nique. Avec le recul, j'aurais arrêté environ 1,5 miles à moins que vous vouliez simplement l'exercice. Personnellement, j'aime bien voir mes efforts et cette fois, ce n'est pas arrivé.

randonnée
Mon Feb 27 2017

Belle randonnée avec ma mère de 71 ans et mon sentier Golden Doodle de 70 lb (IG @joedog_thelatnersdoodle) ont été récemment nettoyés. Prévoyez faire un sentier en mars.

randonnée
Sun Nov 13 2016

Très belle journée, mais très sèche et très enfumée dans la vallée, nous n’avons donc pas fait tout le trajet. Je recommanderais ce sentier après les pluies car les chutes sont magnifiques et je ne peux qu'imaginer ce que les précipitations d'une année normale feraient pour les cascades. Le sentier lui-même est vraiment sympa, un peu envahi par les chiens, mais très accessible.

randonnée
Wed Oct 22 2014

Très belle randonnée. Belle vue sur la petite chute d'eau à peu près à mi-chemin. La "vue de dessus" est à environ 1,4 miles. Si aller à 1,75 mile marquer le sentier était un peu difficile à trouver.

randonnée
Wed Dec 04 2013

Oui, le sentier est assez caché. Dans Curtis Creek, tournez dans le vieux fort, la route se transforme en gravier, continuez jusqu’à atteindre le camping Curtis Creek, garez-vous sur le parking et le début du sentier sera derrière le camping 16c. C'est une belle randonnée. La cascade est assez cool, plus il y a quelques jolis endroits pour faire de l'escalade.

randonnée
Sun Aug 19 2012

Alors, est-ce que quelqu'un sait où se trouve le sentier? Nous avons cherché pendant un moment puis abandonné. Les directions ne sont pas très claires du tout !!

randonnée
4 days ago

randonnée
2 months ago

randonnée
2 months ago

randonnée
4 months ago

randonnée
4 months ago

randonnée
6 months ago

randonnée
6 months ago

Charger plus

Randonnées populaires

Help keep our trails and parks open during COVID-19 by committing to social distancing. Some trails or park services may be closed this weekend so check with local authorities before heading out.
Learn more

Hickory Branch Trail is a 3.3 mile lightly trafficked out and back trail located near Old Fort, North Carolina that features a waterfall and is rated as difficult. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, camping, and nature trips and is best used from March until November. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

Length 3.3 mi Elevation gain 1,328 ft Route type Out & Back

Dogs on leash

Camping

Hiking

Nature trips

Walking

Forest

River

Views

Waterfall

Wild flowers

Wildlife

Scramble

Waypoints (0)
Contact
Getting There

District Ranger, Grandfather Ranger District, 1-828-652-2144

From Asheville take I-40 East, to exits 72 & 73 at Old Fort. Go 0.2 Mi. into town, turn Right on US-70, and go 1 MI. to Jct. of Curtis Creek Rd (SR-1227). This becomes FR-482, after 5.1 Mi. from US-70 reach the campground. Go to second camping clearing, park on left, trail begins at lower end of clearing (signed).

Weather
UV Index
Daylight
Reviews (58)
Photos (54)
Recordings (38)
Completed (95)
Abigail Temoshchuk
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSun Jun 14 2020
Hiking

Great trail & easily accessible from the campground. Beautiful foliage, nice waterfall, and a pretty good workout to go up the switchbacks past the falls. Only saw three other people. Perfect trail if you want a little bit of everything in a short amount of mileage

View Abigail's Recording
Shawn Blair
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarFri Nov 29 2019
Hiking

A nice trail, the fallen leaves are a challenge since it’s a nice incline.

View Shawn's Recording
Samantha Samantha Spence
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarThu Nov 07 2019
Hiking

Might as well stop at the second waterfAll. Beautiful hike

View Samantha's Recording
Michelle Christine
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarTue Sep 24 2019
HikingBugsOver grown

about 1.6 miles to the "big waterfall" which was underwhelming. no big payoff for the definitely challenging rest of the hike. camped outside the campground in a very private single drive up camping spot next to the stream. lovely stream, even found a few baby swimming holes!

Angie ***
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSat Aug 24 2019
Hiking

The kiddos and I hiked in on a rainy day while we camped at the Curtis Creek Campground. After a steep incline at the trailhead (behind site #21-the start point in this map is off), you have a few creek crossings to a series of small waterfalls. The trail is narrow, rocky and covered in roots sometimes and slippery and muddy at others, FYI. We headed off trail on a pathway to the biggest waterfall we could see — and what a find! The waterfalls around western North Carolina can seem overrun sometimes so it was so nice to find a place that felt a bit hidden and wild. The kids and I loved exploring the pool at the base of the falls (shallow at not more than 3-feet deep) and finding dozens of crawdads and salamanders. We spent a long time at the falls so we didn’t venture any further up the trail and instead headed back to camp. Maybe next time, because we’ll definitely be back! **Note that the map on this app is really off, so I received tons of alerts that I was off trail - even within 20 feet of the trailhead marker. We stayed on the orange blazed trail the whole way until we went off to find the falls, for what it’s worth.

View Angie's Recording
Amber Michales
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarWed May 22 2019

We did this trail today on a whim because we drove to Catawba falls and it was closed .This was near by . Honestly , it had never made my bucket list , it didn't seem very interesting but I'm so glad we went because it was fun and interesting! Moderate hike to the falls, lots of creek crossings and saw a ton of wildlife . Snakes , mice, lizards, gopher , woodpecker , lots of snails and a huge turkey. We were able to find a small side trail to the base of the fall for a better view . We did go a ways past the falls uptrail and this is where the difficult part kicks in. Steep and lots of switch backs .Past the falls there are a few orange blazes , which were nice because it's a narrow trail and a bit over grown ( not too bad ) We did not plan for this hike so we didn't have a trail map and didn't make it to the end of the trail because we honestly didn't know when it would ever end haha .

John G.
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarThu May 09 2019
HikingBugsOver grown

The first half, although buggy to the larger waterfall was my favorite part then it's switch backs without much of a view. There were a few creek crossings but no need to get wet. Very shaded. I saw a turkey with her chicks and 3-4ft snake but I couldn't identify it. This trail begins right behind site #21 at Curtis Creek Campground. It ends at the T intersection of Lead Mine Gap Trail.

View John's Recording
garland hughes
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarWed Apr 24 2019
Hiking

Then to lost mine then to cutis creek road

View garland's Recording
Jean Carson
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarMon Mar 11 2019
Hiking

great hike! definitely challenging by the end as there is a lot of steep uphill with no big views as a reward, but there are still some cool lookout spots. you cross the creek multiple times and it is a bit of an adventure. the waterfalls are awesome too! the trail starts back behind the campground. we weren’t able to take the service road all the way back because the campground wasn’t open yet so we had to park by the gate and add half a mile there and back but still totally worth it. the ending of the trail is weird as it turns into the yellow trail, not sure where that goes recommend this hike if you want adventure and challenge!

Terri Miner
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarSun Feb 10 2019

very nice hike, the waterfalls are amazing and running good.

Chris Allen
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarWed Jan 16 2019

I live close and use this trail often. perfect for short strenuous trail runs. good mix of steady up hill to steep switchbacks. and the view near the top isn't bad. plus two waterfalls

Jacob Roper
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarFri May 11 2018

Hiked this today with the girlfriend. it's a nice hike and well worth it because it's not far to a nice little waterfall. Seen a copper head in the first place you cross the Creek.

Saari Gardner
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarThu Apr 05 2018
Hiking

Seemed to us that the trail ended at the waterfall after a little over a mile. The falls and hike in general were pretty scenic. We were disappointed that at the falls there was no where to really have a seat and relax/ enjoy the view. Basically got there and turned right back around.

kevin shusko
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarTue Dec 12 2017
Hiking

Excellent trail. Hiked in December after snowfall.

Toni Lamb
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarTue Sep 05 2017

This trail is very narrow, with poison ivy that brushes against your legs. Thankfully I had long pants on and have never had poison ivy, however those prone to it should be aware. We came across a timber rattler too, which prompted us to turn back around 1.25 miles in. It's located within a campground and there were only a few campers there. I felt uncomfortable most of the time and honestly couldn't wait to get back to the car. I hate to leave not so great reviews however I think it's good to be honest!

Briana Steele
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarWed Aug 09 2017
Hiking

Really fun spot. Once you leave the creek, it's up, up, up. Not lots of views but we got snipits on the switchbacks. The bottom part along the creek was my favorite part.

Michael Methot
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarMon Aug 07 2017
Hiking

I liked how it was alongside the river for the dog, however, it was extremely narrow. There were also several yellow jacket nests that I saw which forced me to turn around. It's okay but I don't think I will be going back.

Jerry Spencer
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarWed May 31 2017
Hiking

If you like hiking by a stream, this trail is for you. The trail was marked in red/orange paint. We also passed 3 or 4 small to medium sized waterfalls. After about 1.25 miles in, the hike was mainly all uphill and ended into another trail that was marked in yellow where you could go right or left. We went about quarter mile in each direction on the yellow trail and never did find a view. The campground at the trailhead was very nice with ample parking and facilities, we had a picnic there. In hindsight, I would have stopped about 1.5 miles in unless you just wanted the exercise. Personally, I like a nice view for my efforts and this time is just didn’t happen.

Hal Latner
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarMon Feb 27 2017
Hiking

Beautiful hike with my 71 year old mom and 70lb golden doodle (IG @joedog_thelatnersdoodle) Trail has been recently cleared. Plan to do a trail run on it in March.

Fritz Hunter
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSun Nov 13 2016
Hiking

Really beautiful day, but very dry and smoke in the valley so we didn't do the whole trail. I would recommend this trail after the rains come as the falls look beautiful and I can only imagine what normal year's rainfall would do for the cascades. The trail itself is really nice, a bit overgrown with dog hobble, but very accessible.

Jason Watkins
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarWed Oct 22 2014
Hiking

Very nice hike. Great view of small water fall about half way in. The "top view" is about 1.4 miles in. If going to 1.75 mile mark the trail kind of was difficult to find.

Forest Kelley
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarWed Dec 04 2013
Hiking

Yeah the trailhead is pretty hidden. Turn down Curtis creek road in old fort, the road will turn into gravel, keep going till you reach Curtis creek campground, park in the parking lot and the trail head will be behind campground 16c. It's a pretty nice hike. The waterfall is pretty cool, plus there are some nice bouldering spots for climbing.

Ann Stamey
Yellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarSun Aug 19 2012
Hiking

So does anyone know where the trailhead is?? We searched for awhile then gave up. Directions are not very clear at all!!

Andrew Rose
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarGray StarGray StarThu Jul 02 2020
Hiking
View Andrew 's Recording
AllTrails User
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSat Jun 13 2020
Hiking
View AllTrails's Recording
Amamda M.
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSat May 30 2020
Hiking
View Amamda's Recording
Chris Armenti
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarFri May 22 2020
Hiking
View Chris's Recording
Benjamin Moore
Yellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarYellow StarGray StarGray StarSun Apr 26 2020
Hiking
View Benjamin's Recording
Showing results 1 - 28 of 58