Fern Nature Trail

EASY 14 reviews

Fern Nature Trail is a 1.3 mile heavily trafficked out and back trail located near Charllote, North Carolina that offers the chance to see wildlife and is good for all skill levels. The trail is primarily used for hiking, walking, nature trips, and birding and is accessible year-round. Dogs are also able to use this trail but must be kept on leash.

DISTANCE
1.3 miles
ELEVATION GAIN
101 feet
ROUTE TYPE
Out & Back

dogs on leash

kid friendly

birding

hiking

nature trips

walking

forest

wildlife

Directions from Gastonia, NC: From I-85 take Exit 13 (Edgewood Road) about six miles west of Gastonia. Cross over I-85 and turn right onto Highway 29/74. Go two miles and turn left on Sparrows Spring Road and follow the road 2.7 miles onto park property. Take your first right and continue to the park entrance. Turn right and travel to the picnic area. Trail begins there.

hiking
2 months ago

Trail was nice! We did the lakeside trail to the start of the fern trail and it was a nice hike with lots of water views!

hiking
9 months ago

Good walk with the wife and dogs.

Monday, June 05, 2017

Only lightly trafficked during weekdays, and this trail connects with the lake trail loop, both are easy for a nice walk, definitely easy enough for young kids or senior dogs.

hiking
Monday, May 15, 2017

easy trail for kids. busy during sunny days.

hiking
Tuesday, October 11, 2016

Super easy trail. Nice for Sunday stroll and has access to other trails if you are looking to go a bit farther

hiking
Wednesday, June 24, 2015

Nice easy trail to hit on the way down from the pinnacle

hiking
2 months ago

hiking
10 months ago

Saturday, May 27, 2017

Sunday, May 21, 2017

hiking
Sunday, May 07, 2017

Thursday, April 20, 2017

hiking
Tuesday, April 11, 2017

hiking
Sunday, April 02, 2017